Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Home on Pristine Tropical Island is Paradise Found

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7-9)

This secluded island home, offers comfort in a tropical wilderness environment, on the unbridged 2,000 acre Cayo Costa Island State Park. The home is 1,500 sq.ft. with 1,000 sq.ft. of decks. The home is off the power grid and is powered by solar/inverter and propane. The first floor of this elevated home has 2 bedrooms and 1 bath with two outside showers. There is a large deck connecting the two bedrooms that have king size beds. All of the first floor has Gulf views above the palm trees and the island. The second story sleeping room and upper deck has the best 360 views on the island of the Gulf, Pine Island Sound, Charlotte Harbor and the entire island. You have quick access to the beach 300 yard in front of house by walking or taking one of two all terrain vehicles to the healing waters of the Gulf of Mexico and 9 miles of deserted sandy beach where there is world class fishing, shelling, birding and dolphin watching. Manatees can also be observed around the island from land or kayak. Or you can just slow down and listen to the natural sounds of the island sitting 50 feet above sea level on the upper deck. House comes with dock on the bayside see map Marker B. Owner can provide round trip transport from the airport and to the island (boat fee $175). Rates are for 6 people, and $25 extra/night for each person over 6 staying at the house.

Keywords: Home

More Details

Owner
Daniel Trescott
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2017

About Daniel Trescott

I am a native Floridian from Miami. I starting boating and fishing at 8 years old in the canals near my house. So boating to Cayo Costa is a perfect fit and is always an adventure. I am an urban and regional planner and had been working for the Southwest Florida Regional Planning Council in Fort Myers for the last 28 years and the State of Florida in prior years. Now I semi-retired from the state and work part time for Trescott Planning Solutions my consulting firm and Cayo Costa Island Adventures. I have raised my son and daughter in Fort Myers and Cayo Costa. Island life has changed our lives. Being in the natural environment of this tropical island removes the stress in one's life.

Daniel Trescott purchased this house in 1997

Why Daniel Trescott chose Florida

I have been all over coastal Florida with my jobs and Cayo Costa by far is the largest undeveloped barrier island in the State. This island is remote in that it is six mile from the nearest mainland connection on rural Pine Island. The island is 50 minutes from my house in Fort Myers and 30 minutes to the nearest grocery store. Being the only person on the beach for miles was one of the main reasons I built the house.

What makes this house unique

The house has been called a luxury wilderness beach house. It has most of the modern conveniences in a home in a very remote location. You will be staying on a real island with no connections to the mainland. You will have quick access to 9 miles of natural beach (300 yards in front of house) where shelling, beach-combing and swimming are some of the best in the world. There is easy access to catch snook, redfish, trout, whiting, pompano, mullet, cobia, snapper, flounder and grouper. World class fishing for tarpon off the beach or in Boca Grande Pass at the north end of the island. An uncrowded life with peace and quiet might be the best benefit of all.

Amenities

Captiva House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 1:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Hot/cold shower with large antique clawfoot tub, plus a hot/cold outside shower on deck next to the bathroom door entrance on deck. There is another shower on the ground floor deck that is cold and particularly good during the warm months.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    loft - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Bed (1), Double Bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (1). There is an additional double and single mattress. The beds in the loft are the highest sleeping beds on the island.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Being an off the power grid home quite power (sun) is almost unlimited. If necessary during extended cloudy days a generator can be run for 2 hours to recharge the batteries. The home does not have central air conditioning due to high power demand. The home is designed to either remove or retain heat by opening or closing the second story windows. Kitchen has electric coffee maker, microwave and toaster. Transportation is by ATVs with trailer on existing sand trails. Moon/planet/star gazing is excellent and a telescope is available for use. Various types of beach chairs, bring your our fishing rods if traveling by car or if flying bring your own reals for rods at the house, sand stakes and buckets are available. Instructions for using everything at the house are provided along with island maps and chart for good fishing stops around the island. Boat access to and from the island and from airport can be provided by the owner.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(61 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Secluded Home on Pristine Tropical Island is Paradise Found
average rating of 4.836066 based on 61 reviews
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place. We went in July and our biggest worry before arriving was the temp. Not a problem at all. Stayed plenty cool in the house even in the middle of the day. Slept great too. Plenty of things to do and see and the house has everything you need. My only tip would be to take plenty plenty of Off and maybe a thermacell. We typically do not do return trips since there are so many places in the world to go but we would consider this place for another visit. Tropical atmosphere without a passport. Owner was great too!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very nice review and the “tropical atmosphere without a passport” comment. People say it's like leaving the country. I have never tried a thermacell but I will soon. Bugs vary depending on where you are on the island and time of day during the summer. Since the first floor of house is up so high at tree top level, normally no bugs on the porch during the day or most nights. I hope you visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great family vacation place!

  • 4 of 5

Our family has been coming to Cayo Costa for many years, but this time we brought my brother's family along for their first visit. Even those new to the island had a fantastic time and want to come back. We even had a friendly manatee swim right up to swim with us, a first for me!

Numerous pros: the views from the top deck are absolutely gorgeous, as are the views from the upstairs sleeping room. It works well with a large group; we had 4 adults and 5 kids but didn't feel crowded. It's well-designed for natural ventilation, so we were comfortable even on the hottest days. The views from the deck were lovely and we all enjoyed sitting out there. The two ATVs were especially great with a large group -- we loved being able to send one group ahead to the beach and the other following when ready, or letting one group come back earlier than the other. The fact that the transportation provided was ATVs rather than the golf carts we've sometimes had in other rentals was also an advantage given how rainy it was -- there was a lot of standing water over the trails during our entire trip, deep and extensive enough that golf carts would have had a hard time making it through. The carts for the backs of the ATVs were roomy and did a great job of hauling all of the kids and beach gear.

The cons were minor. The biggest was the extra person fee, which we've not run into before and made this house more expensive than the others, though the owner Dan was kind enough to waive the fee for the 2 year old, which we greatly appreciated. I also missed having a washing machine and tasty-from-the-tap drinking water, both of which our favorite rental on the island has, but since we knew to expect that we were able to plan ahead. (I highly recommend picking up a Pur Water Filtration Pitcher -- it did a great job of taking out the sulfur and iron flavors so we didn't have to rely on bottled water.) We also had several minor maintenance issues -- a toilet seat that kept falling off, aged hammock ropes that kept breaking, screens and window cranks wearing out, and a difficult to start generator -- but Dan was out of the country and said he usually keeps a handle on those things better. He was super helpful by phone and text (clear from Australia!) with the generator issues and helped us get a backup generator connected. After our trip he was also kind enough to mail us a Kindle one of the kids accidentally left behind, without even accepting money for postage.

Thanks, Dan!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate the detailed review. The hammock ropes, toilet seat and primary generator have been repaired. I keep the windows working and replace screens when necessary frequently. I was on vacation during your stay and had a relative manage the home but he can’t manage it like I do so I am sorry for anything that was not up to my standards. During your stay, it was cloudier than normal so battery charging was necessary more than usual. I have two generators in case one fails, so there was no loss of power. I am just used to drinking bottled water in 5-gallon jugs at both my homes. Don’t like the chlorine taste in treated water so I usually provide at least 5 gallons of water at the Cayo house. Bringing a Pur Water Filtration Pitcher is a great idea. A washer/dryer is to power intensive for my off-grid home. Hand washing is recommended. I wash all the sheets, towels, and rugs at my home in town, thus people get a break from washing cloths which maybe be plus while on vacation. The extra charge of $25 per night for each person over 6 people staying at the house is consistent with other hotels and rentals in the area and is stated in the VRBO home description. Since your stay I have bought an additional ATV trailer. Now there is a trailer for both ATVs for larger groups of people staying at the house. Thank you for staying at my house and hope to see you again on your next stay on Cayo and I likely will not be out of the town.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything you need for a relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our third visit and we will definitely be back for many more. We sail our small boat over from Bokeelia on Pine Island and use the property as a base to enjoy Pine Island Sound and Cayo Costa. It was very hot for early May but with the house elevated and the clever design of the house ventilation we were very comfortable both in the house and enjoying the breeze on the expansive wraparound deck with amazing Gulf views. Dan met us at the dock with the 4 wheeler and wagon so we were settled into the house within minutes of landing. The sea life in the area is still amazing, just in the canal leading to the dock we saw 1 gator, lots of fish and 1 manatee. We encountered many dolphins as we sailed around the Sound and always enjoy (and never miss) lunch on Cabbage Key.

Thanks again For allowing us to enjoy your home, we will be back!

Steve and Kathy

  • Submitted: May 12, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the excellent review on house design and reports of your sailing adventures in Pine Island Sound. You all really know how to enjoy the island and waters. There is nothing like sailing around quietly to see all the wildlife in this incredible estuary. I look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible experience

  • 5 of 5

The reviews for this place were spot on. House is everything you could ask for, and Dan was wonderful. I brought my dog, and he absolutely loved it. Riding the 4 wheelers, and exploring the island, to enjoying the wonderful sunsets on the beach, to hearing the wildlife rustling in the jungle underneath you as you sleep. No complaints here regarding the rental, but I will say if you are a food connoisseur and enjoy a nice rare burger, do not go to cabbage key, as they will only serve you medium or medium well burgers. Eeeww! That was my only drawback to the whole experience, but that has nothing to do with Dan, the house, or the island of cayo costa!! Dan, and the house were both great. Hope to be back soon!!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad your stay was an incredible experience. The full moon in February was perfect weather day and night. I hope to see you all again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very Satisfied

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying here... just wish it was longer. You do need to be a little on the adventurous side and bring plenty of food and booze. Everything worked great and Dan was a very nice man.

If you're looking for seclusion and peace, this is a great place. It's not 5 star accommodations and you need to be conscious of energy use around the house, but that's what makes it fun.. at least for us. Has what you need, just make sure you're with people you like :).

Will certainly stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate and thank you for your nice review. It is likely that if there were 5 star accommodations available on Cayo Costa it would no longer be secluded or extremely expensive and probably more that the Ritz in Naples with charges starting at $879 per night for one room in a 400 room hotel on a beach with many other high density developments lining the shore. I like to think that the house offer luxury wilderness accommodations on a 2,000 acre unbridged undeveloped pristine barrier island state park with access points by ATVs to 9 miles of beach with no development on it. I look forward to your return stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Davie, FL (greater Ft. Lauderdale)
5

Great vacation hideaway and fabulous host

  • 5 of 5

My family spent an enchanting 5 days at this home over Christmas. Ten of us (seven adults, 2 teens, a 2nd grader and two dogs) were very comfortable. The 3-story house is nicely secluded, the host is a really friendly and hospitable fellow who provides boat transportation to and from a Pine Island marina. The dock on the bay side of the island is about 1/4 mile from the house. Two ATVs and a kayak are at your disposal. The Gulfside beach, almost always empty, is about 1/2 mile away. The views from the uppermost deck are breath-taking, and bald eagles were frequently seen. We are no strangers to Cayo Costa, having camped in the state park portion of the island numerous times since the early 90's. The Trescott house was quite an upgrade, but is very homey and just the right blend of funkiness and comfort. The only downside for big groups is the lack of a second bathroom, but one of the outside showers has hot water (as does the inside shower). Dan is very easy-going, and we will definitely be return guests.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you the excellent detailed review. Much different than the campground. Just to clarify the beach sand dunes start about 1/4 miles from the house if you walk directly from house. I hope you all can visit again .
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Southwest Florida International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Cabbage Key
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Tropic Star
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Alden Pines
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Waterfront Drive
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cabbage Key
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
In front of the house on Cayo Costa Island

Park headquarters has small gift shop with ice and other basic items. Bikes and kayaks can also be rented. Nearby Cabbage Key also has small gift shop and restaurant. Useppa Island also nearby has a historical museum on life of Caloosa Indians. North Captive has small store. Pine Island is 6 miles away by boat and is connected to the mainland where everything is available within 15 minutes to an hour including the International Airport. Visitors coming by airplane owner can provide transport from airport to grocery store and then marina for water taxi provided by owner to Cayo Costa home.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $500

Until confirmed, rates are subject to change.
$300-$325/night - $1,925-$2,100/wk (7 nights) for 6 people
$25/night extra for each person over 6 staying at home
Renter can buy $2,500 of property damage protection for $59 nonrefundable or pay a refundable $500 damage deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties