Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury, modern, renovated Sonoma Escape - Pool, Walk/Bike to Plaza

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4 adults and 2 children)

We have had a love affair with Sonoma for years and are happy to call it home, every now and again anyway. We picked Birch Rd. to build our family getaway and want to share it with you. We took a the wonderful shell of an old 1940's cottage and gave it a facelift to create the most relaxing, comfortable retreat you can imagine. Our modern Sonoma cottage is fully renovated with high-end finishes and decorated with style. Whether you want to bike ride around the gorgeous countryside (bikes provided and many wineries within biking distance), walk to Sonoma Plaza for shopping/dining or lounge by the pool all day and dine al fresca, this cottage is for you.

We have also thought of every detail, especially if you want to bring your kids along. We have a gorgeous pool (with automatic cover that holds the weight of a truck, so no safety issues), custom, modern wooden play set, bikes, toys and portable crib/other items for babies. Our cottage also includes built in bunk beds for 2 kids age 12 and under.

Our cottage is perfect for your Sonoma get together, with a large outdoor dining table and pool lounge chairs for your friends.

The cottage boasts a brand new custom kitchen, new stainless appliances and an indoor dining area. Each of the bedrooms includes a Queen size bed.

In addition, we have a brand new gas fire pit for enjoying your last glass of Cab in the evening, under the cafe lights.

The bathroom is stylishly renovated with a deep soaking tub and bluetooth speaker that seamlessly connects to your phone & music.

TOT Certificate No. 2362N

Quiet Hours (10pm-7am)

Max number of guests: 6 (4 adults and 2 children)

Max number of vehicles: 3

Keywords: Cottage, modern, remodel, Stylish, pool, kid-friendly

More Details

Jill Williams
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2017

About Jill Williams

We are a family of 4 from Marin County. Mom, Dad, Girl, Boy. We love wine country and the simplicity of small town living...on the weekends anyway!

Jill Williams purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Jill Williams chose Sonoma

We love the country. We love wine, we love the restaurants and we love our neighbors. Everyone in Sonoma is so incredibly nice and we love riding our bikes everywhere and enjoying the unbelievably nice weather.

What makes this cottage unique

Riding our bikes to wineries and the Square. Walking to restaurants. Lounging by the pool. Spending our life outside.


Sonoma Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
6% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury, modern, renovated Sonoma Escape - Pool, Walk/Bike to Plaza
average rating of 4.9 based on 60 reviews

Awesome home, kitchen, pool - pictures are spot on! A+

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for four nights in September and loved the home. Cool little place that felt bigger and had so many cool features. We had a bunch of places we wanted to see but enjoyed the home so much that we found ourselves rushing back home to chill. Not really walkable to the square but only a couple minute drive. Awesome backyard, pool and kitchen that we didn't want to leave anyway. Close to great restaurants, tasting rooms , great A/C, fast wifi, amazon firestick and very clean. Would stay again in a minute. Traveled with wife and six month old baby and they had some baby stuff. Good time. Very nice owner.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a free weekend and decided last minute to head to Sonoma for a weekend getaway and the Sonoma Cottage was perfect! Plenty of space and quick access to downtown, wineries and breweries (Sonoma Springs Brewery is a must see - awesome beer!) Can't wait to make another weekend trip - thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very cute house in great condition. My adult children stayed there and really liked the house

  • 4 of 5

They felt the location was a little off the beaten path though not that far from the square by car.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This cottage was exactly as I expected. My grandkids loved the pool. Everything was extremely clean and well organized. There were only 2 lounge chairs in the yard. Would have enjoyed a few more as there were 4 adults. We used the chairs that are around the table but stretching out near the pool is nicer for extended periods. Everything else was absolutely wonderful. The girls loved the bunk beds. Loved the succulent arrangement on the outdoor table. Nicely done.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and modern in odd location on outskirts of town small bedrooms and one bathroom with toilet

  • 3 of 5

Nice clean refurbished cottage. The bedrooms are very small with limited room for luggage. Tastefully decorated and well appointed with everything required in the kitchen. Attractive outside entertaining area with BBQ pool and fire pit. Major draw back was one very small bathroom with the toilet within. Given the nightly tariff is high, value for money is below par. Access to the property is off a narrow potholed laneway and difficult to spot - not signposted well on the outskirts of town.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Eileen - I am sorry you feel this way. The price for the cottage is in line and often less expensive than other rentals in the vicinity that are not as well located or decorated/remodeled. Also, the photos reflect the EXACT condition of the cottage. It is clear that the bathroom is not large, but the shower/tub is an enormous deep soak tub with plenty of room. Also, the bedrooms are perfect for a vacation rental - for sleeping in. The rest of the cottage and outdoors is perfect for hanging out in. It provides WAY more room and high-end furnishings/finishes than the hotel across the street that sells out for hundreds of dollars more per night for a single, normal hotel room. Again, sorry the cottage was not perfect for you - we sure try hard to make it impeccable. Perhaps a hotel or $1000 per night rental would be better suited for you next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great stay!

  • 4 of 5

Pros: Conveniently located. Great bicycle paths in the area. House is cleaned well. Nice pool.

Cons: Hard to locate. GPS indicated to stop too early. Go straight and around the bend after you turn onto Birch Rd. Oven not working properly. Fire pit and barbeque need cleaning to be usable.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Frank - I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. This is the first review I have ever received like this and it somewhat baffles me. We were at the cottage the days after your stay and the oven, grill and fire pit were all working perfectly and are perfectly clean. The oven is a commercial-type gas oven/stovetop that is brand new and has probably only been used a couple dozen times. The fire pit is BRAND new and was $2500 - we bought it in June brand new for the season. It is a metal patina finish that looks like rust, so I can only guess that you thought that was dirty? The grill is also only 2 years old, a high-end Weber grill. Anyone who has stayed and will stay in the future know immediately that the cleanliness of the cottage and everything in it is quite impeccable and something I take very seriously. Also, the cottage is on a road with a total of 7 houses and has the address on the front, so I am not sure how it could possibly be difficult to find. Also, Google Maps and Apple Maps and Waze all take you directly to the house perfectly. Perhaps an old style GPS is what you were using and it was incorrect. In any case, any future renters, please read the other 51 reviews on the cottage that describe the true state of the cottage! I take great pride in making sure the cottage is perfect.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


wine tasting


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning $130 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties