Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

No cleaning fee! Mountain view, 1/3 acre fenced yard. 10 min from park.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 180 nights

Overview

About the property

2bd/1bath, BBQ, Mtn View, Wash/dry, WIFI, DRCTV, near Serranos, NO cleaning FEE!

We accept same day bookings. So, if the calendar says we are open, give us a try and contact us via (406) 450 - 2046 or try by email at floatforfun hotmail in case we don't answer. This year we are happy to have a remodeled bathroom and newly painted living room with brand new shades throughout the house! This is a wonderful, house previously owned by a descendant of one of the first railroad porters to live in East Glacier. When I bought the house, the promise was to take care of the tulips in gardens, which I am more than happy to do and then some as you will see. The house sits on a full double lot., giving it a private and spacious feel. With a wrap around yard, bar-b-que and picnic table, a secluded aspen grove and view of Dancing Lady Mountain, this home will be a perfect home for you while visiting our little corner of the world.

The living room in your East Glacier Get Away provides ample space, light and seating to enjoy company, catch a bit of national news onDirectv Satellite TV, post pictures from the day by strong WIFI signal throughout the house, or settle in with a movie, a puzzle, and/or a board game.

The bathroom is freshly redecorated and has on demand, (endless), hot water for everyone to enjoy after a long hike or to start the day.

The master bedroom has a queen sized bed as well as its own television also connected to satellite internet. The second bedroom provides a queen bed and a twin bunk. The living area is roomy with a couch, two swivel chairs, satellite television, and family games. The kitchen is fully stocked with the utensils needed to create fantastic meals while the bar-b-que can be used for an outdoor feel. A WASHER/DRYER is also available to help you keep up on vacation laundry.

It is an excellent location for a family, traveling friends or a couple looking to enjoy the area and come home to a comfortable and well equipped house; For TRAVELERS LOOKING TO FEEL EMBRACED BY THE ADVENTURE OF GLACIER NATIONAL PARK, THIS IS THE PLACE.

The house has a mountain view from the yard, and nestled in the town of East Glacier, it is the most convenient location for visiting all of the park. We are proud to have our own remote entrance only 10 minutes away, (Two Medicine), as well as either end of Going to the Sun Road within 45 minutes, making us the perfect place for visiting all of Glacier National Park. The house is located just one block from the famous Seranos Restaurant and within walking distance of the local bakery, pottery shop and historic Glacier Park Lodge.

We love sharing this area with enthusiastic travelers and are at your disposal for information about the area and help planning your trip. In fact, if your lucky, you might catch Smiles on his way to the local trout hole, I am sure he wouldn't mind if you "tag along". If planned ahead, we would be happy to show you some of our favorite places for fishing, hiking and berry picking in this wild and amazing land. We also offer access to bear spray and hiking sticks. So, . . . . . . .

Enjoy the view of the mountains while relaxing in a reclined lawn chair after a long day in the park or challenge someone to a game of horse shoes. Grab a beer or a glass of wine and take a seat at the picnic table. Savor the flavor of a Montana cook out with the family gathered around while you bite into bar-b-que grilled burgers and hot dogs and the kids run in the spacious wrap-around yard. Glacier is waiting for you...

More Details

Owner
Wendy Gates
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Wendy Gates

Hi there. My name is Wendy. My story in Glacier National Park starts in 1990 when I visited my brother working in Many Glacier. 6 years later, during the summer of my freshman year in college, I worked in Many Glacier myself. In 2004, I applied for a teaching position in Browning, Mt., home of the Blackfeet Tribe, border of Glacier National Park.

I was a full time classroom teacher for over a decade traveling from India to Mexico as well as spending 5 years of that experience teaching in the locale town of Browning. Raised in northern Idaho, I love this area and the activities available here. More recently I have been a ski instructor for kids at the Whitefish Mountain Resort on Big Mountain.

My better half and now my fiance, known as Smiles, is a fishing guide during the "off season", Sept - April, on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington state. You might catch him doing work around the yard or fishing on one of the many local streams.

Wendy Gates purchased this house in 2013

Why Wendy Gates chose Glacier Country

We love the extra space of a double lot and the sound structure of the well built house. I had driven by this house and admired the tulips for years, so when we saw a for sale sign next to those tulips, I had to try! Happy to call this our place!

What makes this house unique

This well equipped house offers WIFI and Directv, the On-demand and high pressure hot water system means there is no running out of hot water. (We have had multiple guests vote this "THE BEST SHOWER OF THEIR TRIP".)

It sits on a double lot with a small aspen grove in one corner, a great view of Dancing Lady and plenty of running space for children. The BBQ and PICNIC TABLE are a pleasure in the afternoon and setting sun of the evening, and, it is only ONE BLOCK FROM THE FAMOUS SERANOS RESTAURANT.

There are a few nice gardens which I will undoubtedly expand as I love flowers! The feeling one gets from the open space in the yard and the looming mountains not far away is unmatched.

Guestbook comments from the owner

As left in a hand written note: Wendy, Thank you!

The house, the yard and the location were perfect for us. We enjoyed or stay greatly.

Thanks

Signed by guest
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

East Glacier Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On demand hot water system provides unlimited hot water
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
  • there is also a blow up queen mattress with all the bedding provided thus 8 people can sleep on matress in this house.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
We don't charge a cleaning fee so that you can spend your "bit extra" on gear. We have some of the little things that make an adventure safer/more enjoyable like Bear Spray, Hiking Poles, and Fishing Rod rentals. Let us know what activities you are interested in and how we can help make them happen.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
35% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
No cleaning fee! Mountain view, 1/3 acre fenced yard. 10 min from park.
average rating of 4.55 based on 22 reviews
5

Great Home Base for exploring Glacier

  • 5 of 5

Glacier is HUGE!!!!! so this is a great place that is within a 90 minute drive to all that Glacier has to offer. The house was perfect for a couple but would easily accommodate more people. It was clean and offered all the necessities for preparing home cooked meals and cleaning up and relaxing after a long day on the trails.

