Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

#1 Favorite. Designer's Home- Lakes District. Fun and artistic finishes.

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 3,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Porches. Outdoor kitchen - fireplace. Original Art. Kids Loft.

This house is located in Phase III bordering the state forest. If you like the quiet while at home, yet want to be close to all the action, this is the best located house in WaterColor ! There is very little traffic and a quiet street for kids to ride bikes and play on. The lake and walking paths are accessed at the end of the block. We have a fantastic third for loft for the kids to slumber and play in. A great porch for the parents to relax and even catch a game on the outdoor television.

This residence is on the north side of Western Lake on the corner of Cove Hollow and Blue Stem Lane it is less than a five minute bike ride across the lake to the Beach Club. Walk just two full blocks down the street and you are crossing the bridge to Town Center. It is also just two blocks away from the Phase III 'frog' pool.

Professionally decorated at a standard well above a typical rental. One guest has described it as having a contemporary beach loft feel. This home is for the guest that desires, appreciates, and will take good care of a 'step above' rental. Please see the comments in our guestbook. Many guests have said it has the best layout and nicest decor of any house they've stayed at in Watercolor.

Enjoy the top of the line Wolf range and Sub-Zero fridge, ice maker, and wine cooler. Weekend chefs will enjoy the All-Clad cookware. Spices and condiments are kept on site for all to share.

Original art from the owners personal collection adorn the walls. Enjoy the canvases of local artist Justin Gaffrey, the 'Cuban Picasso' Jose Fuster, and Cubist- Almer.

Dine on the porch or enjoy the fantastic patio overlooking the forest. Use the outdoor kitchen, fireplace, and dine under the stars to complete a perfect day at WaterColor. Multiple porches and floors allow each person the freedom to get away from the multiple family- vacation circus when needed !

Three bedrooms and third floor 'bunk/play room' in main house. There is a bedroom with full living room and kitchen in the carriage house. Unique for WaterColor, the carriage house has a full size porch.

The four single bed bunk room is a great place for kids to sleep, play, and simply be 'lost'. They can be two floors away without getting into trouble and the adults get their peace and quiet.

King size beds in the master and carriage house. Queens in the two guest bedrooms. Four singles and a TV area in the third floor loft.

4 Adult Bikes are included.

Happy to receive calls. However, we find emails to be more efficient. Please click on 'contact owner' to ask your questions and start an email communication trail.

Keywords: House, Water Color Rental, Luxury

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 25, 2017

About The Owner

Our house has been a labor of love. It was designed by Sharon- a professional interior decorator and contains many objects from our great travel adventures. I built it while we were dating, and we married there in August of 2012. We hope you enjoy the art, or if not, at least ask, 'what were they thinking?'

We wanted to do something different and unique for Watercolor, and hope we accomplished it. Most of our guests appreciate the step above and love to come back time and again.

We love driving on Grayton Beach for sunset and the Friday ringing of the bell at Bud n Alley's. We love visiting Justin Gaffrey's studio to watch him work- and don't forget Sunday morning brunch at the Red Bar. Above all, we love that it brings so many memories and joy to our friends and our guests.

We look forward to the day we can call 30-A our permanent home. In the meantime, we enjoy sharing it with our guests and making new friends along the way.

The Owner purchased this house in 2008

Why The Owner chose Watercolor

We've looked at a variety of other lots and houses in Watercolor, and frankly we have not found one we like as well as ours. We love the location, the roominess, and the views. We don't ever feel like we are on top of the neighbors. It is much quieter than phase 2 or 3 of Watercolor.

What makes this house unique

More features and amenities than just about any other house at Watercolor. Only house with a wine cork receptacle. Wine drinkers will enjoy adding to the cork collection and helping us 'fill the jug !'


Watercolor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , shower
    Bedroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Guest Bedroom 1 - toilet , shower , Serves guest bedroom and third floor loft (2 entrances)
    Carriage House - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Main floor Powder - toilet
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Carriage House - 1 king
    Master - 1 king
    Guest 2nd floor - 1 queen
    Guest Second floor (b) - 1 queen
    500 sq ft 3rd floor loft - 4 twin/ single
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Exceptional! 4.9/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
#1 Favorite. Designer's Home- Lakes District. Fun and artistic finishes.
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews

Superior beach vacation destination!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I traveled to Stuck in the Sand for the Fourth of July week and had an absolutely incredible week! Upon our arrival, the house was clearly expertly cleaned and prepared. The amenities inside the house and available in the Watercolor area were outstanding and we couldn't have asked for a better location for vacation. We will be back, thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much fofor your kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look ok forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was excellent and basically as advertised. Had a great time with my total family.

  • 4 of 5

Great physical location. Property was in excellent condition except for a non working dishwasher which was replaced overnight...excellent service. Place was clean and well stocked as advertised. Parking was a problem. There was no covered parking as advertised as the garage was locked and occupied by owners vehicles. We had a few encounters with the “parking police”” which resulted in warning tickets. I was uneasy with the total homeaway experience due to a lack of communication through the whole process. I was out $6000 and wasn’t really sure if it was safe, legitimate rental. Turns out it was, but I would have felt better with more communication throughout the whole process. For instance, I am waiting for the refund of my damage deposit but I have no idea as to the process or who to contact. Overall....good experience that I would recommend to others but to expect to be a little nervous about the transaction.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback. First off, Yes we agree with you. The NEW Homeway system is awful. Having a phone conversation between the guests and the homeowner is the best way to build trust between both parties. Unfortunately they are seeking to maximize revenue. We will be switching to a local management company- 30A Escapes for just such a reason. Please contact them in the future. We are sorry for the difficulties you had with parking instructions. We do not advertise covered parking, I am sorry you were given this impression. We do provide rental instructions via the Home Away site and they get distributed automatically to the renters. In it, we state that it is a two family home and we provide two spots for all renters. One in the driveway, and one parallel behind the garage. Homeaway retains your security deposit and automatically returns it after something like ten days. Let me know if it is not received. We are sorry for the inconvenience the Homeaway site has caused.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great for big families

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year year enjoying this lovely home. It works great for two large families and we love the location. Kitchen is well stocked. Lots of room to spread out and third floor kids room is a plus. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

'Far Outside the Ordinary'

  • 5 of 5

This home is absolutely wonderful in every way. The art, design, luxury and comfort is five star.

You will not be disappointed!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for being such a great guest. Come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Top Notch!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful, extremely well appointed home. Outstanding decor, artwork and finishings. Great space for our group of 11. Outdoor fireplace was the best!!! Hope to return after such a perfect vacation.

Thanks Dodd!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Twin Cities

A Slice of Heaven in a Tranquil Corner of Florida

  • 5 of 5

We love 30-A and the Emerald Coast, and the fact that it's (relatively) undiscovered. Great sand, no high-rise condo's, just a collection of great restaurants and shops tucked away on Florida's Panhandle. If you're looking for a private, but very well equipped home to entertain friends and family (or just hide out for a week or two) you can't do any better than this magnificent home within the Watercolor development - which is one of finest planned communities in the nation. With water, pines and palm trees and miles and miles of trails Watercolor is unlike anything you've ever seen before. The home has everything a gourmet cook would want and need, and the separate Carriage Home is perfect for extended family. It's within walking distance of pools, the lake and a 5 minute bike ride to the best sugar-sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico. It's always hard leaving - this year was no exception. If you need to clear your head, kick back, or savor the best The South has to offer, you can't do better than this.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review and being such great guests. It brings us joy to know our guests had a great stay. We look forward to having you back. Dodd and Sharon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Amenity Fee $365 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.5%

Winter rates of $450 apply to non holiday times in November and December as well.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.