Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beachfront Island Cottage On The Gulf! "Old" FL still exists...

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 726 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Fantastic Gulf Views From The Deck Of This 2 Bed/1 Bath Island Cottage.

Come and kick off your shoes & sink your toes in the sand or cast your line from the less-traveled, pristine beaches of Little Gasparilla Island at AfterDune Delight Cottage!

A true hidden treasure; Little Gasparilla Island is a bridge less, tropical barrier island just off the West Coast of Florida located midway between Tampa and Naples not far from the cities of Boca Grande and Englewood Florida. Unspoiled by seawalls and high rises, it has no roads and no car traffic, just white sand paths for exploring. Here you’ll find 7 miles of pristine white sandy beaches, fantastic fishing opportunities, an abundance of sea shells and prehistoric shark’s teeth to gather, dramatic sunsets and balmy tropical breezes.

You must take a water taxi to reach the cottage. There are no cars on the island but a car is recommended if you want to explore the mainland and visit local shops, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. Your vehicle can be left at Eldred's Marina where the water taxi departs from daily for the island. Parking fee is $6 per day at Eldred's. Water taxi price is currently $20 for 2 persons each way and $10 for each additional person during daylight hours of 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Water taxi is available outside of these hours with reservation but prices vary.

It is recommended that travelers rent a golf cart on the island for easy transport of luggage and supplies from the dock to the cottage (too far to walk) and also a fun way to explore the island! Cart rates are $50 per day with discounted rates for weekly rentals. Call ahead to reserve your cart and it will be waiting for you at the dock when you arrive. Another much less expensive option is to hire the Island Concierge, a young man that will transport you and your luggage/supplies on his golf cart and works for tips.

This rustic 2 bedroom has a cheerful vintage island style and has been nicely updated with granite counters in kitchen and bath and a new tiled shower. Cook your fresh catch of the day on the outdoor grill and dine with the double french doors to the deck open wide to catch the wonderful sea breezes inside, sip on your favorite beverage at the kitchen breakfast bar, read a book at the waters edge or hunt for fossils and shark's teeth, maybe soaking up some rays on the deck or viewing every sunset during your stay is in order? Whatever your choice, the cottage is the perfect place to spend your time.

This private and incredible beach location ensures you experience the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of the mainland. At AfterDune Delight cottage you can relax and leave all your worries behind. Bring your groceries and drinks along or enjoy excellent restaurants on the mainland. For those that like to stay active you can travel to the mainland where you rent a kayak or paddleboard for the day or take various tours.

Modern amenities are present including AC/heat satellite TV and wifi should you choose to use them.

So cruise over to the cottage and enjoy one of the most beautiful islands on west coast of Florida!

Please Note: There is no dock associated with this rental.

More Details

Owner
Karl B Helbig
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Sarasota-Bradenton Intl Airport
Car: recommended

Although no commercial establishments are located on the island, just a short boat ride away you will find several waterfront restaurants with grocery stores, shopping, entertainment, banking and other services just a short distance from the island.

Amenities

Placida Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 726 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Granite counters, sink, toilet and shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beachfront Island Cottage On The Gulf! "Old" FL still exists...
average rating of 4.8846154 based on 26 reviews
4

Best location ever!

  • 4 of 5

My family just stayed a week here. Where the property is situated on the island is one of the best spots you could ask for. I think the house is just about 35 steps to the ocean! You have the best view of the ocean from your dining room table, not to mention the table on the outdoor deck. Drinking coffee out there each morning was so tranquil. The cottage is well stocked with kitchen items (including tons of spices and condiments), floats, 4 beach chairs, umbrellas, sand toys, (we left a boogie board), lots of beach towels, kite, fishing stuff, linens, etc. We definitely overpacked. You literally only need swimsuits, cover ups and comfy clothes- no beach items and no dressy clothes. There's no where to go out, and no one will see you (unless you leave the island, of course). Other than the house next to you, which is a ways away from your beach area- no one is around. We rented a golf cart, but I would say it's not needed for all 7 days. There's only so much riding around and exploring you can do. The state park is within walking distance (golf carts aren't allowed on those paths). We also rented kayaks for 4 days. My suggestion is rent those tops 2 days and be prepared, it was a chore getting them (doubles) to the house!! But, Bret (the island concierge) is a lifesaver and he will help you with whatever! Seashell hunting will be your biggest pastime- they're everywhere and great ones too! Island is dog friendly- ours had the best time.

As for the cottage, it's just that. It's small, but can easily fit a family of 4. It's older, but cute. My only suggestions are that it could use a good deep cleaning and maybe a DVD player (there's only VHS), and another chair or two in the living area. The washer and dryer was easily accessible and very helpful.

Kim, the property manager was more than helpful and returned my emails/texts right away.

What an adventure in every aspect, from other beaches. This island is so laid back- you will certainly leave relaxed. It's such a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of the mainland!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Misty, thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review of our property. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and that you really took advantage of all the simple pleasures that nature has to offer on the island. It was truly our pleasure to host you and your family at the beach cottage. You were a delight to deal with and we will work on accommodating your suggestions. We hope you will decide to come back and visit us again and if so we promise to have a DVD player there for you. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cute Old Florida Cottage

  • 3 of 5

We spent a week on LGI with family and friends. All together, we rented four properties. This cottage was by far the cutest and had the easiest access to the beach. Those were great features!

Working with Kim, the property manager, was easy using email and texts. And, we did have to work with Kim. There were three issues that were addressed, though not initiated by us: the golf cart that we had rented through Kim, though apparently new, was non-functioning, and we were notified of that the morning of our arrival while we were on the road that it would not be available; a number of light bulbs was burned out and we were asked to pick up bulbs and replace those that were burned out, again while we were on the road; and, the air conditioner for the cottage was broken, a part was ordered, and an additional window unit was placed in the main bedroom for the duration until a repairman came on Thursday. These issues were not insurmountable, just nuisances for vacationers.

While the cottage is cute, it has several deficiencies that need attention. The floor in the main room of the cottage has several "soft spots" where the underlay has failed. With vinyl squares for flooring, those spots "give" greatly when stepped on, giving great pause for the person stepping. It feels as if the floor will give way completely. We marked a couple of these spots with Frog Tape as a visual warning to avoid the spots.

Another deficiency is the lack of adequate seating in the "sitting room". There is a large sofa, but no other seating. The addition of an easy chair or recliner is needed to provide a more pleasant experience for vacationers.

Finally, though we did not use the bunk room, for future renters, the quilted bedding needs to be washed. We closed the door to the bunk room while we had weak AC to avoid having to cool the space. When the room was opened, that dirty linen/body smell was overwhelming.

I relate these issues to you not to complain, but to assist you in making this cottage more pleasant for vacationers. We did have a great time on the island with our family and appreciated the ease of renting and communicating about the cottage. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carolyn, thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review of the cottage. We apologize that you experienced a few issues while staying with us but are happy that you had a great time! It was unfortunate that there were some mechanical issues that affected you however I did want to note that we had installed the additional air conditioner prior to your arrival. We had two functioning AC units and the third was repaired during your stay and we chose to just leave the additional AC unit it in place even though it was not really necessary. In regard to the golf cart, some previous renters had driven it through deep puddles causing problems. Some guests do not always follow the rules and it hurts everyone when this happens. We had hoped to get it repaired in time for you and we had contacted your son several days before your arrival to let him know it may not be repaired in time and asked to him to please make back up arrangements just in case. Things move a little slower on the island than they do on the mainland but we try to be as proactive as possible. Things corrode and break down much faster when your home is sitting 100 feet from the salty waters of the Gulf of Mexico but we do our best to keep our guests happy and respond as quickly as possible if there are issues that arise. The amazing location and views make it all worth it! The bedding in the bunk bed room was actually clean when we inspected it but we laundered it again anyway. Our cleaning service washes the bedding regularly. We are not sure what you smelled as all of the mattresses are newer with mattress protectors etc., but closing off a room when it is that hot is probably not a good idea. We do appreciate your suggestions and we are planning some improvements this summer which will make things even more comfortable for our guests. We hope you will come back to stay with us again. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect beach cottage!

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a secluded, relaxing island getaway, this is the place! The location could not get any better. Walk out your front door and in just a few steps, you are on the beach. The cottage is nothing fancy, but very well kept, up to date, and cutely decorated. Great, well stocked kitchen with plenty of counter space for prep work and a nice, big sink (and a great blender, essential at the beach!). We were worried about not having a full sized oven, but the toaster over accommodated our needs just fine. Super comfy bed in the main bedroom with a perfect gulf view. When the gulf is the first thing you see every morning from your bed, you can't help but have a great day! Even with storms and a power outage, my boyfriend and I (and our 2 dogs) had the most fun and relaxing week of our lives here! Kim, the property manager is very quick to respond and answer all questions. She even checked on us during the power outage and made sure we were able to find flashlights in the cottage.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kaitlin, thank you so much for taking time to post a review of the beach cottage. We are so pleased that you and your family had a great time and we're happy that you chose to stay with us. We love it when guests truly appreciate what the island is all about and enjoy the unique and simple pleasures of this place. We hope you will come back to stay with us again in the future and next time hopefully better weather for you! Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Second time I've been there and I plan on going back

  • 5 of 5

There's really no way to put how amazing that place is into words, I spent a week there with some friends and it feels like it passed in a day.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sylvia, we are glad you enjoyed your time at the beach cottage!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect place to decompress!

  • 5 of 5

Cannot say enough about the view! Cottage was perfect for two people. Would definitely stay again! Thank you for sharing a little piece of paradise!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glynis, you are very welcome. We so enjoyed having you as guests at the cottage. The view of those turquoise waters definitely has a calming affect on the soul. We are happy your enjoyed your time here and certainly hope you will be back again to stay with us. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint lovely cottage that's truly only steps from the beach!

  • 5 of 5

Excellent customer service and pack fewer clothes than you feel you need. We also had terrific neighbors during our stay as well. Enjoy!!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeanine, it was a pleasure having you at the cottage! We are so happy you enjoyed our little slice "old Florida" beach living. We very much hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $150

50% of Quote due as Rental Deposit upon booking (Non-refundable). Balance due must be received 14 days prior to check in date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties