expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Maalaea Maui Oceanfront Condo -Mountain Views & Whale Watching

Wailuku, HI, USA
  • Condo867 sqft
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 nights

1 BR condo-- deck views of Haleakala (dormant volcano) & bay (whale watching)

One bedroom second floor Artsy condo in a 79 unit complex with bedroom and deck overlooking Maalaea Bay (whale watching) and Haleakala (10,000+ foot dormant volcano). Wireless internet and cable TV equipped. Ceiling fans in each room--NO AIR CONDITIONER. Tastefully decorated with original art. Swimming pool and large BBQs. Laundry facilities on site. Immaculate golf green appearing lawn good for bocce ball. Strategically located almost equal distant from popular tourist locations of Kihei-Wailea, Lahaina and Wailuku-Kahului (airport). Adjacent on street parking.


Robert Haskins and Linda Haskins

Member Since 2013
Response rate:
Response time:
within one day
Calendar last updated:
Apr 15, 2018
About Robert Haskins and Linda Haskins

The owners are a retired Oregon Assistant Attorney General and a retired Oregon public school teacher (home economics and art) living in Portland, Oregon. They are native Oregonians having attended the University of Oregon (and Harvard Law School) and Oregon State University respectively. They are golfers, gardeners, readers, travelers and amateur artists. They have a blended family of 5 children and 7 grandchildren in Portland, Berkeley and Sequim, WA which they try to keep up with.

Robert Haskins and Linda Haskins purchased this Condo in 2000

Why Robert Haskins and Linda Haskins chose Maalaea

We bought this property because it is our favorite place in the world. As Mauians say "Maui no ka oi," which translates as "Maui is the best." We love the climate, the culture and the people.

What makes this Condo unique

It's Hawaii! Need we say more?


    • Internet
    • Swimming pool
    • Accessible
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 2
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen
      • queen, ceiling fan, 2 windows with ocean views


      • 1 Bathroom
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower

        Location Type

          • Mountain View
            Haleakala (10,000+ft dormant volcano)
          • Oceanfront
            Maalaea Bay
          • Village
            Maalaea shops, restaurants, aquarium and small boat harbor-fishing and tour boats
          • Water View
            Maalaea Bay


              • Adventure
              • Budget
              • Romantic
              • Sports & Activities
              • Tourist Attractions


                  • Guests provide their own meals


                      • Clothes Dryer
                        in laundry room down the hall
                      • Elevator
                      • Hair Dryer
                      • Internet
                        information in the unit
                      • Iron & Board
                      • Linens Provided
                      • Living Room
                      • Parking
                        on street (ample)
                      • Towels Provided
                        including beach towels
                      • Washing Machine
                        in laundry room down the hall


                          • Coffee Maker
                          • Dishes & Utensils
                          • Dishwasher
                          • Kitchen
                          • Microwave
                          • Oven
                          • Pantry Items
                            guests asked to replace condiments and other pantry items that they use up
                          • Refrigerator
                          • Stove
                          • Toaster


                              • Dining
                              • Dining Area
                              • comfy seating for 4 people


                                  • DVD Player
                                  • Satellite / Cable
                                    Oceanic Time Warner cable
                                  • Television


                                      • Balcony
                                        with table and chairs
                                      • Deck / Patio
                                      • Golf
                                        3 miles away
                                      • Kayak / Canoe
                                        canoe club 2 miles away
                                      • Lawn / Garden
                                        grass looks like a golf green
                                      • Outdoor Grill
                                      • Tennis
                                        public courts 3 miles away
                                      • Water Sports Gear
                                        boogie boards and beach chairs provided


                                          • not suitable for children
                                          • wheelchair accessible

                                            Pool / Spa

                                              • Communal Pool
                                              • Heated Pool


                                                  • botanical garden
                                                  • churches
                                                  • cinemas
                                                  • health/beauty spa
                                                  • library
                                                  • live theater
                                                  • marina
                                                  • museums
                                                  • playground
                                                  • restaurants

                                                    Leisure Activities

                                                      • photography
                                                      • beachcombing
                                                      • boating
                                                      • eco tourism
                                                      • luaus
                                                      • miniature golf
                                                      • paddle boating
                                                      • bird watching
                                                      • scenic drives
                                                      • shopping
                                                      • sight seeing
                                                      • walking
                                                      • whale watching
                                                      • wildlife viewing

                                                        Local Services & Businesses

                                                          • ATM/bank
                                                          • fitness center
                                                          • groceries
                                                          • hospital
                                                          • laundromat

                                                            Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                              • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                              • basketball court
                                                              • deepsea fishing
                                                              • fishing
                                                              • golf
                                                              • hiking
                                                              • kayaking
                                                              • parasailing
                                                              • sailing
                                                              • cycling
                                                              • snorkeling
                                                              • snorkeling/diving
                                                              • sound/bay fishing
                                                              • surf fishing
                                                              • surfing
                                                              • swimming
                                                              • tennis
                                                              • water skiing
                                                              • wind-surfing


                                                                  • Owners also own a vacation rental in Portland, Oregon which they list with VRBO (#485443).

                                                                    House Rules

                                                                    Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                                    Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                                    Cancellation Policy

                                                                    100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                    16 Reviews


                                                                    Latest reviews

                                                                    Awesome condo, great location.

                                                                    Michael L.

                                                                    My wife and I stayed at Linda and Robb's place 1/31/18 - 2/4-18 for our wedding anniversary. 1st off we would like to THANK Robb and Linda for their gracious hospitality as they left a bottle of Champagne (happened to be our favorite brand of Champagne!) and a very thoughtful card. The Condo is full of great artwork and Robb and Linda certainly make the most out of their space. The view is super awesome and we saw many whales and turtles right from the condo Lanai. We loved the fact there was a speaker system that we could listen to music in the evening time and watch the sunset. In the morning you can watch the sunrise over Haleakala from the Lanai. The condo is within walking distance of the Maaleaa Harbor which is where many whale watching, scuba boats, and evening sunset cruises take off so it's very convenient if you are doing any of those things. Kitchen was great, we cooked breakfast everyday. The provided beach chairs were very nice, new and not falling apart like some chairs you find in rentals. There are some BBQ grills outside right on the property with an amazing view of the Harbor that we would recommend using. The only improvement my wife and I would like to see would be to provide a parking spot in the building's parking lot. We had to park on the street, which wasnt a big deal but did get annoying after a while. Overall we really loved this place and would not only come back but would also recommend to friends, or family. Thank you Robb and Linda for being so kind and sharing your awesome condo! We hope to come back again soon!!!

                                                                    Wonderful location, had everything we needed

                                                                    Cheri K.

                                                                    My husband and I enjoyed staying here. It was the perfect location for a first time visit to Maui. We enjoyed having such a perfect view from our bedroom. We made 80% of our meals in our condo and ate out the rest. We were ovewhelmed with the amout of stuff in the condo. Lots of extra clutter on counters, too much furniture and not enough light in the condo. The bed was very comfortable and happy with size and space in bathroom. We loved having some drawers to put our clothes in, but wished we could of had some space to put suitcases in. The wind coming through the condo was very much needed since there isn't any air conditioning. So having the front slider open and back door open was needed, but we were nervous some of the artwork would be blown off the walls. We enjoyed the artwork, just too much around in every space.

                                                                    Would have prefferred to have another chair or two on deck for company. The ceiling fans were nice, but one did not have a light that worked and the other light was as bright as a nightlight. There wasn't any room in the cupboards to put food we bought, so the food ended up on the counters for the entire 2 weeks. Maui was a wonderful vacation and we enjoyed every bit. We loved that we could walk to the harbor and shops. It was central located to go to airport, Kihie and Laihina. We loved the wind coming through which kept it cool. The pool and grounds were amazingly kept clean. Loved the new tile around the pool. We loved this place also because it wasn't overcrowded with children. Very quiet by the pool, and ocean. Loved watchign the turtles in front swimming. We would definity reccommend friends to check out staying here.

                                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                                    Dear Cheri

                                                                    Thank you for your kind comments regarding your July 12-23, 2017 visit. We have referred your decorating and lighting comments to our Decorator who will address them when she visits in October. We suggest that our guests move the bar stools from the interior bar to the deck when more seating is needed, rather than clutter the deck by adding more furniture to the unit.. We also will open up more cabinet space for food storage. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to host you and your friends in the future.

                                                                    It was a perfect place to stay with a perfect view

                                                                    Wendy M.SAUGUS

                                                                    They had an overflow of amenities. Chairs for the beach, towels, boogie board, etc. We had so much fun and were so cozy in the unit. Nothing negative to report. Would definitely stay there again!

                                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                                    Dear Wendy

                                                                    Thank you for your kind review of yourJune 17-24, 2017 visit. We hope to host you again.

                                                                    Robb and Linda


                                                                    Not so Happy !

                                                                    James R.

                                                                    The only thing we really liked about this place was the beautiful views from the lanai which we enjoyed using every morning and evening. The sunrise and sunsets were beautiful as were the views of Mt. Haleakala. The condo is centrally located and is convenient to other parts of the island. Our opinion is that the condo needs a thorough cleaning! It seems to have been well used over the years and was "surfaced cleaned" before we arrived. The bed linins were well used and didn't seem fresh. Not having A/C for our June visit was tolerable in the evenings, mornings and nights, but uncomfortable in the day. The airport flight patterns were right above the condo, (not mentioned in the owners description). It was somewhat bothersome and disturbed the peace and quiet well into the night. You cannot park in the condo parking spaces (again, not mentioned in the owners description)! They are reserved for owners only. We were informed by the rental manager after reserving the condo that we could park on the side of the access road across from the condo. This off-site parking on the side road under trees and shrubs resulted in a daily bug infestation of the rental car. Very unpleasant! We suspect this was because the car was covered in flowers and leaves that fell from the trees and shrubs. In addition, there was daily noise for hours (8am till 4pm) from stone and tile workers working on the BBQ area walkways. We realize this is not an ongoing thing, but it did interfere with the peace and quite we expected for our 5 day stay (Mon. thru Fri.). The main TV cable box didn't work; wouldn't change channels. The contact manager Sharon was of no help. After contacting her, she said I should call the cable company and work with them. I did, and after an hour over the phone with them, they determined that the cable box needed replacing. OK, so we didn't come to Hawaii to watch TV, but it would have been nice to relax in the living room and catch up on news. However, the small TV in the bedroom did work and we able to watch a few channels. All in all considered, we were not pleased with our stay at Maalaea Maui Oceanfront Condo.

                                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                                    Dear James

                                                                    Thank you for your review of your June 12-17, 2017 visit. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful views of Maalaea Harbor and Haleakala from the lanai. You are correct that the location is very convenient for accessing other parts of the island.

                                                                    We are sorry that you are not so happy with some other aspects of your stay. Let me assure you that our Island Manager thoroughly cleans the unit and provides clean linens before each new guest arrives. In our website we indicated that we do not have AC. Most people find the three ceiling fans adequate. We do not list onsite parking as an amenity. We are sorry that you found the on street parking a problem. No one else has had a similar complaint. You complained about the construction noise. You correctly noted that it was confined to 8:00 am to 4:00 pm according to our rules. The condo building has 79 units and common areas. From time to time owners remodel their units and common areas need to be repaired. Unfortunately such activities can be noisy. We are sorry that you were there when that occurred. We are also sorry that you had a problem with one of the TVs. Stuff happens! The remote has been replaced.

                                                                    We hope you have a better experience on your next trip.

                                                                    Robb and Linda,


                                                                    Creative Place

                                                                    Vinutha Y.

                                                                    Creative Place

                                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                                    Dear Vinutha

                                                                    Thank you for your positive review of your June 6 -12, 2017 visit.

                                                                    We hope to host you again.

                                                                    Robb and Linda



                                                                    Chris W.

                                                                    This is an adorable little condo with a lot of personality, and beautiful views. The owner and manager were both very helpful throughout. I've been to Maui many times, and have stayed all over the island, and this was my favorite place to stay. We will definitely try to stay here when we come in the future.

                                                                    The location makes it easy to access everything on the island, and listening to the gentle waves really lets you know you're in Hawaii. There's also a breeze that makes even hot days comfortable.

                                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                                    Dear Chris

                                                                    Thank you for your kind review of your May 14-21, 2017 visit. We look forward to hosting you again.

                                                                    Robb and Linda



                                                                    Wailuku, HI, USA

                                                                    On site swimming pool. Within walking distance--long swimming and walking sand beach, shops, restaurants, mini market, aquarium and fishing and tour boat harbor.

                                                                    Rates & Availability

                                                                    Additional information about rental rates

                                                                    Cleaning Fee
                                                                    Tax Rate
                                                                    16 Reviews
                                                                    Excellent 4.6/5
                                                                    Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                    For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                    Property # 880231