Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 3
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property


Spectacular, panoramic mountain view from sunrise to sunset. This custom built, luxury home is located on Highlands Mountain. 15 minutes from downtown Highlands. On top of Highlands Mountain. It is one of the the highest homes in the area, placed right next to forest service land for additional privacy and easy access to hiking trails. Maps for hiking trails are available in home.

****View is so expansive that you can see hawks and eagles soaring past the balconies*****

***Home was built by a renowned custom log home builder with handmade, custom features throughout entire home****

The house is fully stocked (towels, linens, soap, toilet tissue, garbage bags, paper towels, cleaning agents, etc.).400-1200 count sheets throughout. Temperpedic master bed. Down comforters throughout home. Thirsty towels throughout. The refrigerator has purified water. A fully stocked gourmet kitchen with mountain views awaits your culinary skills. Please bring charcoal if you plan on using outside grill. Also bring fire logs if you plan on using the outside fire pit. Marshmallow sticks are located next to outdoor fire pit in holder on side of barn. Please extinguish fire and empty trash after enjoying the fire pit. In winter months, please pick up 1-2 bags of salt in case of snow. 4WD vehicles are also recommended if you know it is going to be snowing. If you do not have a 4WD vehicle, just park at the top of driveway on the grass (on Dendy Orchard rd)

The property looks and feels like a 5 star mountain resort. Spend the day hiking on groomed, creekside mountain trails and your evening dining at an award winning restaurant in Highlands. We have run into town to buy supplies only to find ourselves still there 5 hours later exploring the many unique shops and trying a new restaurant for lunch and/or dinner. Coming home to this beautiful estate is priceless. Fireplaces inside and out will thrill you all 4 seasons with the push a a remote control button. Fire pit for memorable outdoor nights by a roaring fire.

Accommodations: House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, plus loft (Sleeps 8-9)

**Can't find availability for this year? You can check next year's availability on the calendar. Also check calendar often, we sometimes get a cancellation)**

**If your dates are not available, please email us, as there is another cabin located down the road available to rent,

(VRBO# 763694).**

**The botanical gardens is located 3.5 miles away in downtown Highlands. Dry Falls is 2.5 miles away.The Bascom: Center for the Visual Arts is 2.5 miles away from the Lodge. The Farmers Market is 3 miles from the property. Whiteside Mountain is 3.1 miles away.

If guests accumulate more than 2 large bags of trash, they must be removed from property and take to nearest trash drop off. (Franklin or Highlands)

For more information, availability, and photographs, please visit my Link at the bottom of this page. This also serves as a blog to add your comments.

Minimum stay is 3 nights. (check in at 4:00pm; check out at 10:00am). Later check out time may be available upon request and approval only.

All special requests will be considered.

Maximum number of people staying: 8

Charge of $25 per person per night will apply for more than 8 guests after approval.

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 14, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

DJ's house was perfect. We were two families of three and cooked many great meals there and enjoyed the perfect summer weather and great views from the terrace. The location is perfect with many spectacular hikes and swimming holes nearby. Check-in was easy and communication was great. Thank you, DJ, for a wonderful visit!


Response from you: Thank you Kelly! We look forward to having you back!!

What Kelly loved about your listing:

Thank you so much, DJ, for everything, and for making us feel welcome in your wonderful home. We so enjoyed our nice bottle of wine, too. :)

July 2016
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 3


Highlands Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 5 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 3 twin/ single
    Other (See Description) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Loft sofa bed with memory mattress topper in queen size
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (3), Queen sleeper sofa in upstairs loft.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • jetted tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
WHILE IN HIGHLANDS: >>Shop till You Drop (many unique shops) >>Hike Whiteside Mt. >>Walk up Sunset Mt. >>Visit the Bascom >>Take In Waterfalls >>Ride Horses >>Play Golf >>Enjoy Nature from a Zip Line Canopy Tour **The botanical gardens is located 3.5 miles away in downtown Highlands. **Dry Falls is 2.5 miles away. **The Bascom: Center for the Visual Arts is 2.5 miles away from the Lodge. **During the holiday season, be sure to check out "Tom Sawyer's Christmas Tree Farm" in Cashiers. Lots of family activities and holiday fun for the entire family. **The Farmers Market is 3 miles from the property. **Whiteside Mountain is 3.1 miles away. **Please go to this website for lots of information before your stay in Highlands:


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(75 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
2% Complete
1% Complete
5% Complete
average rating of 4.6 based on 78 reviews
Charlotte, NC


  • 5 of 5

Our family of four had a spectacular stay. A few things to note:

- The property was spotlessly clean and well decorated.

