Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Quaint Mountain Cabin Nestled High in the Trees of Western NC

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom, Sleeps 12

Follow us on Instagram at: leapstone_on_the_ridge

Located at 3,200 ft elevation in the Hickory Nut Gorge, our cottage, 'LeapStone,' offers a great opportunity to experience the natural beauty of hardwood forests, streams and wildlife, offering both adventure and solitude. All within a convenient drive of eclectic Asheville, beautiful Biltmore Estate, picturesque Hendersonville, the Village of Chimney Rock and scenic Lake Lure, the site of 'Dirty Dancing.'

Whether your interests lie in spending a quiet weekend in the woods or a week of fun experiencing nearby hiking, shopping, dining, boating and more, LeapStone’s location is the perfect location for a girl's weekend, multi-family trip, mountain biking or golfing trip with the guys, or a romantic getaway for two.

Views are plentiful and stepping onto the back porch will make you swear you’re in a tree house! Virtually the only noises you’ll hear during your stay will be the breeze blowing, the birds chirping, the small nearby stream and the occasional automobile on the dirt road below.

The home has two bedrooms on the main floor, one with a queen bed and its own half-bathroom and the second with two twin beds (and available cot). A queen sleeper sofa in the main living area offers a great sleep in front of the natural stone fireplace. The main floor also has a full bath, gaming area, TV for watching DVDs, kitchen, and dining area that seats eight (another four can be accommodated at the game table).

Downstairs in the 'Nut House' bunk room there are two double beds (with twin mattress under bed), full bath and a game system (GameCube), creating a perfect getaway for the kids! A ping pong table and laundry room with washer and dryer is also downstairs.

You’ll find fantastic outdoor living spaces at LeapStone too. With its swing and rocking chairs the back porch is a treat, and also includes a small picnic table for outside dining. And the fire pit is a great gathering place for relaxing, enjoying a beverage and making s’mores. A charcoal grill is also on-site.

All of this is within minutes of hiking trails, waterfalls, scenic views – and the festivals, dining, recreation and entertainment found in Asheville, Hendersonville, Chimney Rock and Lake Lure.

More Details

Owner
Kit & Joe Rice
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Kit & Joe Rice

Kit and Joe Rice split their time between Charleston, SC, and Gerton, North Carolina, with their three kids and two dogs. The Rice's love the eclectic nature of Western North Carolina and enjoy sharing the beauty of its back country with their friends, family and others. Please visit us!

Kit & Joe Rice purchased this cabin in 2007

Amenities

Gerton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
  • The living room has a queen sleeper sofa. A twin cot is also available.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
12% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Quaint Mountain Cabin Nestled High in the Trees of Western NC
average rating of 4.65625 based on 32 reviews
4

Had a fun bachelorette weekend

  • 4 of 5

We had a good weekend! Cabin was very quaint! My only complaint would be that we had a question and called the owners (left a voicemail) but never got a return call. Ended up having the neighbor answer our question haha!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Olivia. We just saw your review and, first, are happy that you enjoyed your stay at LeapStone. Secondly, our sincere apologies for our lack of response to your voicemail! We pride ourselves on responsiveness and service to our guests and something must have fallen through the cracks. We have gone back through all of our voicemails and emails and don't see anything from the email/number we have on file for you. Regardless, our apologies. Glad the neighbors were able to answer your question!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had such a nice relaxing weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Leapstone. The house was very comfortable for our group of 6. We loved the porch and the fact that we could grill out and enjoy the fire pit!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the peace and quiet!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable stay!

  • 4 of 5

Some friends and I took a weekend trip to Asheville and stayed at Leapstone. It was a great size for our group of 10 ladies. When I first entered the house, it did smell a little musty but that will happen with a closed up home with no A/C. A couple of the ladies got just slightly lost on the way to the house, but once we all figured it out we had no problems when we took little trips into Asheville the rest of the weekend. I was on the sleeper sofa both nights and it was not the most comfortable, but it could always be worse. The checkout procedures (stripping the beds, taking out the trash, etc) were easy to accomplish. Everyone thought the house was cute. Maybe we'll come back sometime!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place with lots of character.

  • 5 of 5

Really liked the location. Quiet, in the woods, tucked away but easy to get to Hwy 74a. No trouble to shoot down to Chimney Rock-Lake Lure or to shoot back up to Asheville. Good hiking very near the cabin. Great experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Damp and moldy basement bedroom spoiled our fun

  • 2 of 5

First the positives:

When we encountered issue with the 3rd bedroom, owner was reasonable and gave us a partial refund. Offered us the ability to get a full refund (and find somewhere else to stay).

Large living area

Back porch overlooking wooded mountain area

Brand new laundry room

I would recommend this house for a party of 4 or less. If you considering renting for a larger party, please read on.

Amenitities that this property does NOT have:

Dishwasher

Air conditioning (not needed based upon temperatures; mountain weather was 75 or below, but it rained every day we were there and humidity was 100% outside and quite high indoors, couldn't always open windows with rain)

Wireless internet access (or any internet access)

Garbage disposal

The third bedroom and second full bathroom

The nut house bedroom and bathroom are actually in the basement. The bedroom is unfinished with cinder block walls. There is no air circulation. When we got there, the humidity was 95% and the smell of mold was so overpowering you couldn't stay for more than a few minutes, let alone sleep all night.

Unfortunately, we were a party of 7 and I was counting on 3 of my children sleeping in the nut house bedroom. When we got there and found out that wasn't possible, we were in quite a bind. I didn't think we could find another rental for 7 people for a week with no notice. So we stayed. (The owner did give us partial compensation.)

My kids were unhappy and difficult about the whole situation. They didn't want to sleep on the pullout couch. They complained. The rest of my party complained. I considered leaving after the first 2 nights.

Finally we bought air mattresses and sheets for everyone sleeping on a twin bed. (The sheets provided had stretched out elastic that wouldn't stay on the bed.). That reduced the complaining enough that we chose to stay. But trying to cram 7 people into just 2 bedrooms and 1.5 bathrooms removed much of the relaxation I was planning on.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Julie. A sincere thanks for your feedback. I don't think it was a secret to you how disheartened we were to learn of the basement issue when you checked in. This was a new experience for us and we've since found that a prior guest had overflowed the toilet in that space, soaking the carpet and creating the problem (we have since addressed this and subsequent guests have not had any issues). Again, our sincere apologies. We're glad that the rental discount we offered - and you accepted - provided at least some level of restitution. As for your comments about the amenities, we make everything as clear as possible in the overview of the property on our VRBO page. For instance, we don't claim to have a dishwasher, disposal, air conditioning or internet in our mountain cabin. Sincerely, Joe & Kit
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Asheville Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
The Local Joint
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Asheville Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
I-40
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
The Local Joint
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85

Additional $50 cleaning fee for parties of 8 or more

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties