expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Oceanfront Santa Cruz Beach House - Pet Friendly

Westside, Santa Cruz, CA, USA
  • House2800 sqft
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay3 - 5 nights

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 10)

Quotes from previous guests: 'The pictures do not do this amazing home justice!'...'We could not have enjoyed our vacation any more - thanks for opening up your beautiful home.'...'We will be back every year. This was the best family vacation ever.' ...'Loved the home, loved the views, loved the location, will love coming back.'...'The views are amazing. Loved it.'

This upscale, elegant, spacious home is perfect to enjoy all the Monterey Bay has to offer. With a great open floor plan, the beach house is conveniently located on scenic West Cliff Drive, the jewel of Santa Cruz. Beach House is close to everything, half way between the Wharf and Natural Bridges State Park and has 180' views of the Monterey Bay. You can watch the surfers at Mitchell's Cove while you lounge on your private deck.

Enter on first floor where you will find 3 bedrooms: bedroom 1 with full/double bed, bedroom 2 with 2 twin beds and walk out slider onto rear deck, bedroom 3 with new top of the line queen mattress and a bonus room with a queen sofa/sleeper and bath. The laundry room has a front loading washer/dryer for your convenience. Elegant full bath downstairs is roomy and beautiful.

The back yard is fenced with a very nice large deck and authentic bocce court.

Go upstairs and the spectacular view afforded by the open floor plan provides views galore. Floor to ceiling windows look out at the Bay where you can watch the whales go south in the fall and north in the spring with their calves. Step out on the deck and watch dolphins play in the surf. Otters and sea lions play and feed in the kelp beds right across the street.

Upstairs master bedroom suite and bath are very elegant. Luxury queen bed with wall mounted HDTV 32' LCD TV to catch your favorite show while you drift off to sleep. The elegant master bath has a fantastic walk in shower, his/her sinks and lots of room.

The spacious kitchen is fully equipped with stainless steel appliances, pots/pans/cookware and all the cooking gadgets you need. You can celebrate, entertain and cook till you heart's content. Everything you need to prepare that special celebration dinner or your family's evening meals is right there.

The living room has comfortable seating for the family with beautiful designer sofas that are 'Chameleon' sofa/twin beds. They are wonderful! Enjoy the 32' HDTV/wall mounted LCD TV/DVD player or just relax to the gentle sounds of the surf. The dining room seats up to 10 people in comfort and style with custom built-in bench and cushions. Located just off the deck, the dining area has great ocean views.

The deck has seating so you can watch the beautiful sunsets while enjoying a glass of wine or dinner outside.

Right down the street toward the east is the Wharf, the Boardwalk and Downtown Santa Cruz. Right down the street to the west is Mitchell's Cove, Natural Bridges State Park and Long Marine Lab.

Here are the most common FAQ's. If you have other questions not covered here please don't hesitate to email.

Check in is at 4pm, check out is at 12am.

The home is located on West Cliff Drive in Santa Cruz, CA. The exact address is provided when booking.

Beaches: Two beaches are within walking distance. The beach at Mitchell's Cove is visible from the deck of the property and it is about 200 yards to the stairs. Main Beach, Wharf & Boardwalk are about 8 blocks away.

Bring binoculars to watch the otters, dolphins, whales and shore birds from the balcony.

Jackets are needed in the evening all year round in Santa Cruz.

Parking: The maximum number of vehicles is six(6) - two in the garage and 2 on the driveway. Overnight on-street parallel parking is allowed. Guests parked in the parking spaces across the street during daylight hours are reminded to move cars to on-street parallel parking in front of the house overnight because overnight parking in the spaces across the street is prohibited.

To reserve: Once your reservation has been accepted, the payment quote / details will be emailed to you.

Owner

Merc Martinelli

Member Since 2008
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english, french, german, spanish, italian
Calendar last updated:
Apr 21, 2018
What makes this House unique

Watching the ocean is mesmerizing. Whales, dolphin and sea otters are a daily occurrence. This is a spectacular and special place to recharge.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
      • Master
        1 queen, In suite bathroom
      • Right hand downstairs
        1 double
      • Back right
        2 twin/ single
      • Back Left
        1 queen
      • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)

      Bathrooms

      • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
      • Master
        toilet, shower, 2 sinks
      • Downstairs
        toilet, shower, 2 sinks
      • Upstairs
        toilet, 1 sink
      • 2.5

      Location Type

        • Ocean View
        • Oceanfront

          Theme

            • Adventure
            • Away From It All
            • Family
            • Historic
            • Romantic
            • Sports & Activities
            • Tourist Attractions

              Meals

                • Guests provide their own meals

                  General

                    • Local Activities Guide
                    • Alarm Clock
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Free Long Distance
                      Domestic only
                    • Garage
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Heating
                    • Internet
                    • Iron & Board
                    • Laundry Soap
                    • Linens Provided
                    • Living Room
                    • Basic Soaps
                    • Local Maps
                    • Local Restaurant Guide
                    • Paper Towels
                    • Parking
                    • Parking Off Street
                    • Parking On Street
                    • Sofa Bed
                    • Telephone
                    • Toilet Paper
                    • Towels Provided
                    • Washing Machine
                    • Wireless Internet

                      Kitchen

                        • Microwave
                        • 4 Ring Stove
                        • Cooking Utensils
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Kitchen
                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Oven
                        • Pantry Items
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster

                          Dining

                            • Dining
                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 10 people

                              Entertainment

                                • Books
                                • DVD Player
                                  Left side of Living Room TV
                                • Games
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                • Stereo
                                • Television
                                • Toys
                                  Games and puzzles
                                • Video Library

                                  Outside

                                    • Beach Towels
                                    • Deck / Patio
                                      1 deck in front (great views!) and 1 deck in back yard.
                                    • Golf
                                    • Lawn / Garden
                                      Full size Bocci ball court
                                    • Porch / Veranda
                                    • Tennis
                                    • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
                                    • Walkway to Water
                                    • Wood Deck

                                      Suitability

                                        • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                        • Low Allergen Environment
                                        • wheelchair inaccessible

                                          Attractions

                                            • live theater
                                            • arboretum
                                            • botanical garden
                                            • churches
                                            • cinemas
                                            • forests
                                            • health/beauty spa
                                            • library
                                            • bay/sound
                                            • marina
                                            • museums
                                            • playground
                                            • pond
                                            • restaurants
                                            • theme parks
                                            • winery tours

                                              Leisure Activities

                                                • paddle boating
                                                • antiquing
                                                • bird watching
                                                • boating
                                                • eco tourism
                                                • horseback riding
                                                • miniature golf
                                                • beachcombing
                                                • scenic drives
                                                • shelling
                                                • shopping
                                                • sight seeing
                                                • walking
                                                • whale watching
                                                • wildlife viewing

                                                  Local Services & Businesses

                                                    • ATM/bank
                                                    • fitness center
                                                    • groceries
                                                    • hospital
                                                    • laundromat
                                                    • massage therapist
                                                    • medical services

                                                      Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                        • rock climbing
                                                        • basketball court
                                                        • deepsea fishing
                                                        • fishing
                                                        • freshwater fishing
                                                        • golf
                                                        • hiking
                                                        • hot air ballooning
                                                        • jet skiing
                                                        • kayaking
                                                        • mountain biking
                                                        • pier fishing
                                                        • racquetball
                                                        • cycling
                                                        • roller blading
                                                        • sailing
                                                        • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                        • snorkeling
                                                        • snorkeling/diving
                                                        • sound/bay fishing
                                                        • surf fishing
                                                        • surfing
                                                        • swimming
                                                        • tennis
                                                        • water skiing
                                                        • wind-surfing

                                                          Notes

                                                            • Fantastic Ocean Front Beach House is located in 900 Block of beautiful W. Cliff Dr. Centrally located close to everything! Santa Cruz Beach House fronts Mitchell's Cove, a favorite spot to watch surfers ride the waves, dolphins and otters play or just lounge on the beach. Wonderful ocean views from the deck of the Pacific Ocean, Monterey Bay Marine Sanctuary. Across the bay you can see the lights of Monterey at night. This is the street where the surfing at Steamers Lane has become world famous. It is located across the street from the ocean with 180 views from deck, living room, dining room, kitchen. There are no homes across the street - only water. The Beach House comfortably sleeps 8 in beds, with 2 additional couch/twin beds in Living Room.

                                                              House Rules

                                                              Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                              Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                              Cancellation Policy

                                                              100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                              26 Reviews

                                                              Excellent4.3/5

                                                              Latest reviews

                                                              Spectacular House

                                                              Lauri M.Stockton, California

                                                              Amazing vacation! The House was perfect for two families and a few friends and the dogs. We all spent hours just sitting on the patio and watching life at the ocean. We kept trying to think of a reason to leave but the house is so comfortable and the views are so incredible, it was hard to leave! There were no complaints from anybody about the quality of the beds, everybody slept well. The house was clean and had everything we needed. The dog beach was a 5-10 minute walk and the boardwalk is a little over a mile away but a very easy walk. Looking forward to visiting again.

                                                              RIPPED OFF

                                                              Lindsey W.

                                                              I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the home. All the dishes we pulled out of the cupboards were filthy, most of the blinds in the home were broken, there was a hole in the wall in one of the downstairs bedrooms, and the TV's didn't work. The couch is old and feels dusty, not very comfortable to sit on. There was no sponge or broom to clean up, only an extremely old vacuum that didn't work well. The doors are extremely heavy, not easy to open or close. I strongly suggest that anyone staying here takes pictures of all the imperfections so you are not charged for them. I did not, and was wrongly charged for a damaged comforter that we did not damage. I was charged $250, which I can tell you, none of the bedding in the house was worth that amount of money. I emailed the contact person about the TV's not working and never got a response. While the location is great and views are wonderful, I would never stay here again due to the outrageous accusations and uncomfortable, dirty conditions. I have stayed at many VRBO homes and have never had an experience like this. I feel completely ripped off.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable time at my home. The comforter was definitely damaged by your guests as we had it cleaned right before your stay and it was fine. It had to be replaced and I quoted you a price of $250 and charged you that amount, even though the actual cost was $295.

                                                              Regarding your other concerns:

                                                              1. The house has a new dishwasher, which cleans the dishes well.

                                                              2. The TV’s all work. I never received a message from you that you were having an issue with any of them. I know you had my contact info as we corresponded to set up the reservation.

                                                              3. The blinds in the Master Bedroom are sun-damaged and are on order; I am replacing them soon.

                                                              4. There is a sponge and dish soap for the kitchen sink and hand soap at every bathroom sink. We sometimes leave cleaning supplies under the kitchen sink, but the professional cleaning service cleans everything after guests leave.

                                                              Even more than we expected

                                                              Joyce L.Eureka, CA

                                                              The location is ideal, within walking distance of most of what brought us to Santa Cruz. The views are spectacular and the accommodations are comfortable. The management was responsive, honest and helped to make out stay a positive experience. I would go back and will definitely recommend it to our friends.

                                                              Perfect location with a view! Great place for a family rendezvous !!

                                                              Susan C.Mesa

                                                              Enough space to move, play and sleep for 8 adults, 4 little boys and a grand dog. Great set up and perfect vacation. Thank you!!

                                                              Amazing location sparsely furnished outside

                                                              Caren M.

                                                              Amazing location across the street from the ocean. We saw sea otters, dolphins, whales, sea lions, harbor seals lots of sea birds and surfers. The house is upside down with the kitchen and living space upstairs with view. The house is spacious & uncluttered with comfortable beds and a well appointed kitchen. There are 2 large windows overlooking the ocean but one is completely clouded up with no visibility, which appears to be a common problem with the ocean front houses.

                                                              There is a bocci court in the back yard with a large patio but no furniture. Note there is no outdoor grill. There is an outdoor shower with no privacy. Note also there are no binoculars so bring your own.

                                                              There was plenty of parking.

                                                              The bathrooms have been partially redone but the shower head needed replacing, cabinet doors were falling off, toilet ran continuously & flush handle fell off. Light bulbs were missing. Although there was a little laundry soap, there were no replacement kitchen trash bags and no amenities in the shower. These were not deal breakers but we expected better for the price.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Caren,

                                                              Thank you for review. Glad that you and your family enjoyed the house and the wonderful view and that you were able to see so much marine life.

                                                              You are right that one of the smaller windows of the five windows in the living room that all have ocean views is partially cloudy. You are also right that this is a common problem affecting houses right along the ocean, including our neighbors. We plan to address it.

                                                              There is always ongoing maintenance to replace light bulbs, fix cabinet doors and the like. There was additional laundry soap in the cabinet in the laundry room and kitchen trash bags under the kitchen sink. We provide soap at each of the sinks in the bathrooms, paper products and coffee service.

                                                              So much more than the pictures show

                                                              Pat E.

                                                              We had a family vacation here July 20th to the 26th of this year. 6 adults and 4 children. The pictures do not do this home justice. It is much larger than you realize. The kitchen is well stocked and the walk to the beach was easy. My husband and I (we are the grandparents) had a lovely walk back from the boardwalk one day as our girls and their families wanted to stay longer so it is true that most everything is in walking distance. We stayed in the cottage and there was a Lovely Queen Bed that has replaced the sofa sleeper. As my husband tires easily this was his retreat. Overall we would rent this house again. Merc was responsive to my texts during the booking and during our stay. Just a few side notes. There are 2 refrigerators, one in the kitchen and one in the garage which is handy when you have a large group. There are tv's in the living room, master, one bedroom downstairs and the cottage. This made it easy for down time for the kids after a long day having fun. You can just pop in a movie and chill. The deck is such a wonderful addition. We enjoyed whale watching and coffee every morning there. The outdoor shower in the back yard. What a blessing after a day at the beach. No tracking sand into the house. We rent thru VRBO, Homeaway and Airbnb and this was one of the best rentals we have had.

                                                              Location

                                                              Westside, Santa Cruz, CA, USA

                                                              Surf lessons at Cowell's Beach near the wharf. Windsurfing lessons at Waddell Creek up the coast, Kayaking in the harbor and Elkhorn Slough, Daily Sailboat rides from SC Harbor, Kite Flying at Beach Across the street. Natural Bridges State Park, a beach and a natural rock bridge, October brings the Monarch festival. Local farmers market twice a week brings amazing fresh produce to the table. The Beach Boardwalk is fun for any age, Neptune's Kingdom has an Arcade and Miniature Golf. This seaside attraction celebrated 100 years of the Looff Carousel and our amazing Giant Dipper, this wood track is 1/2 mile long and gets up to 46 miles per hour!

                                                              Rates & Availability

                                                              Additional information about rental rates

                                                              Cleaning Fee
                                                              $260
                                                              Pet Fee
                                                              $75
                                                              Tax Rate
                                                              11%
                                                              $491avg/night
                                                              26 Reviews
                                                              Excellent 4.3/5
                                                              Premier Partner
                                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                              For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                              Property # 268008

                                                              x