Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Views, Quiet, Unique Artistry, Beach Access, Hot Tub,

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

With stunning ocean views, elegant style, and artistic elements, The Mermaid is truly unique. Nestled in Arch Cape, about 70 miles west of Portland, this tranquil getaway affords easy access to the beach along a nature trail. Once upon a time a live album (Arch Cape Sessions) was recorded in the living room, writers have holed up for weeks on end to focus on their craft, and families and artists have come to the Mermaid to refresh, relax, and reflect.

When the tide is out, wander North around various sandstone outcroppings to Hug Point, Arcadia Beach, even all the way to Haystack Rock in Cannon Beach. Wander South around the Cape and you will find the Arches for which Arch Cape is named, and some exquisite tidepools. Fine dining and shopping are minutes away in Cannon Beach to the North, and Manzanita to the South.

The Mermaid sleeps 6, offers a full kitchen, 2 full bathrooms, washer/dryer, large upper and lower decks, and a hot tub with an ocean view.

We are excited for you to experience this unique place, and look forward to hearing from you! Please email us with your interest!

Keywords: Cabin, View, Cottage, Artist, Writer, Poet, Ocean Views, Views, Hot Tub, Artistic, Quiet, Serene, Peaceful, Kitchen, Washer, Dryer, Gas Fireplace, Arch Cape, Coastal,

More Details

Property Manager
Mermaid Team
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 11, 2017

About Mermaid Team

We are a native Oregonian Family who built this cabin in 1986.

Mermaid Team purchased this house in 1986

Why Mermaid Team chose Northern Coast

Arch Cape is an incredibly beautiful location with easy access to Cannon Beach and Manzanita, but stays quiet even during peak season times.

What makes this house unique

Unique artistic elements, Dad is a wizard with metal, and you will see his artistic vision throughout the cabin.

Amenities

Arch Cape House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The mermaid has very unique artistic stylings throughout, including a stainless steel spiral staircase and metalwork throughout the house.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Ocean Views, Quiet, Unique Artistry, Beach Access, Hot Tub,
average rating of 4.773585 based on 53 reviews
WALLA WALLA, WA
4

Nice location. Nice house. A few things need attention.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice house. We managed well with two couples and a baby. The house is eclectic, roomy enough, and fairly well-equipped for a long weekend stay.. We were very happy that it was truly a short 5 min walk down to the beach which we enjoyed daily.

Things which need attention:

1: The dishwasher needs repair. The racks are partially broken and come off the rails when loading or unloading. This is an easy fix.

2: The BBQ is a disaster. It is dirty and the grate is rusted. For the money you are charging, you can go to Fred Meyer and buy a new one every season. It needs to be clean before every rental! It was a disappointment to us and we had to scrub for an hour and still couldn't get the grate clean enough to put food directly on it.

3: There were no garbage bags in the house. We were only 4 + baby and we had to go to the store and buy bags. Definite oversight.

4: Soaker tub upstairs doesn't hold water. Call the plumber.

5. Ice maker makes ice, but doesn't dispense when you press the switch.

We would definitely return. Please pay attention to these few details. It would make the experience much better.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect girls weekend retreat.

  • 5 of 5

I shared this house with 4 other friends over memorial day weekend and found it to be very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. The owners were very helpful and checked in with us while we were there and let us know that they were available for questions or concerns. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute and cozy!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for spring break and had such a good time. Hot tub was well maintained and a big hit with the kids! Kitchen is well stocked with any gadget you may need. Only drawback is there isn't much room for any dry goods you may bring; only counter space. House was clean and well kept. View was beautiful and the wine was a nice touch. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, Washington
5

Great location, beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful, well kept home. Loved being able to relax on both decks, upstairs and downstairs. Owners were easy to contact with questions and were very helpful. Kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly need. You do need to be careful on the spiral staircase - it's very pretty but could be hazardous if you have really young kids or are unsteady on your feet. The only tiny suggestion we have is that it would be helpful to have a printed page of instructions for renters that tells you how to operate the tv/DVD player and also describes what the renters need to take care of before they leave. We knew we were supposed to only leave 1 load of laundry for the maid service (and I hope that's all that we left for them...it's hard to guess the capacity on an unfamiliar washer), but we weren't sure if we needed to strip the beds or not, empty garbage). That aside, which wasn't a big deal, we had a fabulous stay here and would definitely return!

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spokane, Washington
5

The house is beautiful and peaceful! We had great family time and are very sad to leave!

  • 5 of 5

Love this house! We will certainly be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for your very nice comments. we continue to make our home the nicest experience possible. we're here now and it is always sad for us to leave also. rose & doug
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful place, good location, clean

  • 4 of 5

Great place, very clean and well stocked. Only complaint was the stairs. They are very steep and narrow and somewhat sharp in spots. The artistry of the stairs was beautiful and well done, but practicality and function is really lacking. Otherwise, very nice place and comfy beds. Owners were easy to deal with and very nice.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, the stairs have been an issue. Due to the restrictions placed on the construction of our cabin there were several compromises that had to be made, #1 was the stairs. The theme, art, and scale are correct. In retrospect I should have tried something different but just couldn't find it. However, I'm in my 70's with a bad foot and recent knee surgery and don't find it all that difficult. Other than that I'm glad our guests enjoyed their stay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The Arch cape beach offers incredible hikes with tidepools and unique geographic formations. When the tide is out, one can often hike on the beach North around hug point all the way to cannon beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Arch Cape House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season 2017
Jun 10 2017 - Sep 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$245
$6,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$245
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Damage Deposit $200

A short term rental tax of 11% is applied to any stay less than 30 days. Stays longer than 30 days are not subject to this tax and will not be charged.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties