Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Dollar Point-Sleeps 10, 1 block to private beach-Hot tub-D.P. amenities

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Dollar Point Family Retreat is in a fabulous location just a short walk (.2 miles) from Dollar Point's private sandy beach on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe. There are filtered lake views and is perfect for the family getaway with four bedrooms and two baths. The Dollar Point area is very popular because of it's beautiful private beach, great pool, and 2 sets of tennis courts all located just 2 miles from Tahoe City. Within a 5 - 20 minute drive from this vacation accommodation you will find fabulous restaurants, shopping, world class ski areas such as Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows and championship golf courses at The Resort at Squaw Creek. (Please see link at bottom for more photos).

The living room has a wood burning gas fireplace, designer furnishings and a 46' Sony LCD and Play Station 3/Blue Ray DVD player. The living room opens onto a large furnished deck which has been set up for outdoor dining and grilling on the gas Weber BBQ.

The kitchen is very well equipped, for those who enjoy cooking, complete with espresso machine and Calphalon cookware. There is also a breakfast bar that seats 3 and is a great place to keep the cook company and enjoy a glass of wine. The attached dining room seats up to 10 and is the perfect place to relax with family and friends.

There is a hot tub in the back yard, and the house has an unusual amount of privacy due to green belt on one side. The house is on a very quiet street, one block from the private beach, tennis courts and pier. The development's pool & club house is about a half mile away.

Just minutes from the home there is outstanding bicycling on miles of paved bike trails that are separated from the roads and go down the West Shore as well as to Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows. If you prefer something more adventurous there are miles of mountain bike trails close by.

The ski areas of Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows are 12-15 minutes away. Northstar is about 20 minutes away.

Bedroom configuration:

Bedroom #1 The master bedroom with king sized bed

Bedroom #2 The 'Bunk Room' with 4 twin sized beds-PERFECT FOR CHILDREN, NOT SO GREAT FOR ADULTS.

Bedroom #3 The Guest adult bedroom with Queen sized bed

Bedroom #4 Has two twin sized beds.

PLEASE SEE LINK FOR ADDITIONAL PHOTOS.

THIS PROPERTY IS ALSO AVAILABLE FOR SWAP! PLEASE EMAIL FOR INFO

AVAILABILITY NOT POSTED HERE! PLEASE CONTACT OWNER FOR OPENINGS.

Keywords: Dollar Point, Beach, Tennis, Pool, Spa, Pier

More Details

Owner
Debbie Kelley
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Debbie Kelley

We are Larry and Debbie (but that's not Larry in the photo!) We've owned this home for 17 years and still love it and the neighborhood. We have been "home exchangers" since 2005, and have donated the house to many charity auctions. We joined VRBO June, 2010. We are striving to make it the house you want to come back to over and over again.

Debbie Kelley purchased this house in 2000

Amenities

Lake Forest House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom is on the main level.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed , 2sets of bunks & sleeps four CHILDREN well-Not for adults
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (6), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Dollar Point-Sleeps 10, 1 block to private beach-Hot tub-D.P. amenities
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
4

Nice home and nice area.

  • 4 of 5

Lovely summer/winter home. Very pretty area ---lots of beautiful trees and you can glance

the water from the balcony.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Diane. If you choose our home again, one night is on us! You were a delightful guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
marin county
4

Large and comfy, just as shown on Homeaway.

  • 4 of 5

This large home (ie not cabin) is comfy for all staying. 7 adults and 2 children ! Master bedroom up stairs; 3 downstairs. Situated at the end of the block, so quiet day and night.

Easy walk to neighborhood beach, with sand and lounges ! There is a pool available as well . Great for the kids who still have energy left !! Living room and kitchen along with master bedroom and bathroom upstairs. (be aware 2 flights of stairs) 1-outside and 1-inside. But very good for leg development! Hot tub is outside in back just about facing the woods ! So do not be surprised to see forest animals passing by trekking at night to the water. With a family such as mine this home gave us all the room adults and children needed. Outside porch with table to eat an early breakfast... I would return to this HOUSE in the woods . The only suggestion I would give is to replace the microwave with an updated one and think of purchasing of a new dishwasher, Having had a rental place previously, I know that for some reason these are important to renters ! THANKS FOR THE GREAT TIME WE WERE ABLE TO ENJOY WITH A HOME BUILT TO ACCOMMODATE A LARGE FAMILY....

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Yorba Linda, California, USA
4

Great Location!!!

  • 4 of 5

We visited Lake Forest home for 6 days for a family vacation. The location was pretty much IDEAL. The private beach in Dollar Point is perfect. The Dollar Point private pool/tennis courts are so great (a short drive). The grandkids were so excited about the diving board and overall "cool yibe" while using the facility. We had a bit of a problem finding it but once we did the kids visited it everyday.

Debbie (owner) always answered questions very promptly. The only reason I didn't give this location a five star is that the house could use some upgrading/deep cleaning. The carpet had spots (a good carpet cleaning would be helpful). We didn't use the dishwasher as it did not work. The refrigerator was not very cold and may need to be replaced as well.

The house was very well stocked and the BBQ/balcony was perfect.

Our family would stay here again with a few improvements. We had the BEST time with our family. Thank you very much for a grand time in Lake Tahoe Debbie!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Joyce! Thank you for your review. The carpet cleaners are there as I type, for the third time this summer...A new record! When we replace the carpet, it will definitely not be the color the previous owners installed...Off-white is so difficult to keep clean! The renters there now say the fridge is fine so the only thing I can think of is that the gauge was inadvertently moved. (The problem I have had with it is being too cold and damaging the produce). The GE dishwasher that I bought just two years ago is a complete lemon. I apologize but it does alright if dishes are completely void of food when put in there and the tap has been run to insure hot water is going thru right from the get-go. Moral of the story... do not buy GE. Anyway, you were terrific guests and if you choose to stay for a week or more with us again, one night will be on us. Kind regards, Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Excellent location - but the house itself is not in good shape.

  • 2 of 5

Debbie was really good at communicating with us, but that didn't really help the state of the house, which needs some major work. Many things are old, stained, broken or not in good condition. For example, the bar in the kitchen is TAPED together in numerous places to hold broken tiles together, window screens were either missing or torn (and there is no AC or fans), the dishes were not clean (we ended up buying paper plates and plastic utensils) - everywhere you looked, something needed repairing. It was disappointing. We did communicate with Debbie several times (and she answered quickly), but she always had an excuse for why something was broken. We have stayed at VRBO's before and this one was not up to par with other ones we've been to in terms of cleanliness and maintenance.

Also, be aware that the house creaks VERY LOUDLY - if you sleep downstairs where most of the bedrooms are, it is noisy and hard to sleep. We thought we were having an earthquake the first night, but it was just our group in the upstairs kitchen area. Definitely sleep in the one upstairs bedroom if you can! Also be aware that there are a lot of stairs in this house - a set to get to the front door and another steep set to get to the main living area - add in the higher altitude and you are huffing and puffing a lot.

On the positive side, the location is excellent. The private beach area is fairly close by and wonderful - our kids spent hours catching crawdads from the docks. There are chairs there with umbrellas for shade which was awesome. We also loved the pool area (it's not within walking distance but it's worth driving to) it has a lovely grassy area, bocce ball, ping pong, a small playground and a nice, heated pool. The house is also very close to a Safeway and restaurants - even the Truckee River Float was just 10 minutes away (which is very fun - I highly recommend it!).

All in all, we enjoyed our time in Tahoe City, but unfortunately, I don't think we would stay at this house again.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Stacey, For one who was so nice before & during your stay, I am stunned at this review. According to VRBO, this looks to be your first rental through them, & maybe because of inexperience, you feel a need to be unduly harsh? My response to your issues follows: Yes, a couple of tiles have white tape because some yahoos we rented to broke them. I tried to buy replacements, but was told those tiles are no longer made. The tape is there to prevent anyone from getting scratched. There is one screen that was severely damaged by a bear this summer. I need to replace that. As far as AC goes, I know of no one in Tahoe that has it. Your trip was during an unusually hot spell & I am sorry the fans did not help. I offered to reimburse for more fans that could be easily purchased 5 minutes away. I can only suppose that you decided you did not need them. I have spoken with my housekeeper to insure that all dishes are clean. I try to support her as she is a very good person & works very hard to support her family. Consequently, I think she tries to clean too many homes in a given day & may be rushing to get to the next. You are the first to say that the house creaks "VERY LOUDLY". Sounds like you had some very heavy, loud late night wanderers staying upstairs. People have said they love the house, including the location but have also commented on all of the extras we provide. Unlike many other rentals, ours has practically every spice and condiment anyone could ever want. We leave coffee so renters who get in late, do not need to go out first thing to get their morning fix. We keep ziplock baggies, foil, cellophane, etc for guests to use. We always provide fresh shampoo, conditioner and soaps. There is full Amazon and Netflix use as well as dozens of family friendly dvds. The cookware is plentiful & is Calaphalon. There are loads of beach toys & chairs for renters use. The gas grill is top of the line. There is gear for picnics and wood for fires. Another guest wrote: "From the start, Debbie made me (us) feel so welcome! She was so friendly on the phone & readily available when I had a question. She's very patient & personable. As soon as I stepped into her home, I knew we were going to have a great vacation. There was plenty of room for my husband & me, our two daughter's, my brother & my mother. The kitchen is well stocked and we enjoyed eating in for all of our breakfast and dinners...." I am sorry you feel you were short changed
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Great Space for Two Families

  • 5 of 5

We had a positive experience staying in this cozy home. There were some minor issues: a sub-par dishwasher and an interior door that was stubborn to close; but, these were far, far outweighed by the positives: a kitchen filled with every possible appliance or spice you could need, an awesome wood fireplace in a room with partial lake view, a really nice hot tub to relax after skiing, a tv with playstation, dvd's and surround sound, very good laminated instructions in each room, and most of all a very gracious and highly responsive owner who was so kind & quick to respond to questions. We were 4 adults and 5 teen kids; everyone enjoyed their stay here.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Cozy ski getaway

  • 5 of 5

Spent a long weekend here. It was great for our small group. The hosts were extremely responsive and helpful.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Train
15 Miles
Truckee
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Squaw Valley/Alpine Meadows
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Dollar Point

The best place to rent watercraft (and get ski lessons too!) is High Sierra Water Ski School at Sunnyside. They book up, especially during July and August so reservations are strongly recommended. http://www.highsierrawaterskiing.com/

We like to water ski early when the lake is the calmest and follow it with the best breakfast we know of at the Firesign Cafe across the street. It is very popular and can have a long wait on busy weekends. https://www.firesigncafe.com/

Terrific bakery and take-out sandwich shop that is very close is the Sugar Pine Cakery on Lake Forrest Road. It's an 11 minute walk or 2 minutes by car.

Tahoe House has a wonderful bakery, prepared lunch and dinner items, coffees to go, wines etc.

Another great spot for to-go sandwiches is the PDQ market in Tahoma.

Worthwhile in summer:

Bliss State Park for hiking and picnics

Fishing the Truckee River

A bit of a drive, but worth it: Sand Harbor - it’s the most amazing beach with kayaks for rent. http://parks.nv.gov/parks/lake-tahoe-nevada-state-park

Activities for children include:

Pony rides in Alpine Meadows and Northstar

Squaw Valley has harness trampoline jumping, an arcade, zip line, rock climbing and on top of the mountain via the tram or hiking, there is an ice skating rink and a large swimming pool and separate jacuzzi.

Tahoe City Commons Beach in the heart of town has a large play park, free Sunday concerts and on Wednesdays there is outdoor movie night.

Peewee Golf at Magic Carpet Golf in Carnelian Bay

Magic Carpet Golf - Carnelian Bay, CA

Rafting the Truckee River can be a blast but best to buy raft before you come to Tahoe. You can enjoy terrific outdoor dining at the River Ranch at the end too.

One of our many favorite hikes is the 5 Lakes trail. The trail head is via Alpine Meadows Rd.

We love riding bikes in Tahoe. If you didn't bring bikes, you can rent in Tahoe City at Dave's or the Olympic bike shop. It's an easy ride along the west shore or along the Truckee River all the way to Squaw Valley. If you have racks and are more adventurous, head to the "Fiberboard Highway" as the locals call it. https://yourfriendinhighplaces.net/tag/fiberboard-freeway/

Another great hike is at the falls at Emerald Bay. The best time is the spring because the falls are powerful. In Sept there is an amazing fish hatch in the riverbeds that is available for viewing. The mansion there, Vinkingsholm, is open for tours during the summer. http://vikingsholm.com/

Restaurants in Tahoe City that we recommend include:

Christie Hill

Lake Tahoe Brewery

The Bridgetender Cafe

The Dam Cafe

Sunnyside

Jake's (Closed due to flooding in December. Should reopen in May)

Garwood in Carnelian Bay

The Tahoe City Golf Course has the great breakfast.

Other Restaurants:

Manzanita - Ritz Carlton - 20 minutes over 267

Mikuni - Sushi at Northstar

PlumpJack at Squaw Valley - 15 minutes away

Groceries:

� Supermarkets: Safeway and Save Mart - 5 minutes away

� West Shore Market - next to Sunnyside. It's a new market that is getting better each day. They have the best fresh seafood and steaks in the Tahoe basin, some basics groceries, sandwiches and a solid beer and wine selection.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Forest House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer2
Jul 15 2017 - Aug 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2017 - Nov 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Holidays 2017-18
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 6 2018
6 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Ski week
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 24 2018
4 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
4th of July
Jun 1 2018 - Jul 8 2018
6 night minimum stay
$410
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $180
Pet Fee $40
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $500

If possible, guest is free to arrive as early as they want on day of check-in and stay as late as they want on their last day as long as no others are departing or arriving on those days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable