Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Huge Home by Maggie Valley in Cataloochee Mountain Estates

Sleeps22
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 16-20)

This home is in a gated community with beautiful views! The Jacuzzi fits 8 to 10 people..a small pool! Has a large Texas stainless steel gas barbeque that can easily cook 30 hamburgers for your entire family!

There are 3 bedrooms on the first floor and 3 bedrooms upstairs. The laundry room has a built-in ironing board. Relax on the front porch to have a limited view of a pond or sit in the Jacuzzi in the back as your family roasts marshmallows in the fire pit. You can relax or hike down to the pond where you can see 'Jack' the donkey or fish.

Home is set on 2 1/2 acres! Bring your ATV's and have the time of your life exploring! There is an additional television upstairs incase children want to bring their xbox/nintendo/etc.

Home is a skip and a hop to the Cataloochee Mountain State Park where you can view elk and hike...do not miss this park! We are a twenty minute drive to Cataloochee Ski Resort as well! Bring your ATV's and explore the mountain.

Look no further this is the home for you!

Keywords: Home

More Details

Owner
Delia Hoffmeister
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2017

About Delia Hoffmeister

My husband and I love this quiet area, close to Interstate 40 which will take you into Tennessee in about 35 minutes to do the best white water rafting in the area and it can take you into Asheville in 30 minutes for great shopping and sight seeing.

Delia Hoffmeister purchased this house in 2008

Why Delia Hoffmeister chose Smoky Mountains

This property is a gem and close to everything. We pride ourselves in cleanliness.

What makes this house unique

The jacuzzi is like a mini-pool and the large fire pit is a the perfect place for all of your guests to tell their stories.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Home is large and clean, kitchen is well stocked for our needs. We were 18 and ate mostly outside by the hot tub using the gas grill. Will come back.
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Waynesville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , In Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , In Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs near kitchen & 2 rooms
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Has a Jack & Jill bathroom set up.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Close to a bathroom & kitchen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Next to bathroom and kitchen
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single , Upstairs: Bunk beds with a single (3)
    Bedroom 6 - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , Upstairs: Bottom bunk is a double futon plus a single (4)
    Convertible bed(s) - 3 double , 2 sofas upstairs and 1 downstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Upstairs: queen bed sleeps 2 plus a single bed (3)
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom, Queen size Beds (2) Each room downstairs has a queen bed., Double Beds (2) 2 rooms upstairs has a double bed., Twin or Single Beds (6), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Sofa beds are upstairs., Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Board games and books are provided for guests. Plasma Television

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
35% Complete
5% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
Huge Home by Maggie Valley in Cataloochee Mountain Estates
average rating of 3.85 based on 21 reviews
2

This property did not meet our expectations

  • 2 of 5

Both driveways to this house are very very rough, I would recommend SUV or truck. We arrived at 3pm and it was pretty warm inside, thermostat was reading 78. About 15 minutes after we arrived Joe the caretaker of the property arrived and said he was there to meet the AC guy to make sure it was working properly. The grass was almost knee high. There was a rat in the toilet downstairs. My nephew was upstairs watching tv and saw a rat run across the room. While searching for the rat, we discovered a rat nest under a dresser in one of the upstairs rooms. (We removed the rat and the nest). I contacted the owner about these issues and she told me the AC guy was going to call me to make sure the power was on fan, he would walk me through it because both units were working good when he was just there. He called me and was very unprofessional, he said that this was not really his problem he had nothing to do with this house he just works on the AC unit! When I told her we had been there for 3 hours and it was still 78 in the house She told me it would be dropping to 65 that night! The next day the temperature upstairs got up to 78 again but downstairs was comfortable at 72. I told her about the rat in the toilet she didn't really have anything to say... I didn't get a chance to tell her about the live rat or the nest we found because it was really late at night (12:30 am) also my phone never picked up service or wifi when there. When I told her about the grass she said they have a weekly service but it had been raining for 3 weeks and the lawn guy told her he couldn't cut it when the grass was wet because it would damage his mower. (All the other lawns in the neighborhood were cut and well maintained). She then told me they would be there the next day to cut the grass, I told her that I would prefer them not to cut it while I was already there. The outdoor grill is huge but is in pretty bad shape. The starter knob was missing and it had to be lit with a lighter. The master bedroom is huge and pretty nice. The kitchen was nice and a great place for everyone to gather. The downstairs bathtub does not drain well at all and it makes the shower curtain smell musty. All of the towels we used had a musty smell even after we washed them. The upstairs carpet is very worn out. The beds upstairs are small singles, pull out couch or bunk beds. The house has potential with a little TLC.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, you absolutely did not call me about any other issues you were having and I'm a little surprised since we were in contact that night at least until 12:30 in the morning. Unfortunately, my a/c company whose licensed and insured was on his way up to make a call at 1:00pm and when he called you to let you know he was on his ay up (not to walk you through it) you used fowl language on him and became belligerent and hung up on him. What you failed to mention is that our maintenance man went the next morning and all the a/c units were on and working properly.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Stone Mountain, GA
4

An amazing mountain experience.

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time in the mountains. Thanks for allowing us the opportunity to stay at your property. We got to meet Jack the donkey and take pictures. Loved the beautiful scenery. God bless you.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad your family was able to enjoy the mountains! God bless you! Delia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great space and property for large family get together: a few notes for future renters

  • 4 of 5

Family members from all over the country met together at this location. The property was adequate to house us and provided entertainment with foosball, air hockey, large hot tub, tv and movies, and games. There are plenty of dishes and silverware for a large group although we used mostly paper plates. The setting is quiet and remote with neighbors not too far away. It had been raining so the steep driveway was difficult for one of the cars to manuever. It does have four bathrooms, but two of them are located within one bedroom.

We didn't realize until we were leaving that there is a card for the Ingles grocery store on one of the key rings. It would have been helpful to have noticed this before.

The house was clean, but needs a bit of attention: The tub in the jack and jill bathroom on the first floor does not drain well and therefore, the shower curtain smells musty. Many of the towels smell musty. Several of the pillows need to be replaced.

The grill is gigantic which allowed us to cook a meal for a large group. It had not been cleaned in a while and nothing was provided to remove the baked on debris from previous grillings. Unfortunately for us there was not enough gas to cook the food so we had to get another bottle midway through the cooking of the meal. The owner said we will be reimbursed for our purchase of the gas.

The wi-fi ran slowly and periodically dropped the connection. It was difficult for some cell phones to log on to it. Also, cell service was weak. In our group these issues brought mixed reviews.

Overall, we had a great time and found the property met our needs. With attention to the issues mentioned above the owners could make a family stay even better.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback and suggestions. We always want to know how to better serve our guests. We will review our processes and make the necessary adjustments, including advising of a second driveway adjacent to the property. Thank you for choosing our accommodation, and hope you return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Jackson Family Reunion/Wedding

  • 4 of 5

The place was great, clean, and well taken care of. The upstairs rooms aren't as nice as downstairs and a little bit cramped, but still quite accommodating.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great for large family gatherings.

  • 4 of 5

Clean and plenty of space for the 19 of us. Great location for staying in or visiting the sites in surrounding areas.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad your family and friends had a great time! Hope you can visit us soon. Delia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

We will not be back

  • 1 of 5

Between the mouse and droppings, no wifi for company owners to use as well as parents to stay in contact with there children, not to mention the number of other things that were broken we will not be back

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear about your trip, wish you would've contacted me during your stay so I could've helped you log on to wifi and discuss any issues you may have encountered. The home is kept very clean with nothing broken, please elaborate.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Asheville Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Maggie Valley
Nearest Golf
3.5 Miles
Maggie Valley Resort & Golf
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Interstate 40
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
Joeys Pancake House
Nearest Ski
11 Miles
Cataloochee Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Hooker Falls is a MUST see if you love hiking with beautiful water falls.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waynesville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$230
$1,500
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Deposit $200

There will be a $15.00 per bag of trash left in home.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties