Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wine Country Oasis. Pool, hot tub, vineyard views, walk to Downtown St. Helena

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

EXCITING NEWS! We have just completed a complete kitchen remodel and now have a stunning, updated space for your gourmet meal preparations. The kitchen is truly gorgeous with brand new appliances, countertops, flooring, cabinets...the works!

Down a quiet country lane, surrounded by vineyards, yet only a short walk to Main Street St. Helena, the Heart of the Napa Valley, is our lovely home. Very few St. Helena vacation rental homes have all three of these desired elements: vineyard views, large pool, and a very short walk to town. Enjoy dinner at one of many St. Helena's fabulous restaurants and then stroll home along the vineyards. A beautiful 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom home with a large yard, lush flower filled garden, swimming pool, and hot tub. And stunning vineyard views! All you need for the perfect Wine Country get away. We have nearly 3/4 acres of property fully fenced for your privacy. The home sleeps 6 people. Two bedrooms feature queen size beds and one bedroom has a full size bed. Master bedroom has an en suite bathroom and a flat screen TV. We have a comfortable living room with a 40 inch flat screen satellite TV, and a stereo system with speakers both inside and outside by the pool. The fully equipped kitchen has a dining table that seats 6 and can be extended.

Our lovely lush lawn, patio and large 16 x 34 pool area provide a resort-like atmosphere and makes outdoor living and entertaining a pleasure with a gas barbecue grill, dining table, chaise lounges, and plenty of outdoor seating. Enjoy dining al fresco or relaxing with a glass of wine poolside. The large pool is perfect for both lap swimming and family fun with plenty of pool floats. The Sundance Hot Tub, which accommodates up to 5, is always hot and ready for a relaxing soak. Enjoy a soak with mountain views by day and the stars by night. You and your family or friends will feel they are in heaven!

Other features include central air conditioning and heat with Nest thermostat, 4 bicycles (2 adult, 2 kids), and a hammock. We also supply beach chairs, coolers, and beach towels. Concierge services can be arranged and also guest passes at Meadowood Napa Valley, where we are members, a 250 acre resort and spa with golf, tennis, croquet, gym, and dining.

This lovely home is our primary residence. Listing it on both VRBO and Home Exchange has allowed us wonderful travel opportunities. Rest assured that the home will be clean and tidy, with plenty of space for you personal belongings. Your perfect vacation awaits! Watch the You Tube video about our charming town in the video link below.

We hold one of the 25 Short Term Rental Permits issued by the City of St. Helena.

Permit number PL14-052. Our permit prohibits our home being used for parties, events, weddings, and wedding related gatherings.

KITCHEN

Fully equipped with all appliances and utensils for all your cooking needs. A Nespresso espresso/coffee machine with a variety of complimentary coffee is provided as well as a selection of teas. Fully stocked pantry with all the spices and basics you will need.

LIVING ROOM

Very comfortable living room with a 40' flat screen TV with satellite, Apple TV, and Netflix giving you access to hundreds of channels. Surround sound speakers further enhance your viewing. Adjacent game room has a piano, table and chairs for games, and a stereo system with hundreds of CDs which will play both inside and outside the home.

BEDROOM 1

The master bedroom has brand new queen size mattress with down comforter and high thread count sheets. It has a flat screen TV and lovely French doors that open out to the patio and pool area. The master bath has been completely remodeled with a marble countertop, spacious shower with a marble bench, and Hansgrohe fixtures. If you would like to work out a bit, the room is home to our very useful NordicTrack treadmill!

BEDROOM 2

The front bedroom has a memory foam topped queen bed, down comforter, and high thread count sheets. There is plenty of storage in the spacious closet as well as beautiful vineyard views from the window.

BEDROOM 3

The middle bedroom has a very comfortable full size bed with down comforter and high thread count sheets. Lovely woven grass shades add a beachy touch to the room.

PATIO AND POOL AREA

Our patio, pool, and backyard area is spectacular. We have total privacy, mountain and vineyard views, and a large, luxurious lawn. It is really a resort-like setting. The pool is 16 x 34 and large enough for lap swimming and family fun. We provide tons of floats, noodles, and beach towels. The lawn is large enough for croquet and Bean Bag Toss games, all provided. In addition, we have a hammock, 6 chaise lounge chairs with market umbrellas for shade, and ample additional seating. The outdoor dining table accommodates 6-8 and the Weber gas grill is always ready to go. In our orchard we have peach, apple and pear tress which you may enjoy in summer. We also have 2 raised vegetable beds and you may help yourself to tomatoes, lettuce, and herbs all summer long!

ADDITIONAL AMENITIES

We have 4 bicycles, for 2 adult and 2 kids. We have coolers, beach chairs, and an umbrella for trips to the coast or nearby river beaches.

ICING ON THE CAKE

Our home is a 10 minute walk down a tree shaded lane to charming Main Street St. Helena with all it's shopping, dining, movie theater, and wine tasting. This home provides the best St. Helena has to offer in terms of amenities and location. We are also members of Home Exchange, listing #447971, in case you have property you would like to exchange with ours.

St. Helena Short Term Rental Permit Number PL14-052. Our permit prohibits our home being used for parties, events, weddings, and wedding related gatherings. There are only 25 legal Short Term Rental Permits issued in St. Helena. Many illegal rentals are being shut down by the City of St. Helena. Make sure you are renting from a legal Short Term Rental Permit holder that displays their permit number in their listing.

More Details

Owner
Kathi Brotemarkle
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About Kathi Brotemarkle

We have lived in the beautiful Napa Valley since 1990. We bought our home in 1995 and living in it has afforded us the Napa Valley lifestyle we had dreamed of. David is a semi-retired CPA and Kathi is a performer in local theater. We are both in our 60s, and love travel, skiing, scuba diving, exploring new cities, cultures, and food! Our daughters are 26 and 29 and occasionally travel with us.

Kathi Brotemarkle purchased this house in 1995

Why Kathi Brotemarkle chose Napa County

We fell in love with this home and the property because of its unique setting; a quiet country lane, but close to town, with privacy and vineyard and mountain views. We believe this is the perfect house for enjoying the Napa Valley. When I wake in the morning I marvel at how I cannot hear a sound, except the birds singing. No traffic noise, no noisy neighbors...just blissful quiet! Close to San Francisco in the Wine Country. A beautiful home down a quiet lane but still within walking distance to dining, movies, wineries, parks, and shopping. A pool and hot tub complete the resort like atmosphere. There are many lovely vacation homes in St. Helena but few offer all three of the highly sought after elements of vineyard views, pool, and a short walk to town. We are also 90 minutes to the Pacific coast, the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco. A bit further you will find Lake Tahoe, Monterey, Carmel and Yosemite. St. Helena is a sophisticated small town with world class dining and also offers weekly farmers markets, concerts in the park, and cooking classes at the Culinary Institute of America. The Napa Valley is the premier wine making region in the United States and is home to more than 400 wineries, many within a short drive or walk from our home. Only two Francisco Bay Area restaurants earned the coveted Michelin 'three star' rating, The Restaurant at Meadowood, here in St. Helena, and the French Laundry in Yountville, only 15 minutes away. Combine a beautiful home in a resort like setting with all the benefits of a world class vacation destination and you have our home in the Napa Valley.

What makes this house unique

Our home is on a quiet country lane but within a short walking distance to Main Street St. Helena. One of the very few VRBO homes with this location as well as a pool. We have beautiful vineyard views as we stroll up the street to town. In town are restaurants, shops, movies, and parks. No need to drive to dinner unless you want to go a bit further to one of several Michelin Star restaurants within a 15 minute drive. Though our setting is rural, the town is very sophisticated. The area is popular for world class dining and wine tasting, bike riding, hiking, and hot air balloon rides, and simply enjoying the beauty of the Napa Valley. Some of California's best restaurants are located within minutes of our home. Cindy's Backstreet Kitchen, Market, Cook, Terra, Goose & Gander, The French Laundry, just to name a few. You will enjoy days by the pool, and evenings dining al fresco while soaking up the serene atmosphere. The only sounds you will hear at night are the grapes growing and the birds singing. This is the best the Wine Country can offer in a vacation home. A true Wine Country Oasis!

We are also members of Home Exchange listing #447971, in case you have property you would like to exchange with ours.

Amenities

Saint Helena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2, Master Bath - toilet , shower , Fully remodeled with marble countertop and spacious shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • 3 Bedrooms, sleeps 6 Bedroom 1: 1 Queen Bedroom 2: 1 Queen Bedroom 3: 1 Full size
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • tennis
Notes:
Many wonderful amenities are offered at Meadowood Napa Valley Resort 5 minutes from our home. Tennis, golf, spa, sauna, fitness classes, croquet, pools, and restaurants. We are members and guest passes may be arranged for a fee. There are many tennis courts and golf courses in the area that are open to the public. Boating, with motor boats, canoes, or kayaks, is available within one hour of our home at Lake Berryessa, Lake Sonoma, or the Russian River. Both San Francisco Bay and the Pacific Coast are within 1 1/2 hours from our home.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Wine Country Oasis. Pool, hot tub, vineyard views, walk to Downtown St. Helena
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
Irvine, CA
5

Fantastic St Helena location!

  • 5 of 5

We (four adults) spent a wonderful long weekend at the Wine Country Oasis to attend a wedding and to celebrate a special birthday. The home is quietly secluded down a country lane but minutes to the Culinary Institute, wineries, and the best restaurants in the area. Every morning we relaxed in and around the pool. Our time in the Napa Valley area couldn't have been more perfect! Looking forward to another trip to the Wine Country in the future. Thanks to our hosts exceptional hospitality!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kathleen, we are so happy that you and your family had a memorable stay. We love that we have a quiet and secluded location but are still close to everything...including the venue for the special wedding you attended. Let us know when you would like to return! Kathi & David.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

As advertised...a wine country oasis

  • 5 of 5

The property is exquisite with a newly remodeled kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and a lovely private backyard including a pool, lounge chairs, and bursting with flowers. It is also in a prime location within the valley which provides access to St. Helena's many fine restaurants and is a central location for visiting wineries. The hosts were very pleasant to deal with and very informative both about Napa and providing specific info on the do's and don'ts of using the property. We will definitely rent this property in the future if someone hasn't snatched it up first!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bill, Darlene, and Karissa, Thank you or your kind words. We are so pleased that you had a memorable week and that the property lived up to your expectations. Please let us know when you would like to return! Kathi & David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte NC
5

Wonderful home,garden,pool,and location

  • 5 of 5

Our family totally enjoyed our stay. The home with it's pool, hot tub, and beautiful garden was perfect. The location was great as you can easily walk into St Helena.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nancy and Donald, Thank you so much for the positive review. We are so happy that your family enjoyed your "Christmas Present" to the Napa Valley. There is nothing better than making memories with family. Let us know if you would ever like to visit in the future. Take care, Kathi &David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, excellent location!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, my two children and their spouses enjoyed four days at this property. We were a bit nervous as we'd never used VRBO before but as soon as we walked in the front door we knew we made the right choice. We were very comfortable in the house (the kitchen is gorgeous) and the backyard is truly a wine country oasis! We enjoyed the pool and yard as much as visiting the wineries. We were in town for my step son's wedding at Farmstead in St. Helena, the location was perfect. Kathi and David were wonderful to work with and very accommodating. If you're visiting Napa Valley we highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alicia. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. David and I are so pleased that you and your family had a great time and made some wonderful memories. You had perfect weather to enjoy the pool and garden! Let us know if you would ever like to return as we would be happy to have you as guests again. Kathi & david
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

I'd like to rate higher but can't. Forewarned is forearmed.

  • 3 of 5

I would love to be able to write a good review but am struggling with conflicted feelings. While family had an incredible time, is was due in large part because of the company. The location was great and the home was nice, we were truly put off by instructions to form our itineraries around cleaners of the house. I'm not kidding. Arrival, departure and two mornings were affected by cleaners.

When I first spoke to homeowner, I relayed how important this trip was for our family to heal after a death. I was told to "come early" on arrival day and "stay late"on departure day. As some of us were coming from the East Coast, this was appealing to us. JUST before arrival, we were instructed not to come one minute before 4:00 because cleaners wouldn't leave until that time. Could have said, "Please come and drop off your stuff in garage and go and enjoy the town." Or, "Please feel free to hang outside by the pool while the cleaner finishes up if you get here early" Truth be told we weren't even planning on being there before 4:00 but I found the initial offer retraction misleading.

The next day we planned on pool cleaners coming in the morning, per very explicit instructions in the booklet, even though we had cleaned the pool the night we arrived. I got an email late Friday, the pool cleaner will be there on Saturday morning....ummmmm, okay. So now, Friday morning and Saturday morning have been hindered by pool cleaners.

The next day I get an email asking if we were leaving early Monday because, guess what, the cleaners want to get in early because they have a busy day. Seriously? When asked if it was possible to "honor" comments about staying to enjoy the day, I was told two hours could be spared. Instead, we decided to get out of there early. We'd rather not be where we weren't welcome.

It's too bad. I'd suggest if you'd like a good review hire different cleaners that don't dictate everyone's schedule or honor offers made.

I wanted let some time pass before I reacted to see if time would change my viewpoint. It hasn't. We will be back to wine country but it is doubtful we would return to what was not an oasis for us. I wrote to homeowner expressing our disappointment. She responded it was a learning experience, which I appreciated. BUT she then went on and on about how great her cleaners were and she really needed to work around their schedule. Unless the cleaners are leaving $100 bills on the counter, you may want to reevaluate.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Liz, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are deeply sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We learn from each experience and I am happy to say that we now allow guest to drop off luggage and relax by the pool if they arrive early. Thank you for your suggestion. As stated in our rental agreement, we have very standard check-in and check-out times, however we always do our best to accommodate our guests arrival and departure times if this is agreed upon before the visit. We have done this for many guests. In this instance there was a miscommunication as I have no written record of a special request being made in advance. We are very pleased that all of our other reviews are 5 stars and that our guests have been extremely pleased with our property as well as the service we provide. We will continue to do our best to improve and make our property the best rental experience possible for our guests. Kathi & David
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic Time in a Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5

Not big on writing reviews but just wanted to say this was the perfect spot for our trip. Three couples looking to be in the heart of everything couldn't ask for more. Kathi being so easy to work with was the icing on the cake! Thanks so much for allowing us to stay in your home :)

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Dave, for the kind words, especially in light of the fact that you don't usually write reviews. We are thrilled that your group had such a wonderful stay at our Wine Country Oasis. Kathi & David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The Culinary Institute of America at Greystone
"The Culinary Institute of America is located at Greystone, one of Napa Valley's most histori..."
Dean & DeLuca Napa Valley
"www.deandeluca.com/aboutus.napavalley.aspx The St. Helena location of this upscale grocery s..."
David Fulton Winery
"David Fulton Winery, owned by our neighbor Fulton Mather, is Napa Valley's oldest continuous..."
Cameo Cinema
"Over 100 years old, the Cameo Cinema is one of the few remaining single screen cinemas in th..."
Gott's Roadside
"Iconic gourmet burger stand. In this location since 1949. Offers American and Californian cl..."
Pizzeria Tra Vigne
"Great local spot for casual dining. Brick oven baked pizza, as well as pasta dishes dishes. ..."
The French Laundry
"Chef Thomas Kellers French Laundry is frequently included in the Top 50 Restaurants of the W..."
The Model Bakery
"Great cookies, bread, cakes, and lunch items. A wonderful spot for coffee and the best Engli..."
Napa Valley Coffee Roasting Company
"Great coffee from around the world. Good place for morning coffee and a pastry. A favorite l..."
Castello di Amorosa
"Castello di Amoroso is an authentically-styled, 13th century, Tuscan castle and winery. Buil..."
Beringer Vineyards
Charles Krug Winery
Inglenook
"Owned by Francis Ford Coppola. Our favorite winery to take visitors. Beautiful, historic win..."
Robert Mondavi Winery
Meadowood Napa Valley
"Meadowood Napa Valley is a 250 acre, luxury resort offering golf, tennis, fitness classes, p..."
Bistro Jeanty
"Our personal favorite Napa Valley restaurant. Authentic and delicious French country cuisine..."
Grgich Hills Estate
V. Sattui Winery
"Great picnic spot with wine and deli items available. "
Bothe-Napa Valley State Park
"Beautiful State Park with lots of hiking trails. A 10 minute drive from our home."
Nearest Airport
70 Miles
SFO, Oakland, Sacramento
Car: recommended

Napa Valley is the premier wine growing region of the country. Restaurants, wineries, shops, and outdoor activities abound. Many within walking distance of our beautiful home which is located a short walk from Main Street St. Helena, the heart of the Napa Valley.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $500

Cancellation policy:
60 days prior, 100% refund
30 days prior, 50% refund
Within 29 days, no refund

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties