Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

The Castle of Spring Green

You sent a message to this owner.

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.


This property does not have a published calendar. Contact the owner for availability.

  • Minimum stay:Contact owner
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Spring Green chateau / country house description

The Castle of Spring Green was built to resemble a French Chateau. It is set on 500 acres of beautifully wooded, mountainous terrain in Southwestern Wisconsin's pristine Wisconsin River Valley Region. Visitors enjoy this destination as a private retreat for a summer home, hunting lodge, religious retreat, corporate meetings/team building events and as a unique location for intimate weddings.

Nearby Attractions:
Frank Lloyd Wright Visitor Center at Taliesin
American Players Theatre
Cave of the Mounds
The House on the Rock
Little Norway
The Fall Art Tour - Third Full Weekend in October

Nearby State Parks:
Blue Mound State Park, WI
Wyalusing State Park, WI
Governor Dodge State Park, WI

Keywords: Luxury French Chateau

Property Type

      • Chateau / Country House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental


          • Pets Not Allowed
          • Children Welcome
          • Non Smoking Only
          • Minimum Age Limit For Renters

          Bedrooms: 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24, Beds for 16-24

          Bathrooms: 5.5 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Kitchen
          • Catering Available
          • Dishwasher
          • Refrigerator
          • Microwave
          • Cooking Utensils


          • Clothes Dryer
          • Washing Machine
          • Linens Provided
          • Air Conditioning
          • Wood Fireplace


          • VCR
          • Ping Pong Table
          • Satellite / Cable
          • DVD Player
          • Pool Table
          • CD Player
          • Stereo
          • Video Library


          • Wireless Internet
          • Telephone
          • Broadband Access

          Pool & Spa

          • Hot Tub
          • Jetted Tub

          Outdoor Features

          • Deck / Patio
          • Balcony
          • Outdoor Grill


          • Fishing
          • Cross Country Skiing
          • Mountain Biking
          • Kayaking
          • Hunting
          • Golf
          • Hiking
          • Cycling
          • Snowboarding
          • Skiing
          • Snowmobiling
          • Fitness Center
          • Restaurants
          • Theme Parks
          • Live Theater
          • Museums
          • Cinemas
          • Antiquing
          • Sight Seeing
          • Wildlife Viewing
          • Shopping
          • Horseback Riding
          • Sledding


          Write a review
          • Bill (Wausau, WI)

            Bill (Wausau, WI)

            • Guest Bill (Athens, WI upper midwest)
            • Date of stay 09/06/12
            • Review Submitted 10/07/12
            Our group of six couples celebrated a 50th reunion as a singing group at U.W. Madison for five delightful late summer days. The Castle was perfect for our group. All made themselves at home, and the Castle worked so well on every level - from the fabulous kitchen, to fireplace atmosphere, to walking paths, and wifi for the active computers. All slept well in comfortable beds, with nicely appointed and clean bathrooms, and plenty of space. The owners were very helpful with all detailed questions, and the caretakers made sure we had dinner music by providing a CD player to replace one with some minor problems. The beautiful wood floors and especially steps to bedrooms were incredibly quiet, reflecting careful construction. We would all return in a heartbeat for the relaxing atmosphere, beauty, and conveniences of the Castle. And no one ran over any turkeys. And our singing still sounded pretty good after 50 years.

            Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

            Owner response: Your group was a delight -- we couldn't have been happier with playing host to all of you!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

          • Family fantastic!

            Family fantastic!

            • Guest Fanny (West Bend WI)
            • Date of stay 06/13/12
            • Review Submitted 06/21/12
            We celebrated my parents 50th wedding anniversary at The Castle totally 20 adults/children. We enjoyed every minute of our time there with plenty of fun for all ages from 5-77. The rooms were spacious, the kids loved the fourth floor area to just hang out together as well as to sleep. There were numerous spots to hide out if you wanted privacy and lots of space to fit our group of 20 for meals, gatherings, games, etc. The grounds were expansive with no shortage of area for rousing games of badminton, frisbee golf, baseball, etc. The property offered spectacular views of lush valleys, gorgeous evening sunsets, and a meandering stream. The castle itself was an incredible feat in the making and we enjoyed every aspect of the layout, the views and the variety of settings the castle had to offer. We left grateful for the opportunity to spend time together as a family is such a wonderful setting!

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

            Owner response: A 50th wedding anniversary is no small feat either and we were happy to have you all at our home to celebrate it! Thank you again for your business!!! Hope to see you all again!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

          • Great place for family gathering!!

            Great place for family gathering!!

            • Guest swim100 (Mequon)
            • Date of stay 06/13/12
            • Review Submitted 06/20/12
            We spent 4 days at the "Castle" to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary. Our party included 21 people of various ages. We found the surroundings peaceful and tranquil. A great place to stay if you love the outdoors. The house was large enough and we never felt crowding. However there were areas that needed attention. There were no working umbrellas for the patio, a definite must because the patio gets the afternoon sun. Nice to have all the lawn furniture available for use however chair backs were broken upon arrival. The dishwasher needs to be upgraded. Very difficult to start. The furniture is in dire need of repair/ update. We had several warm days for our visit however the house was extremely comfortable, not too cold or hot. All the levels were clean however the main floor (which would get all the traffic) could be dusted and the beautiful woodwork throughout the whole house could be polished. I would recommend this spot to others however the minor changes would make this place AWESOME!!

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway.

            Owner response: Thanks for your review -- the feedback is always helpful. After talking with you and others in your group further, they indicated one resin lawn chair was broken up the back and one patio umbrella had a broken "rib" on it. Lastly, I believe the furniture you speak of that is in dire need of repair are the two club chairs we have in our billiards area--these two pieces have some tearing on the armrests. I have to agree, they do need replacing but we pulled them up because you had a larger group and we felt it the extra seating in that area would be appreciated. We added new leather sofas and dining chairs and other seating in 2011. Because we don't live on this property, we only know to fix things when guest lets us know. The group before you either did not use these things or it didn't bother them enough to bring it to our attention. Either way, we'll tend to those things! I thank you for the feedback and am glad you and your group were able to enjoy the setting, the home and each other -- Have a great summer!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

          • Family gathering before a local wedding

            Family gathering before a local wedding

            • Guest Howard (Bloomington, IL)
            • Date of stay 05/25/12
            • Review Submitted 05/30/12
            Our family gathered from all around the country to attend a local wedding. Not many places to stay in the area, so I found the Castle. Perfect in every way is the best way I can explain it. The owners were very thorough in answering my questions and very timely in their responses. We arrived, we were met by Barb, who was so pleasant. It is obvious she takes great pride in this home, and took the time to show me all around and make us feel welcome. The description of this place is NOT quite accurate in the fact it is even NICER and larger than they describe. Everything was there to make it a perfect weekend. For the wedding we decided to have an intimate rehearsal dinner. There was more than enough room for everyone, and the kitchen (we cooked) was magnificent. When you are in a hotel, there is little opportunity to visit or socialize. Here we were able to spend lots of time together and had 4 generations all getting reacquainted. Put the little ones to bed, and the adults can stay up and enjoy the facilities. I would (and already have) recommended this spot to several people I know. My wife wants to return and stay again, even though we have no reason to travel up there again. That is how nice this property is. PS: The pictures show a stocked bar. I did need to bring my own, but not a problem.

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

            Owner response: Howard and Family -- so thankful to have had a family like yours visit us! We are very grateful to you all for treating the place like your own and hope to see you again!! Many thanks for the great review -- take care!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

          • Winter Family Gathering

            Winter Family Gathering

            • Guest Jammie (Watertown, WI)
            • Date of stay 02/17/12
            • Review Submitted 02/20/12
            Our extended family had a wonderful time at this beautiful home! We intended to ski nearby but the conditions weren't favorable, so we hiked and enjoyed the scenery. The home fit all our needs and then some! The young adults liked the pool and ping pong tables and the aunts loved the hot tub. There was plenty of room to spread out and quiet corners for little ones to nap so not disturbed. We have rented many vaction homes all over the U.S. and would put this one at the top of our list. I highly recommend this home!

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers.

            Owner response: Thank you for sharing -- it's not often we are without snow but I'm glad you were able to enjoy the beauty of the area regardless! We hope to see you again!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

          • Spring Green Castle

            Spring Green Castle

            • Guest Teddy (Woodstock, IL)
            • Date of stay 10/07/11
            • Review Submitted 10/11/11
            My husband and I celebrated our 50th birthday here. We invited 16 people to join us for a 3 day weekend. It was very clean and comfortable and even better than the pictures. We did a lot of hiking and felt very at home here. I highly recommend this property. You will not be disappointed! It is beautiful!!

            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, age 55+, romantic getaway.

            Owner response: Thanks so much for the kind words - we're glad you enjoyed yourself and were able to have everyone with you to celebrate!

            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

          Package rates available starting at $3,000/week
          From $800/night

          Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
          Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more

          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


          Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.



          This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.


          Owner info

          Contact us

          Speaks: english


          VRBO #181692

          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

          This listing was first published here in 2008.

          Date last modified - Friday, June 14, 2013


          8 Bedroom / 5.5 Bathroom
          Sleeps 24

          Contact owner for availability
          Email owner
          Speaks: english
          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
          Add vacation protection services to your booking

          Three services to protect your trip:

          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

          Get it now