Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Classic Upper Hamlin Lake Cottage - Indian Pete's Bayou

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 216 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8)

Beechmount was built in 1915 as part of a resort with inns and 'Maine Camp' style (primitive) woodland cottages. At the time it had a wood stove, outhouse, pump, and kerosene lamps. It has been remodeled and expanded over the years, but retains history and rustic character, with such features as beadboard, original maple floors, old window glass, double French doors to deck, fireplace.

The main floor: Large LR w/ multiple windows and double French doors onto deck. There's a small FP. Wicker sofas and rustic rockers and a foldout futon sofa bed, double sized. We may get a cushier sofa, but might not, as the wicker and futon are fine for stretching out. The master BR is large, big double windows. Two dressers, small closet. Iron bed headboard, Queen bed. The one bathroom is off the master, between master and K. The small K includes full stove/oven, microwave, dishwasher (temperamental). There's a small separate DR, with 1950's pine panel (it was formerly a porch) and round oak table seats 4 easily or can manage 6 with leaf inserted. Long picnic table on deck seats 8 easily.

There is another finished BR on 2nd floor. We lofted the roof of the attic and built out this room, which is nicely finished with pine floors and beadboard walls, 4 windows, lake view, old walnut double bed, a wrought iron baker's rack for shelf, and one practical Wallmart type dresser, an old K table and a couple of wicker chairs. This room is private. There's also an open, not private, loft area with 2 old iron beds, one single and one the old 3/4 size - not quite double. Both these have been lengthened for the tall young men in our family. Thus the upstairs would sleep 4 adults. The 3/4 bed could accommodate 2 little kids. NOTE! This floor is accessed via the original pull down attic step-ladder. Kids love climbing up. However, it is wise to leave a light on and a child gate in front of the steps. We had one child sleepwalk upstairs, and he might have fallen down the open trap door or stepped upon it, had we not had a gate up. We can talk about this for a fuller description, if need be.

Cottage furnishings include early attic family pieces including some that are antique (modest, not shiny antiques) --- wicker, braided and sisal rugs, iron beds. Pix on VRBO. We have not turned our cottage into a cushy or polished place. It will appeal to people who like the outdoors, woods, and an 'old time' simple lake place.

Our wooded acre, with 100' Beech trees, is secluded on a hill overlooking Hamlin. Our deck view is into woods, with lake glimmers through leaves or in between hemlocks. Other cottages are obscured from view.

Our waterfront is on a separate piece of property - a 'block' downhill from the cottage. A walk by takes 5 min, or one can drive. This takes some explaining, please phone us if you wish. At our waterfront we have 3 docks, with decking between them, a large screened -in room which was the garage to an old inn which burned years ago. It is like a porch, only freestanding. We call this the 'Boat Porch', because it houses boat paddles and gear. It's plain cement floor, it's spacious and contains a long picnic table. The 'boat porch' has a nice small deck with grill and glass topped table overlooking our lawn and water. On lawn is another picnic table, a swing, and fire pit. No electricity. Lanterns supplied. The 3 docks are connected by decking, where we have chairs. Will send you pix. You should bring or rent a boat. There are liveries nearby. You will want to take trips to the Dunes. If you like, you may use our canoe or one of our kayaks. Good fishing hole 75' off our docks. Bring your poles.

Keywords: Lake Cottage

More Details

Owner
Mary Hebblewhite
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
July 5, 2017

About Mary Hebblewhite

Paul Davidson and Mary Hebblewhite Davidson, of Sandy Springs GA. We're outdoorsy. We love the Southern Appalachians near where we live, and we boat and hike and camp in the mountains. Yet we drive to MI each summer. This is a great kid and family place - if the family loves nature and the outdoors. There's plenty of water, sand, and woods, lighthouses, big and little boats, interesting history, a charming town. And a simple family lake house. We canoe here on the gently slopping scenic rivers. We sail on Why would Georgians make this trip every summer? Love. Mary's Chicago grandparents bought Sunnyslope, in 1915. Mary has come here lifelong. In 1984 the family sold it, because it is far from GA., Mary regretted it and soon bought Beechmount, next door. Beechmount is family lake cottage, old, simple, which is what we love.

We are outdoorsy - love the Appalachians, hike, canoe, camp. And the breezy fresh Michigan area of Hamlin Lake, the simple cottage way of being at a lake, woods, and beaches here.

Mary Hebblewhite purchased this cottage in 1995

Why Mary Hebblewhite chose Northwest

Nostalgic, old, seasonal summer lake cottage. Beechmount was a 'Woodland Cottages" in 1910's Briggs' Resort which also had Inns on the water. Until remodelled in the 50's, Beechmount had a pump, outhouse, chamber pots, woodstove, ice box, kerosene lamps, no phone. You'd have chopped wood, pumped & heated your water on the wood stove for your bath in a tin wash tub. Conveniences now! But we left the atmosphere. On iits wooded acre, Beachmont is much more PRIVATE than almost all rental cottages nearby. Seclusion comes at significantly higher rent on the North side of Hamlin, further from Ludington shops. OUTDOOR RECREATION! LUDINGTON NAMED AMONG OUTSIDE MAGAZINE'S TOP 20 OUTDOOR RECREATION TOWNS. GREAT POINT SAUBLE (big sand point) - see satellite map Is uniquely undeveloped-- some 30 miles of ROADLESS Lake MI beaches, often virtually empty, miles of forested trails, windswept dunes. --Ludington State Park, Manistee National Forest Lake MI Rec. Area. Hamlin Lake's NORDHOUSE DUNES: Between Hamlin on the East and Lake MI on the West.Boat to the dunes, climb a tall one , and view Lake MI and the Great Point Sauble Lighthouse. Or walk Lake MI shore to visit the historic isolated, scenic Light, and climb to top. This Great Point Sauble area offers family friendly outdoors beauty and recreation: Forested bluff hiking trails overlooking beautiful undeveloped Lake MI beaches. Gentle woodland trails. Paddling among islands of Hamlin Lake. Kite flying at Lake MI beach or Hamlin side of the Dunes. Ludington has charm and interest: Ludington's HARBOR, car ferry The Badger car ferry, Ludington Lighthouse and harbor pier, fun eateries, children's museum, Marine museum, art. antique, and gift shops, farmers' markets, wineries, and Victorian ambiance, but not overly tourist-y.

What makes this cottage unique

See above. Hamlin Lk's towering sand DUNES, so high and extensive that roadbuilding through them never happened...hence 30 miles of scenic undeveloped roadless Lake MI beaches. Hamlin is a FISHERMAN's LAKE. LAKE MI SALMON FISHING charters (google ) . SALMON RIVER RUNS begin by Labor Day. (google). BOATING: Great SAILING on Hamlin. Kayak or canoe the Bayou, the open lake, or to the Hamlin side of State Park by boat or car and canoe the lovely inlets & islands. KAYAK or RAFT the gentle WILD & SCENIC RIVERS (Google the Pine, Manistee, & Pere Marquette rivers & outfitters). Our old canoe & kayaks = yours to use. VICTORIAN Ludington: LIGHTHOUSE to climb, the SS BADGER (google) coming daily into harbor Overnight Badger cruise to Manitowoc Wisc - where there's a WWII submarine to tour. BADGER SUNSET CRUISES along shoreline past 2 lighthouses on July 4th & Labor Day. Ludington & Hamlin fireworks. ANTIQUES & ARTS gifts: The RED DOOR modern, creative art. The TODD REED STUDIO stunning photographs of the area. High end art and antiques - Manistee & Pentwater. EATERIES: family/traditional (Old Hamlin). Casual trendy, craft beer. Fresh fish fry or fresh for sale at BORDELLS (google). Berry picking, elk ranches w/ elkburger & steak, local fruit and veg & LOCAL WINE TASTING (Hamlin Grocery). VINYARDS taste and tour (google). Exquisitely restored VICTORIAN PLAYHOUSE, the Ramsdell Theater, in Manistee, for classic musicals (James Earl Jones got start there). BEST? the ROADLESS BEACHES & WOODLANDS: (see above). Take 2 mi or so State Pk beach walk to photogenic historic BIG SAUBLE LIGHTHOUSE (climb up! & tour by Lighthouse Keeper Volunteers. Fun tasty Hamlin Lk DOCKSIDE EATING at Barnhart's Marina's Pirate's Pub (google it), laid back and tasty eating.

Amenities

Ludington Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 216 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub-shower. Off master BR and K.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Bed in Master in main. Double futon fold out sofa bed in LR on main. Double Bed in upstairs bedroom. One single bed and 1 '3/4' size (almost double wide) iron bed, both beds have been lengthened for tall guys in family. These 2 iron beds are in the loft on 2nd floor - semi private. . Loft and upper floor BR access via attic type fold out ladder-steps., Total sleepers up to 8. Total sleepers in private (non loft non LR. So, house has 2 BRs plus loft plus fold out double in LR. . Sleeps total 8 (9 if 2 kids are in the 3/4 bed in loft).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Boat rental liveries nearby for motorboats, pontoons, fishing boats.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Classic Upper Hamlin Lake Cottage - Indian Pete's Bayou
average rating of 4.2941175 based on 17 reviews
5

Nice lake cottage, beautiful lake

  • 5 of 5

Really liked the freshly mowed lawn at the boat dock area, wish there were 3 docks as advertised-tying up my boat would have been much easier-but I guess we hit the week they were working on the docks-aside from that, had a great time and liked everything about it. We will probably return some time in the future...

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, very sorry that our seawall repair happened, and it is still unfinished. I am notifying renters about that. We WILL have three docks again, but it may be in August, the way the work is going. Thank you for the stars! Generous of you, under the circumstances of the seawall work under way. Glad to hear you'd vacation at our cottage again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great rustic getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had a blast but make sure you read all of the owners information before you book. The cottage is IN THE TREES❤️ 3 of the beds are accessed by a pull down ladder. It is the perfect place to slow down, reconnect with your family (and still have wifi). Kayaked (life jackets and paddles were not at the shore but easily accessible in the basement). Rainy day games were not really available, so plan accordingly. Check trampoline before using (we didn't use). Didn't get to grill or bonfire due to weather.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pure Michigan up north vacation

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from our week at Beechmount. We loved it! It was very private and quiet. The deck was huge and a great place to read at the end of the day after going to the beach. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us to move around. The master bedroom was a good size and the bed was decent. Lots of dresser space. The upstairs is spacious and smells like cedar!

The antiques were similar to some that I have and I felt that added to the ambiance. It felt like I was staying at a relative's place. The kitchen was adequate, not huge but had everything we needed to cook some meals. There was a Weber grill on the deck. The fire pit area was a few steps away from the house and was a large area which would fit a decent amount of people. It was nice to have a dog-friendly cottage, our dogs loved being able to walk around and sniff everything. Good area for walks and mountain biking.

We had friends staying on Hamlin lake with boats, so they picked us up at the boat porch. We definitely drove to the boat porch, especially since we were carrying coolers, towels, etc... it was a 1-2 min drive from the house. Since the house was on a hill, it wasn't really convenient to walk there. But the porch was a good place to store floats, etc...

Just FYI, most people don't swim at their waterfront locations because Hamlin lake is very sea weedy, especially at the edges/breakwalls.

It is a great idea to have a boat or rent one (can be pricey), because you can get to a lot of locations on the lake and to the State Park. We spent a lot of time at the informal beach on the north side of the dunes. It was sandy-bottomed, so you could walk around. Lots of boats pulled up there or anchored and partied/tubed/walked dogs/walked on the dunes. Take in a few sunsets at Lake Michigan - so worth the view!

The State Park was awesome! I wish we would have tubed down the river to Lake Michigan, it looked like fun! The town is really cool to walk around in, lots of great restaurants, cute shops. Our girls (22 and 15) definitely want to come back! By the way, they liked House of Flavors for ice cream vs. Kilwins... :-)

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Riverview
5

Wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Everything was just as shown on the pictures. If you are looking for a vacation at the Hilton...this is not for you. However, if you are looking for a house with character, quiet space in a wooded surrounding and plenty of room for the kids to roam and explore...I highly recommend.

2 MUST eats that were recommend by the owner...Old Hampton Restaurant and House of Flavors...both in downtown Ludington, just a short drive from the house. The beach there on Lake Michigan was outstanding as well!! Will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cute secluded cottage but needs some TLC

  • 2 of 5

We were very excited when we got to the property, it is very quaint and nice surroundings. However the second bedroom was hard to access due to the ladder stairs. I mistakenly thought only the loft had ladder stairs. Not ideal for the elderly or heavier people. We rented Friday through Tuesday. On Saturday, we lost hot water, the homeowners did not return our call until Monday and someone came out Monday night to repair the hot water. Not pleased that the whole time was spent without hot water, especially with a baby and 4 year old. The adults wanted showers too! We were excited about the lake, but is was full of green algae, so we could not swim in it. The State Park was lovely though. This could be a fabulous retreat, but it is bordering on disrepair. Do not sit in the chairs outside, you could break a bone. The owner stated that she would reimburse us for some of the cost due to lack of hot water, but that has not happened yet, and it has been a few weeks. The internet was supposed to be functional too, but they didn't get us the code until Monday as well. I think they need to spend a few weeks there maintaining their property and doing some upkeep if they want to continue to rent this. Unfortunate.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Indianapolis, IN
1

Really disappointed

  • 1 of 5

I am not family or a friend so I can give an honest review. I would not recommend this cottage nor will we stay there again. It was nice and tucked into the woods as promised but that was about as good as it got. Our biggest complaint was that it was just not comfortable overall. The bed is about 10 years past its prime and the living room is made up of an old futon and some garage sale wicker chairs. The TV didn't work which wasn't the end of the world but it would have been nice to have. We actually left a day early since we woke up one night to find the bathroom covered in small thin black bugs. I am not joking.

The upstairs bedroom is accessible by an attic ladder that i would not trust in the middle of the night. If you have a boat then the lake front area would be nice but with no electricity or restroom facilities it is not practical. With some simple upgrades this house could be nice but until those happen we will not return.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Clearly very disappointed. We sent a significant refund. Re: 'not friends or family, so can be honest." All our reviews = by renters, and no one of our renters = friends or family. There's no reason all reviews can't be taken as honest. RE: TV: The cable co. went 'digital" during winter. We'd not realized they didn't install new box w/o a special order. My oversight. We live mostly in GA. Nobody tried to turn on TV till these renters. When they phoned about it, we called cable co, checked for answers with them, then tried having a new remote brought to the cottage. Finally recognized the prob was the box hadn't been changed out, so did that ASAP. But these renters left early. No TV was frustrating, + they said insects came out w/ the rain. Re: insects: Awful! Never had such before or since. I called the next renter with heads up and re-called to find out if they'd seen any unexpected bugs. They said no. We had pet friendly exterminator ASAP to spray outdoors and inside anyhow. Unusual snowfall = possible cause. Re: Furniture: is pictured and described on VRBO and in additional pix we send prospective renters. Many are antique, though cottagey not mahogany. There will be new mattress next summer, but we're comfortable with the one that's there. Re: Fold out attic style steps to upstairs: True. We will put in stairs, haven't figured out configuration yet. The fold out step 'ladder" has more slope than a regular ladder, and a partial rail. Kids love it. Little kids should be supervised. This is described in INFO material sent to prospective renters to review before signing rental agreement. , and also described on VRBO. RE: No electricity at the waterfront: Correct. As is stated in INF to prospective renters. We enjoy lanterns and a fire in the fire pit, so we haven't had that power line switched on. Over the years of renting thru VRBO we've had 2 other renters wish for electric lights in the 'boat porch' for playing cards etc. If attracted to our cottage, please read materials fully. Our frugality about developing our cottage keeps it's rent moderate for its size and privacy. I enjoy VRBO, want renters to "get' & like the type cottage it is, it's genuinely old time nature. So I usually try to speak on phone with serious inquirers. This spring & summer I've been overly busy w/ husband's hip surgery & rehab, less alert to emails and have missed details (cable box special order needed) . Still, plz ask your questions.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 1

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Hamlin 5 min. Barnhart's Marina, Pirate's Pub
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Ludington area...go online
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
US 31
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Barnhart's Pirate's Pub -+ many more in Ludington
Car: necessary

Hamlin Lake's lovely for fishing, water skiing, sailing, canoing, tubing etc. The "must do" is a trip to the towering Nordhouse Dunes, for miles of wild scenery. Views from the top are to Lake MI. At the Dunes kids can safely swim in shallow sandy bottom Hamlin Lk. Take a boat ride to the dunes at sunset. Other highlights of this area: A half hour from the cottage is beautiful roadless beach at Manistee National Forest Lake MI Recreation Area. Ludington State Park, on Lake MI, is within 20 min. drive and is also reachable by boat on Hamlin. The Rec Area and the Park both have pretty forest trails and very scenic Lake MI beaches. State Park has a Visitor's Center and gift shop, ranger tours, and playgrounds, plus an historic, rustic CCC build Bath House, where ice cream and pizza are available. Walk a couple miles along the State Park Lake MI beach to Big Point Sauble Lighthouse, dating from Civil War era. Climb to the top, take a guide tours, enjoy photogenic isolated Lighthouse and nearly empty beach. July 4th and Labor Day there are sunset shoreline cruises on Ludington's historic Lake MI ferry, the Badger, wine and other refreshments on board. Or enjoy great fireworks from out dock on Hamlin or at Ludington Lake MI beach. Charter fish for Lake MI salmon! Or there's excellent fishing in Hamlin. Visit historic White Pine Village, For kids', visit the Sand Castle Museum. Or an Elk ranch. Taste tour Michigan wineries. MI wine sold nearby at Hamlin Gro. For side trips Visit Manistee or Pentwater for upscale art and gift-y shops, a few gourmet restaurants, and summer theater at Manistee's small, gorgeously refurbished Victorian playhouse, the Ramsdell Theater (where James Earl Jones got his start!) Hamlin Lk is a lovely place to sail. If you have that skill we have a small sailboat that can be rented. Sailfish are rentable elsewhere. Or canoe, kayak (in cottage boats) on Hamlin or nearby shallow pretty rivers (the Pine, the Manistee, or the Pere Marquette). Eat fresh fish fried to order at Bordell's, fishmonger, or bring em home to cook. Cook out at the waterfront or cottage deck. There is a trampoline at the cottage, horseshoes and most of a badminton set, some board games (CLUE, checkers) and cards. Enjoy the long summer twilights eating on the deck, roasting marshmallows. There is TV (not big screen) with cable and VCR, and CD player /radio. NOTE! However, this is a genuine old time 1915 SEASONAL SUMMER lake cottage. It is not polished, nor winterized. No central heat or AC. Fans. space heaters, FP. It's woodsy, and you cannot be totally mosquito/gnat free in MI woods. However, we do our darndest.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ludington Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
MID SUMMER
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$880
 
 
FALL
Sep 10 2017 - Oct 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
$840
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 11 2017 - Oct 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$89
$623
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$120
$845
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $79
Pet Fee $50

We rent by the Saturday to Saturday week during peak summer season. Exceptions spring and fall. Rates after Labor Day and during May are discounted somewhat, and during these months we do rent for long weekends/part weeks. Or longer stays. Note: Our cottage is a summer cottage, not winterized so far, and is closed to rental Nov - April, as it has no central heat.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties