Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2-6 Bedroom Maui Vacation Beach House-Hale Makai next to Hookipa & Mama's Beach

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Hale Makai (Home towards the Ocean) Steps to Kuau Beach, 3 minutes to Paia Town

#STPH 2013/0017 Hawaii Tax I.D. TA/GE- 075-934-5152-01

Maui Beach House Welcoming Large and Small Parties from 2-12 guests.

Sometimes you just don't need all those Bedrooms. We can lock them off and offer

you a lower rate based upon the amount of guests in your party. You can still have your

privacy as we rent to one group at a time, so please inquire for a personal quote.

Hale Makai our North shore Beach Home is steps from Kuau Bay Beach. One of the favorite Maui Beaches for both residents and visitors. Perfect for kids and adults, snorkeling, swimming, or relaxing while watching the world-class windsurfers and kite surfers at Ho'okipa Beach.

Our Hale Makai Home has 6 bedrooms and 4 1/2 full bathrooms. The theme throughout is an Island Motif with a Hawaiian Flair. Every room has its own ceiling fan and plenty of windows to open providing a natural air conditioning. There is parking for up to 4 cars on the property. A portion of the house can be reserved, or it can be rented out as a whole. Hale Makai is versatile in that one, to six bedrooms can be rented. Sections of Hale Makai can easily be locked off for smaller rental groups. By doing that, guests are not charged for all of the existing bedrooms. THIS ALLOWS FOR ONLY ONE RENTAL GROUP, STAYING AT THE HOME AT ANY ONE PERIOD OF TIME. Guests will have the ultimate private experience and, therefore, Hale Makai really does feel like your home away from home! The second story has a partial ocean view, gourmet kitchen , living and dining area , 2 bedrooms (1 King and 1 Queen) and 2 private bathrooms (Tub/Shower) and a lanai complete with outdoor chairs. The ground level has 4 bedrooms (2 Queen and 4 Twin), with 2 hall private bathrooms (Tub/Shower). Outdoors is a shared Tropical Yard, including a BBQ , Outdoor Hot and Cold Shower and Laundry Facilities. Children are welcome we provide a pack n play, high chair and some beach toys. Activities at your Doorstep: Mama's Beach, Ho'okipa Beach Park, Surfing, Windsurfing, Kiting, Paddleboarding, Hiking, Fishing and Ideal for Bike Riders. Privacy and a Tropical park like setting offers families and friends an ideal opportunity to enjoy themselves. Bring the entire Family ' Ohana ' and stay awhile, you can rent for months at a time. Read our Reviews as most guests do not want to leave .

Come Visit Maui's North shore to Discover, Uncrowded Beaches, Beautiful Views, Balmy Tradewinds, and Spectacular Sunsets, comfortable and casual. Steps away a path to a sandy beach and swim in a natural salt water pool. Mama's Fish House Restaurant is just steps away to spoil yourself for one of the Best Island Meals. Paia Town is only minutes away and a very cool place to hang out ! Great Gallery's, Cafe's, Unique Shops. Restaurants for everyones palette. Pizza-Gelato-Ono Burgers-Ahi Buritos and so much more !

E Komo Mai !

Come You are Welcome !

Email us with your Plans and we can make your dreams a reality

Keywords: Maui, Private, Oceanfront Home ,maui vacation rentals, north shore maui, windsurfing, paia vacation rentals , kuau vacation rentals, tropical vacations, maui tropical vacations, maui vacations, windsurfing vacation homes maui

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 12, 2018

Why The Owner chose Paia

Our Guests Say it Best ! " We've stayed in the 2-bedroom and 3-bedroom on two different occasions with our two young children and the houses are perfect for our needs. We love the quiet, friendly neighbourhood with Coco the parrot making evening appearances. The short walk to the beach is perfect - we spent every evening watching our kids playing in the water and exploring the rocks. All the amenities at the cottage make beach living easy and family friendly - from outdoor showers and hoses, to boogie boards and sand toys for kids. We would definitely like to return! "

What makes this house unique

Our Guests Say it Best ! "The 2 bedroom suite at Hale Makai was perfect for our family of 4. We enjoyed smoothies and coffee on the deck every morning. And we loved the great kitchen and bbq for some casual vacation cooking. The beach at Mama’s fish house, right across the street, was an ideal snorkeling spot for our 8 and 10 year old kids. Paia is a hopping town with some great lunch spots. We also managed to fit in some windsurfing at Kanaha Beach Park, literally 10 minutes drive from our Kuau place. "

Casual and comfortable! We were sorry to leave and can’t wait to go back!


Paia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , upper level
    Bathroom 5 - shower , outdoor shower , Outdoor Hot and Cold
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Upper Level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Lower Level Hall Full Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , lower level
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathrooms are large with plenty of counter space, tub/shower.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , lower level with lanai and hall full bath. tub/shower
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , lower level with lanai and hall full bath tub/shower
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Lower level and hall full bath tub/shower
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Lower Level with and hall full bath tub/shower
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Upper Level and a Full Bath
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , Upper Level and a Full Bath
  • Don't need all 6 Bedrooms ? Smaller Party Size Welcome ! Please Inquire. Private Bedrooms are large size (16 X 16) & 9' High , ample closet space, extra set of sheets, ceiling fans, garden views.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Massage
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
If your family or group is from 2-12 guests please inquire as we can open adjoining double locked doors to offer up to 6 bedrooms or as little as 1 Bedroom.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2-6 Bedroom Maui Vacation Beach House-Hale Makai next to Hookipa & Mama's Beach
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews

Home improvement needed

  • 3 of 5

We love Maui. The house has great potential . It’s size was great for our large group. It was not cleaned well for our visit. The floors not mopped in a long time . The dishwasher was broken and old we had to pick up the bottom tray and place it as it could not slide in. A few more bath towels would have helped . As expensive as this house was to rent it is not too much to expect these simple things . Next visit I will look elsewhere to rent.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Thank you for expressing your concerns with our Home. Upon arrival of your group of 12 we had some minor issues that you noticed and we addressed them quickly. The floors are concrete and we always mop between parties, however they are a porous material. Had you mentioned anything about them we would of had our cleaner come in and remop the home. On the dishwasher, it is functioning properly and we were never told that the rack was off track . That would of been fixed. On the towels we do leave enough out for everyone and with the washer/dryer on property most guests just wash them as needed. We also provide beach towels so you do not use the house towels. We were really surprised you were not happy as when we met you nothing was discussed or we would of made sure your vacation was fine. We do welcome your group back and hope that any future guests would always tell us if they have any issues as we would always correct them. With Aloha, Maui Tropical Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect family home

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home and yard very close to beach - 1 minute walk. Home was very nice for our stay with extended family as there are plenty of opportunities to be together or have privacy. Stairs can be tricky with a young child.

We loved the beach by mama's (right outside the home), very sheltered for young children, plenty of sea turtles and fish. Would recommend bringing a snorkel.

We loved our stay and would highly recommend. Both Cliff and Paula were kind and easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Sara and Family, It was a pleasure having you and your extended family. The beach just steps away and the outdoor shower are loved by the little ones. We did notice you were a bit challenged with the stairs , as you had a baby ( older kids are fine) you would always need to pay attention or in the future let us know and we can rent a baby gate for you. We do look forward to your return. Aloha, Paula and Cliff
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location is Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Rented the house for a Family Vacation of 7 Adults and 2 Children. Paula and house exceeded our expectations. The House is right next to Mama's Fish House and about 10 mins from Paia. The house is perfect for a small group or a large group, location is perfect if your going to Lahaina or going to Hana! Will be Back!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Ivan, Yes this is a great Family Beach house and we know your kids love walking to the beach just steps away and the outdoor shower is pretty awesome. We look forward to your return !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quite Hide Away in Paia

  • 4 of 5

This was my forth trip to Maui, with the first three being in Kihei. Nice change, nice quite street with property on dead end of street at the end of the street. Small beach just steps away were we saw green sea turtles, natural break, keeps waves calm and great for young kids. Great little deli / store within a 5 min walk which has great coffee, sandwiches, beer, wine and more. We walked to Paia and local beaches and Mamas Fish House which was also nice.

Paula and Cliff took good care of us.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Thank you for staying with us over the Christmas Holiday ! We noted you did like the fact the little store Kuau Market was very nice to have within walking distance just to pick up a few things. The beach also is close by only a few steps away . Our location is ideal and being at the end of a street off the main Hana Hwy we never have traffic noise , you actually listen to the birds and when the surf gets big you can here the waves. We look forward to your return back to Maui and at our Beach Home. Aloha Paula (Maui Tropical Vacations)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

A pretty good place to stay

  • 3 of 5

We loved having so much square footage and being seconds from a beach. This house was well stocked and had a partial view of the ocean so you could tell how big the waves are. Having a local store walkable for Popsicles and coffee was great!

Now for the cons. The decorating was worse than my collage dorm. The beach at mama's fish house was not exactly the 'aquarium' we were sold, at least not for kids too young to snorkel. The local store was really expensive.

We enjoyed our stay, but the traffic into Paia was annoying. Next time we will stay closer to Baby Beach at Baldwin beach by the golf course.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Thank you for staying with us at our Beach House. We are a family oriented home and our furnishings and decor are so that everyone can enjoy the home and not be worried about coming in from the beach and not being able to sit on furniture- maybe that is what you were feeling. We strive to keep our home clean and comfortable so "Mom and Dad" do not have to always put everything away when they check in so they do not have to watch every move of their children. The local store within walking distance is a little more expensive then going into town, however the convience we here from most of our guests is worth it, During your stay in December that is our busy season and when the waves at famous "JAWS" are up. They were filming a movie at the time and of course everyone from all over the island had to go, the traffic always develops from this type of activity, something we cannot control . On the beach with the tide pools , unlike an aquarium when the waves are up. On a calm day with no waves it is lovely. We do hope that your experience was not limited and that you will consider coming back to the Kuau area and our Family Home . We do take every review into consideration and respond back so you know we do appreciate your concerns and want to address them. With Aloha, Paula (Maui Tropical Vacations)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Quite paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this place with 3 adults and 3 kids. It was a truly amazing experience. Paula could not have been more helpful in the whole process. We had a quite chaotic departure since our van was not starting when we tried to leave for the airport...and she even mailed me all the stuff we forgot:-)

The little beach opposite the house is great for little kids and the store at the end of the street has divine food. Paia is a few minutes drive and baby beach is about a 10 min drive. Perfect location, great house, best hosts..we will be back for sure....

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Thank you for such a nice response and it was a pleasure having you and your family. We welcome you back anytime ! Mahalo Paula (Maui Tropical Vacations)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $624
Property Damage Insurance $59
Refundable Damage Deposit $500

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed
Christmas 14 NT MIN STAY

Home may be Rented to One Party at a Time:
Rates are subject to change until reserved. Please inquire for rates on smaller parties.
In addition to the VRBO Cancellation Policy : Our Policy if guests cancels the reservation60 days before arrival a refund of guests payments will be made less 10% cancellation penalty and less the total cost of credit cards bank fees based on Amount only if the accommodation is re-reserved by another party for the period of guest occupancy. Refunds will be made on pro-rata basis, guests understands and acknowledges that owner has no obligation to re-reserve upon guests cancellation. No refunds for early departure. Please ask us for a personal quote for Travel Insurance for Trip Interruption/Lodging cancellation coverage. Non smoking property, no pets, no loud music to respect other guests in the building. Mahalo, Maui Tropical Vacations Paula and Cliff

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.