Beach Vacation House 50 Meters from White Sanded Private Beach
You sent a message to this manager.
- Minimum stay:4 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:Yes
Tamarindo house description
Casa Playa de Hacienda Pinilla is a two story, Spanish Colonial, 7,000+ square foot house that sits back 50 meters from a white sanded private beach. This house was created to integrate the outdoors with the indoors.
Large windows, skylights, balconies, patios and a large swimming pool with Jacuzzi grace this manor. The entire house offers views of ocean and mountain vistas.
Enter on the ground level through Spanish style gates and pass into the spacious entertainment room with a wet bar. Continue through sliding glass doors onto the patio where a lap pool with Jacuzzi await steps away from the ocean.
All five bedrooms have private spa style bathrooms; two face the ocean and have private patios overlooking the pool. Walk upstairs to a wide open living, cooking, dining and entertaining area.
Here the large windows and skylights ensure plenty of sunlight and an almost 360 degree view of the various flora and fauna that Costa Rica is known for. Relax in the Bali furniture and absorb in all the trees, lush landscaping, shimmering ocean, far off mountains and monkey howls.
The open style kitchen has every modern convenience and will satisfy the most discriminating chef. An additional bedroom with private bath graces the second level, as well as the tower room can be a study or a large dormitory style bedroom equipped with a double and two twin beds.
Casa Playa and location are unparalleled, with privacy, double gated security, views and access to all Hacienda Pinilla amenities: amazing private beaches with world famous surf breaks, the masterpiece 18 hole golf course designed by Mike Young, tennis courts and horse stables.
Hacienda Pinilla sits on the Guanacaste gold coast adjacent to Tamarindo, surf city of Costa Rica. Just 14 km and 45 minutes from Liberia International Airport; although the roads are a work in progress, they are acceptable.
For more information and reservations, please visit our website.
- 2 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Children Welcome
- Wheelchair Accessible
- Pets Considered
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14, Beds for 14
- King size beds (4), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Bathrooms: 6 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Catering Available
- Ice Maker
- Clothes Dryer
- Linens Provided
- Washing Machine
- Air Conditioning
- Parking Off Street
- Satellite / Cable
- Music Library
- Shared Hot Tub
- CD Player
- DVD Player
- Broadband Access
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Private Pool
- Hot Tub
Location & View
Golf Course View:
The Guanacaste Classic is Saturday, July 20th and Sunday, July 21st. The registration form and payment instructions are attached. The first round will be at Reserva Conchal at 8 am on Saturday, July 20th. The second round and closing awards ceremony will be at Hacienda Pinilla on Sunday, July 21st. ...moreless
- Golf Course Front:
- Mountain View
- Beach View
- Water View
- Ocean View
- Mountain Biking
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Wildlife Viewing
- Fitness Center
- Horseback Riding
- Sight Seeing
- The Guanacaste Classic is Saturday, July 20th and Sunday, July 21st. The registration form and payment instructions are attached. The first round will be at Reserva Conchal at 8 am on Saturday, July 20th. The second round and closing awards ceremony will be at Hacienda Pinilla on Sunday, July 21st. Please drop off the form with payment information or fax it in. Space is limited so do not wait to send in your entry form. Thank you, zip line and ecological tours, also ATV rentals near by...ALSO MY FRIEND HAS A HOME 2 DOORS DOWN FROM OURS IF INTRESTED.. WILL FORWARD LINK 011 506 87038561 ROYCE 462160 VRBO 462160 VRBO ...moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
A perfect villa for a perfect vacation
A perfect villa for a perfect vacation
The three generations of our family, eight adults and six children ages 8 to 16, spent ten wonderful days at this dream house that is set in a perfect location. The trip was to celebrate a 50th anniversary and it was important that the holiday be memorable for all. The house is very well set up. Each of the adult couples had a very quiet, spacious bedroom with ensuite bathroom. There was a roomy bedroom for the two girls and a spacious bedroom for the four boys. The open concept living area, which has a beautiful view towards the ocean, was very large, with two sitting areas. The dining room table easily seated the fourteen of us, and the well equipped kitchen was large and well set up for a number of cooks to be working at the same time. Off the living area was a large balcony facing the ocean. On the entrance level was a very large room that dwarfed the ping pong table and and gave entrance to the outside and the large, well maintained pool. We made great use of the large, covered area beside the pool and also the barbecue. From this outside area we could walk right onto a beach that is shared by just a few houses and is usually deserted. It was a lovely place to be and the bay in front had excellent snorkelling. We had taken water shoes but really did not need them. We were amazed at how quiet the whole area was. Debbie and Royce are excellent property managers and e-mail questions and requests were promptly dealt with. With the house there is access to the Hacienda Pinilla Beach Club. The huge pool there and the very long and beautiful beach were great places to spend days swimming, surfing, playing in the waves and relaxing. We cannot imagine a more ideal villa and location to have spent a very memorable vacation. We have come back raving about it and recommending it to other families and groups of people.
- Guest Ray and Wendy (Cambridge, Ontario, Canada)
- Date of stay 03/05/14
- Review Submitted 03/24/14
Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing, girls getaway.
This house has lots of room and comfortably accommodated all 17 of us for a family reunion. It has a large kitchen, huge flatscreen TV, and space enough to get together or go off on your own. However, the house is not being maintained and issues are not addressed in a timely manner. The refrigerator and freezer never got cold enough during the week we were there -- so no ice cream, and we had to food shop every other day for perishables. The upstairs kitchen air conditioner never kept up with the heat. The exterior wood is being allowed to rot so that you can see through it in several places and one of the bathroom windows actually fell out letting in lots of bugs. We had to duct tape it back in place. The worst problem was the pool which was full of debris when we arrived and eventually became so green with algae it was unusable our last four days. Although we contacted the manager the day after we arrived, none of these issues was addressed until later in the week. The pool guy showed up on Thursday, too late to make the pool usable by the time we left on Saturday. When we complained about these issues after we left and requested some monetary compensation, the manager told us he arrived a week after we were gone, and everything was fine. Of course, with no one staying at the house, things may have improved, but we had no way to verify that. And that didn't address our disappointment with the property and inability to use the pool, a key feature which had attracted us to this property. As VRBO owners ourselves, we understand that it is sometimes difficult to get things fixed quickly, but if something is not working, we always make some financial reimbursement for inconvenience. This manager refused to do that. The property is definitely not worth the rental charge being asked. Given the lack of concern for renters, we cannot recommend it for anyone.
- Guest Judith V. (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
- Date of stay 01/18/14
- Review Submitted 02/20/14
Manager response: Thank you for your comments. We always find it good to have comments such as yours to give contrast to this lovely property. As we spoke on the phone and email, since the minute your party arrived the negativity began and my job to circumvent was in full stride. We dont usually have guests that spend their vacation picking apart every aspect of the property, more they enjoy how wonderful it is and their surroundings... We are homeowners that have high expectations of properties as well but do understand that every home has its quirks.. instead of responding to each of your complaints again in this follow up id like to make clear a few points... 1. December until April in this Region of Costa Rica the winds are blowing 20 knots off shore all day... in turn making it nearly impossible to keep leaves from blowing in the pool. We have someone there 3 times a week cleaning up and maintaining.... 2. our pool is of a black color bottom... many mistake that for being dirty as the sun doesnt reflect back as most pools do. Green algae can come and go with a pool when leaves breakdown over a few days.... for this we maintain. As a VRBO homeowner and renter as you describe yourself I would imagine that you have come across a guest or 2 in your time that just wasnt happy no matter the circumstances... For this we are truly sorry as we accept all our guests in as friends and family and want to make their adventure to Costa Rica as perfect as possible.... In this case from the beginning based on your constant complaints.. We knew this was impossible. In closing. We have taken all your notes and complaints very seriously and after review as we stated.. The home was in order... Pool was clean Refrigerator worked as it did when you received the home.. Window that you put duct tap on works fine with just the right angle to close... Enjoying Costa Rica from a home like Casa Playa is a wonderful experience and we hope that you and your family return one day in the near future. IF you do choose to, please return with as much positive energy as we offered to you during your stay. pura vida Management
Let me first say that yes a house is being built right next door but that really didn’t bother our group at all. We went about our business, well drinking and swimming, without any issues. The house we stayed in came with a great stereo system which has speakers inside and out. Make sure you to bring your Ipod or Iphone. We used the chef one night and the food was fantastic. The walls are very thick. So once you are in your room you for the night you really don’t hear much if some of your party elects to stay up late. We did the booze cruise, ATV, and Zip Lining. The booze cruise was the best! I have to say all of the locals were very nice. We had 9 guys down there for a week and we never had any problems in town. It is nice if you know a little spanish. The town is about 15-20 min away from the house. We got charged about $50 for a van to take all 9 of us to town which isn’t too bad. Ride from the airport to the house and back was $150 each way for the nine of us. They only problem going to town was the dirt road leading to town which is about 2 miles long. It was very rocky with a lot of potholes and very dusty. I would not recommend being on that road on a bike or golf cart if you want to stay dirt free. LOL. Remember folks this is a 3rd world country but we were very happy with the house. We had a couple of minor issues with the house but they were all addressed. We would do it again in a heartbeat. Go to the beach house club for at least a day. The beach was nice at the club and the swimming pool was amazing. The food at the club was pretty good too. Try the fish tacos. I also have to say KUDOS to Sabrina who know longer works there but she was AMAZING!!! I love love love her! Adios!! Oh one last thing… The beaches almost everywhere we went were very rocky. BRING SWIM SHOES!!!!!! I tried surfing in town and cut my both of my feet. Let me also say I am NOT a professional surfer, well okay it was my first time but I thought I went down far enough away from the rocks but they are out there.
- Guest John O. (Saint Louis, Missouri)
- Date of stay 02/19/13
- Review Submitted 03/05/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, families with teenagers, sightseeing.
Nice House, Minor Issues
Nice House, Minor Issues
This house is located on Hacienda Pinilla, approximately 20-25 minutes' drive from the center of Tamarindo. There is a house under construction on the immediately adjacent lot that is months, not weeks, from completion. During our stay, work only took place on weekdays, and was not especially disruptive, but the presence of workers made the pool and backyard feel less private. Overall, this house is very nice. The are several, large, common rooms with high ceilings and ample seating. The kitchen and laundry are well equipped; the wireless network is spotty but works; and, once a new propane tank was delivered, we particularly enjoyed the outdoor grill. There are excellent ocean views from the second floor, especially from the main balcony. There are multiple air conditioning units that keep the house cool, one of which was repaired during our stay. The linens are adequate, but lost all softness/suppleness many washes ago. The coffee maker should be upgraded/replaced. The sound system, with controls and speakers in every room and outside, is fantastic. The swimming pool is very nice, but the water was slightly murky during our stay. We had one issue during our stay regarding maid service. We paid for three days of maid service, but the maid only came once. We raised this issue with the property manager, but she was unable to find a maid on short notice. Apparently, there was a miscommunication between the owner and the property manager. In any event, when the house was cleaned, it was cleaned extremely well, and the owner was more than fair about it, refunding the two days' maid service not delivered. In sum, this is a good vacation house for a large group. We rented cars for daytime excursions, which was essential. At night, we took taxis back and forth to Tamarindo, which, at $35 per ride, were inexpensive for 8 people. We also took advantage of the Hacienda Pinilla beach club, which has a nice pool, spa services and bar/grill. The property manager was generally helpful, and not only met our group upon arrival after 11PM, but also stocked the fridge with beer and snacks. The owner was slightly aggressive about collecting payment, but handled our maid service issue extremely fairly. I would recommend this property to other travelers.
- Guest Greg (Chicago, IL (U.S.A.))
- Date of stay 02/13/13
- Review Submitted 02/21/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway.
Manager response: i'll check into the sheets and coffee maker I had a Cusinart but broke my 12 cup pot and have no way to order one down there will send one down ...as to sheets may be time or get some Downey.. all and all thanks for coments they are helpful. norman
Please beware of this property. After reading all reviews and traveling to Costa Rica several times, I thought the reviews of this property might be from Americans who are used to Americanized accomodations. This is not the case. Our group of ten adults have numerous issues with this property. Our power was out for 24 hrs. Though not the problem of the owner, our home was the only home without power within the subdivision. Throughout our power outage, we could hear the humming of power tools next door. There is a house next door (30 ft away) and the building crew starts at 6:00 am. The noise was certainly a nusiance. We experienced multiple "smaller" issues - broken house telephone so we had to communicate with the property manager at $2.50 per minute, one dishwasher did not work, leaks in the bathroom, no lights in the pool and an extra refridgerator near the bar which was not plugged in and very smelly. For our group, this home was not as advertised. The owner asked for the remainder of our rent withing 24 hours and 30 days before our arrival. Upon this request, I deposited a check into his account as requested. The owner called me four times when the money did not clear his bank account,. He left me several messages questioning my motives to pay for the house. My deposit cleared my bank within 24 hours of his request. We received many apologies from the property manager. I do not go on vacation to receive apologies.
- Guest georgiakb (Columbia, SC)
- Date of stay 11/17/12
- Review Submitted 12/03/12
Manager response: WELL ..OK.... YES... ELECTRICITY WAS OFF ON MONDAY WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE BEEN DONE FRIDAY , IRONICALLY, THE REASON THE ELECT CO COULD NOT MAKE THE "1 HR REPAIR" AS QUOTED WAS THE CONSTRUCTION NEXT DOOR HAD HOOKED UP THE POWER TO MY FEED ILLEGALLY AND CAUSED THE DELAY TO MONDAY THE FACT IT TOOK A 1/2 DAY .. UTILITY CO .. AND YES PHONES TAKE ELECTRICITY AS WELL SO NO THEY DID NOT WORK...THAN .. WE HAD ONE WEAK AC. , OF TWO UP STAIRS THE SMALL ONE , I STAYED THERE ALL WEEK LAST WEEK WORKING WITH PROPERTY MANAGER MAINTENANCE REPLACING AND FIXING 100 LITTLE THINGS FROM P BBQ'S TASK LIGHTING TO AC 4 NEW PHONES TO LIGHT BULBS AND DIMMER SWITCHES..WE ARE INSTALLING 2 NEW AC'S TODAY.. ONE REPLACE AND ONE ONE EXTRA ON AN OLDER ONE FOR SAFETY AND YES THE ELECT CO IS TESTING ELECT TODAY IN ALL OF GUANACASTE, SO WILL PROBABLY GET ANOTHER BAD REVIEW.. THE BAR REFRIGERATOR MAY HAVE BEEN UNPLUGGED.ITS RARELY USED. THEY ALSO COMPLAINED THAT ONE OF MY 3 BIKES I PROVIDED THE FRONT THE 'QUICK RELEASE' FRONT WHEEL WAS REMOVED TO FIT UNDER THE STAIR.("DISASSEMBLED") NO COMENT.. I MAY HAVE CALLED WHEN THE FUNDS CONTRACTUALLY PROMISED DID NOT SHOW UP AS PER AGREEMENT. THERE SEEMED TO BE SOME CONFUSION WITH ROUTING #'S.. I MET THE GUESTS ON SUNDAY FOR AND ALL SEEMED FINE SMILES AND THANKS. APPARENTLY SOME ONE OF THE GROUP SHOWED UP LATER WITH A MORE DISCERNING EYE. ALL SAID THIS IS A WEDDING PARTY AND MY LAST FOR THIS HOUSE, THE GUESTS ARE ALWAYS OVER STRESSED WITH WANTING EVERY THING TO BE ''PERFECT'' AND AS MY WIFE HAS SAID ... THERE ARE NO PERFECT HOUSE'S THIS SIDE OF A.D. MAGAZINE. HARD TO PLEASE EVERY ONE WE DO TRY. SEE OTHER REVIEWS. CONSTRUCTION NEXT DOOR WAS SUPPOSED TO BE DONE IN NOVEMBER... NOW LOOKS LIKE MARCH. PHONES DO TAKE ELECTRICITY WE SENT THE MAIDS BACK AND 2 NEW AC'S GO IN TODAY DIOS WILLING.
Big Family Fun
Big Family Fun
Thank you to Sabrina for setting up a Wonderful trip. Our extended family trip included 8 adults and six kids, and this house was great. Beach views and the sunsets were fabulous. Access to the amenities of Hacienda Pinilla and the Marriott were also great. I would strongly recommend this vacation and site to any family. Sabrina helped plan fishing trips, groceries, private chefs and more. Her recommendations for restaurants were without fail.. The house accommodated everyone comfortably, the kids loved the pool, we used the grill...just a great time.
- Guest Greg (New Orleans, LA)
- Date of stay 06/04/12
- Review Submitted 06/27/12
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.
Hacienda Pinilla Home
Hacienda Pinilla Home
The location and property are beautiful. Working with Sabrina the property management was definitely a 5 star experience. Norm the owner was responsive and efficient. The location on the beach is wonderful. There is no sand beach and swimming would not be a good idea but a beautiful beach is minutes away. I struggle with the rating of 4 or 5 stars. A few things that could have kept it from 5 stars were construction on home next door which is beyond the control of the owner. The 7 am hammering was not appreciated. Some appliances need an upgrade (kitchen stove needs to be replaced, kitchen lighting should be improved and downstair refrig didn't work. We did not bring these up to Sabrina so not an issue on responsiveness.) The one thing we did notify her on was the A/C in the master not working. She jumped right on it and had three workers fixing it the next morning. Problems pop up and having Sabrina to address them and assist in many things not related to the house but ensuring to enhance your stay were appreciated. The layout is fine and the home is extremely spacious with wonderful ocean views. We had nine in our party and the home could easily handle 12-14 without any issues. The landscaping is nice and well maintained. We would certainly return and rent this home.
- Guest Rick (Poway, CA)
- Date of stay 05/04/12
- Review Submitted 06/04/12
Manager response: Dear 4.5....:) thanks for lovely review the down stairs refer problem was intermittent relay so little tough to figure out , seems fixed now with new valve xx fingers .. as to stove last I heard was the perhaps over zealous house cleaners scrubbed the low, med , high, and Top Right ... etc black letters off the stove other than having to adjust using the wet finger trick not sure what was wrong ..I'll see what can do about re labeling with some sticky labels.. we re did all the fan blades this week and some other mechanical shortfalls . Thanks for constructive comments , hopefully next time you come the construction will be a thing of the past and your new neighbors will invite you over for a nice glass of wine..... as to lack of sand on beach... it's actually seasonal and comes and goes with storms but as say a few meters down is amazing beaches and beach club at Pinilla unlimited .. thanks again for reviews.
Family reunionGuest comment entered by manager
My Thanks to Sabrina and Antonio, and Pinilla's Georga peach Cami, as cook for making our guests comfortable entertained and well fed. warm regards norm
- Guest ian
- Date of stay 04/14/12
- Review Submitted 05/01/12
Casa Playa was great for our family birthday celebration. Steps to beach with incredible nightly sunsets. The house is huge, well maintained with large bedrooms and showers to allow for some privacy when needed but great communal spaces (kitchen, living, poolside grill) that made it a blast for our family from the small kids to the grandparents. Sabrina and Antonio, the property managers are friendly, available and incredibly nice and helpful-they made our stay easy, relaxing and fun (and were all over a bedroom air conditioner that malfunctioned while we were there). Our kids had a blast in the pool at the house and the HP beach club is great and uncrowded as well. Norm, the owner, put us in touch with a neighbor who is an incredible chef and made some memorable meals for us. Also well worth the short drive (or long, low tide-only walk) is Lola's @ Playa Avellanas for great food and fun surf. One downside is that there is a house being built next door, though it was not noisy or bothersome, the workers do start pretty early (before 7am it seemed).
- Guest Ian (Seattle, WA)
- Date of stay 04/14/12
- Review Submitted 04/27/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.
Manager response: glad worked out so well .. Sabrina aand cook Cammi are treasures Norm
Our group of 13 people (3 families) enjoyed our weeklong stay in this home. We all agreed that the house was even nicer than the pictures on vrbo. The view of the beach was stunning. The floor plan suited our needs perfectly with large bedrooms and plenty of space to spread out. We enjoyed coming back from our adventures and hanging out by the pool. Hacienda Pinilla was an ideal location for us. We enjoyed the amenties at the Beach Club and at the JW Marriott. It is a short drive to Tamarindo. Our kids enjoyed surfing there and we ate dinner at two restaurants there as well. We highly recommend the Palo Verde boat tour (1 1/2 hour drive) and doing the adventure pass (zip lining, tubing, horseback riding, etc) at Hacienda Guachipelin (2 1/2 hour drive - we hired a driver). One of our favorite dinners was on the beach at Lola's, which is a quick drive or you can walk there from the Beach Club. Sabrina, the property manager, responded to our questions very quickly. She spent the week prior to our arrival getting the house cleaned up and fixing some problems (see previous review) and it was clean and ready for us. Our vacation went by far too quickly and we were sad to leave this beautiful location.
- Guest Kristen (Alpharetta, GA, USA)
- Date of stay 03/31/12
- Review Submitted 04/09/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing, girls getaway.
|Dates||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
|My Standard Rate
4 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
Fees and Rental Conditions:
- Property Damage Protection $89
- cleaning service $80
- Taxes Included
Bank transfer to our Costa Rician Account
This manager accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the manager for more information.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Friday, December 27, 2013
5 Bedroom / 6 Bathroom
Get an instant quote
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.