Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Steps to Capitola Beach and town - Deck with Fire Pit & BBQ on the Soquel Creek!

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 7 Bedrooms + Loft, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 2-13)

Embrace a luxurious and whimsical lifestyle with your first step into the Famous and Historic Windmill Silo Beach Property!

Completely updated and restored to have function yet uniqueness for owners children, friends and family in an unbelievable playful setting. Custom designed touches and color are everywhere – both homes are totally unique! The Windmill kitchen sports tangerine orange cement countertops with stainless steal cabinets. The Silo kitchen keeps pace with zince counter tops and copper nails that set off the amazing colorful textured backsplash made from recycled San Francisco bus stop glass! Since the rooms are at different angles, the cabinets and beds had to be custom built. There is a surprise in every room - from the converted 1950's orange vintage refrigerator to the under lit glass bathroom sink; the list goes on! Creativity and imagination on the part of the owner and local craftsmen made it all work. The colors are bright, the décor is playful; the entire property has been customized as a perfect vacation spot for fun loving couples or families.

The Windmill House consists of two separate windmill tower homes that share the common yard, patio, putting green, hot tub, 2 outdoor showers and large porch with built in barbecue and fire pit that overhangs the Soquel Creek. This set up is ideal for families or close friends with children. The main floor of the back house has a beautifully remodeled kitchen, living room, full bathroom and the 1st bedroom which features a custom built Murphy Queen bed. The stairs leading up the windmill tower take you to a large porch with comfortable seating area and on to the 2nd bedroom with Queen Bed and half bath (view looking out to the creek and trestle). Then, on up to the highest part of the windmill and the 3rd bedroom. This room is like Peter Pan’s getaway! Custom bunk bed for 3 kids, flat screen TV and view from the top!

The second home, which is adjacent to the first, has a similar floor plan. The main floor has been totally remodeled with a full bathroom, custom Murphy Queen Bed, large living room with electric fireplace, flat screen TV, laundry room, uniquely designed kitchen and appliances and state-of-the-art stereo/surround sound for indoor and outdoor enjoyment. This isn't just any state of the art surround sound, it's called Apple TV, which gives you access to endless entertainment that reaches the entire property! As you make your way up the windmill tower, you will come to the 1st bedroom with one single bed and sink area. Going further up the windmill, you will find the 2nd bedroom with one single bed and a very cool and incognito urinal for the gentleman. Finally, at the top of the tower is another kid’s “lounge” area with bean bags, flat screen TV and views from the top! Kids LOVE it!

Most importantly, the Windmill house sits on the secluded and charming River Path of the Soquel Creek just steps from the famous Capitola Village and beach. You and your company can enjoy the sunset and creek-side wildlife from your private porch while you barbecue and the kids roast marshmallows over the fire pit. The custom made screen is easily accessed but safe for children. The sitting area around the fire pit is made out of stone which warms up with the fire and keeps everyone cozy while stories and laughter abound.

This home has it all! Fully furnished and richly decorated! All bed and bath linens are included as well as the essentials; toilet paper, paper towels, hand/dish soap etc. Just bring you and your loved ones and ENJOY!

Search "Capitola Village" on FACEBOOK to see what is happening in Capitola!

https://www.facebook.com/CapitolaVillage/

Keywords: waterfront, creekside, ocean view, peaceful, charming, secluded, private, family, getaway, hideout, kid friendly, couples retreat, unique, vacation, retreat, Capitola village, Capitola beach,

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

Why The Owner chose Central Coast

It was loads of fun designing something totally different and out of the box. It is the beach after all!!

Amenities

Capitola House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Located on ground floor in Windmill House
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Located on ground floor in Silo House
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , With sink located in Queen bedroom in Silo house
    Bathroom 4 - shower , 2 enclosed outdoor showers with hot water!
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 murphy bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , Located on 2rd floor of windmill house
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 2nd floor contains of Windmill House
    Bedroom 4 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 4th floor of Windmill House, 2 single futons available
    Bedroom 5 - 1 murphy bed , Located on 1st floor of Silo House, Queen Murphy Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , Located on 2nd floor of Silo House
    Bedroom 7 - 3 bunk bed , Triple bunk bed located on 3rd floor of Silo House
  • Total of 3 Queen beds, 2 Single Beds, 1 Triple Bunk Bed and 2 single futons available. Both Murphy beds are located on the main floor in each house.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Home also contains two enclosed outdoor showers (hot water) to rinse off from the day at the beach!

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Steps to Capitola Beach and town - Deck with Fire Pit & BBQ on the Soquel Creek!
average rating of 4.96 based on 50 reviews
5

Perfect house and location

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time ever ,the house was perfect for our family . Everything was absolutely perfect the house has everything you need and more, our kids and grandkids not once said were bored and there's nothing to do .Rose the manager was very helpful and caring for our every need we definitely are returning next year

The Verner family

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thank you Tony for such a great review! You and your family were delightful and it's so great hearing how you all were so entertained during your stay!! Fantastic! And even better news to hear of your return next summer! See you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A little bit of everything

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing place! It had just that perfect bit of quirky that really worked and was very well maintained. An artists' paradise! My children and nephews loved all the secret rooms and little cubbies (and so did the adults). It was well equipped for a longer stay. We stayed for over a week...we didn't need to bring a single thing. The golf, table tennis, kayak, paddle boat kept us all more than entertained. It was great to be in a place that was safe for the children to just be relaxed. The adults were delighted that we could enjoy a cup of coffee (or wine) on the water and listen to the happy giggles of family enjoying each other (sans technology).

Location! Location! Location! Just a short jaunt to downtown. We enjoyed our morning coffee runs and the children enjoyed having easy access to the corner ice cream shop. Neighbors and walkers-by were friendly and welcoming.

We highly recommend this Capitola location. We WILL be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yay! So great to hear the wonderful experience was shared by ALL! Thank you for the terrific review and even better learning that you WILL be back! Enjoy the rest of your summer!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful for families and groups!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having your family stay at our property and hope you all come back next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Capitola

  • 4 of 5

The house was great, one more bathroom would have been nice.

The biggest complaint would be we have not received our $1k deposit back from VRBO. It has been 3 weeks.

Could someone please respond?

Thank you

connie

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review and I'm very sorry to hear the trouble with VRBO. They are supposed to automatically refund our guests deposits one week after departure. As soon as I heard from you, I went ahead and released the funds myself and contacted them directly to see what was going on. They said they were unsure what happened but since I went ahead and did it, the funds were indeed processed two weeks ago. They have also emailed you with a confirmation email along with their direct phone number if you need further assistance. I would also recommend checking with your bank and credit card company since it seems as though there is something else going on. I am so very sorry and just as discouraged hearing that there may be a credit card glitch or something with their system. I truly hope to hear back from you whether your funds have been recovered or not. We've never experienced something like this and hope to never do so again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, AZ
5

Windmill Rocks

  • 5 of 5

Location was perfect. Property was as advertised. All goodness.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Short and sweet - just perfect! Thank you and please come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palo Alto
5

What a beautiful home and location

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from 4 days in Capitola. We have staying in the town many times but this was our first time on the river. I think we found the perfect place. We had lots to do and enjoyed sitting out reading, BBQ and watching the sunsets. We also loved the decor and all the little extras. They even had ping pong. We will certainly be back again.

The Harrison's

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank YOU all for staying with us and taking exceptional care of our property during your stay - we really appreciate it! Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
San Jose & Monterey Airport

Enjoy your very own putting green and ping pong table at the house!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Additional Guest Fee $50 per person per night
Damage Deposit $1,000

This is a 4 night minimum vacation rental during the summer however, we will accommodate lesser nights if/when there are gaps in our calendar. HOLIDAYS INCREASE TO HIGH SEASON RATE AND THERE IS A 4 NIGHT MINIMUM.

In addition to the rate, there is a $200 cleaning fee and a $1000 security deposit (fully refundable). (There is a 10% TOT tax that is applied to the rate & cleaning fee only.) Additional $50 fee applies for every person over 10 (max 13)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties