check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Sleep to the Sound of the Waves - Free Wifi

Bedrooms 1
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more



About the property

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Moloaa Bay is a small, secluded community on the northeast shore of Kauai. The beautiful crescent shaped bay is a peaceful hide-away, relatively undeveloped and unknown to most visitors. Close to everything but far removed from the hustle and bustle of tourist areas, it is 15 minutes south to Kapaa and 15 minutes north to Princeville and Hanalei.

Private and uniquely situated on one acre, with ocean, garden and mountain views, you will sleep to the sound of the waves in this guest house. Separate from the main house with its own private entry, your house sits behind two multi-million dollar oceanfront homes that are rarely occupied. It is just a few steps to swimming and snorkeling and reef walking at the uncrowded beach.

Private stairs lead up to your beach house, which is 13 ft. in the air and has a large lanai with milky way night time views. Inside, it has high open beam natural wood ceilings, with ceiling fans and lots of windows. This house is very comfortable, light-filled and spacious with a California king-size bed, partial kitchen, all tile floors, and large bathroom with granite counter top vanity and full glass two person shower. The beach house has a low allergen environment.

The decor transports one to another time, another place in paradise. It is Ideal for couples who like nature, privacy and the sea.

Keywords: Beach House - Free WiFi, Moloaa Bay, Kauai, North Shore, Sound of waves, hiking, private, honeymoon, secluded, lanai, Hawaii, North Shore, quiet, retro, central, upscale, old Hawaii, name brand, luxury, beach, sea, nature, feng shui, real, peaceful, allergen free,

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Juliette

Kauai is my favorite place on the earth but I love to travel everywhere. In fact I love to travel so much that I may not be home when you visit. When I am here I am in my art studio and I love to meet my renters and afford them info on the island if they desire. Otherwise they are left in exquisite privacy.

Juliette purchased this house in 1996

Why Juliette chose North Shore

I chose this spot because it was the most beautiful place I had ever seen. It is equidistant between the two ends of the one road that goes 3/4 of the way around the island of Kauai. It is also between the dry side and the wet side so it has advantages of both. We like to keep it a secret.

What makes this house unique

Our property simply is Perfect - a few steps from the beach but one lot back so there is privacy. One can hear the sound of the sea. Even though it is isolated, it is near everything one needs or wants and it is away from the hustle and bustle.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Since the moment I got here this place has taken my breath away, stolen my

heart and left me speachless.... as you have done to me twice by sharing your

hale with us. This hale was uplifting for the spirit and the soul. It is so much

more than we ever expected. Between the sound of the ocean, the bird sounds

in the morning and the millions of stars at night we had a wonderful experience

and will be taking back many wonderful memories and a bit of sand. We greatly

appreciate your generosity and for making us feel like "Ohana."
May 2008
  • 1 of 9


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(61 traveler reviews)

Sleep to the Sound of the Waves - Free Wifi
average rating of 4.803279 based on 70 reviews

Perfect restful retreat

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed ten lovely days at Moloa'a Bay. Juliette welcomed us and made us feel right at home. She was kind enough to allow early check in and late check out to accommodate our flight schedule. The apartment was clean, the bed super comfy and there is lots of privacy. The kitchenette is small, but functional and just as described. We ate in and made most of our meals. We enjoyed the lanai and the easy stroll to the beach. We look forward to returning as soon as we can!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria BC

Love. Peaceful. Relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

This is a little bit of heaven. Thank you Juliette for making it so. Absolute lovely to relax in a tree cottage, going to sleep with the sound of the waves and waking up to the birds greeting the dawn. Thank you.

Everything was spotles and comfortable. Such a beautiful experience.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Huntingdon Valley, PA

View of Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

This rental experience was exceptional! Juliette was a lovely host. I stayed here for two weeks and the owner was there only when you needed her. If you have any questions, she's readily available. Comfortable bed and furniture. The proximity to Moloaa Bay can't be beat! It's just steps away! A beautiful beach to relax and take a swim! Never a crowd! Be sure to hike the trail and watch the sunrise! There's a beautiful deck to sit on to listen to the ocean and watch the stars at night. This is so much better than staying in a condo! You really couldn't ask for a better experience.

Thank you, Juliette!

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you... it was my pleasure. I love for guests to be able to enjoy and appreciate their experience at the beach house. The male guest (who shall not be named) did a great job on the wall and he is welcome to return!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Away from the bustle

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time at Jule's place. It is a homey and peaceful place where we spent two calm weeks in beauty, listening to birds and the surf. It is between Kapaa and Princeville and is only a 10 minute drive to groceries or is just a few blocks walk to a beautiful beach at Moloaa Bay. If you want to be in the middle of the shopping/crowded beach action or close to amenities, this ISN"T the place for you. But if you want a quiet beach and a private bungalow, this is it. Because There is only one bed, and the kitchen is set up for simple cooking. We really enjoy the juice bar just up the road...yum! We also found a great little worship community just a few miles away.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay with the sound of waves.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the beach house. It's really private so you may won't hear anything except of the waves and some chicken. :) The house is really good situated especially when you love the nature and the sound of the waves. The beach is just a few minutes away but was too rough to have a swim when we were there. But it's also absolutely worth it only to have a walk there and enjoyimg the scenery. The Beach House itself is very bright and generous with a big bathroom and veranda. We had everything we needed for a relaxing holiday.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location - Needs Maintenance

  • 2 of 5

PROS: Location - Privacy - Breezy - Sound of Waves - Host

Jules is a lovely host, very friendly, gave us a good overview of the property and location, as well as suggestions for places to go nearby. She has great taste in how she's decorated the guest house and the little extra touches were nice. Location - great smoothie/fruit stand at the end of the road, 15-20 mins north to Princeville/Hanalei or south to Kapaa/Lihue.

CONS: Overgrown - Cleanliness - Flying Insects - Inaccurate Photos

Found the property to be in need of maintenance and a deep (professional) cleaning. Photos displayed are outdated as of the time we booked and writing this review - there's no TV (not a big deal, we didn't go to Hawaii to watch TV, but it sets an expectation), property is overgrown with trees and bushes (attracting more insects and roosting chickens than if the landscaping were better manicured like other nearby properties), floors were so dirty that we didn't want to walk around barefoot, as is customary in Hawaii (sand is one thing, dirt and other people's hair is another - also found hair in the shower BEFORE we ever used it). Trees were overgrown everywhere, scraping the windshield and top of our rental car each time we drove in/out and growing over the lanai (not how it's depicted in the photos). If this were cleaned up a bit it would have helped the flying insect issue - yes it's a tropical climate, but the first night I was eaten alive by mosquitos INSIDE and subsequent evenings there were so many flying insects that we couldn't keep a light on or even read on our tablets/phones because it attracted so many bugs. All this made it difficult to sleep and hard to relax IN the house. Needless to say, we never ate in the house. Moloaa Bay itself was quite disappointing - which is NOT a reflection of this property, but something travelers should know. We read in a Kauai book that this beach is great for beachcombing (I thought shells, sea glass) - the shores were covered in trash and plastic that washed ashore, it was so sad! I've NEVER seen anything like it, not on any other beach during our trip or any other time I've been to Hawaii (10 times so far, 3 times to Kauai). Given that NO other reviewers commented on this, guess I'll chalk it up to bad timing on our part? I should have taken a photo, but it was so disheartening. Really wanted to love this place as so many others clearly have, but our experience was disappointing and I would be remiss not to say so.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again let me remind future guests and unsavvy travelers: When you stay at the sea in Moloaa there is a dust that settles everyday on the floor and the furniture. Because Moloaa is on the windward side of the island we get the nice trade winds but we also get the dust. The house is always clean when you arrive. Because this is a no host property you need to do your own cleaning daily if the dust bothers you or you need to stay in a hotel where you have cleaning every day. I try to thoroughly clean and sterilize the shower between guests. Yes... there is no TV. I clearly do not advertise a TV for this property on my page. Although it is difficult to maintain a house so close to the sea (rust and dying electronics and peeling paint and mold and dust) I make sure my house is maintained well and that everything functions. The yard is kept natural as I do not like manicured yards. The energy feels better and is more in keeping with Hawaiian tradition. Moloaa is zoned agriculture... not residential. I have 20 coconut trees, coffee, different fruit trees as well as indigenous tropical plants. If you are not used to the tropics It would be better for you to stay in a hotel where you will remain untouched by the environment.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Lihue airport
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Kuhio Hwy. - 2 miles from the rental
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Moloaa fruit stand and Cafe
Car: necessary

A beach umbrella and beach towels are provided.


Rates & Availability

Kilauea House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 13.41%

In case of a cancellation, 100% of your money will be returned if your nights can be re-rented (try and let me know if you need to cancel asap.) There is no extra cancellation fee.

Tax ID number: W01675236-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kilauea House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom is spacious with a two person shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1) California King with quality bedding
  • Books
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers