Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3 Level, Cozy, Rustic Cabin Close to Sierra at Tahoe

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms (Sleeps 10-12) , 3 Baths + Other (See Description/Rate Notes)

The winter paradise of the Sierras is here! This large rustic three level cabin is ready for you to enjoy while you experience the winter wonderland of the Sierras. The lower level is set up as a game room with a pool table, 42 inch flat screen T.V.with Direct T.V receiver., DVD/VHS which can be used for games. There is a bathroom off of the room which includes a jet tub for two. There are three full size leather Euro lounger sleepers in the game room. The room also has a table with bar stools, setting bench and pool table.

The middle level has a bistro setting area, wood burning stove, living room with leather recliner sectional couch with Television/ Direct T.V.receiver/ entertainment area, dining table and full kitchen. Off from the kitchen is a private bedroom with a queen size bed and electric fireplace stove. This level has a bathroom/shower and laundry room with washer/dryer.

The top level has two bedrooms available for use, first bedroom has a full size bed and twin bed. The second bedroom has a bunk bed with a twin on top and queen size on bottom. It also has a single futon. This level has a bathroom with a shower. The third room is typically not available for renters and is locked off. You can request to include this master bed room for an additional fee. The cabin is perfect for 2 families, a family gathering or an intimate get away for two.

Spend time exploring the Sierras and enjoy all the amenities that Tahoe has to offer. Sierra-At-Tahoe is less than one mile away and State Line is a twenty minute drive. Groceries, fuel and eating out are a 7 minute drive to the town of Meyers. There are many attractions and events offered in South Lake Tahoe year round.

After a long day of exploring, activities and even skiing, spend time getting comfy by the fireplace relaxing to music, favorite T.V. shows, watching a DVD. or enjoying a family game. Our kitchen is fully stocked with all the utensils needed to cook your favorite meal.

The cabin is high in the Sierras near Echo Summit, at 7000 feet elevation, and is conveniently located off Highway 50. During the winter season, the driveway is plowed once per day during snow fall 6' or greater usually in the EARLY A.M., making access available. However, during snow/ winter season and during a storm event, you will need a 4-wheel drive with appropriate tires for winter conditions due to the ice and steep driveway. There is a 2 car maximum during winter/snow season.

Built on 5 acres, wilderness adventures are right outside the door! During the winter, snowshoe or cross country ski through the woods, Sierra at Tahoe or at Echo Lakes. You can sled the mountain on the property or at the Echo Summit Snow Park 2 miles away. We have several snow tubes for guests.

In the summer there are many wonderful areas to hike and you may want to hike to the top of the property and savor the scenic view of the Sierras. Spend the night hours on the deck, BarbQ your favorite meal while enjoying the sunset and viewing the array of stars you will never forget. .

We invite you to come up to Echo Summit for an adventure in the Sierras and create lifetime memories..

Keywords: Located right off of Hwy 50 within a mile of Sierra at Tahoe Ski resort, this large, 3 level cabin is great for weekend getaways or week long vacations. Located on 5 acres of beautiful terrain with lodge pole pines and seasonal shrubs, this property boarders the National Forrest. Many accommodations and amenities are provided to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.

More Details

Dana McKnight Flentroy
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Dana McKnight Flentroy

We both love nature and enjoy the beauty around our cabin. We have 2 dogs, Amber and Ecko that travel with us. Dana works as a medical social worker and is an instructor at several colleges. She also is Director of a training program at Lake Tahoe Community College part time and Reggie is an Insurance Agent and Entrepreneur.

Dana McKnight Flentroy purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Dana McKnight Flentroy chose Echo Lake

The location and beauty surrounding the cabin along with the eclectic design and size of the cabin. The cabin has a peacefulness and serenity yet is close enough to town to enjoy all the activities that South Lake Tahoe has to offer.

What makes this cabin unique

There is a seasonal creek that sounds beautiful in the Spring and you can hike to the top of the property where a beautiful meadow awaits. The property borders National Forrest and the location is great for skiers in the snow season. You get the nature and wildlife feel, yet you are close to skiing, Echo Lake and other activities.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our group really enjoyed the cabin and all the fun in the snow. It was perfect for snow activities.
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 3


Echo Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Off of Middle level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Full Size bed and Twin Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen/Twin Bunk bed and single futon
    Other (See Description) - 3 sleep sofa /futon , 3 leather full Euro loungers in Game room
    Master Bedroom (Additional Fee) - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , For Additional fee of $75 a night Master can be included
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed is in one of the bedrooms, Full/double Bed (1) and (1)Twin Bed are in one of the bedrooms and Bunk bed with Queen (1) bed on bottom and (1) twin bed on top with (1) single futon sleeper. The game room has (3) full leather Euro lounger , which can be considered a 4th private bedroom. The Master bedroom is not included in the fees but can be included for additional fee of $75 a night,
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


3.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

37% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
3 Level, Cozy, Rustic Cabin Close to Sierra at Tahoe
average rating of 3.625 based on 11 reviews

Happy Campers!!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was just as we expected and more! The location was perfect, conveniently close to highway and not to far from town. We enjoyed cooking our own meals in spacious kitchen, roasting marshmallows, bbqing, and star gazing on upper deck patio. The pool table and jacuzzi in game room were such a bonus at this cabin getaway. Over the duration of our stay we did everything from hike, fish, and even ventured to a couple of amazing beaches near by. At the end of the day one of the most important things was that we all slept and rested well and I would highly recommend this cabin to friends and family of all ages!!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Walnut Creek

SUICIDE DRIVEWAY, dirty, dead mouse/spiders

  • 1 of 5

I would like to say something nice but in all honesty I cannot recommend this place to anyone.

1. DRIVEWAY - Leaving the driveway felt like committing suicide. Icy and steep. Entering straight onto Hwy50 with cars at 50+ speeds. High snow walls so impossible to see cars from either direction. Narrow--we have a Ford truck and we hardly fit. Had to put the mirrors in every time. Broken tree sticking into the driveway. Because of the high snow walls extremely difficult to find. Try doing this in the middle of the night when you're tired and just driven for many hours. During a snow storm, which we've had many this winter, they suggest that if the driveway is not plowed as they only plow in the morning, you will have to park at a pullout which would be like a 1/4 mile away or a considerable distance. Imagine doing this with suitcases and kids, walking along a busy highway. You cannot just pull next to the driveway to unload. There is no room. Once you pull in, you have to figure out how you're going to get out. There is no room up at the top to turn around and you don't want to reverse into the highway. There were also broken poles sticking out from the snow into the driveway making it even more narrow and dangerous, and broken shovel. The driveway should have been better cleared and there should be better markings from the highway to make it more visible.

2. WALKWAY TO THE HOUSE- steep icy walkway to the house so very difficult and dangerous walking up/down. No light outside by the front door so hard to see. So anyone with little kids, elderly people, this house is not for you.

3. HOUSE -- We were told to bring our own coffee maker as the one there is broken. OK, kind of weird but OK. We found a dead mouse on the floor in the game room. Dead spiders in the bathrooms. Large ones. Dog and long human hair all over the floor and stairs. The place did not look like it has been swept or cleaned in a while. The shower nozzle downstairs is broken so you cannot set your temperature. The bedroom on the second floor is freezing and impossible to sleep in, doesn't get heat as the rest of the house does. Very bad water pressure so you can only use one thing at a time. Shower upstairs horrible water pressure. TV/Cable didn't work. No Internet. Weird furniture with multiple beds crammed into small rooms. Torn curtains. They have all kinds of fees: not taking your trash with you, not turning off all electrical outlets, stripping beds, etc. What is the cleaning fee for?

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our cabin. I know that this snow year has been a challenge with the abundance of snow. I have tried to forewarn all guests of the extensive snow so that they are prepared for the adventure. Apparently providing you with the information prior to your stay was not helpful nor beneficial. I do provide shovels and ice melt due to the extensive snow and icing. We also provide ongoing driveway clearance by a snow removal company that is only able to clear the driveway in the AM due to Caltran rules. Prior to your stay I was informed by the guest who stayed right before your stay about the coffee machine not working. I wanted to make you aware that there would not be a working coffee machine during your stay although a tea pot is available for instant coffee. There is now a working coffee machine at the cabin. The cleaning company came and cleaned extensively prior to your stay after the prior guests who did have a dog. I wish you had mentioned the issues of dead spiders, dead mouse, dog/human hair all over the floor and stairs so that I could have had the cleaning company come back to do a more through job. I only become aware of these issues if the guest let me know. I do want to address the issues brought up in #3. We inform all guests that we are on well water and that we do have water pressure but if you are using numerous items at the same time the pressure does become very weak. I was not aware of the shower nozzle downstairs being broken and it is now fixed. The bedroom off of the kitchen has a portable fireplace for heat separately and the information is provided in the vacation house rules. We also advertise that their is no internet and the Direct T.V. was out due to the storms. We only have curtains in the master bedroom which you did not rent but had access to since it was not locked off and the game room which are not torn. There are vacation house rules to prevent abuse of the property. The cleaning fee is for linen set up and clean bedding. I am sorry that the communication prior to your stay regarding the driveway, amenities and vacation rental rules were not clear and your stay was not what you had expected.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Fun for a Family

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our weekend. We slept 4 adults and 4 Tweens very comfortably. The cabin was so close to Sierra at Tahoe and we had a great time skiing. The game room was really fun and the pool table was awesome. The owners were very communicative and helpful. The driveway is very steep and slippery when icy. We had to put chains on as the tires on our Ford Expedition were slipping even on 4WD low. We figured that was just a part of this crazy snowy year.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you and look forward to you coming back. Maybe next year will be a little lighter on the snow!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great time, this home was even more beautiful then in the pictures.

  • 5 of 5

I was very happy with my stay. Getting up the driveway without chains in a 2 wheel drive car was an adventure in its own. I highly recommend not doing that. Lol. When we finally got in the cabin we were impressed with how clean, and nice everything was inside of it. The game room downstairs was awesome and fully equipped with a pool table. Upstairs was very roomy and open. And there were plenty of beds and foutons for everyone. We only had about 6 guys but it could have fit 13 comfortably. The owner was also very nice and responsive whenever anything came up. Not like a typical landlord who just wants to take your money and deposit. She was willing to work with me and was very helpful! Thank you. We will definitely be booking again next time we are in south Lake Tahoe.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Stay away! Dirty and front door is unreachable.

  • 1 of 5

Property was dirty and we're charged an additional 190 dollars for using the heater for our 3 day stay. Electronics are ancient and driveway is so steep it's almost impossible to reach front door. Stay away is an understatement.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that you were unhappy with your stay and felt the place did not meet your needs satisfactorily. We did provide options and contact support information to reach out for any issues or concerns you may have had during your stay. We did not hear about these issues until now. If any issues had been brought to our attention we would have addressed them immediately. Again we are sorry that our vacation home did not meet your vacation needs satisfactorily.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

perfect for family fun, IF you're prepared

  • 4 of 5

We stayed the weekend before Christmas to take the kids sledding. Although the property is close to the snow park, travel was not necessary, and not advised with the amount of snow (feet not inches). We were able to sled and play on the property.

I can't say this enough, if there is more than a few inches of snow, you'll need 4x4 to get up the driveway here, it's steep. My Jeep had no problem, but the CRV, even with chains, struggled. Granted we had over 3 feet of snow while we stayed, so your mileage may vary.

The fireplace is cozy and the kitchen is well prepared for a vacation rental. Kids loved the game room, but the star of the show was the several feet of snow outside.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


In winter the property is great for snow activities and we are less than a mile from Sierra at Tahoe. In the Spring and Summer we are 1.5 miles from Echo Lake and great hiking trails. Across the highway is the American River and on the property is a seasonal creek.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $35
Cleaning and Linens $145
Property Damage Protection $59

Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50.00 per stay, per additional guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties