3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 8
Hauserman Rental Group
- english, german
Beautiful home that had everything you need. Set up with kitchen in center and master on one side of house and other bedrooms on other made it feel like two separate homes! Perfect if traveling with big group!
Really good...until the power and heat went out!
The stay overall was really good from the start. The night before we were to check out, we learned that I-80 would still be closed the following day due to the weather. I had been writing with the property management co about this, & that we would need to stay another night due to the conditions. I had confirmed no one was renting the home until the weekend, so I knew it was open for us to stay an extra night. On Sunday night we woke up at 2am to a very cold home, as the power was out. This house has no other way to get heat other than the HVAC. The fire was electric, and there were no space heaters. Due to the lack of internet and cell coverage, we had to find a corner of the house to call the PM group. Their response was one lacking on all fronts. They said "these things happen all the time in this weather, told us of worse storms in years past, and said they would try to get a tech out around 11am". They also said "to try and stay warm with the fire & blankets ". The fire was electric, but they did not know ! I then asked them to check for a power outage in the area, & she said she would call, or I could call myself if I wanted?! It was unacceptable & a huge failure not remedy the situation immediately. Knowing that these conditions exist, people are stuck in Tahoe in their properties, they should have immediately had a back up plan to move us.
We needed heat, food, and decent reception sans wifi, so we headed to a small cafe in town. We had to open the garage door manually, of which we again had to ask for instructions. The property management group also had no idea where flashlights were located, & had to call the cleaning people. We arrived back around the time the tech was coming to check on the power, but he was stuck on our street corner digging his van out of the snow for an hour. They told me he would check the power at the street, but he merely flipped 3 switches at the panels in the home & left in 5 minutes. We decided to pack up while he was checking the power, as it seemed bleak. By 1pm they had written back about moving to another home down the road, but that we needed to pay for 2 cleaning fees. We left to stay at the Sunny Side Lodge up the road. Anyone would find this totally unacceptable to not have had a solution in place the immediately. If this happens as much as they claimed, they should be overly prepared! Nothing was offered in the way of an apology or refund from PM group.
Unfortunate end to an otherwise great stay.
We appreciate your feedback and are so sorry for the inconvenience. Although I know this was not an ideal situation, I'm not sure what could have been done differently. We will definitely have the homeowners set up an emergency kit with flashlights and spare batteries.
The power went out early the morning of the day you were checking out - I think you said maybe 2am? You called us when we opened after 9am and were scheduled to check out by 11am. We contacted the electric company immediately after your report and sent our maintenance team out as soon as they were available, but our maintenance team was unable to make the fix as it was a bigger utility issue that only the electric company could take care of. We offered to have someone open the garage door for you so you could leave. You did not ask about staying an additional night, but we did offer to move you to a different property for the evening at 1/2 rate when we learned that the roads were closed. They were not closed at the time you originally called.
Again, we didn't have any control over the electric situation and did not think that moving you to another property for a couple hours in the morning would be necessary as you were scheduled to leave and never said otherwise.
Poplar Place,Lake Tahoe
Everything was fine. The house was fantastic.
Beautiful home in a beautiful area
This property was a perfect place for spending a holiday with family. The surrounding area is obviously beautiful and the home itself has everything one could ask for!