Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Best View in Harbor Town - $800/wk, Aug/Fall

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Fabulous sunsets over Caliboque Sound. Watch the yachts and ferry boats ply the sound to Dafuski Island, Haig Point, and other destinations or the water sports and boating activity of Harbour Town. Enjoy wooded seclusion in this very private Sea Loft Villa with water front views to die for. All of Harbour Towns amenities are just a short walk or bike ride away down a private wooded access road on Deer Island.

Sea Pines beautiful three-mile beach, three championship golf courses, first-class tennis facility and swimming pools are in your backyard. Miles of bike trails are at your door step in addition to the open beach for endless walking, biking, and swimming with the dolphins.

Sea Pines offers two marinas (South Beach and Harbour Town) with countless waterfront restaurants, shops, and scenic walkways. Horseback riding, trail rides, Indian ruins, and the forest preserve are on this private, gated plantation for you to enjoy.

Our Sea Loft villa is a private, free-standing, two-bedroom, two-bath villa in a wooded setting with open and direct water views. The upscale gourmet kitchen and living room have hardwood floors and floor-to-ceiling glass. The white-painted wooden cathedral ceilings and walls throughout with most exterior walls of floor-to-ceiling glass make for a charming, ship-like, sea-side villa. The lower level offers a small office, sitting or work area, and a laundry room.

Keywords: Villa

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 4, 2018

Amenities

Sea Pines Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

47% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
29% Complete
11% Complete
Waterfront Best View in Harbor Town - $800/wk, Aug/Fall
average rating of 3.5294118 based on 17 reviews
2

Mixed feelings - LOVED and HATED

  • 2 of 5

Have very mixed feelings about this property...

1. Prior to booking had immediate responses to ALL messages. After booking - sent 2 messages with NO reply. All communications came via a rental agency. The villa has a hard key - you must plan to stop at the agency to pick up/return the key.

2. We were able to check in prior to 3pm. Rental paperwork stated between 4-6pm. HOWEVER - the cleaners should of taken the extra 3 hours to clean. Spent HOURS deep cleaning the bathrooms because there were HAIRS everywhere. GROSS! Villa needs a deep clean.

3. THE SMELL? Other reviewers commented on the smell so reached out to owner prior to booking and was reassured there was NO SMELL! I can attest there is a strong odor in the bottom of the villa. It’s hard to describe but it smells like cat urine/musty old mix. It’s potent.

4. THE DOORS! Upstairs exterior French doors don’t fully close. It’s a known issue since you will discover plastic like trash bags wedged over the top of each door held down with clear shipping tape. You can see about 12 inches of daylight where the French doors meet when the doors are closed. The bottom entrance level which is where your key works is OLD and WEATHERED. Be warned the bottom of the door is not flush to floor which allows the MARSH CRABS into the villa! We were constantly shoeing away crabs all day long. The have taken over the brick bottom area. The upstairs interior doors don’t function properly either making it extremely hard to close and open.

5. RED ANTS! BIG RED ANTS in kitchen and spiral stair well. Mounds and mounds in the mulch area surrounding the villa.

6. Killed 6 huge palmetto bugs / cockroaches

7. Dishwasher - doesn’t clean - had to hand wash all the stuff in the cabinets before using - old food particles stuck on most items.

Now after ALL the above - must say - DEER ISLAND RD is such an intriguing place to call HOME. Absolutely LOVED the beautiful location and the villa has a PRIME sound view - NO OBSTRUCTIONS. My family enjoyed our time together staying in Hilton Head and the nature surrounding us. Hoping the owner would be willing to address the maintenance / cleanliness issues so we could reconsider staying there in the future. To note - we booked our vacation last minute and we had our dog so the pickings were slim yet this was available. I tried my best to enjoy our time without complaining and just managed for the week. Wish I could attach pictures for proof.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice, but needs just a little A/C improvement

  • 4 of 5

Overall, I will say that we enjoyed our stay here this past week. I've stayed in Sea Pines several times and didn't know that Deer Island existed. It's a great little area tucked away, and actually not a part of Sea Pines. The units are cute, like little treehouses. The area is wooded and secluded, which I liked. The wooden walkway up to the unit is very inviting. We kept our bikes under the unit, grilled out near the deck, enjoyed the deer, and saw fireworks on the 4th of July from where we were.

Pros: This unit has a wonderful view of the water, as advertised. It's within walking distance of Harbor Town, and it accommodated the four of us reasonably well for the week. It was nice to have the washer/dryer, which we used a time or two. Two bedroom, two bath. It had plenty of towels, kitchen appliances. It was clean and neat.

Cons: The air conditioner is not sufficient for this unit. The owner had two portable floor units installed to aid in cooling down the place, and that worked until about 3 or 4 o'clock in the afternoon. The afternoon sun is brutal without enough AC, so we had to pull down the shades on all the windows to keep the unit from becoming hot -- not warm, but hot. Pulling the shades (not blinds, but shades) down in a unit with a water/sunset view defeats the whole reason for having a unit with a water/sunset view if you can't see the water or the sunset. The bottom portion of the unit with the washer/dryer was completely unbearable. There was only a small portable AC unit in there, and it was in a little room that had been built as a tiny office, so even with the door open, it did not cool off the rest of the area. This was also on the harbor side, so in full sun all day. I would break into a sweat just walking down the spiral staircase to do wash. I got out of there as quickly as I could.

In fairness to the owner, an AC guy came by while we were there because apparently they're looking into upgrading the AC unit and reworking the vents. I would say this is a must, especially as a rental unit. I would also recommend taking out the shower/hot tub combo in the bathroom. Each is too small, and I seriously doubt anyone would miss the little circular hot tub. A larger shower would be much more comfortable. I felt squeezed everywhere I turned in both bathrooms.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A new Air Condiitioning System was installed last week. Reports are that all is well. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

I wouldn't rent it again at half the price.

  • 2 of 5

The primary asset of the property is the view of Calibogue Sound, which certainly is great, but couldn't be enjoyed in the afternoon, as the blinds had to be closed due to lack of a/c capacity. The Sealoft units were built in the 70's. The 2 bathrooms and the kitchen area had been somewhat updated, but the remainder still very much dated. There was a moldy smell when walking in, but your nose seems to adapt to it, after a while. But anyone entering for the first time smells it. We went 3/4 of a day in misery through a/c failure, at inside temp of 86 degrees (failure was due to clogged filter, which had not seen maintenance in a long time; it caused the evaporator to freeze up and block all air flow). The a/c is the original central point (plenum chamber) delivery type, with no ductwork ( there were 2 space-type auxiliary units, which help, but are very noisy). I have owned 2 Sealofts in the past; to get adequate air conditioning for an exposed unit like this, you must have an attic with ductwork air delivery, and insulation. The deck, obviously original, is delapidated and unsightly, nearing unsafe. Crude reinforcements have been installed . A new wood causeway from the parking spots was one plus. There were no blinds (skimky curtains were there) in one bedroom; we had to hang up blankets to block out severe morning sun. Would rate cleanliness and furnishings a C-. Off-white sofa was very soiled. Grimy probably a better word. No where near what one would expect in Sea Pines. I would have been embarassed to have company visit there. With such a view as it has, the unit cries out for complete remodelling.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wish that we had heard from you during your stay and we might have been able to remedy a few items while you were there. A new air conditioning system was installed just last week and the 1 year old new slip cover has been cleaned again. We have asked house keeping to be a bit more attentative in their cleaning. Our resident management company does inspect before the check in of each new guest but occasionally they do miss something. One bath was totally renovated just 2 years ago with tile throughout. New granite countertops, new stove, new dishwasher and refrigerator in the kitchen. New wall to wall carpeting just 1 year ago. New blinds facing the marsh just 1 year ago. New board walk from the road, new roof just 2 years ago, new twin beds last year. New deck boards and stair treads are on the agenda for this year. With such a beautiful view and location our villa is very popular and rents for most weeks of the year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cincinnati
5

Incredible!

  • 5 of 5

My family loved staying here so much last year that we came back again this year! It’s great that you can see the water and the dolphins all from the comfort of your own home. We had a family of 5 deer great us everyday. The neighborhood is quiet and within walking distance of Harbour Town.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The view is lovely, and the indoor decor is cute. However, the smell of mold is overwhelming.

  • 2 of 5

The smell of mold is overwhelming. We bought candles and febreeze in an attempt to over power it, but it was impossible. This needs to be addressed by the owners as soon as possible.

The “loft” is cute, and the view is incredible. It is located next to Harbor Town, and it was easy to walk everywhere. The furnishings were not fancy, but everything was clean. Unfortunately, the mold issue dominated our takeaway.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize for the problem you encountered and wish that you had brought it to our attention during your stay as we would have addressed the problem immediately. Our winter guests checked in the afternoon of your delarture and are not experiencing an issue such as what you described. Our check with housekeeping revealed no issues either. I am truly sorry that you had a problem and will continue to monitor the situation.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
alexandria, va
5

Amazing Spot!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in June and loved every minute! It is a beautiful spot that just takes your breath away! The house was very comfortable, modern and clean. We felt very comfortable from the moment we arrived!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties