Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous lakefront escape with fireplace, close to skiing

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 14

With space for up to 14 guests, this wonderful six-bedroom Tahoe Donner getaway offers a gorgeous lake view, plenty of room to roam, and a picture-perfect location right across the street from Donner Lake West End Beach State Park! When you stay here, you will enjoy amenities like a large outdoor deck surrounded by trees, a cozy gas fireplace inside, a full kitchen, and entertainment amenities like WiFi, cable TV, a VCR, and a DVD player.

During your stay, spend a sunny day at the 10-acre West End Beach State Park for paddle-boarding, swimming, tennis, volleyball, or even a picnic by the lake (for access to this state beach, please be aware that there is a nominal, daily fee). On the Fourth of July, this is the best spot in Truckee to catch the fireworks! But like all of Lake Tahoe, Donner Lake is not just a summer destination - during the winter months, you'll be within 15 minutes of Northstar, Sugar Bowl, and Boreal Mountain ski resorts.

When you're not out swimming or skiing, this Donner Lake House offers a comfortable, laid-back setting for family vacations, reunions, or getaways with friends. Spend evenings outside flipping burgers on the deck or inside snuggled around the fireplace. The interior is reminiscent of a cabin in the mountains and offers a warm, inviting space, complete with the main living area on the upper floor.

After a home-cooked meal (the large full kitchen is with everything you'll need - even a dishwasher), settle back in the living room for a movie. And when it's time for everyone to head off to bed, there's room for 14 guests to stay in this home's six bedrooms. Specific beds include one king bed, three queen beds, six twins, and a futon.

Other amenities include multiple full bathrooms (three), a washer and dryer, and a stereo. This Truckee vacation home is perfect for summer lake trips, family ski vacations, or any retreat where you need a comfortable spot for a large group. From here, Lake Tahoe's North Shore is only 30 minutes away. There are so many activities right near by, you may have trouble deciding how to spend your vacation days!

Visit gorgeous Lake Tahoe for some fun in California's Sierra-Nevada Mountains! A stay at this Tahoe Donner getaway offers great amenities, an amazing, scenic location, and all of the comforts of home.

RCN # 469

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe Office
-
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe Office

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.

<br>

<br>

Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.

<br>

<br>

Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!

Amenities

Southside Highlands House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
20% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous lakefront escape with fireplace, close to skiing
average rating of 4.744186 based on 43 reviews
4

Good large family rental

  • 4 of 5

Great location

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Would Have Been 5 Stars But....

  • 3 of 5

This house is absolutely gorgeous, spacious, beautiful interior, fully stocked kitchen, and very close to lots of fun activities. I would have given it 5 stars but here is why it only gets 3 Stars:

1. Both main (and only) couches in the living area are broken on both ends. So a couch that is supposed to seat 4 people now only seats 2. There were 7 of us in our party, & some people ended up on the floor during our nightly movies because of the atrocious couches. Disappointing, and quite frankly, unacceptable, when paying a few thousand dollars to stay there for 4 nights.

2. The fireplace would NEVER shut completely off, despite following the posted directions of operation. The property management contact person was notified & he sent a text back saying somebody would be right out, but nobody ever came. The contact was texted again the next day and there was zero response. The upstairs was uncomfortably warm during our mid-summer stay due to the heat coming from the always-on fireplace. Again, very disappointed in the poor handling of this issue, which may have actually been an electrical problem, but nobody in property management seemed to care too much about it.

Would we stay here again? Only if there are new/er couches and a properly operating fireplace/electrical system. If these two issues were not a factor, it would be an easy "yes".

Great house, disappointing property management.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are sorry for the issues this guest experienced; we did attempt to contact them, but we never did get a response. The furniture in the living room will be replaced by the owners in the near future, and the fireplace is functioning perfectly. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beaverton, OR
5

Great location and plenty of room

  • 5 of 5

We had a good size family there for a reunion and the house was well stocked with plates, cookware, utensils and cups etc. Great location and pretty well maintained. Some of the couches are starting to fall into disrepair due to age but are still very comfortable and the breaker box and panel is undersized and it is sometimes hard to keep the GFI from kicking in. Needs kitchen hand towels. Having said that, it was a great place and would rent again as these were minor inconveniences.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Spot

  • 5 of 5

Great location with lots of room for friends and family. Several pieces of furniture were beginning to break down in the living room. The electrical panel was a little small for such a large house and the GFI kicked off a couple of times. Other than these minor issues it was great and I would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great layout, awesome location

  • 5 of 5

The second floor is a huge open floor plan, which makes it feel enormous. The location is perfect to walk to Donner Lake. Great house!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Awesome stay!!

  • 4 of 5

Very comfortable stay with all the amenities as shown in the pictures.

Pros: Absolutely lovely 2nd floor.

Con: Does not offer a clear lake view.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.