Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Glenn Acres Black Bear Creekside Cottage- Mountains-Quaint-Quiet-Relaxing

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage on Creek, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Just outside the hustle bustle of the city of Asheville, (about 18 miles) you will find Mountain Serenity with us in our Black Bear Creekside Lodge. (2 bedroom, 2 bath, with a large living/dining area.)

You will drive through the small creek up the quiet road where Glenn Acres begins. Enjoy the wildlife, immense trees and wildflowers the nice sound of the stream and just have a relaxing, memorable mountain vacation!

Keywords: Cottage, cabin, lodge


Property Manager
Denise Glenn
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

About Denise Glenn

My Father in Law, Larry had always wanted a little place by a mountain stream/creek. He and Mother just happen to come across this 13 acre tract at the base of Mt. Pisgah with two cottages on the property. They moved into one and decided to redo the other for others to enjoy! This was in 2000. It is now the Black Bear Creekside Lodge! Contact Me, Denise Glenn for more information and booking. We hope to see ya real soon!

What makes this cottage unique

Listening to the mountain stream right outside your bedroom door! Seeing the mountain laurel in full bloom as well as other wildflowers. Hearing the woodpeckers and other birds fill the trees surrounding us. Walking around the property....visiting Larry's trout pond. (sorry not for fishing in) Or just relaxing on the porch. But mostly, enjoying family and friends. Contact us now!

Amenities

Candler Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
Notes:
ALL necessities furnished such as toilet tissue, paper towels, trash bags, (a two days supply) and all linens furnished!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Glenn Acres Black Bear Creekside Cottage- Mountains-Quaint-Quiet-Relaxing
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
2

Pine Ridge Chalet

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at The Pine Ridge Chalet and was very disappointed in the accommodations. This cabin needs extensive cleaning & repairs. Front door hard to open/close, bathtub downstairs does not drain, poor lighting throughout cabin, uncomfortable beds, furniture needs steam cleaning or replaced, vcr upstairs does not work - need cable upstairs, walls dusty (which caused our son to get sick). I hate to complain; however, if I owned this or any cabin rental, I would keep it well maintained for my tennants. Housekeeper not doing her job!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All I can say is I am so sorry the cabin was not up to par as far as the cleanliness. That has been addressed with our cleaner and it will not happen again. As far as the bath, vcr, and the door... these things will be looked at and fixed. Even though the review was not as we had liked, we do appreciate it and will be on top of getting things taken care of.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Parker, CO
5

Relaxing Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful cabin! We had a great stay here and I must say one of my best nights of sleep in a while. The rain and the bubbling creek along with the comfortable bed made for a wonderful night of rest. My kids had fun exploring down by the creek. It was very peaceful and just what we needed after a long drive from Colorado.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA
5

RELAXING!!!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic cabin. The porch overlooking the creek was awesome. Mountain Laurel and Rhododendrons were in bloom. We never wanted to leave. The owners gave us fresh baked rolls and muffins. Delicious! Thank you, for a most relaxing stay. Peace.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Orlando, FL
5

Weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was the most peaceful getaway. There were three adults and we came to the area to see a band in Asheville and to getaway from city chaos. The two bedrooms and two baths were perfect. Being able to keep the door open in the Master bedroom and hear the stream bubbling along outside made for a great night sleep. There is definitely a cabin feel with great vintage decor. And they brought us homemade rolls and muffins the day we checked in. Kitchen was well equipped. We absolutely loved our stay (love drive across the creek) and we will be back for a longer stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

terrific relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5

Had an awesome weekend! Secluded, but convenient to all of town's amenities. Cabin was well appointed and comfortable. The gentle sounds of the murmuring creek just off the deck made for a very relaxing stay. The owner was very responsive and quick to return all communications. Overall a wonderful experience for us!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway with convenient parkway access

  • 5 of 5

We had a perfect weekend at the black bear lodge! Make sure you read the directions all the way through so you don't stop before the creek and try to go into the wrong house like we did!

The sweet little creek right outside is the best noise to wake up to. A perfect porch for breakfast and enjoying the morning.

The cabin looks like it is a little remote on the map, but it is actually super convenient to the blue ridge parkway. We enjoyed awesome hikes just a few minutes' drive away.

The owner was super responsive and helpful, and she even mailed us our headlamps that we left on the table!

I can't say enough good things about this cozy spot, especially for the price. I will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
32 Miles
Asheville Regional
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35
Cleaning Fee $65
Tax Rate 7.0%

Check in is 3:00 pm Check out is 11:00 am

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.