Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best Ocean View on the Mendocino Coast

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

An amazing home on its own peninsula

This home has just been remodeled with a gourmet kitchen, 3 bedrooms and 3 custom bathrooms. The Master suite walks out onto the deck with a hot tub just steps away. The views from the Master and the living spaces are like no other. Everyone that comes to visit cant believe how wonderful the views and the remodel is done with high end finishes. Watch the sea crashing all around, children playing on the beach,, birds soar by the edge of the cliffs and sunsets are never missed with the over 180 degree view. I dedicated the last 1 1/2 years to making the home as wonderful as the surroundings. I think you'll agree, this is a dream come true .....

Deryl Deavenport
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Deryl Deavenport

I am a semi retired contractor. I now am living in the guest house on the property which will also be used as a vacation rental at times.

Deryl Deavenport purchased this house in 2011

Why Deryl Deavenport chose North Coast

Its the best view and most dramatic property around!

What makes this house unique

A quality home with breathtaking views


Fort Bragg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , has an ocean and beach view
  • 3 bathrooms with a shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • 3 bedrooms, 1 with a king size bed, 2 with a queen size bed. 2 bedrooms have a private bathroom
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Best Ocean View on the Mendocino Coast
average rating of 4.652174 based on 23 reviews
North East

Coastal Get Away

  • 5 of 5

We where so excited when we arrived at the rental house. The views are just amazing!!! We where taken away by the location & the views from all directions. The house is newly renovated with beautiful bathrooms & a cool kitchen. The view from the Master Bedroom & Master shower are just perfect. The sound of the ocean all day & night are so soothing. We enjoyed the hot tub too, also with an infinity view of the ocean! We would love to come back with the rest of our family next time....what a great time. Thanks for having us.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. It was so nice having you here to visit. Looking forward to seeing you all again. Deryl :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice house, needs some improvements but don't go in August

  • 2 of 5

My wife were due to spend a week at the house, however we cut short due to the blanket fog that covered the area. We are from the UK and so probably didn't appreciate the weather in the area as much as locals/Californians do, no doubt the views are great, but you can't appreciate them when the fog is almost perpetual, the locals call the month 'Fogust'. The house itself is well maintained with all mod cons and Deryl is a very helpful owner. The property probably isn't suitable for young children as it is literally on a cliff edge with no protective fencing. It is also a working house in the sense that at the rear of the property is a working yard with building materials/traffic cones. There is no direct beach access, you'd need to walk on the road for a few minutes or drive and park up. There's plenty to do in the surrounding area, Mendocino is only 20 minute drive from the house and worth a visit, Fort Bragg is 10 minutes away and good for food shopping and dining. The beaches nearby are lovely (even in thick fog!) with lots of outdoor activity options.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Traveled the World til I Found the Mendocino Coast!

  • 5 of 5

I’ve traveled the world and keep track of memorable locations. This one is a beauty!

The Mendocino North Coast is already one of the most perfect getaways – with almost perfect year-round climate (to my liking), with beautiful bluffs dropping into the Pacific ocean.

There aren’t many white sand beaches and even fewer grand views across them – Seaside Point is a rare property indeed, with sweeping views all the way down the expansive beach to the south.

Because of the perch, the light is dramatic - from shifting sands to glinting waves. Because it’s bluff-top, pelicans fly by at eye level.

We had a marvelous time at this special property – perfectly adequate for two couples with a spacious living area and kitchen. Hot tub under the night stars and the sounds of surf below. Convenience to town and the memorable Purple Rose, but such privacy when there.

The owner is on site and was very concerned about our comfort – we found him a special and caring host that made us feel right at home.

Seaside Point is a special place on the coast again – can’t wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing home in a unique location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful long weekend here. The host was really friendly and helpful, the home beautiful and clean, and the view unbeatable.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Pure magic!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough about our stay at this wonderful location. It was pure magic! Better than we could have hoped for honestly. You have to see it to believe it. The house is located on a wonderful peninsula looking over two stunning beaches and the Pacific Ocean. We spent the days walking the beaches and exploring the cave. Oh yeah... there's a cave that during low tide gives you access to a secret beach! Our nights consisted of hot tub sessions under the Milky Way. The house was very clean, comfortable, and the owner (Deryl) was very kind and helpful. I can't recommend this place enough. Thanks for sharing your home with us Deryl! We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was clean. Recently remodeled. Right on the ocean.

  • 1 of 5

However you best like dogs and Darryl, the owner. The dogs and Darryl are present everyday. The dogs come to house every morning and soon comes Darryl. He lives on the property so plan on vacationing with him if you rent this place. If you want privacy, choose another place.

He comes in the house when you leave the home. He told us he came in twice to close windows because meth addicts live in the area and he has been robbed 3 times-his words.

I broke a cheap plastic white chair [maybe $20 max] and we inadvertently took one towel. He kept $325 of our damage deposit to replace the chair and buy a new SET of towels. Very greedy evaluation by Darryl.

Nice view though.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tracy, Although I try, I can't please everyone. Yes, I live in one of the two homes on this large property so if you are looking for a place to treat with disrespect, this is not the home for you. Yes I saw you twice during your 4 day stay here after originally meeting you. Once I asked you to lock up the house when you leave. I don't think it was too much to ask. No there is no meth/thief in my neighborhood. I just want to keep my belonging safe. The second time it was to ask your adult child to stop doing jumping Jacks on the edge of the cliff as your 18 year old was smoking a bong as he sat on the cliffs edge. This is very dangerous and unacceptable behavior! Most of the money I kept was for the extra guest you brought which is the standard rate. I only charged you 10 dollars for the broken chair not 20. The towel could have been returned so I didn't need to replace the set. I gave you a week to do so. As for my old dogs coming to visit in the morning, you don't need to insult them. They are the sweetest guys around. Buddy Love is 14 and I got him from a veteran that had lost his leg and trusted me with his dog because he knew how well I treat my other dog Daisy that was saved off the streets of Compton 13 years ago. Daisy is now about 18 and a sweetheart. I'm also newly fostering a little guy named Skip that was tied to a zip line in extreme weather his entire life. If you don't appreciate pets and their sweet loving ways, then you are right, this is not the home for you. I'm sorry that you choose to blame me for your disrespect of my property ( lots of sand on the new wood floors, breaking 2 chairs, leaving the doors unlocked every day wity the windows wide open when you left, and emptying the jacuzzi to a level it almost damaged the motor ect...) and your children's recklessness. This is my life and how I make a living so it's sad that you have chosen to write such a deceptive and angry review of my property. I will say this, if you are looking for a home that is well cared for and really is a one of a kind property then this is the place for you. I hope to see you all here. Take care Deryl :)
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Sonoma County Airport
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
purple rose
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
little River
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Purple Rose
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Fort Bragg House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Nightly Rate
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
Holiday season
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 8 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Additional Guest Fee $50 per person per night
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $600

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner