Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

"Surf's Up": Beach Front Victorian Cottage with Unbelievable Views!

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bed Rooms, Two Baths, 1200 Sq Ft. With views that will take your breath away.

Leave your car and your cares at the marina because Little Gasparilla is accessible only by water taxi! That means our beaches are uncrowded and tourists and traffic are just a mainland memory. If you are looking for a quiet tropical island to relax and unplug, Little Gasparilla is your dream vacation spot. Our "nightlife" consists of giant sea turtles laying their eggs -- our only bar is the sand bar where you can find sand dollars and shells!

This island provides the perfect get away because there are no cars, shops or restaurants, just relaxation. This beautiful Beach Cottage is steps away from the Gulf. Large Master Bed Room with California King. Master Bath has large shower and jet tub. Second bedroom has a Queen Bed, third bedroom has twin bed. Family room with couch that makes a bed for two. There is also an extra bedroom that is great for kids/teenagers with bunk beds and couch that makes a bed for two. All bedrooms have flat screen TVs with hi def throughout house.


• You cannot drive your car to the island and the only access is via water taxi; there is no vehicle ferry.

• You must park your car at the marina at the mainland but it will be perfectly safe there; parking is $6 a day.

• The water taxi is $10 per person each way and he will drop you right at our dock

• All homes come with a grill. We have a gas grill.

• We provide beach chairs and an umbrella.

• You must bring all groceries to the island with you.

• There are no stores of any kind on the island, not even a convenience store. You can buy ice on the island, however.

• There is no need to bring drinking water; the water from the tap is safe and drinkable.

• There are first responders on the island and we have 911 service in case of an emergency.

• Golf carts are not necessary; the island is only 100-200 yards wide in most places and our concierge will meet you upon arrival to bring you to the house. But they are fun to go exploring.

• You can fish off the dock or the beach but non-Florida residents will need to purchase a fishing license.

• The beach is dog-friendly but dogs must be under your control, non-aggressive and we do charge a pet fee of $100 per pet.

INTERNET: There is no wired internet service on the island. There are a couple options for wifi. Most people just opt to use the mobile hotspots on their smartphones, especially if they have unlimited data or a large data plan. Cell service is excellent and that is the most convenient option...and it seems to work a bit faster. We can provide instructions on hot spotting if you are not familiar. If you do not have a smartphone, we provide a free Verizon jetpack BUT you have to purchase data AND YOU MUST REQUEST IT IN ADVANCE. You can either bring a Verizon card with you OR we can sell you one when we bring over the jetpack. You can buy as much data as you need, but it IS we urge guests NOT to plan on using the jetpack for streaming music or videos, etc. It is more than adequate for checking emails, etc. and most people use about 2G of data per week which is $35. 5G is $60 and 10G is $100. (It is sort of like a cruise where you have to pay for the minutes you are on-line.) You just need to let us know in advance so we can make sure we have a fully charged jetpack available for you. If you bring a Verizon card with you, we can show you how to add the data. Or, we can pre-add data prior to your arrival but you have to let us know how much you think you will need. Just keep in mind that it is NOT the internet you are used to on the mainland, and anything that uses up a lot of data will increase your costs. (It is especially helpful to remind kids and teenagers who are used to unlimited data!) We usually suggest that people download books and movies to their tablets or e-readers BEFORE coming to the island.

More Details

Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals

We are a family that has been coming to Little Gasparilla Island for 20 plus years. We fell in love upon the first visit. We always dreamed of owning a house here. That dream has now come true, and we would love to share our slice of heaven with you.

Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals purchased this cottage in 2015


Placida Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , outdoor shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Bonus Room - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
  • Master Suite King, with master bath
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
55% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
"Surf's Up": Beach Front Victorian Cottage with Unbelievable Views!
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews


  • 4 of 5

The house was misrepresented. First impressions were pretty bad. As you pull in the car port your first sight is junk piled up everywhere. There were metal shelves lining the walls full of junk just piled on them and around them. They advertise there are 3 bikes, well there are 3 bikes but they are so rusted and dirty and have flat tires they couldn't be used. And they were just thrown in with all the other junk laying around. The kitchen sink leaked and it was disgusting under the cabinet. There was food on the silverware so I washed everything before we used it. The pictures of the furniture in the living room showed comfortable seating (wow) the couch was so hard and uncomfortable but it was still better than the two recliners, they were so broke down they leaned to one side. And the walkway going to the beach was falling apart in places. There were boards that were coming up and at the end of the walkway there were two boards sticking out of the sand where a railing used be ( very dangerous) accident waiting to happen. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. The beach and island are just amazing. With a little work and new seating in the living room this would be a very nice place. Way over priced!!!!! We talked to a few couples on the island and they were staying longer than us and paying half of what we paid. We did enjoy ourselves ( you are just steps away from the beach) but if we were to return we would have to look into renting something else.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you were so disappointed in the house. I really wish you had communicated the problems you encountered and we could have addressed them. Our cleaning crew always notifies us if there are leaks and we repair them promptly. As for the dune walk, we had some major storms this year and the dune walks are constantly being repaired and boards replaced. It is an on-going process staying ahead of the wind and the waves. As for pricing, people paying half of what you paid were most likely staying at inland homes that are not on the beach...or they are staying for a month or more at a time, for which the owners give generous discounts. Pricing is comparable with the other homes right on the beach. I am sorry that you were disappointed, though, and we and the owners will work hard to address your issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Really enjoyed the trip. Communication was great and very easy. House had all we needed.

  • 4 of 5

House was great - Loved the porch and lower deck, plus great front row view of sunset! Master bedroom was really comfy, and shower nice. Outside shower was probably nicest I have used, and appreciate the shampoo stocking it had. House could use another beach chair or two, since hard to bring. Also, was a little mildewy smelling when we first arrived, especially downstairs apartment. My oldest son did love that as his private room though! Could also use a cutting board (or maybe we just never found it). We loved the island (although we think someone should open a renagade coffee shop/bookstore :))!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Lovely, relaxing gulf front cottage, amazing views, nice layout of rooms.

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 5, plus 2 dogs, had a great Christmas week here. Only downside was a very musty smell in main level master bedroom, alleviated slightly when we went mainland and bought a new air filter. Had difficulty breathing comfortably our first night. Existing filter was completely blocked. (We left old filter on lower level next to cart.)

Loved the paddle boards you provided, and the wonderful screened porch!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Incredible vacation

  • 5 of 5

Free from worry about anything, Terry (property manager) took care of everything. Enough room, well-stocked kitchen, thoughtful baskets of toiletries, steps from the beach. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

An amazing home for enjoying island life!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at "Surf's Up" Thanksgiving week of 2016. We have stayed on LGI for 3 Thanksgivings, but this was our first spent at this property. We loved this house and it's location. The view from the porch is amazing and the house's location made it so easy to get to the beach for sunset. Will stay beachfront from now on!

The home was very clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the paddleboards and appreciated having them there for our use. We were looking forward to having 4 bikes to use, but found 2 adult bikes and one kids bike. They were not in working condition, but the owners said they would attend to the bikes for future renters.

The owners were always available by phone or text when we had any questions. They were easy to communicate with leading up to, during, and after the trip.

We hope to enjoy this property again.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

An Amazing Home with a Breathtaking View

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at Surfs Up with 7 friends from 8/12/2016-8/19/2016 and we could not be more pleased with our stay. The house was very well maintained and very clean. Even with 8 people in the home, there was plenty of room for everyone. The homeowners supply renters with a fully equipped kitchen, plenty of towels, and other appliances for renters to use. They even supply the renter with items like paddle boards and bikes to make a stay on the island even more enjoyable. The view from the screened-in porch is immaculate, as you are only footsteps away from the Gulf. I was very pleased with every aspect of my stay here, and can honestly say I have nothing negative to say about my stay or the home. I would absolutely recommend Surfs Up to anyone visiting the island.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Punta Gorda
Nearest Beach
Car: not necessary

Nothing like drinking that first cup of Coffee, with the feel of the ocean breeze on your face. Then take a few steps to the beach, in search of prehistoric shark's teeth, shells and shorebirds.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

At least two members of any group must be age 25 or older; sorry but we cannot rent to college students during Spring Break. Holiday surcharges are applied for reservations for Independence Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, and Christmas/New Years timeframes. Guests responsible for mainland parking at the marina and water taxi charges. Guests responsible for golf cart rental, mainland parking at the marina and water taxi charges. Pets permitted with $100 pet fee per pet applied. Please note that the cleaning rate will be increased for rentals of 14 nights or more.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties