Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wildwood Gardens Scenic Vacation Retreat On The River

Bedrooms 2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

The Home Is Two Bedrooms And A Loft On A 1 Acre Lush Property On The River➡️

Wildwood Gardens (Cert No. 721N), is a lush and serene haven located on the banks of the scenic Russian River. Adults, children and pets will enjoy the one-acre lawn and garden of hydrangeas, fuchsias, birch trees and willows under the shade of the majestic redwoods. Follow a short private path a few feet from the lower deck down to the river to swim, play or launch one of the house kayaks or canoe from the small dock on the property. There are three sundecks on which to relax and read a good book, listen to the birds, watch the wildlife on the lazy river or enjoy the hot tub with spectacular views. Wildwood Garden has something for everyone.

Wildwood Gardens is delightful and relaxing every season of the year.

In summer, enjoy Monte Rio’s 4th of July fireworks from the hot tub, or from the spacious lawn. Build a campfire in the fire pit on the lawn and enjoy the long summer nights. Wildwood Garden is secluded from other houses in the area so you can enjoy your private oasis. There are nearby restaurants on the river in Monte Rio and you can walk to them in ten minutes.

Fall still has warm days and nights and most of the tourists have gone home, but they miss one of the best times to enjoy the sunsets on the river that attract thousands of small jumping fish. Watch the birds as they migrate south.

Winter is perfect time for a cozy and romantic weekend to enjoy the fireplace, a good book and a glass of wine while watching the wildlife and river float by. Take a long soak in the Jacuzzi tub and feel like all of your worries have washed away with the river. A one-day supply of firewood is provided from October through March.

In spring, the gardens erupt with hydrangeas and flowers and greenery abounds.

This water front house has a short private path to the Russian river, just a few feet from the lower deck. Guests may use any of the boats and life safety vests that Wildwood Garden provides. There are 2, one-person ocean kayaks, 1 two-person ocean kayak and one canoe that are included with the rental. [Boat use is prohibited in the high water winter months, usually between November and April.]

The house is well appointed. Both bedrooms have queen size pillow top beds. The master bedroom has a wood burning stove and a patio door that opens to the deck area with hot tub and river views. Pillows and extra linens are provided for the large sectional sofa that is so comfortable that some guest’s prefer to sleep in the living room in front of the fireplace. There is a small loft overlooking the living room for the kids. Our permit allows six overnight guests.

The living room/dining room has vaulted wood ceilings and accent lighting. There is a flat panel TV above the fireplace, a Blue ray player and a large sectional sofa. WiFi is available throughout the house. From the living room and bathroom you can access the river view redwood deck that spans the riverfront side of the house and a large picnic table and comfortable chairs expand your living space to the outside. The hot tub and BBQ are also on the riverside of the deck, with an additional gas BBQ at the entrance area for cooking closer to the kitchen.

The kitchen has everything you will need to feel at home and coffee beans are in the freezer. The bathroom has a Jacuzzi tub, separate shower and plenty of fresh towels. The house is equipped with an on-demand water heater so the last person in doesn’t have to worry about getting a cold shower and all of the rooms have recently upgraded heaters. For those staying extra days, a washer dryer is available.

You can spend a leisurely afternoon wine tasting at nearby Martinelli and Korbel wineries or dozens of other smaller wine boutiques. Enjoy a 9-hole game of golf at the nearby Northwood public golf course or bring (or rent) your bikes to explore the breathtaking road to the river’s end at the Pacific Ocean in Jenner. Cyclists from all over the world now explore the Russian River backroads and you are just as likely to hear “bonjour” or “ciao!” as “good day” or “hello.” Antique shops and art galleries await in Healdsburg and Sonoma. A short drive takes you to the quaint hamlet of Occidental with century old Italian family restaurants established when the town was a booming railroad outpost.

More Details

Ron Lopez
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Ron Lopez

We are a family of four, plus our beagle Max. We love to travel.

Ron Lopez purchased this house in 2014

Why Ron Lopez chose Russian River

We have traveled extensively, but love the Russian River as the ideal vacation retreat. We love kayaking, the towns of Monte Rio and Occidental, the redwoods and our local wineries.

What makes this house unique

As the name implies, we love the large lush grounds and gardens at Wildwood Gardens on the bank of the Russian River.


Monte Rio House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • Jet tub and separate shower.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Master bedroom with wood burning stove.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Wildwood Gardens Scenic Vacation Retreat On The River
average rating of 4.8 based on 35 reviews

Beautiful Home in The Woods!

  • 5 of 5

Showed up a little early and Ron was there to great us and it was great to know from the beginning that we were in great hands! Home was simple but perfect and also very private. The yard was well kept up with and the hot tub was clean! I would recommend this home to about anybody! Had a fantastic time!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to having you back on you next visit to the Russian River. Regards, Ron & Angela
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful riverfront property

  • 5 of 5

Great location, we loved being on the river. They also had kayak's to use which was such a treat. The owner was wonderful about answering all my calls and helping us with any issues we had. Thank you very much Ron and Angela we will be back soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Magical Wildwood Garden

  • 5 of 5

Our week at Wildwood Gardens was amazing and not just because we watched the Warrior win the Championship!

The home has everything you need for comfortable week away...the hosts provide everything you need for a lovely getaway! The kitchen is well apointed and really has everything you need to make a big or small meal.

Although the interior space is small it is laid out nicely and feels very opens on to the top deck which extends the house so much!

The beds were SO comfortable with quality linens and pillows and allowed us to sleep so well!!

The decks have beautiful views of the river and redwoods which we enjoyed during every meal...the gardens really make this such an amazing spot...the grounds are lush with hydrangeas growing everywhere!

The river was really high while we there which made entering the river a bit tricky...but our kids enjoyed the canoe and kayaks all day long!!

At night the lights go on and make the house look magical...we enjoyed the fire pit each night...and the hot tub was also fantastic.

We walked to the coffee shop around the corner and enjoyed dinner at the Union Hotel!

We look forward to returning again and creating more summer memories!

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place on the river!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at this house! It had everything we needed (which at first we couldn't find, but if you just look up, you will see plenty of wine glasses and larger pots/pans!). We absolutely loved the large picnic table on the top deck and the lawn area! Also, it was over 100 degrees last weekend and the house had A/C and a ceiling fan so we were comfortable. Also, all communication with the owners was prompt and pleasant.

Just to let future renters know, I'm guessing the recent winter storm took out most of the lower dock and river frontage. Getting in and out of the river was a tad difficult for us ladies in our late 30's, but if my mom had been there she would not have been able to do it. This, however, is not a strike against the house at all because you can't control mother nature! I will absolutely rent this home again - hands down! Thanks again Ron!

The only

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the comments. You are correct that the winter storms changed our beach. I have recently installed some steps to make entry into and out of the river much easier. We look forward to having you back. Regards, Ron & Angela
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

beautiful gardens, home not well maintained

  • 2 of 5

This place has such glowing reviews, and though from the pictures I anticipated it would be rustic & funky, I was shocked by the overall poor condition of the home. The lawn & gardens were lovely, and we enjoyed the fire pit, and the beautiful views of the river. There is a nice path that leads to the river, though the advertised easy access to river was anything but. I imagine the heavy rains this past winter washed away the little beach and there is now quite a drop off into the river - also the hinged dock is hanging into the water & as I very gently stepped onto it (while also holding onto the nearby railing) I promptly fell in the river. At least this happened to me & not my young child who would not have been able to get out by himself, due to the depth of the water and the 1/2 of the dock that is in the water being unstable & mossy, I was not even able to get out of the river by using the dock.

Back to the condition of the house; as you enter the gate off the street there are cleaning tools, work gloves, etc sitting on and leaning on the bbq by the front door, the exterior decks of the house are covered in dirt/dust/leaves/bugs & cobwebs with old partially broken ceramic tiles (from a bathroom re-do?) sitting on the lower deck, and the steps leading to the hot tub are covered in an old mossy & moldy carpet. The interior has exposed wires, exposed duct work for the hvac, and the furniture. bedding, and many well worn rugs have seen better days - the towels, however, were nice & soft. The living space was pleasant enough, with a big new tv, tivo & dvd's, and a comfortable sofa, though there isn't a great dining space...but overall, the house and everything indoors & out felt old & dingy. The rate we paid ended up being almost 50% higher per night than the advertised rate, due to the misc non refundable cleaning, damage & service fees. This felt terribly overpriced for a place in such poor condition. We enjoyed ourselves despite all this, but would definitely not return.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the lawn, gardens, outdoor fire pit, beautiful views and the Russian River, even though you had some specific house complaints. We are constantly improving the property and we take to heart any suggestions. For example, we have two new Kayaks, some new lawn chairs, etc. for the summer. You are correct that the river bank and shore of the Russian River are constantly changing and as you know we advise all guests to wear life jackets – that we provide – anytime when entering the river. This summer the water depth from our shore is several feet, but far less than many places along the river. The river is not deep enough along our shore in the summer for us to install a floating dock, but we will watch this closely. We do not have a BBQ by the front door as you state, but we do have a storage bin for fire wood, etc., as our guests do enjoy using the fire pit and fireplace. If the decks had not been cleaned off prior to your visit, we wish you had called, as the cleaners are instructed to always blow off the decks and remove any new cob-webs, and we can ask the cleaners to return to remedy the situation. Our sheets and towels are new every season. Inside, we have no exposed electrical wires other than extension cords for lamps and electronics, some Ethernet cables and HDMI cords for the TIVOs and DVD players. The prior owner was an electrician and very fastidious about his electrical work. The heating and cooling system is new and necessarily there is a supply line, but this is unobtrusive. We always have the house carefully cleaned before each guest arrives. However, we are not the Four Seasons and given our location we are certainly on the rustic side. Our seasonal rates have been the same for several years and are very competitive for river front property. All of the fees were clearly identified on VRBO before you booked. Like us, we suspect you are not happy that Sonoma County recently raised its short term rental tax and VRBO instituted a new service fee that goes to VRBO, but we have no control over these taxes and fees. Our family has stayed at many VRBO properties in the U.S. and around the world, and based on our experiences we want to ensure our guests have a clean fully-equipped home to enjoy their stay in the Redwoods and on the River. In any event, we are glad you nevertheless enjoyed yourselves.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Chicago, IL

Homeaway Perfection

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic property and owner. Right in the heart of Monte Rio, amazing landscaping and location. Ron is meticulous and was a pleasure to work with. Highest recommendation.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Sonoma County Airport (STS)
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Jenner Ocean Beach
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $110
Damage Deposit $60

3PM check in and 11AM check out time. 50% refund if canceling 8-30 days before arrival. $200 cancellation fee if cancellation more than 30 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties