Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SPECTACULAR VIEW Bayfront Getaway -- great for family or friends!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,290 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

OUR BEACH COTTAGE 'Helen's Hideaway' is a wonderful setting for a family or friends vacation. We listened to our visitors and recently upgraded the cottage to enhance your comfort and enjoyment of this spectacular setting. This is a simple and well-maintained beach cottage, located right on Tomales Bay.

NEWS -- our dock has been rebuilt and is ready for fishing or just contemplating the beauty of the bay!

NEW ADDITION -- INTERNET ACCESS AND NEW FLAT SCREEN TV with Sony Entertainment Network, Netflix and connection for your laptop (pc).

The center of this cottage is a large living room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking Tomales Bay. You can experience the Bay from anywhere on the first floor. It's a great place to watch wildlife while you have an intimate or family meal, read a novel in front of the fire, or just sit and relax.

The house has a master bedroom downstairs with an adjoining bathroom with shower. Upstairs has 2 bedroom, one with a queen size bed and one with twin beds. There is a bathroom on the second floor, with a tub and overhead shower.

The house is surrounded by a deck and has a dock that reaches out into the bay. It's a perfect place to watch the sunset, sip a glass of wine and just enjoy the bliss of beautiful Tomales Bay.

The house is walking distance to the Tony's Seafood Restaurant, The Marshall Store, kayaking, and Hog Island Oysters. Enjoy day trips to Point Reyes Seashore, the Russian River, local wineries, whale watching, etc. We are very well located to take advantage of all the West Marin has to offer!

If you are not up for driving around, its a great place to sit in front of a roaring fire with friends and loved ones. We have a collection of old DVD and videos and a paperback library. If you like to fish, you can throw a line out from the deck or the pier. Digging clams under the house is another afternoon activity. Small charcoal barbecue available to cook your catch!

This is not an elegant house, but comfortable, family-friendly and situated in the midst of spectacular beauty.

Keywords: Vacation House, Bay Front Property, Family Friendly, Bay View

More Details

Amenities

Marshall House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1290 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • This is a quiet area. We ask guests to respect the atmosphere of this area and not engage in loud activities and respect quiet mornings and evenings.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Shower in the downstairs bathroom; Tub with overhead shower in the upstairs bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (1) One of the upstairs bedrooms has a queen size bed with adjoining bath, Double Beds (1) First floor master bedroom has a double bed with adjoining bathroom, Twin or Single Beds (4) One bedroom with twin beds located on the second floor with adjoining bathroom. It's possible to put twin beds together if desired., Baby Cribs (1) A portable baby crib is available. It is located in the closet of the master bedroom. Access to second floor bedrooms require ability to navigate stairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
Notes:
Private dock for boating or fishing, Private front yard for outdoor eating or sunbathing. Possible to swim off the pier -- at your own risk!

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
5% Complete
10% Complete
26% Complete
0% Complete
SPECTACULAR VIEW Bayfront Getaway -- great for family or friends!
average rating of 3.9473684 based on 19 reviews
5

Stunning g views!!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time! The property has an as absolutely STUNNING view that we enjoyed throughout our stay, but especially at sunset. The home is comfortable and welcoming, but not ostentatious. Sandy, the property manager was immensely helpful in answering my questions about parking ahead of time. She also had suggestions for me as to where to buy crab for a special meal. We brought kayaks and were able to launch them right from the property. We had such a special family rrunion over the Thanksgiving holiday. Highly recommended Helen's Hideaway!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy that you had a great Thanksgiving at our family vacation home. It's a wonderful place to have a family gathering. Your experience is what we hope for our guests -- comfortable and welcoming. I hope you have the chance to come again. Happy Holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

We came here for 3 nights, the weather and the views are amazing! The house is dated,but in a comfortable way. My husband fished nonstop and didn't get a hit, but that could have been the time of year, January. Our family joined us one evening to celebrate my birthday, and they all loved it. We definitely will be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful but needs upkeep

  • 3 of 5

Pluses: Sandy, the property manager, allowed us to brink our large dog; beautiful scenery from deck and spectacular peer; wood stove that works to heat cold house in winter; able to launch my kayak from the side and have great excursions, including in moonlight cavorting with seals and sea lions. Minuses: house needs repairs. I discussed with Sandy, who commented that the rental has come a long ways from when she took over. Shower stall leaks, bad mold in downstairs bedroom that required my husband and I to sleep separately because of allergies; had to change several lightbulbs on arrival, piles of termite droppings on arrival. Suggestion; get a dehumidifier! If I had known about the mold, I would have brought ours from home to keep mold down. The setting is the primary attraction and we had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Omg what a view! It was like being on a boat without the rocking.

  • 5 of 5

Cute house right on the water. It’s was very relaxing being there. Great place to spend New Years with family.

The stairs for upstairs two bedrooms and bath could be difficult for elderly or someone with disabilities. Problem solved by giving them down stairs bedroom and there is bathroom down stairs.

Cute town about 10 min away. Many outdoor activities in the area or just sit and enjoy the view.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very disappointing.... Needs serious overhaul. There are much better options in Marshall.

  • 2 of 5

I've stayed in many Marshall waterfront vacation rentals and like all the homes along the shore the location of Helen's Hideaway is wonderful. Delightful to look out over the bay and hear the water lapping under the building. Beautiful views over Tomales Bay.

Over the years I've found that value and comfort has declined in many of the local rentals but Helen's really wins a prize for being in need of some serious updating. Most furnishings appear to have come from a thrift store at least 20 years ago.

I might have let more things slide if we could have got the place warm and cozy but the wood-stove is, quite frankly, useless. Both my friend and I tried to light fires and failed (and we are both wood-stove owners so we know how to light a fire). There is simply no draw up the stovepipe to enable an decent fire. So much for curling up with a bottle of wine in front of a roaring fire. The alternative heat source is a tiny wall heater that is both noisy and ineffective for the size of the space.

There are no screens on the sliding doors so during the afternoon when it was warm enough to open the doors the kitchen became filled with flies.

The kitchen was OK as far as utensils, pots, dishes etc, the typical peculiar collection often found in a rental home but overall the kitchen needs some serious clean up and updating. How about a working hood over the stove or something as simple as a new dustpan and some sharp knives?

Beds could use updates too, especially the queen bed upstairs which is ridiculously squeaky. Bedrooms are dark and need better lighting.

Be aware that the stairs up to the second floor are extremely awkward and narrow and may be difficult for some people or pets to negotiate.

Showers put out plenty of great hot water but shower heads in both bathrooms have "special" qualities. Bedding and towels were clean and adequate.

Living room sofas were comfortable and looked quite new. House was well stocked with books and games.

Music system could use an upgrade, only a radio, no place to hook up an i-pod or smart phone etc. Didn't try the TV so can't comment on that.

Outside area was nice, though some of the deck boards do need replacing. The dock was nice, especially to walk out on in the early morning.

Overall very disappointing. I'm not a person that requires a super fancy place but this house is pretty awful. Its definitely time for the owners to invest some funds and provide a more comfortable and enriched stay for visitors.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sorry that our home did not meet this guest’s expectations. This is a family vacation home that we are happy to share with other families and friends. Our family continues to use this house as our family get away and we like it the way it is – a simple, clean home where one can relax and feel “at home”. In our property description we tried to honestly share what this home is like, “This is not an elegant house, but comfortable, family-friendly and situated in the midst of spectacular beauty”. We would encourage guests to call our property manager if you have any questions about staying at our home. She is very helpful in answering questions and tries to help people find a vacation home that meets the guests’ needs and expectations. We have made some recent updates in our furniture including the living room, upstairs queen-sized bed and the outside space of the house with the new deck furniture, a new dock and front fence. None of our furniture is from a thrift store. Although it is not new it is from our family home in the City. We have the deck area checked regularly for safety but we will check again. Thanks for the comments about the wood-burning stove. We haven’t heard that before or experienced it ourselves so we will have that checked out. It is also accurate that the stairs to the upstairs bedrooms is a small circular staircase so it is not good for guests who have mobility challenges.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Location location location!!!

  • 5 of 5

Loved being on the water! Deck is perfect for watching shooting stars. Owners described the property well.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Property Manager

SANDY GRAY, Property Manager or Barbara, Co-Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About SANDY GRAY, Property Manager or Barbara, Co-Owner

This house was owned by our mother who bought it as a family getaway. All of our family has spent weekends and vacations here. We want to share it with you because it a place that means so much to us. We hope you and your loved ones enjoy it as much as we do.

SANDY GRAY, Property Manager or Barbara, Co-Owner purchased this house in 1970

Why SANDY GRAY, Property Manager or Barbara, Co-Owner chose Marshall

This is one of the most pristine locations in the Bay Area. Though it is not far from San Francisco and the East Bay, you very quickly feel you are in 'the country', away from the fast pace of city life. Our mother bought this house as a family getaway and it certainly has been that for our family over these many years.

What makes this house unique

This is house is great for a weekend away with a friend or for a family vacation. Located right on Tomales Bay, you find yourself in one of the most pristine seaside locations in California. It's just a great place to escape the busy-ness of every day life and regroup! We are also walking distance to Hog Island Oyster Bar and the Marshall Store Oyster Bar. To the north you can go to Nick's for dinner. To the south, you find Tony's, then Point Reyes Station restaurants, Olema or Inverness are all close by.

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
San Francisco or Oakland
Car: necessary

Hog Island Oyster and Marshall Store are both within walking distance. This is a perfect base for a weekend of wandering around West Marin or driving to the wine country. Our house is about 45 minutes from Point Reyes seashore (lighthouse, whale watching, hiking, etc) and about a little over an hour to the Russian River (and easy day trip).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

WE NOW ACCEPT CREDIT CARD PAYMENT THROUGH VRBO Online Reservations.

holiday rates $250. per nt plus 10% tx plus $100. cleaning fee. Holiday weekends include Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, 4th of July, Memorial Day weekend and Labor Day weekend

Parties and events are not permitted at this property

Contact Sandy, our property manager, if you would like to bring a small pet to our home

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.