Very nice place would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone wanting to spend time in Glacier!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Way better than any hotel in the area.

  • 5 of 5

Super convenient location as a base for enjoying the East Side of Glacier. Easy drives to Two Medicine and even all the way up to Many Glaciers for a day trip. We stayed with our two kids and they both preferred the bunk beds they were so comfy. The master bed was great as well and it was fun having a yard (very well kept and lovely btw), even got a chance to school my 12 y.o. in horseshoes. While to house is obviously old it is updated and comfy. We noticed a couple of ongoing update projects including a bit of electrical but they were tucked away before our stay and didn't effect the stay. Keep up the good work, it could be a real gem when you're all done. I'm sure your rate will go up as the updates are completed so get it now while it's such a bargain. And thanks for the bottle of wine and helpful maps and area info when we arrived. Will be staying again next summer.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We are glad that you and the kids were able to truly enjoy what this location has to offer. Horseshoes carry wonderful family memories for me as well. We hope to see you again when you return to our little gem just outside of Glacier National Park! Thanks! Wendy and Smiles
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

decent accommodations, but a little pricey for what you get

  • 3 of 5

Pros:

- very convenient to GNP; 20 minutes to Two Medicine area

- friendly, responsive hosts

- hosts provided maps of GNP; bear spray and hiking poles for rent

- all the necessities; kitchen supplies, towels, soap, shampoo

- walking distance to train station, groceries and restaurants

- pleasant yard with picnic table and chairs

- bottle of wine to welcome us

- free, fast wifi

- satellite tv

Cons:

- dated decor

- dated furnishings

- no air conditioning; this was a major drawback, as it was very hot when we visited

- dryer does not work well; can handle only a small number of clothes, and takes very long time to dry (possibly because it is not vented to the outdoors?)

In summary: we mostly enjoyed our stay, but given the price, we can't say it's a great value.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Most hotel rooms in the area are at least $120.00 a night, and with the full use of house, kitchen, Internet, directv, and large yard, bbq area, picnik table with shady seating, etc., we have never had anyone mention the cost as too high, especially with no cleaning fee. This spring we repainted the living room and totally remodeled the bathroom and you are the first guest to mention "out of date" in the four years we have rented this vrbo. A touch ironic, but we will continue to update and improve every year. We also apologize about AC. Not many people in Montana have AC as it rarely gets hot enough in this area to justify it. We will work on better explaining how to cool the house overnight and keep the cool air in during the day. The washer and dryer are interesting as most vrbo rentals in the area don't even have one. Again we apologize that it is a stackable, small load washer and dryer but we felt that was better no washer and dryer as we appreciate keeping up on a bit of laundry on vacation. Small loads work well and these machines do fine for the long term guests that use them as their primary washer and dryer in the 9 months off season. So, I am not sure why this was an issue. I had no idea that your experience was occurring at the rate of 3 out of 5 stars. I truly apologize that you were not satisfied as I or Smiles would have been happy to help in any way had either of us known during your stay that you were not completely satisfied. We will work to improve this for future guests. Thank you for your stay and for leaving the house in such great condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay in East Glacier! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you Wendy for your hospitality!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great last minute deal

  • 4 of 5

With no hotel rooms left in East Glacier, this was a very pleasant surprise! Easy to find, walking distance to a bakery, satellite TV and games for the kids-couldn't have asked for more.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect base for exploring Glacier National Park

  • 5 of 5

Wendy's home was clean, welcoming and a great base for exploring Glacier. Wendy made sure the home was stocked with everything we needed (including bear With two bedrooms and room to sleep 6 it was more than enough space for just me and my husband. We loved that we could make breakfast each morning, with groceries from the Glacier Park Trading Post, just two blocks down the road. And having a washer/dryer was so convenient. We mostly cooked in but did dine out at the Bison Creek Ranch just 10 minutes up the road - a MUST. And spending our last day at Two Medicine Lake, avoiding the crowds at East Glacier and Saint Mary was pure paradise.

While far from luxury, Wend'y place is a simple, quiet, off the beaten path home to really get to know East Glacier. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Melissa! We know we are lucky to have this spot perfect for exploring the park as well as the honor of sharing it, adding to a comfortable and affordable Glacier Park vacation. We also love Bison Creek and are glad that you were able to get a feel for the town. Thanks again and come back some time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Great Falls, Mt. or Kalispell, Mt.
Nearest Ski
80 Miles
Back country or Whitefish Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

East Glacier is a great little town with nice shops featuring local pottery, art, wood carving and general Glacier Park gifts. Many restaurants are within a mile walking distance of the house and the entire park, east, west, north or south side, are accessible from this centralized location.

The town of East Glacier sits on the southeast corner of the park. Therefore, West Glacier, the west entrance, is only 1 hour west, St. Maries is less than an hour north and Many Glacier is just over an hour north. Waterton, Glacier's sister park in Canada is also a relatively quick trip at just around 2 hours north.

The Canadian Rockies are extremely majestic with shear cliff faces that inspire awe. I have also heard reports, and have myself seen, abundant wildlife in the general Waterton area. Bring your passport.

For more specific information on activities that interest you, just ask!

Photos

Rates & Availability

East Glacier Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Fill In 2017
Jun 19 2017 - Sep 13 2017
1 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 
 
off season
Sep 14 2017 - Jun 12 2018
180 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
Wildflower 2018
Jun 13 2018 - Jun 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,350
 
 
summer 2018
Jul 1 2018 - Sep 16 2018
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties