Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Underground House with mountain view.

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 BR/1 BA home in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains

This very unique "underground house" house has two bedrooms, a large bathroom, kitchen, dining area . This house is located in the heart of beautiful Andrews, NC. You will be close to down town Andrews with numerous great restaurants and gift shops. For the motorcyclist this is the perfect place to come home at the end of the day after riding the Tail of the Dragon, the Hell Bender and Cherohala Skyway. This house has a large garage for motorcycle storage. Sitting area around fire pit will add to the restful atmosphere that this rental provides.

Guest will have access to the common area which consist of beautiful pond, outdoor cooking area, and walking trails.

More Details

Property Manager
Trina Holland
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018


Andrews House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Underground House with mountain view.
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5

What an awesome place. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's a little tricky to find but once you are there its absolutely beautiful. It's close to towns but yet you feel far away in your own little world. The house as everything you need. Its quiet and a wonderful place to just relax and enjoy the outdoors. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Elgin, Sc

Motorcycle trip late October

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at this house. It was beautifully furnished and The views were fantastic. Trina was wonderful answering all of our questions. Just a friendly tip, if you do take your motorcycle, be careful as the road to the house is gravel and fairly steep in some places. All in all, a fantastic weekend trip at a fantastic location! Thanks a bunch!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

incredibly unique home

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. We wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful rock home with grass roof. Fire pit was nice. We drove to the Nantahala Forest which was absolutely gorgeous. Home was very clean. We would love to come back.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
cleveland, tn


  • 4 of 5

The property was just what we expected. We had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very cool house!

  • 4 of 5

We rented this home for the eclipse; it gave us a clear view of the sky. It's a very unique house, as the title states, it's underground! If you're planning on white water river rafting, there are several places nearby. The fire pit was fun to use in the evening, and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very unique house, kind of like a hobbit house.

  • 4 of 5

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay very much. The house itself is very unique and interesting. The fire pit area is perfect, we used it every night. There is firewood on site to use, which is very convenient.

You can climb on top of the house and star gaze.

The property is very secluded being the only property at the top of a mountain. There is also a heavy gate that can be locked for security.

For spring and summer guests, you are about 15 min from Nantahala Outdoor Center. Straight down 74, you can't miss it.

I try review these places as if they were my own. Having said that I gave this place 4 stars for one small reason. The screened in porch/hot tub area needs to be cleaned up, it really detracts from the overall looks of the place. The hot tub was non-functional while we were there and the sides of the hot tub were removed and laying around as if they were junk. I didn't notice if the hot tub was listed as an amenity or not, I wouldn't have used it if it had been in operation. I mention that because I don't want my previous statement to seem like the place was misrepresented, it was not.

I would definitely stay here again because I like the house, the privacy, and the location. The owners were very easy to deal with and gave good communication.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. Sorry for hot tub mess. We are in contact with someone to take it out because it can't be fixed. And is to big to fit through the door. Hope you choose to stay with us again. Trina Buchanan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $500

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties