Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Get away to lovely Kihei,2018. Check prices on Alaska,Häwaiian & United!

Bedrooms 1
Space 749 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Great island; amazing condo & complex!

Come and enjoy the beautiful island of Maui and our relaxing, one-bedroom, condo in Kihei. Our home was renovated with new cabinets, built in desk, granite counters & new design. Plus, a walk in shower, built-in microwave and dish washer (Nov of 2012). In the summer of 2016 we put in all new flooring & refreshed the decor!

We are located within 300 feet of the ocean where you can enjoy some of the most spectacular sunsets in Maui; take a relaxing walk on the beach and enjoy watching the Wind Surfers. Better yet, give windsurfing a try yourself!

We have a lovely lanai, with lovely patio furniture, for your enjoyment and relaxation while viewing Haleakali, to the NE and the ocean to the west. We are located near many of the most beautiful snorkeling spots in Maui.

There are many restaurants, convenience stores, shops and a grocery store within walking distance.

Kihei Gardens Estates is a quiet and peaceful complex, well maintained and full of Aloha Spirit. We continually do updates as necessary to keep it fresh & inviting!

It is a beautifully landscaped property with an inviting pool and spa area. There is a Pavilion with barbecue grills, kitchen facilities and tables & restroom located in the gated pool area for your use and enjoyment.

Our condo is an extension of our home and furnished, with a Hawaiian theme, for your vacation enjoyment.


More Details

Property Manager
Sandi Johnston
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Sandi Johnston

Hi - My name is Sandi and I LOVE Maui! Imagine that! My favorite time is walking on the beach! Yep! You've got it - right there, 300 ft away from our condo! I call it 'Sandi's Beach'! I have had so many wonderful experiences walking that beach, from seeing whales, collecting sea urchins, collecting shells, finding shells of lobsters, to some of the most beautiful sunsets in all Hawaii!

I work really hard to keep my condo updated and a warm, cozy, family atmosphere! I want it to be your "home away from home"!!

I'd love for you to come visit us and share some of the most memorable experiences right here in Kihei! Plus, there are countless treasures to visit & explore on this beautiful island, all within driving distance! I so look forward to sharing our beautiful condo with you and yours!!

Mahalo & Aloha!


Sandi Johnston purchased this condo in 1983

Why Sandi Johnston chose Kihei

UPGRADED to enhance your stay! (November of 2012) New and upgraded Queen size mattress, as well as a beautiful new couch with a very comfortable full size bed, ( both purchased in 2015). New flooring & furniture in 2016! Very relaxed atmosphere - home away from home - semi-private Lania to enjoy your morning coffee/tea!

What makes this condo unique

MICROWAVE & dishwasher; beautiful new cabinets & granite throughout; walk-in shower to enjoy! (All refurbished, Nov 2012)


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 749 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 - walk-in shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (1), Living room has a pull out commercial Queen Bed Full-size Aero Bed available
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Gas Grill (BBQ) (shared)


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

56% Complete
34% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Get away to lovely Kihei,2018. Check prices on Alaska,Häwaiian & United!
average rating of 4.4347825 based on 23 reviews

Two week this Condo felt like home.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Sandi, your condo was excellent, from all the items in the kitchen that made it so easy to rustle up the meals, to the great Robert Lyn Nelson artwork and the terrific sun set photos. The cooler in your unit got a great workout and was used almost every day.

Thanks again, I highly recommend this unit.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo! So glad you enjoyed your stay in our 'Aloha'! Would love to have you return for another adventure with us!🌸� Sandi Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

nice condo

  • 4 of 5

enjoyed our stay only complaint was lack of tv stations offered and no wifi

the condo was clean and well cared for . close to the beach and food. The owner was very helpful and responded to Questions Quickly. My overall stay was lovely ....

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! Very sorry you were disappointed with tv & WiFi! I actually have BOTH! I have high speed Internet! I only wish you had let myself or Brenda know you had trouble! We probably could have resolved your situation! I have had no other reports regarding lack of internet! My apologies for any inconveniences!! Mahalo! Sandi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

I was on Maui for four months as part of a work assignment and was able to stay at this property the whole time which worked out really well. The unit is updated in all areas and was fully stocked with everything I needed....even for a long term stay. The unit has everything you need for a day at the beach including chairs, towels and coolers. The kitchen was also well stocked. I took full advantage of the pool and hot tub on the property which was never very crowded. I also found that the onsite manager was very sweet and responsive to any questions I had or needs with the property. The location was also great. It's a short walk to watch the sunset every night or to the nearby shopping center with restaurants, a grocery store, post office, etc. I also found Kihei to be fairly convenient for driving to the other parts of the island. Although I would recommend a rental car there are several bus stops nearby that can also get you to other parts of the island fairly easily.

I have nothing but positive things to say about this property!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jessica I am so glad you enjoyed my home away from home! It was a delight to have you for those four months! Please come back & see us again soon!! Mahalo! Sandi Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Condo and a wonderful property!!!

  • 5 of 5

Couldn't have been better . Our condo was clean and modern with everything one could want.

Brand new dining table and chairs, bar stools , coffee table , end table, pots and pans ( all arrived during our stay) Complex is well managed by very nice people. Looking forward to our stay next year!!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! It was definitely our pleasure having you as our guest(s)!! We look forward to having you back next year! Mahalo!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stockton, Ca

Fabulous relaxing family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

Thanks so much Sandy for sharing your condo. We had a great time being able to share Maui with our grandkids. Visited many fabulous beaches and had a wonderful time snorkeling in Wailea which was just a few miles away. Local stores accessible for supplies. We were so pleased with the beach accessories available to use and easily packed lunch and drinks for our day trips around the island. Loved walking the beach just steps away early mornings and evenings. Calm ocean to swim early in the day. Loved the pool and spa as well as having the laundry steps away. All the folks we talked to on the property were very friendly. we slept very well on the comfy queen bed and the sofa bed too. Very lovely home away from home. Can't wait for another trip to our favorite island. Thank you Sandy! Doug & Krista

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice vacation space but not perfect

  • 2 of 5

This tidy and clean one bedroom condo is in an excellent location, a half block from the beach and from the nearest grocery store. The property has a central grassy, treed courtyard which many units face into, but not this unit, which faces the street at ground level. The lanai is large, private (separated from the street by a hedge), has a screen against the sun if necessary. The sidewalk is not more than ten feet away fromSun does not enter the unit itself so it remained reasonably cool throughout the day. The pool is kept at a wonderful temperature so it is lovely to stay in for long periods. Brenda, who services the unit for the owner, is terrific: she responded to our several needs immediately. The unit appears as shown on the VRBO website.

On the down side, the interior of the unit is a bit dated, and the household provisions are just adequate. From the bedroom we heard the coming and going to the adjacent shared laundry room, and the suggested respectful hours are not always heeded. The hair dryer was not working (and was replaced immediately) and the steam iron was so dirty (also replaced immediately) that it stained a top I had just made a few weeks before. Dishes, cutlery and utensils are a very mixed collection of styles. There is lots of bedding and towels in the cupboards, all somewhat worn, but there is caution against using "extra" linens beyond what is laid out. The kitchen was missing a few basic implements that we noticed: vegetable peeler, dish rack for had washed dishes (there is a dishwasher too). We left a note to the owner outlining our impressions so this may all be rectified.

There is an awkward aspect to mention as well. There are a lot of disadvantaged and homeless people in Hawaii, and one can run into them on any island, in a variety of places. The street that this unit faces (Lipoa) is one. During the day, they come and go, and hang out, between the beach and the food store, some in a variety of states of orderliness, and often speaking loudly and using language that we wished we were not hearing so regularly during our holiday. For the most part they are completely harmless and non-confrontational. Aside, one unit owner cautioned us that a guest had been robbed (not injured) while walking alone one evening on or near the property.

I do not relish writing this review, but VRBO has sent repeated requests for a review so I am providing what we experienced. Although the property was fine, we will not use it again.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Two rebutals: This unit has been completely renovated over the past 5 years & things are updated on a regular basis. Also, we live in a time where there are homeless everywhere, especially in perfect climate areas. I guess you can go to our major resorts, where their prices help eliminate 'some' of this issue. I am very proud of my condo, area and complex!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nutcharee's Authentic Thai Food
Thai Restaurant
Izakaya Genbe
Japanese Restaurant
Home Maid Cafe
Peace Love Shave Ice
Vietnamese Cuisine
Vietnamese Restaurant
Nalu's South Shore Grill
Hawaiian Restaurant
Akamai Coffee Co
Coffee Shop
Peggy Sue's Maui
Hamburger Restaurant
Miso Phat Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Diamonds Ice Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Jawz Tacos
Seafood Restaurant
Wow Wow Hawaiian Lemonade
Wow Wow Hawaiian Lemonade Aloha
Juice Shop
Coconut's Fish Cafe
Fish & Chips Restaurant
Java Cafe
Roasted Chiles
Mexican Restaurant
Fork and Salad Maui
Organic Restaurant
Shearwater Tavern
Piko Cafe
Coffee Shop
Mexican Restaurant
Maui Brick Oven
Gluten-Free Restaurant
Sushi Paradise
Sushi Restaurant
Antonio's Italian
Italian Restaurant
Fabiani's Bakery and Pizzeria
Italian Restaurant
1054 Togoshi Sushi Restaurant
Sushi Restaurant
Pizza Madness Maui
Pizza Restaurant
Tienda del Sol
Mexican Restaurant
Eskimo Candy Inc
Seafood Restaurant
Round Table Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Cold Stone Creamery
Ice Cream Shop
808 Grindz Cafe
Ba-Le Sandwich Shop
Sandwich Shop
Jamba Juice Pii'lani Village Shopping Center
Juice Shop
Maui Tacos
Mexican Restaurant
Waipuilani Park
Shaka Sandwich & Pizza Inc.
Pizza Restaurant
Tacos Guadalajara
Mexican Restaurant
Belle Surf Cafe
Outrigger Pizza Co
Pizza Restaurant
Thailand Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Stewz Maui Burgers
Hamburger Restaurant
Cuatro Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Sushi Restaurant
Kamana Kitchen
Indian Restaurant
Monsoon India
Indian Restaurant
Haui's Life's A Beach
Mexican Restaurant
Fat Daddy's Smokehouse
Barbecue Restaurant
Kings Chinese Barbecue
Barbecue Restaurant
What Ales You
Bar & Grill
Dog & Duck
Irish Pub
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $125
Tax Rate 9.25%

25% of TOTAL fee is NON-refundable and required at booking; 75% prior to 6 months; 50% at 90 days and full fee will apply for anything less then 45 days. The only exception would be a documented illness or death in your immediate family, approved at the discretion of the owner, Sandi Johnston.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties