Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous lakefront escape with fireplace, close to skiing

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 14

With space for up to 14 guests, this wonderful six-bedroom Tahoe Donner getaway offers a gorgeous lake view, plenty of room to roam, and a picture-perfect location right across the street from Donner Lake West End Beach State Park! When you stay here, you will enjoy amenities like a large outdoor deck surrounded by trees, a cozy gas fireplace inside, a full kitchen, and entertainment amenities like WiFi, cable TV, a VCR, and a DVD player.

During your stay, spend a sunny day at the 10-acre West End Beach State Park for paddle-boarding, swimming, tennis, volleyball, or even a picnic by the lake (for access to this state beach, please be aware that there is a nominal, daily fee). On the Fourth of July, this is the best spot in Truckee to catch the fireworks! But like all of Lake Tahoe, Donner Lake is not just a summer destination - during the winter months, you'll be within 15 minutes of Northstar, Sugar Bowl, and Boreal Mountain ski resorts.

When you're not out swimming or skiing, this Donner Lake House offers a comfortable, laid-back setting for family vacations, reunions, or getaways with friends. Spend evenings outside flipping burgers on the deck or inside snuggled around the fireplace. The interior is reminiscent of a cabin in the mountains and offers a warm, inviting space, complete with the main living area on the upper floor.

After a home-cooked meal (the large full kitchen is with everything you'll need - even a dishwasher), settle back in the living room for a movie. And when it's time for everyone to head off to bed, there's room for 14 guests to stay in this home's six bedrooms. Specific beds include one king bed, three queen beds, six twins, and a futon.

Other amenities include multiple full bathrooms (three), a washer and dryer, and a stereo. This Truckee vacation home is perfect for summer lake trips, family ski vacations, or any retreat where you need a comfortable spot for a large group. From here, Lake Tahoe's North Shore is only 30 minutes away. There are so many activities right near by, you may have trouble deciding how to spend your vacation days!

Visit gorgeous Lake Tahoe for some fun in California's Sierra-Nevada Mountains! A stay at this Tahoe Donner getaway offers great amenities, an amazing, scenic location, and all of the comforts of home.

RCN # 469

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe Office
-
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Vacasa, CA - Lake Tahoe Office

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.

<br>

<br>

Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.

<br>

<br>

Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!

Amenities

Southside Highlands House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
22% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous lakefront escape with fireplace, close to skiing
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 45 reviews
Los Gatos, CA
4

Great house in great location

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this house during Labor Day weekend 2017. Overall everything was great. House is very clean with a lot of space on the second floor and fully stocked kitchen. The balcony is also very nice and spacious. We had our dinners there 2 days in a row. The location of the house (across the street from entrance to the beach) is amazing (very convenient).

Why 4 but not 5 ?

Few things which can be improved/repaired: left part of the kitchen sink was fully clogged. There is very little games/toys for the kids. Having kayak in the garage or even any cheap water toys for renters to use (water guns, sand toys) would also be a big plus.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location, unacceptable mainenance issues, you get what you pay for

  • 2 of 5

The public beach across the street is very convienent with great rentals. The marina is walkable to rent jet skis or a boat. A great ice cream place is also walkable. Home should have had some beach chairs or umbrella at the very least being so close to the beach. Bring your own.

The condition of the property was very dissappointing. Upon reading earlier reviews from a month before our scheduled stay we contacted the management company to confirm that the broken couches were in fact replaced as they promised. After several emails of telling me that they were looking into it, they confirmed that they wouldn't be replaced by the time we were checking in. They were kind enough to issue a very small refund for the inconvenience and did go to the house to check out the couches in person the day before our arrival after we pressed that they do so. They confirmed that they were broken but very usable. We did not find this to be the case- we had to move other furniture around for our small group of 7 to sit comfortably and watch a movie.

Also, the master bathroom toilet seat is literally hanging on by a screw. Housekeeping would have known this for quite sometime as they did their cleaning and should have notified the management.

Bedspreads had many stains on them- we had to take them off. Also, damp mildew towels were found in downstairs cabinet as well as damp towels folded and stored in master bath.

Bunk beds downstairs- one had a screw poking out of it where my son was sleeping. We had no tools to bend it in safely so had to use something from the kitchen to cover it and make it safe. Top bunks were not safe for any of our children to sleep in- railing not safe.

Overall, open floor plan and great location. This must have been marked up for the high season of August, but we'd never stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good large family rental

  • 4 of 5

Great location

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Would Have Been 5 Stars But....

  • 3 of 5

This house is absolutely gorgeous, spacious, beautiful interior, fully stocked kitchen, and very close to lots of fun activities. I would have given it 5 stars but here is why it only gets 3 Stars:

1. Both main (and only) couches in the living area are broken on both ends. So a couch that is supposed to seat 4 people now only seats 2. There were 7 of us in our party, & some people ended up on the floor during our nightly movies because of the atrocious couches. Disappointing, and quite frankly, unacceptable, when paying a few thousand dollars to stay there for 4 nights.

2. The fireplace would NEVER shut completely off, despite following the posted directions of operation. The property management contact person was notified & he sent a text back saying somebody would be right out, but nobody ever came. The contact was texted again the next day and there was zero response. The upstairs was uncomfortably warm during our mid-summer stay due to the heat coming from the always-on fireplace. Again, very disappointed in the poor handling of this issue, which may have actually been an electrical problem, but nobody in property management seemed to care too much about it.

Would we stay here again? Only if there are new/er couches and a properly operating fireplace/electrical system. If these two issues were not a factor, it would be an easy "yes".

Great house, disappointing property management.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are sorry for the issues this guest experienced; we did attempt to contact them, but we never did get a response. The furniture in the living room will be replaced by the owners in the near future, and the fireplace is functioning perfectly. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Beaverton, OR
5

Great location and plenty of room

  • 5 of 5

We had a good size family there for a reunion and the house was well stocked with plates, cookware, utensils and cups etc. Great location and pretty well maintained. Some of the couches are starting to fall into disrepair due to age but are still very comfortable and the breaker box and panel is undersized and it is sometimes hard to keep the GFI from kicking in. Needs kitchen hand towels. Having said that, it was a great place and would rent again as these were minor inconveniences.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Spot

  • 5 of 5

Great location with lots of room for friends and family. Several pieces of furniture were beginning to break down in the living room. The electrical panel was a little small for such a large house and the GFI kicked off a couple of times. Other than these minor issues it was great and I would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.

You might like these similar properties