Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pine Cone Quiet 1 bedroom retreat

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

First let me start by saying this is not a glamorous cabin. We have done upgrades that we hope make the cabin comfortable and nice for our guests. I like to say it's more like glamping. You are in a camping atmosphere with comforts of home. We seem to have guests from time to time who give this cabin a 1 star rating, I'm not sure what they are expecting from a small 1 bedroom cabin in the woods that rents for $95.00 a night. The cabin is on a quarter acre corner lot. The lot is filled with beautiful trees. There is a fire pit located to the right in the front of the cabin, so just pull up some chairs and enjoy roasting marshmallows in the great outdoors. There is also a wonderful hammock to enjoy the outside amongst the trees. The three adjacent lots behind the property is a green belt. Lots of privacy.

The cabin is a 1 bedroom with loft and sleeps 4.

The cabin is walking distance to the lake and Sugar Pine National Park. You have to try the Tahoma markets deli sandwiches. You've never tasted anything like them. Then take a walk to the kids play ground and enjoy your meal while the kids play. In the summer they have an outside theater in Tahoe city for free, just pick up a Tahoma weekly for the movie listings. It's great family fun. Homewood ski resort is about a mile away and we're located in between both casino areas of the Nevada State Line and South Lake Tahoe. A short distance to Sunny Side Restaurant.

You may also enjoy the other ski resorts that are located about 20 minutes away. Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadow.

Summer also offers endless bike and hiking trails. A short drive to one of Tahoe's most beautiful beaches at Meeks Bay, featuring various boat rentals, a snack bar and free air station for your inflatables. We made sure our cabin is part of Tahoma's homeowner’s association which offers a pier and beach within a short walking distance. Sugar Pine Point State Park is just yards away for great cross country skiing, hiking and mountain biking. The entrance to the world famous Rubicon Trail is also a close distance from our cabin. Come enjoy all the fun that awaits you in Tahoma year round.

Please note: WE DO NOT REFUND DUE TO WEATHER. ONLY IF ROADS CLOSE AND THERE IS NO WAY OF GETTING TO TAHOE. WE ALSO DO NOT REFUND FOR LATE CANCELLATIONS DUE TO MEDICAL, FAMILY OR BUSINESS EMERGENCIES OR OTHER UNEXPECTED EVENTS.

NO smoking inside property.

Check-in time 4:00PM, Check-out time 11:00AM

(we will accommodate other times if the schedule allows)

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Bonnie Bunyan-Naulty
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

About Bonnie Bunyan-Naulty

We are a married couple with four children. we live near the Sacramento area.

Bonnie Bunyan-Naulty purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Bonnie Bunyan-Naulty chose Lake Tahoe West Shore CA

My family when I was a little girl used to visit the West Shore area in Tamoma and we loved it. I had such great memories of the times we visited there that I wanted to give my own children the same experiences.

Amenities

Tahoma Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
General:
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Small bathroom, tolite, shower (stall type shower), pedestal sink. Some say if they are tall they need to sit at slight angle when on the toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Main living space - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sectional in main living area makes into a full/double bed
    Loft - Full/double mattress on floor only adult can't stand in loft
    Bedroom 1 - full/double bed, closet, dresser, 2nd door leading outside
  • Double Beds (3) Full/double bed in downstairs bedroom, sectional in main living area makes into a full/double bed, full/double bed (mattress) only in loft. Adult can not stand in loft.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

Pine Cone Quiet 1 bedroom retreat
average rating of 4.122449 based on 49 reviews
2

Cute Cabin, Non-Responsive & Unprofessional Owner.

  • 2 of 5

We came up for a wedding in Homewood and found this place which seemed perfect. It's small and definitely far from fancy, but was a good price for the location. We did have trouble finding the place because, as another traveler mentioned, there is no walkway to the back house due to the snow. We found the back driveway but had to walk up and over the snow, which is now very icy, to find the door. I say this, because the owner replied to the other person saying there was a "perfect walkway." That is absolutely not the case. However, we really didn't mind though as we are young and able, and I was able to shovel some make-shift stairs. I did, however, message the owner three times (including asking in our initial booking) before our arrival to see if we could arrange and pay for early check-in. I got zero response to my phone calls, text messages, and HomeAway message. Not even so much as a "no, sorry we cannot accommodate that request." I did, however, get a message today that I am having $ withheld from my deposit for carpet cleaning to get dog hair and pee stains out of her carpet. My dog is a 7 year old house trained labrador who was never left unattended in the house and travels with us regularly. While my labrador does shed, and I spent the morning vacuuming the carpet and upholstery (because, yes, I am a 30 year old responsible human being), I can 200% guarantee it was not my dog who pissed on her carpet. The owner claims there are photos and whatnot, yet I conveniently have not been provided any photos of said damage or receipts for actual cleaning. Given her track record, I assume I will receive no direct response to my request for information, so I am filing a formal complaint with HomeAway. Like most pet friendly rentals, the carpet was old, gross, and certainly needed a good cleaning upon our arrival. It's a shame to see people try to take advantage and pull this nonsense. Again, disappointing. Lesson learned to always take time to read the owners response to bad reviews. It speaks volumes as to the type of person you are dealing with. I'm sure her response to this one will be no exception.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My response to this is there is Absolutely no communication from you other than the inquire to stay at the cabin and the conformation for the booking. ALL emails are on file through VRBO and you can easily see back and forth communication and there is no other than this. I will say in rereading your ONLY email received (no phone calls or at least no phone messages received which I have 3 numbers to contact me if needed)I did notice that you had inquired about an earlier check-in which I did not notice, I do try to accommodate and respond to early or late check-ins which other reviews have reflected. I did email you a picture through the VRBO website as well as send you a text with the picture of the urine spot on the carpet that my housekeeper sent to me upon YOUR checkout. She cleaned the cabin 4 days before your arrival and there was no pee stain, after your departure and having a dog with you, she contacted me and sent a picture (that again, I did send to you in two different forms of communication) of the pee stained carpet. I tried to do what I though was fair and only charged you half of the $140.00 cleaning fee. I know the cabin has been frequented often and with the huge amount of snow and I'm sure wet boots/shoes tracking in dirt could use a cleaning that we typically do twice a year (May & Oct), but for normal foot traffic, NOT dog pee. You never asked for an invoice of the cleaning that was just done last night, I will send it to you. However, I did give you the name of the cleaning company so you could check if you felt it necessary Viking Carpet Care (530)581-1022. As far as the walk way, I don't find it difficult but because of our communication AFTER I told you partial deposit would be held ($90 total $20 for housekeeper for excessive cleaning of dog hair and $70 for partial carpet cleaning) I have updated the description stating the cabin entrance and added 2 pictures for future guests to hopefully help in their decision to rent at this time. Thank you for taking the time to add stairs, just so you know, this season, stairs have been made 5 times including yours to make the access easier. I do think if carrying items in and out of the cabin the snow at this time would make it more challenging and I have stated that on my description. As I said to you before, I am sorry you find the cost unfair, I can only go off of the reports I receive and individual things are documented after each guest checks out. Sincerely, Bonnie Naulty
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5

Such a great place for the price. Nothing fancy, but everything you need.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your repeated stays at the cabin. We enjoy return guests and happy you find it comfortable. Sincerely, Bonnie Naulty
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely loved it! Perfect little get away for me and my husband!

  • 5 of 5

It was our honeymoon, and we just wanted a little get away. The cabin was perfect and everything was organized. So beautiful!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Congratulations on your marriage!! Being as it was your Honeymoon, hopefully you will be able to return on a future trip. We are happy to here you enjoyed your stay at Pine Cone. Sincerely, Bonnie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

We really wanted to like this place...

  • 3 of 5

This cabin is super cute! It's situated away from all the hustle and bustle. There's a couple places within walking distance to get some sandwiches, pizza and groceries. It allows dogs without additional fees and it was the perfect size for my husband, dog and I for our long weekend. The owner was also really responsive, helpful when we contacted her and even let us check in early.

But it needs work. We didn't come here with a 5 star hotel in mind, we knew it was a cozy cabin in the woods.

I want to start off saying that it is NOT accessible. We had arrived after all the storms hit bringing a ton of snow to the area but access to the front door was not even visible. It was not kept up and required us to climb over 5+ feet of snow. From the driveway, you had to climb up a mound of snow, walk atop the snow right before you got to the front door, then climb down the snow mound every time you want to come in. As you can imagine, this leads to a slippery slope and I slipped multiple times.

Also, the restroom does not comply with code and therefore not accessible as the description says. It is a very small layout and you are not able to sit straight without hitting your knees on the built out box next the the sink. Also, there is no way to step out of the shower without kicking the toilet.

Although the restroom was not a huge issue for us, I was very unhappy with the unkept walkway from the driveway to the front door.

Some other items to note about this place:

The bedroom is an add on which was not built too well and not with any heat, so it's very cold especially in the winter when it's snowing outside. They provide a dish heater, but if you've ever used one, it's a giant lamp. So you can't keep the heater on all night. The furnace is located in the kitchen/dining area, so the living area is much cooler. We always had slippers/sweatshirts on for the length of our stay.

Many noises throughout. The fridge has some issues with it and sounds like a weird dog or fox at all times of the day.

Lastly, they provide your basic needs for a kitchen but are not in the best shape. The knives are not sharp and the dishes are cracked and unkept. Just seemed like all the old stuff that was unused anymore was brought here, instead of buying something newer for people to use.

It was a cute place, and provided us a place to stay. But there were just some things that made our stay a bit of a bummer.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, It's helpful to get guests perspectives I will try to address all of your input: There has been SO much snow this season we have not been able to keep a heavily cleared pathway to the cabin. We have owned the cabin for 12yrs and have never had this issue we were not prepared for the amount of snow that has dumped this season. We have a snowplow co that keeps the driveway cleared but not a pathway. I'm sorry you found the bathroom too small, (it is to "code"), I personally don't have to "sit sideways" to not hit my knees on the box covering unsightly pipes to the sink, nor do I find it difficult to get in and out of the shower because "the toilet's in the way. We did have a very nice portable heater(that had temperature control settings) that's usually in the cabin, unfortunately, upon the checkout of another guest the heater disappeared. We will be getting a new one. We were just informed on 2/25, last Saturday about the refrigerator from the guest who was staying at the time and we immediately called a repair co the refrigerator per the company has been fixed. Thank you for providing us with your take on the dishes/cutting knives. I will purchase new items for the cabin once spring time comes and I can go in and checkout what it needs.Again, thank you for bringing to light a way we can improve a future guests stay *UPDATE* After receiving this review on 3/3, I became VERY concerned with the state of the cabin and the amenities provided to our guests. I took my 16yr old out of school to drive up and start digging with me. Of course along our 2hr drive I stopped to buy LG & SM plates, bowls, water glasses, mixing blows, a pot & pan set, & a heater spending $400.00+. Imagine my surprise when I arrived at the cabin to find an EASY pathway to the door, inside there was 2 extra heaters 1 was the dish but there is also a thermostat controlled tower. Opening up the cabinet finding water glasses I forgot were purchased a few month ago, while the MATCHING set of dishes that are a few yrs old, DO NOT have chips or scratches on them and definitely not items brought to the cabin that weren't wanted elsewhere. I will purchase a knife set that I saw with a builtin sharpener, that will be a nice addition. I guess I should have paid attention to the two guest reviews that came in after this one. THIS IS NOT A 5* CABIN. It's a clean quaint cabin @ $95 a nt that we do our best to keep up & the cost low, people view things differently I guess
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cosy snowy hideaway

  • 4 of 5

We had a once in 20 year snow dump for our stay in Tahoma, and it couldn't have been more exciting. We had to dig our way in and out of the cabin every day and loved it!

It's very warm and comfortable. Minimal, but everything you need for a stay.

Only suggestions would be making it clearer that there are two properties at this address (we went purely by the HomeAway app directions which just give the 7th avenue address, and led to an awkward conversation with another family renting the larger cottage! The one-bed cottage driveway is actually round the corner on Fir). Also during ski season a simple wire drying rack to put gloves, coats etc in front of the fire would be very helpful.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review, often we can only make improvements by what guests share as their experiences. We have definitely had our fare share of snow this year, quite amazing I must say! The app that you are asked to download from the VRBO website, I believe it's the hospitality email that each guest is sent from VRBO once a reservation is confirmed has a detailed description of the location of the cabin. This description states "Once you see the address **** 7th avenue, pass this address and make your first right onto Fir Avenue, the first driveway on your right is the driveway to the cabin". Perhaps the information wasn't read completely. I am sorry for the "awkward conversation" with the other guests but I'm glad that the remainder of your stay was comfortable. Sincerely, Bonnie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy cabin in the snow

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this Pine Cone cabin. The owner's description is accurate. I would say it is priced appropriately for a basic small comfortable cabin of this class.

Pros

- Comfortable beds

- Hot shower

- My teenage son enjoyed the loft area

- Kitchen covers basics. A large pot for pasta would have been nice.

- Clean and well organized. Stocked with basics (hand soap, dishwashing soap, etc.)

- Nice flat screen TV that I plugged my Apple TV into.

- Responsive owner. We noted a loud noise from the refrigerator and the owner prompted called a repair person.

- Otherwise everything else worked.

Notes

The loft area has a steep ladder and good drop so it isn't appropriate for young children or mobility limited guests.

A bit tricky to park after big snow storm

DVD player is DVD only (not Bluray)

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for notifying me of the refrigerator, it has been fixed. Great idea on the larger pot, I will bring one up on my next trip. We hope that you will consider us again on a future stay in the Tahoe area. Sincerely, Bonnie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tahoma Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 4 2018
2 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
Ski week
Feb 15 - Feb 24
2 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$95
$665
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fee $60
Tax Rate 10.0%

Dogs welcome, my housekeeper will report and take pictures of any pet damage, chewing, pee inside cabin, excessive hair... If we find that your pet has urinated on the carpet, a picture will be taken and you will be charged the minimum of $140.00. This is the cost to have the carpets cleaned. We do have the carpets professionally cleaned twice a year usually May and October. If its around that time, and the carpet were to be cleaned soon, half the cost will be on you. My housekeeper will also charge a higher cost of the original $65.00 if she deems necessary for her cleaning time. The reason will be noted, possibly pictures taken and it will be deducted from your refundable deposit
We will accommodate one night if not on the weekend

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties