Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Outdoor Spa Cabin!!! 5 min walk to Ski, Golf & Zoo!!!

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths

Refined & Rustic 3 bedroom 2 full bath cabin within a 5 minute walking distance to the ski lifts, zoo, and golf course and ride your bike to the mountain biking park - all at great rates.

Sit in the large private spa and looking up at the beautiful mountain view in the day time, or at night with the beautiful star filled skies.

There's no shortage of other comforts. A gas BBQ grill out back, large natural stone fireplace and a huge leather sofa right in front of it in the living room, full kitchen including all cooking utensils, bar, a 55' tv with cable, and 3-in-1 mini pool table, air hockey and ping pong.

Near to recreational Big Bear Lake for fishing, boating, & jet skiing, with restaurants, rentals, shopping centers, movie theatres just down the road, but out of sight of this cute cabin in the trees set back from the road.

Winter is a great time for your family or ski party to discover Bear Mountain Chalet. Its quaint chalet exterior and 600 sqf deck that wraps around the house, is a vivid contrast to the snow that covers the wide open spaces that separate the chalet from neighboring cabins. Hand carved wooden bears all around the decks that the kids can sit on, and the mountain provides privacy for the large spa in the back.

Set back far from Deer Canyon Road, Bear Mountain Chalet will make you feel like you have stepped back 50 years to a more serene Big Bear before it was discovered by Southern California as the perfect alternative to Aspen or Vale. Imagine walking to the ski lifts at Bear Mountain Resort without having to rise at dawn to find a parking space in the resort's main parking lot. No longer will you have to be herded like cattle in those open flat-bed trucks from distant auxiliary lots. You can also walk to the nearby Moonridge Animal Park to visit the inhabitants of the surrounding San Bernardino National Forest.

Step inside its original diamond-paned front door and you will be in the spacious Bear Mountain Chalet great room. It features T&G wood ceilings, supported by large, rugged beams and a very large natural stone fireplace. You'll also find a huge 55' flat-screen television, with access to numerous cable channels. For the game players, there's a pool table, air hockey, and ping pong. A large glass door take up one wall of the great room and lead out to the large back deck with its spa, and BBQ, private sledding hill and private mountain views.

Also part of the great room is the dining area and the fully-equipped kitchen. Let Mom relax in front of the large, flat-screen TV with a glass of wine while Dad and the older kids prepare dinner. You can even keep one eye on the young ones, who will want to head outdoors whenever they can. The mountain views are right outside the kitchen windows.

There's also a 15 foot bar and barstools if night time activities and entertaining are what your after.

When it's time for the rest of your family or group to bunk down after an active day, Bear Mountain Chalet can sleep 8 adults three bedrooms. The master bedroom has a luxurious queen-size bed, with a view overlooking the and spa and mountain. There's also a large wall mounted flat screen tv and cable, and an ipod hook up for your music. The second bedroom contains another queen sized bed. The third bedroom has four pine bunk beds, that will delight the kids.

There's probably some guests who couldn't come up the mountain without a laptop, or have to do some real work to make the trip tax-deductible. High-speed Internet access is available throughout the cabin. There is ample parking on the huge circular driveway and two more parking spaces at the top of the driveway, so you can fit lots of cars, boats, trailers, RV's or whatever you need.

Summer has hiking, fishing and every other activity a forrest provides.

For mountain bikers, you can ride over to Bear Mountain and ride the chair lifts to the top of the mountain with your bike, and then bike down.

The kids will love Bear Mountain Chalet as much as the adults.

So what's keeping you from booking this bargain cabin? There's no excuse not to give your family or best friends a well-deserved ski 'n' snowboarding, or fishing getaway to Big Bear Lake with Bear Mountain Chalet -- all polished to perfection -- as your home base.

We're also pet friendly.

Keywords: 'Big Bear' 'Big Bear Lake' 'Bear Mountain' 'hot tub' 'spa' 'fireplace' 'fire place' 'pool table' 'air hockey' 'ping pong' 'game table' 'sledding hill' 'ski' 'snowboard' 'fishing' 'mountain biking' 'mountain bike' 'cabin' 'chalet' 'stone fire place' 'wood fireplace' 'pet friendly' Families family

More Details

Art Haynie
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 6, 2018

About Art Haynie

We're a couple that loves to be active. Ski, snowboard, hike, fish, travel, spend time with family...anything and everything. We both grew up in the mountains and love everything they have to offer.

We needed to get away one weekend, and realized that Big Bear was close to LA, so we went for a weekend to sit in the hot tub and read, hike, and just relax. We fell in love with it and were looking for a home the very next day.

Art Haynie purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Art Haynie chose Moonridge

We chose this particular house because if it's privacy and quiet. It's set back from the street, and has wide open views of the mountain with a totally private back yard and nothing but forrest that you can see behind it. But it's a short walk to everything. One look and we fell in love. We spend as much time as we can there, and when the nephews come, they lose their minds.

What makes this cabin unique

It's romantic, it's quiet, it's private and the views are fantastic. You can sit in silence and do nothing, or go non stop with every activity known to man.

Winter is beautiful and has every snow activity, summer is warm, and offers an entirely new catalog of things to do.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great stay Art, thank you!! Hopefully, we will be back next year! Thanks for a great vacation!!!
Feb 2018
  • 1 of 3


Moonridge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Town ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathrooms come complete with plenty of towels, soaps and shampoo.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , Four bunk beds
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
- Sit and relax in your private hot tub and look at the clear skies and stars, or in the day at your own mountain views - Private sledding hill - Large Stone Fireplace, - Large hand carved bears - Coffee maker - iPod hook up - Redwood Picnic table outside next to the hot tub Maximum Occupancy is 5 according to the city, however the property has sleeping accommodations for 8.


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
10% Complete
Outdoor Spa Cabin!!! 5 min walk to Ski, Golf & Zoo!!!
average rating of 4.1034484 based on 32 reviews

Relaxing mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

Perfect little cabin away from hustle of the city. Beautiful wrap around deck, hot tub, and stone fireplace created a relaxing getaway for my family. The owner, Art was super responsive, replying almost instantly to all of my questions. The place was rustic, clean, and private. Highly recommended ;o)

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Jamie. Hope to have you back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Riverside, CA

Bare Bones

  • 1 of 5

This cabin is absolute bare bones. No salt or pepper even. The bathroom walls are filthy, with what appears to be nicotine in a wet room, dripping down the walls. All the bedrooms are badly in need of a coat of paint. They are very dirty. The television in the living room is really purple and green. We didn’t want to mess around with it, so we just had the kids watch it, as is. The pool table, ping pong table, football is a joke. It is a beat up, piece of junk. The furniture is so packed in that is is too crowded to move. This makes it virtually impossible to play any of the games because there is no way to move around the game table.

The kitchen dishes and pots and pans are kept in open shelves. They are old, and the pots and pans have Teflon pulling off of them. As per the instructions, the renter leaving the house washes the dishes. It seems that housecleaning does not check the renter’s dishwashing skills, as many of the dishes, cutlery and pans were still had caked on, old food on them.

Also, bring your own pillows. The master bed wiggles and makes tons of noise. I pushed their pillows behind the headboard. I also had to take a plastic sheet off the bed. Kind of freaked out about having it on there. The blankets on the beds are old. The extra blankets provided are pilled and about 100 years old. I paid alot of money for my family to sleep here for 2 nights. I do not feel in any way it was worth the money.

The house has extremely old carpeting in it. I didn’t let the kids go barefoot on it, as when they walked in their socks, they became black with dirt. This entire Home needs a major spring cleaning. That is my opinion. It also needs a washer and dryer so your wet, snowy clothes can be dried.

I will say Art provides toilet paper. He says he provides shampoo and soap, but it appeared to me to be leftovers from past guests. It’s just opened bottles on the floor by the bathtub. I didn’t feel comfortable using it on my grandchildren. I would prefer individual, unopened bottles, personally. The jacuzzi was fine, but check the temp before you get it. It was a blistering 105 degrees before we turned it down.

All in all, this has been my worst experience after renting from VRBO many times. Buyer beware!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cathy, I'm sorry you feel that way about the house. I contacted you several time to make sure everything was ok and you never replied back. If you had and told me about these issues, I would have been happy to correct any problems you might have because It is always important to me that every guests enjoys their stay. I am making some changes to the house in the next couple weeks including new pots and pans. I do not supply any type of edible items because of the liability, and I can't supply small shampoos because many guests stay for more than a night or two and I don't want them to run out. And I will double back with housekeeping to make sure they check that all of the utensils are clean, and look into your complaint about the walls. However the carpet was just professionally cleaned literally days before you arrived.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

The place was a dump.

  • 1 of 5

I was surprised that the owner supplied toilet paper. Everything in the house was very cheap. The carpet looked like the original 1965 shag. Very disappointed.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's a shame that Doug has to resort to a false review in retribution, after we had to threaten to call the authorities to evacuate him from the premises because he refused to leave.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Nice Cozy Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We all enjoyed staying here at this cozy little cabin. It was exactly what we were looking for in getting away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It’s a short walk from Bear mountain and the Zoo. The only recommendation I would make is to maybe update the cookware a little. All in all it was a great stay. Thank you Art for accommodating us.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review John. And thank you for the suggestions, we'll get on that.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great cabin close to the mountain!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently stayed here and had an amazing time. The back yard had a spa where we spent a lot of our time. Also, the slopes were only a 10 minute walk from the house. We definitely plan on returning!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

This place was great! The kitchen stuff could use some replacing, but it all works. When we first arrived and checked everything out, we noticed dirt settled in the bottom of the jacuzzi. I called the property management people and they came to clean it within half an hour. Also, I messaged the owner about a week or so before our stay and requested extra towels and there were extra when we arrived :-) We had fun sledding in the back yard, though it's realllly steep! Had a fantastic time!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review. We loved having you and we hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Bear Mountain Golf Course
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Bear Mountain Ski Resort
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $150

Call for Last minute specials. Rates may change at any time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.