- The house is even larger than it appears in the pictures. The covered deck is huge, with lots of seating and a nice dining table.

- If you have kids, they will likely love the ping pong and foosball tables. Our whole family did. Even during good weather, they will be appreciated, as they provide a great alternative to TV in the evenings.

- The upstairs master bed may be the most comfortable I've ever had in a rental property.

- Location is VERY private and quiet with great views of the surrounding mountains. While 15 minutes from Highlands proper, it's very close to the key attractions along SR 64 and the drive along the river to and from town - while winding - is also scenic.

- Consider the size of the property, game tables, large TV, and covered deck with fireplace as you make your plans. If it rains - as it did on two of the four days of our stay - these amenities could make your trip.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeff, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hunter's Lodge. Our guests love the game room so much that some forego going out many nights and stay at the lodge. I agree that the master bed is the most comfortable bed ever! We look forward to you staying again at Hunter's Lodge soon! . Thank you! DJ
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very Nice, Comfortable, Cozy & Well Maintained Lodge

  • 5 of 5

Great Location, privacy, with spectacular views & easy access to town, sights & hiking trails. We enjoyed everything about Hunters Lodge, the gas fireplace on the spacious balcony is a wonderful place to relax, visit & stay warm as the evening cools. The beds are comfortable & the gathering space is nice for everyone to be together while cooking or just relaxing. Look forward to returning to Hunters Lodge in the Spring!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Our friends invited us to join then at Hunters Lodge and we just had a blast!

The pictures do not do it justice. This is a large custom cabin from top to bottom. We ate every meal outside on the deck on the large dinner table with gorgeous views from sunrise to sunset. The big thirsty towels and luxurious linens kept us all sleeping in later than normal. This property is not to be missed! Thank you DJ for helping us make beautiful memories..

Michelle G

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Milton, GA


  • 5 of 5

Our 3rd year at Hunters Lodge. This is like our home away from home in the Highlands. Our family of 5 just LOVE this place. Custom cabin from top to bottom. Spotless and taken care of like a 5 star resort. We all stay up way too late at night enjoying the outside fire pit. The game room is a favorite for our 15 year old and his buddy and my wife is obsessed with the gourmet kitchen. Even our bulldog "Rocky" never wants to leave. We discovered some wonderful new restaurants downtown. Thank you DJ and staff for making us always feel welcome and attentended to! See you in 6 months!,

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

READ BEFORE YOU RENT! Sadly, a disappointing stay on many levels.

  • 2 of 5

Remote location 1/2way between Franklin/Highlands off the Uber curvy HWY64. Over 15 min to nearest restaurant/grocery. Dark inside, sagging mattresses, decor dated. We have been renting pet friendly homes from VRBO/Home Away for many years and have had great experiences and have ALWAYS received our full damage deposit refund, which can be verified through our rental history. This property is listed as pet friendly, and as usual, I sent the home owner a personal email to verify that they are indeed pet friendly and let them know I am bringing dogs. I had been in contact with the owner via email and she was well aware that I was bringing my two dogs. However, after I had already paid in full, she stated her policy is to only have dogs under a certain weight limit, which was NOT written in the rental policies at the time of my booking. As this was an oversight on her part, there was no penalty at that time. Her rental policy is very particular about not letting dogs on furniture, etc. and she charges a $150 nonrefundable pet fee. We respected her wishes and did not allow our dogs to come in contact with any of the furniture, etc. On check in, we picked up all the throw pillows and little blankets that were on the couches and beds and put them away, and shut all doors to the extra bedrooms and play room just to be sure no hair would get on them from shedding. We followed the check out instructions to the letter, going the extra mile to wipe down the bathroom and kitchen counters, and dusting the furniture. Then came the email that I was only receiving half of my damage deposit back due to dog hair on the rugs and bedding. Number one, this is a pet friendly rental and dog hair should be expected. Number two, that hardly justifies "damage" to the property. Remember, we had also paid a $150 pet fee that was nonrefundable. When I wrote back questioning this charge, she replied that there was dog hair "everywhere" and that there was mud all in the shower. She accused us of letting our dogs "wrestle" on the beds and putting our dirty dogs in the shower. Despite what she may say in her response, that is a complete lie. Our dogs are old, don't wrestle, and certainly never got muddy or even stepped into any of the bathrooms in the house. We were shocked at her response and have now come to the conclusion that she basically fleeced us. I'm sure she will post an ugly response but believe me, I'm telling the truth. Our house guests are witnesses.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We know you are unhappy that we had to deduct the extra charges from your stay. As you know, when you initially booked, we were told you had 2 smaller dogs only to find out weeks later that the dogs were border collie mixes that were over 50 pounds each and that your friend wanted also bring her dog. We were called by the housekeepers when they were trying to clean the lodge after you checked out. They said I needed to see the pictures they were sending. Urine stains on the rugs in living room and hair all over the furniture and all over the beds. Even under the blankets on the sheets and sticking to the 1200 thread count comforter covers. We had to drive up 3 hours to help them strip everything and head into town to the dry cleaners. Then the carpet cleaners had to come. We have never in 6 years had to hold back anything from a pet damage deposit before. Many of our repeat guests bring their dog/dogs with them. The housekeepers had to come back the next day after spending over 6 hours the first day. Our costs exceeded what we held from your damage deposit. We take pride in keeping the cabin extremely clean and free of any pet hair or dander for our guests that have allergies. Note our 5 star rating and the 70 percent repeat guest rate. I would recommend being upfront about your dogs when you rent in the future and bring crates to keep this from happening again. It really was unacceptable. But thank you for the nice compliments you gave to Hunter's Lodge in your note during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice family cabin but cluttered.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time this weekend for our family eclipse vacation. The cabin is great and everyone had fun and relaxed even though the clouds messed up the eclipse.

There are a few things that we would have liked better. There is no pantry place to store nonperishable food and the fridge and freezer do not get cold enough. The trash bags provided are very Cheap and rip easily! There was no stopper for the kitchen sink so we had to wash dishes in a pan. The sponges provided for the sink were smelly and old so we had to use a bath wash cloth to wash the dishes.

Other than those few things it's a great place to stay with your family!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting us know about the fridge temps. We think one of the children from last week must have played with the digital settings on the front of fridge. We have adjusted it back to normal. So sorry you did not see the new sponges under the sink. They were in a basket behind the cleaning supplies. We should have had them more visible for you. We are available anytime day or night to answer any question at all for our guests. So, if we have you back again, feel free to call us even if it is just about a sponge! :) So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Dry Falls
Bridal Veil Falls
The Bascom: Center for the Visual Arts
Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro
Highlands Nature Center
On the Veranda Restaurant
Buck's Coffee Cafe
Glen Falls
Mountain Fresh Grocery
"Don't miss this hot spot for breakfast!!"
Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream
The Ugly Dog Pub
On the Veranda Restaurant
The Pizza Place
Martin-Lipscomb Performing Arts Center
Ruka's Table -- CLOSED
Flipside Restaurant -- CLOSED
Lakeside Restaurant
Ristorante Paoletti
Madison's Restaurant
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Highlands Smokehouse
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Highlands Highway
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
On the Veranda
Car: necessary

Bring the Family and Explore our

Beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains....

Spring 2017

Equestrian Package

Enjoy a trail ride with the Dillard or Arrowmont Stables

Whitewater Rafting on the Chattooga River

Fly Fishing

With plenty of notice we can arrange fly fishing lessons or a day guide to help you find the best trout in the Mountains.

Play golf at beautiful

Sky Valley Country Club

minutes from Highlands

Ask about

Highlands Playhouse Schedule

PLEASE contact owner(DJ) via email or call 678-350-3419 with any questions. Thank you!!!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $300

Owners must be notified upon request for booking if any additional guests will be coming to home to visit. Security deposit will not be refunded if this is not disclosed additional fees will apply.
Guests are 100% responsible for any damages. the credit card used for booking will be charged.
If a pet is brought to the property without paying the pet fee and notifying owners, the full security deposit will be forfeited and fees charged to credit card on file for any cleaning or damage.
Maximum of 8 persons. (Forfeiture of deposit if more than 8 persons on any night)
Owners must be notified before booking if any additional guests will be coming to home to visit even if they are not sleeping over. Security deposit will not be refunded if this is not disclosed.
**We charge a conditional cleaning fee of $150. We ask that you complete a few things prior to your departure. If these conditions are not met, an additional fee of $75 will be added to your stay:
Hang all damp and dirty towels.
Dirty dishes loaded in dishwasher and dishwasher started.
Absolutely no knives or wooden utensils in dishwasher.
Only one bag of tied garbage properly tied inside cabin. All other trash must be taken to the trash drop off on Hwy 16 towards Franklin on right before Hwy 441.
The key back in the lock box.
If your stay is during the summer months, please set the air conditioner to 80 degrees upon departure.
If your stay is during the winter months, please set the heat to 55 upon departure.
Please turn off all lights and televisions upon departure.
All moved items inside and out must be returned to proper place.
Grill cleaned.
Owner notified if propane tank is empty.
If your pup came with you, all waste must be picked up and no pet hair on beds or furniture.
Please close all drapes.
Owner notified of any damage.
Please lock the front and back doors behind you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties