Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing location directly on the bay front!

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7)

Enjoy the nostalgia of this vintage bayfront beach house built in the 1920's. This quaint cottage has one of the largest lots on the bay.

Linger through breakfast while soaking up the morning sun on the enormous patio. You won't want to leave.

This long-time family home is the perfect place to experience So Cal beach life. Watch the sailboats on the bay right from the living room and expansive patio. Beautiful bay views from the kitchen, dining area, master bedroom, and breakfast nook as well! Finishing touches have just been put on the bathroom remodel as well as a few other areas of this home.

Watch the Sea World fireworks show right from the patio. You and the kids will love the bayside beach, boardwalk, sand and water right outside your front gate. The ocean is a quick two-minute walk away. You will fall in love with this historic cottage. And the price can't be beat for anything comparable in Mission Beach.

Mission Beach offers gorgeous nightly sunsets, biking, sailing, rollerblading, surfing, boating, and the country's most entertaining people-watching. Walk to Belmont Amusement Park to ride the historic Giant Dipper Roller Coaster which is one of two original oceanfront roller coasters still operating on the west coast.

World famous Sea World is five minutes away and the San Diego Zoo is only ten minutes, located in historic Balboa Park, the nation's largest urban cultural park -- home to 15 major museums, renowned performing arts venues and beautiful gardens. World class dining can be enjoyed in downtown's Gaslamp Quarter, a ten-minute drive.

Check out the valuable coupons for local attractions, bike rentals, and restaurants along with lots of helpful information in the free booklets waiting for you upon your arrival!

Keywords: cottage, beach house, beach home, standalone unit, bungalow, bayfront, waterfront, beach front

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
San Diego International
Nearest Beach
right in front of cottage
Car: not necessary

Five Minutes to Sea World, Ten Minutes to San Diego Zoo, Downtown Gaslamp, La Jolla, and the San Diego Airport


Mission Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1) Lower bunk is a full size bed
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Amazing location directly on the bay front!
average rating of 4.230769 based on 26 reviews

Great experience!

  • 4 of 5

It is a fun, quirky little beach cottage. The house was well equipped with everything you would need or want. It was a little hot inside and not a lot of cross ventilation but we just had fans in all the rooms which made it comfortable.

Very convenient to local eateries and coffee shop. Lots of activity in bay!

Will be back! :)

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Best location on mission bay.

  • 5 of 5

Best location on Mission Bay. House has everything you need. Our family had a great time. This is definitely a vintage beach house, so if you are not looking for vintage this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a great location on the sand close to restaurants and shops, you can't beat this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

There are better rentals in Mission Beach/Bay & the grass out front is a giant piss pad for dogs

  • 1 of 5

Wish I had something nice to say. This will be our first ever negative review on VRBO. When we booked, we noted the reviews, but tried to look passed the ones that touched on the negative side of things, trying to see the upside of the location and pricing. Here is the summary: Walked in, and the intense smell of rotten fish right there in the kitchen/general walk in area NEVER went away during our stay (6 nights). It was our warning sign that this place does not get the attention it needs and that the "cleaning" between stays is highly suspect. We almost walked out day two and called the landlords, but our time was better spent figuring a way to be OUT of the house instead. Check in material said "boogie boards in the garage." There were none. We rented instead. We biked around the entire Bay area and concluded that of ALL the bayfront cottages, condos, houses, shacks, etc. this one is far and away the worst looking and most gruff and unkempt of the entire bay, and offered the least. It was a bit uncomfortable to surmise this after riding around and seeing all the cool places to stay on the Bay front. A "University of Margaritaville" sticker is still on the main window to the house, it screams of college energy, and the house has seen its share of "neglectible" use at the hands of more party orientated inhabitants. That sticker shows no pride in the property owner/company. Leaving it decay on the window for YEARS is not endearing. Morning number 1 was filled with an hour of unannounced landscaping right in the front, with landscapers peering in the windows while we tried to start our morning. Not on the dog pad grass, I mean on the property itself. And, the grass out front in the pictures is a false amenity: it is actually a bacterial swamp of dog piss & slightly-picked-up-poop with plenty of decaying poop that no one picked up. Sitting out front on the ready-to-fall-apart tall chairs is basically a non-stop dog shit-n-piss watching party, all hours of the day. The main bedroom walls are so thin, we awoke to each conversation happening on the bay sidewalk and each skate board, all before 5:30am. The kitchen counter is lower than an adult's wasteline, drawers are uneven & sticky. There is an ANKLE BUSTING POTHOLE IN THE HOUSE: When you go to the bathroom from the main bedroom, there is a hole in the floor, under the carpet, that caused both me & the wife to twist an ankle. Bottom line: not recommended for families or folks with moderate standards

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do appreciate such a colorful review from you anonymous. I understand that you have had a bad experience. Most customers have left 5 and 4 stars and great reviews. I constantly get calls letting us know how it was the perfect beach house for their San Diego visit. In this case this property was not in your comfort level and did not meet your needs.I wish you had contacted us before your stay to express your standards so we could find a better fit for you and your vacation. We advertise this property as a charming vintage beach cottage on the bay, and that is exactly what it is. It is one of the only left in the area and why we get so many returning guest year after year. I still appreciate your colorful feedback and hopefully the next property you stay at can meet your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great, clean, quiaint little house.

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our stay, fairly tranquil spot. We had several friends and relatives come and visit during our stay. Ample public parking nearby. Definitely recommend it.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property, amazing location!

  • 4 of 5

We had a fantastic time at the beach cottage! Yes, it's a bit vintage and quirky, but it's a beach house! We loved being right on the bay. The view every morning was just beautiful. Others have commented that the toilet is in the garage.. well no. It's next to the shower room and next to the garage but it is its own room and with a big family it was nice to have the separate rooms so everyone could do their business, shower, or get ready in the morning, at the same time. There were sand toys, towels, chairs (though a few replacements may be necessary). We found a cabinet with a few games and puzzles for our down times, even books. I really appreciate the owners keeping this beach house instead of tearing down and going the condo route. This is such a great place with a neat relaxed, beachy feel. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to try to go back.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family vacation!

  • 4 of 5

Family had a blast, perfect little house on beach!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping $135 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 10.5%

Please call for special discounts! Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Please add 11.05% San Diego City Tax. Housekeeping rate of $125 is in addition to rental pricing.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties