Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hoot Owl Cabin In The Heart Of Apple Country

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Pet Friendly Mountain Cabin Close To River And Hiking Trails.

Stay at the 'Hoot Owl' and enjoy a private, rustic and very charming cabin fully equipped with all the amenities and comforts of home! The Hoot Owl is adjacent to an extensive trail system great for hiking and enjoying the outdoors. Take a hike to the top of the mountain for a panoramic mountain view; on your way, walk past Hungry River located just across the road from the Hoot Owl. Enjoy the fully equipped game room, large outside deck or sit by the large picture window and watch all that nature has to offer. Walk to the community chapel and attend Sunday morning services during summer season. Open your windows and enjoy a peaceful sleep with the sound of the rumbling river, or sit by the fireplace with a good book. The Hoot Owl offers endless family fun and enjoyment along with quiet hours of just pure relaxation!

The entrance to the cabin is through the game room. Up the steps to the front door; watch your step! We have provided a house phone with unlimited long distance for our guests. Cell reception may be spotty depending on your carrier. There is also access to hi-speed Wi-Fi throughout the cabin.

Winter in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina not only has its own special beauty, but also offers a whole lot of fun! Make plans this winter to visit the ski mountains of Western North Carolina. No other state in the region can boast so many slopes and opportunities to have fun in the snow all winter long! Six ski resorts all within an hour to 2 hours away: Cataloochee Ski Area, Ski Sapphire, Wolf Ridge Ski Resort, Sugar Mountain, Beech Mountain and Appalachian Ski Mountain.

Need a therapeutic massage? There's even a Certified Neuro-Massage Therapist offering Swedish Massage, Deep Tissue Massage, Thai Massage, Ashiatsu Massage, Prenatal Massage, Hot Stone Massage, and Therapeutic/Sports Massage all within walking distance, just what the doctor ordered!

On your drive to the Hoot Owl, you will experience 'Apple Country' as Henderson County is the largest apple-producing county in North Carolina and grows 65 percent of the apples in the state. Today Henderson County and Edneyville is home to approximately 200 apple growers. There are about 5000 acres of apple trees planted in Henderson County. The apple harvest season runs from late August to late October.

For wine enthusiasts, the Hoot Owl is located just minutes from two local 'family owned' wineries. Saint Paul Mountain Vineyards and Burntshirt Vineyards, both family-owned with tasting rooms and wine available for purchase. Both wineries enjoy panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Sample the many varieties from wine grapevines, grown on the vineyards at elevations of 2,300 and 3,000 feet along with cool nights produce some of the best wine producing grapes in the country!

During your stay at the Hoot Owl, you will want to take 15 - 20 minute drive to Lake Lure. The lake is approximately 720 acres, with about twenty-one miles of shoreline. National Geographic has called Lake Lure one of the most beautiful man-made lakes in the world!

Lake Lure sits in the heart of Hickory Nut Gorge and its picturesque setting offers numerous photo opportunities. East of Asheville, the crystal clear Rocky Broad River tears its way in a series of rapids down through Hickory Nut Gap.

Historic downtown Hendersonville is just a twenty minute drive from the Hoot Owl. Hendersonville is located 22 miles south of Asheville, NC on a plateau with an altitude of 2200 feet above sea level. Explore the town and surrounding country with varied attractions, festivals, recreational activities, historical sites, golf courses, family activities, historic districts, a variety of accommodations and restaurants.

More Details

Owner
Robert (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About Robert (Owner)

Robert and Michelle Hennessy welcome your stay! We know that you probably planned a long time for your mountain Vacation and know that you will not want to be disappointed. We have included every amenity we could to make sure your stay with us is both memorable and fun. Please let us know if you need anything else as we aim to please! We are a hard working entrepreneurs and artistic husband and wife team who enjoy the outdoors, people, travel and the arts!

Robert (Owner) purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Robert (Owner) chose Hendersonville

We purchased the Hoot Owl because of the perfect location, beauty and private setting. We especially enjoy sharing our love for the area and what it has to offer. The Hoot Owl just minutes from Lake Lure and Chimney Rock State Park and 12 miles from Hendersonville, NC city limits.

What makes this cabin unique

From hiking, to relaxing in the hammock, or sitting by the fire with a good book the Hoot Owl is the perfect destination! Take in the local heritage, or raft down Green River with the family! Explore the Biltmore Estate or enjoy the many sights and sounds that the beautiful North Carolina Mountains have to offer all right from your doorstep. (Please note: this is in a private setting in the woods)

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed our time at the Hoot Owl! It was so great to unplug and unwind for the weekend! We left snow behind only to enjoy much more when we arrived here. The area is so beautiful and breathtaking that we didn't mind the hike up the hill.:)

Thank you for letting us enjoy this cozy getaway, and for giving us such great directions when our GPS failed us! (And we escaped the earthquake in SC by being here!!)

Thank you again!

Jessica & Robert

Columbia, SC



P.S. Mona Lisa Restaurant was delicious too!!!
Feb 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

McMillan Hidden Valley Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Shower in master bedroom and full bath on lower level.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Bedroom is located on second floor with bathroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Open the windows and listen to the sound of Hungry River across the street, or curl up in the big cozy chair with a good book. WiFi internet throughout the cabin.
Entertainment:
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • water tubing
Notes:
Request a 4-wheeler outing and see the trails!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

51% Complete
32% Complete
6% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Hoot Owl Cabin In The Heart Of Apple Country
average rating of 4.2093024 based on 45 reviews
Wilmington
5

Cozy and quiet

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great week at Hoot Owl for spring break. The Pac Man game was used daily and the rocking chair in the den was bliss after a long day on the mtn trails. The decor was great!

The cabin is approximately 15-20 min from Hendersonville. Beautiful apple orchards on the way to it were always a delight to look at.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not as we expected!

  • 2 of 5

We too have rented several cabins from VRBO over recent years. This cabin did not meet our expectations as it was advertised. Here is a list of issues I sent the owner after our stay.

-both windows upstairs were not operational

-the microwave had sludge and rust in the bottom

-it appeared the toaster oven had not been cleaned in some time

-the gas grill was rusted out on the bottom

-the lamp over the reading chair upstairs was not operational

-many light bulbs were burned out all over the cabin

-the cabin had a musty odor

In fairness to the owner, he did respond and say he had had an issue with his maintenance man and has hired a new one and would work to fix the issues. My problem is that when I booked the cabin, there was only 1 poor review back in 2014. I wasn't going to post one giving him the benefit of the doubt and hoping it was just a fluke. However, when I looked back at the reviews after the owner’s response, I saw there had been another just 3 weeks before our stay. I was very disappointed the issues weren't resolved before our arrival. I rely heavily on reviews when making a booking and determined I needed to post one as I wouldn’t want another family to book this cabin and have the same experience we did. This was my one vacation for the year and we were looking forward to some much needed relaxation but as in the previous review, we spent most of our time away from the cabin and stayed there as little as possible. My advise would be to contact the owner for assurance that everything is in working order before booking. The cabin does have a lot of potential!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

seclusion at its best

  • 4 of 5

had a great time

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Summerville, SC
1

Our worst experience yet.

  • 1 of 5

First, all props to HomeAway, they are great. The cabin was our issue. My wife and I have booked cabins through HomeAway for numerous vacations, and this is the first dud we've had.

We arrived to checkin around 6 or so, only to find out that the cabin has a key lockbox and we didn't have a lockbox code. We never received the welcome email with checkin details. There is no cell signal at the cabin, so we had to head in to Hendersonville to make contact. We attempted logging in to the cabin's wifi, but the password we were given was incorrect. We called the number provided through homeaway, and messaged the owner through the homeaway app, but did not hear back. Finally we called homeaway's customer service and they were able to look through the owner's past messages and found the info we needed in a similar issue the owner had (we weren't the first this happened too). We were finally able to get into the cabin around 10:30pm.

The game room in the cabin is actually kind of a let down. The shuffle board table doesn't have the silica to function correctly, so it's really more of a drink holder. The arcade game in there doesn't work (the screen is all fuzzy). There is a mannequin by the door that really gave my wife and I a fright. There is a foozeball table that is functional, if you want to hang out in a musty shed.

The house's A/C is a single indoor unit downstairs, run on a spike strip with at least 4 other things (as are most things in the house). We accidentally tripped the breaker just by turning switches on in the living room. The breaker box was hidden behind a mirror in the living room and it took us a long while to find. Upstairs can get really stuffy. There are fans all over the cabin and they help, but if it was really hot out upstairs would have been unbearable.

We found numerous carpenter ants in the bathroom every morning. Neither of us got bit, but we had to keep exterminating them.

The final nail was the hot tub. We love using the hot tub at the cabins we rent, so much that we start our search by filtering for hot tubs. This cabin's is outside the top floors sliding glass door, and across (but directly on the side of) a road. It had no lights (in or around it), and was crawling with roaches when we went out to look at it. It was also super chlorinated. We never even got in.

We wound up only using this cabin as a place to sleep, and spent as little time as we could in it. Definitely will not be returning.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry about your experience at the Hoot Owl. We work really hard to keep our visitors happy and have a good time. We have been real successful doing that. We have 40 five star reviews and we our proud of that. Again we feel real disappointed you did not have a comfortable stay and have offered you several credits to make up for your inconvenience . We have sent our maintance crew to check everything and do any repairs to better serve our guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Cozy

  • 5 of 5

Lovely cabin! Decorations are something out of an HGTV show. Great price for the experience

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, North Carolina
5

"Owl" I can say is that it was a "hoot"!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in this cozy cabin. We wanted some time away from the real world and this was great!! The cabin was nice, cozy, clean, and quite private. We loved just hanging out in the hot tub and relaxing. We also had a great time just exploring the area. We brought our 2 dogs along and they had a great time too! I would definately recommend the Hoot Owl!!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
I-26
Car: necessary

Stay at the 'Hoot Owl' and enjoy a private, rustic and very charming cabin fully equipped with all the amenities and comforts of home! The Hoot Owl is adjacent to an extensive trail system great for hiking and enjoying the outdoors. Take a hike to the top of the mountain for a panoramic mountain view; on your way, walk past Hungry River located just across the road from the Hoot Owl. Enjoy the fully equipped game room, large outside deck or sit by the large picture window and watch all that nature has to offer. Walk to the community chapel and attend Sunday morning services during summer season. Open your windows and enjoy a peaceful sleep with the sound of the rumbling river, or sit by the fireplace with a good book. The Hoot Owl offers endless family fun and enjoyment along with quiet hours of just pure relaxation! There's even a Certified Neuromassage Therapist offering Swedish Massage, Deep Tissue Massage, Thai Massage, Ashiatsu Massage, Prenatal Massage, Hot Stone Massage, and Therapeutic/Sports Massage all within walking distance, just what the doctor ordered!

On your drive to the Hoot Owl, you will experience 'Apple Country' as Henderson County is the largest apple-producing county in North Carolina and grows 65 percent of the apples in the state. Today Henderson County and Edneyville is home to approximately 200 apple growers. There are about 5000 acres of apple trees planted in Henderson County. The apple harvest season runs from late August to late October.

For wine enthusiasts, the Hoot Owl is located just minutes from two local 'family owned' wineries. Saint Paul Mountain Vineyards and Burntshirt Vineyards, both family-owned with tasting rooms and wine available for purchase. Both wineries enjoy panoramic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Sample the many varieties from wine grapevines, grown on the vineyards at elevations of 2,300 and 3,000 feet along with cool nights produce some of the best wine producing grapes in the country!

During your stay at the Hoot Owl, you will want to take 15 - 20 minute drive to Lake Lure. The lake is approximately 720 acres, with about twenty-one miles of shoreline. National Geographic has called Lake Lure one of the most beautiful man-made lakes in the world!

Lake Lure sits in the heart of Hickory Nut Gorge and its picturesque setting offers numerous photo opportunities. East of Asheville, the crystal clear Rocky Broad River tears its way in a series of rapids down through Hickory Nut Gap.

Historic downtown Hendersonville is just a twenty minute drive from the Hoot Owl. Hendersonville is located 22 miles south of Asheville, NC on a plateau with an altitude of 2200 feet above sea level. Explore the town and surrounding country with varied attractions, festivals, recreational activities, historical sites, golf courses, family activities, historic districts, a variety of accommodations and restaurants.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Pet Fee $25

Do not follow your GPS instructions :) You will get lost!
Check-in 3pm. Check-out 11am.
$125/nt with 2 night mininum stay
$80.00 Cleaning Fee.
$25.00 Pet Fee
You may also want to consider our other properties for your stay.
Ponderosa Listing #243049
Villa Roma Listing #358195
Hoot Owl Listing #473186
Minimum 30 day cancelation policy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties