Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

One of a kind. Quaint Cottage on Spider Lake

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 adults 3 children)

Quaint, private cottage right on the water. Sleeps 2, +3 children 2 bedroom,1 bath. Fully furnished, linens included. frontage,no neighbors to stare at you.There are no neighbors on one side, and none close or visible on the other side.[woods]This lovely, two-bedroom cottage is in a scenic wooded setting with a private circular drive at the back. The total water frontage is 400ft, with about 100 in front. It's nestled in a quiet cove off the main lake where there is, swimming, tubing, jet-skiing,water skiing, and sailing. You'll enjoy great swimming with many sandy islands on which to picnic. The lake teems with bass, bluegill, perch, pike, and crappie contained within 29 miles of is a gas grill, fire pit for roasting marshmallows or enjoying a fire under the stars, plenty of lounge chairs .

Most rooms in the cottage, overlook the sparkling lake and beautiful view. Sit out and enjoy a morning coffee or an evening drink and listen to the wind rustle through the trees and the cry of the loon. This is the perfect place for peaceful relaxation as well as active play- rustic fishing to sophisticated wining and dining or simply doing nothing at all! Well trained animals, welcome with a $175.00 deposit. We'll be happy to answer your questions.

We got fed up with all VRBO exorbitant charges.

By paying directly, you will avoid: service charges and we avoid the high credit card charges.Which happen to be outrageous!

We have been renting our place for the last seven years. We are honest people and not interested in ripping anyone off!

Feel free to call us. We are currently residing in sunny California.

More pictures available on request. ONLY SERIOUS INQUIRIES,PLEASE.

In addition, should your travel plans in the future are gear toward Costa Rica, please visit our listing VRBO423267 or FACEBOOK:NIRVANA APARTMENTS ALAJUELA COSTA RICA

Keywords: private

More Details

Owner
Buck and Roxana Lawson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 23, 2018

About Buck and Roxana Lawson

I'm a Mechanical Engineer and graduated from University of Michigan, and for many years I have been in charge of my very own successful Water Treatment Business.

Buck and Roxana Lawson purchased this cottage in 1994

Why Buck and Roxana Lawson chose Traverse City

The area is beautiful, secluded and very inviting. It also allows me the opportunity to stay away from the daily city hassles.

What makes this cottage unique

RELAX, RELAX HAVE FUN AND MORE RELAXING.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Please review and post at your earliest convenience...Thank you once again for everything!!



My family and I were looking for a place to stay where we would be close to shopping and other destinations, while at the same time, secluded on the lake with plenty of amenities. “The Quaint Cottage on Spider Lake” didn’t disappoint! To our surprise, we were welcomed with a bottle of wine and homemade muffins. A little while later, we received a phone call from Buck (owner) out of concern that we had everything we needed as well as the reassurance that if we did need anything he was only a phone call away to accommodate our needs. The cottage was clean and well-maintained with all the comforts of home, so we didn’t have to travel with the added inconvenience of packing a lot of extras such as towels, silverware, plates, blankets, etc. The cottage is nestled within a cove that provides addition privacy and the views are absolutely amazing! We were able to take advantage of the pontoon boat that is included with our stay (additional bonus) by cruising the lake, anchoring it at the sandbar for a swim, fishing and relaxing! There is a fantastic place called Groleau Market minutes away offering freshly picked fruits and vegetables, homemade pies and muffins, soft serve and hard pack ice cream as well as canned fruits and vegetables, salsa, sauces, a variety of jams regular and sugar free along with so much more! While here, do yourself a favor and visit Don’s Drive In for delicious cheeseburgers, fries and milkshakes. Then, head out to visit downtown Traverse City with lots of places to shop and hangout. We also visited Pierce Stocking Scenic Dr in Empire to view the Sleeping Bear Dunes and Mackinac Island for additional activities. The memories we created at “The Quaint Little Cottage on Spider Lake will last a lifetime and we look forward to the next! I highly recommend you do the same for your next vacation.



Warm regards,
Jul 2018
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) two hideabeds in living room, Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
One of a kind. Quaint Cottage on Spider Lake
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 15 reviews
5

Perfect place for peace

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect place to get away and relax. It is completely private, spacious and comes with everything you can think of needing. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cottage. Excellent location

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was great. Loved having a gas grill. Having a boat to use was an added bonus. The place was clean and depicted exactly as described. When we arrived, music was playing on TV and bottle of wine on table for us to enjoy. The owner was available to take our call to answer any questions we had. I would definitely recommend and rent this cottage again. Added bonus: Dog friendly and private. Our dog LOVED the trails.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, dear Dawn, for your lovely review. We look forward to having you as our guests in the not so distant future. (No Mexican food) Warmest regards, Roxana and Buck
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Wasn't ready to rent

  • 1 of 5

Very disappointing. We were evidently the first renters this year. As the departure date drew near, I wrote and asked for the address. The e-mail reply I got showed 3 pictures. I had to magnify one of the pictures so I could see the address on a sign nailed to a tree. I just thought they were very security conscious with the internet.

There were no house instructions waiting, so I called the owner. He said that there should have been instructions in the email with the pictures. When I explained there weren’t any written instructions, he said his wife would send them. He indicated they were in a big rush when they left on their trip and they may not have done everything that was needed for the rental. I never did received the instructions which led to other problems.

When I asked where the key was to the house, he stated he never locked the doors and so there was no key. Since we travel with a laptop and I-pad, that created a concern. We wound up locking our valuables in the car every time we went out.

I had to ask for the network password.

When we arrived, the TV was on a music station. Later we tried to watch TV but could never get it to work. I wrote and asked for directions and even e-mailed him a picture of the remote so he could tell me specifically what buttons to press. All I got back was “it should work.” So, there was no TV available all week.

When I spoke with him about using the boat, he gave me instructions. The boat started, and we got about 100 yards from the dock when the motor died. We had to flag down another boat to get towed into shore. When I reported this to him, he went through the instructions again. When I again tried to start the boat, it never started. So, no boat for the week.

The “beach” had sand out to about six feet from the water’s edge, enough to get your shins wet. Beyond that, you sank into six plus inches of mud. It was not conducive to swimming.

Mid-week, when we needed to wash some clothes, the cold water came out hot and vice versa. The machine hoses were connected to the wrong pipes.

Note that the cleaning fee was a surprise because it was not with the other costs for the rental but at the very bottom of the listing under the last review.

In thirty plus years of having summer rentals, this was our worst experience. It was definitely not worth the money.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. O, We are so mortified that our place did not meet your expectations. We have been hosting for many years as you can tell by our VRBO profile and references. These are the marks you mentioned, and we want to address them. A- We normally send a welcome letter with: address, a couple of pictures depicting what the trail and cottage entrance look like, WI-FI password, some suggestions regarding boat usage and some other minor recommendations. The pictures you received were attached to a three page guide. We do not know what the fate of the two previous pages. (We do not control the receiving end of a message, however, you mentioned to have received page #3) B- Water conduits in laundry room. Our appliance manager was at the cottage working on the washer and dryer. (As per your comment, thank you!!) he inadvertently switched hoses. Not a major catastrophe and hoses were changed in a jiffy. C- Our place sits on an acre of land. Our cottage is located in a very private location, as described it in our site. Only owners have access to this trail and locking it up has never been a concern to us. However, for those guests who appreciate privacy, several keys to the place are available. D- The TV was on upon arrival. The remote control is a standard one and is self explanatory. We lament the fact that you were unable to manipulate it. E- This is the first time in so many years we hear complains about the beach area on the lake. F- We are so sorry about the boat issue. We assume that people who rent the boat from us have some outboard motor experience or they would not rent boat. Pumping the gas line to prime the engine is 101. That was the reason the engine stop shortly after you left the dock. G- Our guests ‘stay is back to back and you can refer to comments left soon after they left, following your stay. We did not change anything! H- It will be our pleasure to have you back free of charge. With warmest regards, Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Livonia, Michigan
5

Great time at cottage on Spider Lake!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cottage July 1-8, 2017. This was Cherry Festival Week in Traverse City, so we split our time between relaxing at the cottage, visiting the Cherry Festival and all it's events, and going on short visits to area wineries. This was our second time renting this home on Spider Lake. The first time was in 2012 and the cottage was just as nice now as it was then. Although there were 6 adults and this is only a 2 bedroom, we used one of the two sleeper sofas and an inflatable mattress. The "bunk bed bedroom" which has fabulous views of the lake with a huge window and a bench seat is more suited to children but could work for 2 adults. The antique furniture in the master bedroom is gorgeous! The living room area is very spacious and we enjoyed cooking and grilling on the gas grill several times during the week. The kitchen has everything you'll need to cook dinner and enjoy it outside on the patio or in the gazebo. The temperature was in the low to mid 80s the entire week and the free standing air conditioner in the living room cooled off the entire house beautifully. The ceiling fans in the living room and master (right above the bed) also cool the cottage nicely. The things we really enjoy most about this cottage are the very short distance to the water (literally about 10 steps!), the sandy beach area, the shade trees, and the flat elevation of the property. So many cottages in the surrounding area have 20, 30 or more steps down to the water. With wanting to have our 2 Maltese dogs with us on vacation, they'd never be able to make the climb on their own. Buck and Joanna were very easy to deal with and very friendly and accommodating. We had some questions about the oil to gas ratio for the pontoon boat and when I called Buck he stayed on the phone with me to explain things and make sure we got the boat gassed up and running. We had such a relaxing, fun, family vacation. I'm sure we'll return again another summer in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fort Mill, SC
5

Exactly what we anticipated

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed two weeks of relaxation in this quaint little cabin. The location was perfect for our needs and the cabin truly had everything we could have anticipated that we'd need for the two weeks. The owners were very attentive and even surprised our son with Birthday Balloons upon arrival. It did get quite hot during out stay, but we never needed to turn on the portable AC unit, as the cabin is quite shaded and stayed cool. We would certainly rent this cabin again and would recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Carla,, Thank you so much for such lovely review. We are so happy to know that your vacation went well. Our warmest regards to the family. Buck and Roxana Lawson 209 986 6979
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Enjoyable vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was our second vacation to this amazingly peaceful Spider Lake cottage and again we were so happy with our choice!! Very private and quiet, beautiful area on the lake. The owners are wonderful people and very helpful with any questions we had. Would love to return next year!!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Peegeo's .Excellent food and service.
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fees $140

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties