check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

200 Yards To the Beach! ( Contact us for rates & Fees )

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

PLEASE CONTACT US DIRECTLY FOR RESERVATIONS, RATES & FEES

The north shore of Hawaii's 'Garden Island' is a place that we think will give you the experience of being in the 'Hawaii' that we all need and expect on vacation. It affords you the pace and tranquility of the tropics and still has the activities, restaurants and shopping to meet most people's needs. A hike or boat ride along the nearby Napali coast will be one of the highlights of your stay. Princeville, a world class resort, is about a mile away from Hanalei and provides two golf courses and a modern gym with spa and swimming pool. In addition, its views of Bali Hai are unmatched.

The house is located near the small village of Hanalei and 200 yards from the Pavilion Beach on Hanalei Bay. The cedar wood interior extends throughout and lends warmth and comfort to the downstairs living area with it's cathedral ceilings, floor to ceiling windows and modern kitchen. Perfect for one or several couples or a family (we can fit a few children over our maximum number of 6), this 4 bedroom, 2 bath house is in immaculate condition and has many updated amenities that will certainly add to your vacation experience. Several restaurants, specialty shops and a grocery store are within easy walking distance. COME SEE US IN PARADISE!!!

Local contact: Peter & Rosemary Miller, Owners

(NCUC 1168) Reach us at (808) 828-1427 on Kauai

(State Tax #: W00047484-01)

PLEASE CONTACT US FOR RATES & FEES

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 1998
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

About The Owner

My husband and I have lived on the island for 15 years and love it here. We are available for any emergencies and will try to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Why The Owner chose Hanalei

We chose this house because of it's close proximity to both Hanalei town and Hanalei beach, which has been voted the 'best beach in America' at least twice.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

200 Yards To the Beach! ( Contact us for rates & Fees )
average rating of 3.9166667 based on 12 reviews
San Rafael, CA
4

Location, location, location!

  • 4 of 5

My wife, 18 year old daughter and I have had several North shore vacations in the last 6 years. the placement of the Miller house has been the best for easy beach and town access. It seems even less than the advertised "200 yards to the beach". We enjoyed the snorkel equipment and beach toys immensely. This would get 5 stars except for the relative meager store of plates/dishes and the absence of Tupperware like containers to retain leftovers. All minor things given the general offerings of the house (including the great outside shower, easy wi-fi access, comfortable beds, etc.) We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'll be adding to the dish supply and storage containers this week! Thanks, Rosemary
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chapel Hill, NC
1

Disappointing in many ways

  • 1 of 5

I can’t in good conscious recommend that anyone stay here. I’ll first note that the earlier reviews are not recent.

The first sign of trouble came a month prior to my stay. I’ve rented a number of vacation homes in the area. Typically, one signs a standard agreement (almost always months and months in advance) with a down payment. Then, one month prior to your stay, the full payment is due. The agreement details all the costs and is a legal contract representing the full price, including all taxes, cleaning fees, etc. This is precisely what transpired in this case. You can imagine my surprise when the owner, one month prior to my stay, asked me for additional money because of an increase in taxes on cleaning fees. The amount wasn’t trivial, although it was small compared to the cost of bringing my family from the Mainland. There is no doubt that I could have pointed to our signed agreement, but I did not know the owners and I was concerned about a worse case scenario where I would suddenly find myself without a place to stay. For those of you who are not familiar with the the Vacation Home market in the area, homes get gobbled up 8 – 12 months in advance. I reluctantly paid the additional fee, but the episode gave me pause.

The good news is that the house is, as advertised, only a few minutes by foot from the beach and the beds are relatively comfortable. HOWEVER, there are aspects of the house that indicate the owners are pinching pennies. The dryer in the laundry area is rusted over – it’s disgusting and I can’t imagine anyone wanting to put their clothes in something that looks like that. The shower in the downstairs bathroom is not properly sealed and, consequently, wood is peeling from the hollow core bathroom door adjacent to the shower. Be on the lookout for splinters, especially when stepping out of the shower. The interior of the kitchen cabinets smell awful; not appealing when using plates/glasses for a meal.

I don’t expect a beach house to be extravagant – however, relative to other houses in the area, this one needs attention. I couldn’t help but notice that the house is for sale and I assume the owners have no interest in maintaining the house or retaining customers. I certainly won’t be returning.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I understand, and agree, that I should have absorbed the $52.68 difference in the tax because it was my mistake and, as he stated, the rental agreement had already been signed. If he had brought this up at the time, I would also have agreed then. His group of 4 were here for 8 nights and never mentioned any of the negative things stated in the review, such as the rusted top of the dryer which does not extend into the appliance itself and happens when you have metal objects in the tropics, a very humid area. The fact is that the outside of appliances here have a strong tendency to rust and look unsightly long before the end of their useful lives. The bottom of the bathroom door has been that way for a quite a while and the shower has been redone in the last few years. No one, including this party, has ever mentioned a "bad smell" in the kitchen. The house is for sale and that is actually a reason to keep it up to date, rather than skimp on upkeep. SALE SUBJECT TO ALL CONFIRMED RENTALS An important issue, which the review does not address at all, was that because of claimed illness of his wife and daughter, they did not come along. The number of people occupying the house was 4, instead of the contracted 6. He said nothing about changing the amount of rent or the condition of the house to me before he came or while he was here (we did speak by phone while he was here), but after getting home he emailed that he wanted a refund because there were fewer people in his group than he had anticipated. Even though I saw no need to vary from the terms of our contract, I did offer to refund $100.00 to make him feel better, but he insisted that I send him $343.00 instead. I set the matter aside to think about it for a few days and then was notified of his very negative review. At that point, as suggested by VRBO, I contacted him and offered to give him both the tax and rental amount back and have not heard anything back. I can’t help but believe that his claimed dissatisfaction with the condition of the house was mostly an afterthought generated by his unhappiness over the rent refund issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Sammamish, WA
4

Great location; just steps from the beach and a nice walk to shops and restaurants

  • 4 of 5

We came for a family wedding in Hanalei, the location was perfect for all of the events. The main floor bedroom w/ shared bath worked well for our son's family with an infant, 3 additional bedrooms and bath upstairs for the rest of our group. Kitchen is well stocked and it was handy to have the washer and dryer....all of rooms have ceiling fans to keep the air moving. There is good assortment of beach chairs, beach toys and a few coolers for your day at the beach & when we returned, everyone enjoyed the outdoor shower! Thank you, we had a great time!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Anchorage, Alaska, USA
4

Charming Beach Cottage

  • 4 of 5

The Miller house is steps away from the beach and town, making its location ideal for familes with young kids (not too much walking!). The kitchen is perfect for making family meals, the yard is spacious for running around (though its right on the road and unfenced so be careful with the very young ones). There is laundry on premises, outdoor shower, two bathrooms (one with a full tub). The house worked very well for our family of three adults and two kids (3 years and 3 months old). The town of Hanalei is most charming. I would reccomend this home to friends. And finally, the owners are very, very nice people.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice words!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Diego, ca
5

Great Home

  • 5 of 5

The location was awesome close to town and very close to the beach. The house is very cozy inside and the family made good use of the outside deck. I was very surprised to see how well appointed the kitchen was, cooking or baking anything was possible. The outside shower was a special treat. Overall the home is very family friendly and very comfortable to vacation in!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
san luis obispo, CA
5

slobeach

  • 5 of 5

The Miller House is a great location to experience the North Shore of Kauai. It is walking (or biking) distance to Hanalei Town and a couple of short blocks to the Beach Park. The house is very comfortable and homey~ perfect for a fish barbecue or casual dinner. We experienced many beautiful sunsets with mai tais at the beach.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
39 Miles
Lihue Kauai
Nearest Barpub
0.8 Miles
Tahiti Nui
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Princeville
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Kuhio Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Miles
BarAcuda
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Hanalei Bay
Car: necessary

Wind surfing, Boogie boarding, Whale watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hanalei Palms House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
cleaning fee $468 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

THE RATES, SECURITY DEPOSIT & CLEANING FEE VARY WITH THE # IN YOUR PARTY BEGINNING WITH $2.100.00 PER WEEK FOR 2, UP TO $3,50.00 PER WEEK FOR 6. CONTACT US @ rosemarydm@aol.com FOR FULL DETAILS

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hanalei Palms House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural ...
  • Village
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Charcoal BBQ, Ceiling fans, Large covered lanai, Beach gear

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties