Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Unique Waterfall Chalet, Decks Over Huge Waterfall!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

This two bedroom, one and a half bath chalet is perched atop Ledford Branch Falls, offering amazing waterfall views from its extensive network of decking. Nestled in a cove of rustic mountain cabins, the Waterfall Chalet is one of the most unique vacation getaways in the North Carolina Mountains! Relax on the decks and enjoy the sound of rushing water cascading over the rocks, or for a true sense of refreshment, dip your toes in the cool, pure mountain water at the base of the falls! The fresh air from the rushing falls and the pure ice cold spring water is rejuvenating! The waterfall is illuminated with landscape lighting to provide dramatic night-time views as well.

This two bedroom mountain retreat is fully equipped with every amenity to ensure your visit is comfortable and carefree. Amenities include an open concept floor plan with very cozy stone fireplace with gas logs, rustic and relaxed furnishings, hardwood floors downstairs, large dining room table and ample seating for our guests. The living room has a large flat screen with Direct Satellite TV, telephone, and Wi-Fi. A loft style, open concept master suite upstairs features a king size bed and its own half bath. The guest bedroom on the 1st floor has a queen size bed and also has its own TV with Direct TV. The full bath is quite functional with a tub/shower combo and a unique and artistic double vanity with stone vessel sinks. The fully equipped kitchen has been recently renovated and features granite countertops, new stainless steel appliances and stylish lighting. The kitchen is outfitted with all pots, pans, coffee maker, tea kettle, blender and more. The cabin is fully stocked with linens, bedding, towels, etc. Outdoor areas are special too, featuring a nice patio set and gas grill for outdoor dining on the deck overlooking the waterfall. The property also has a full size laundry room and some covered parking.

Located in the heart of the Nantahala National Forest, midway between Highlands, Franklin, and Lake Glenville, this cabin offers the ideal mountain getaway. The fantastic location, with easy paved access directly off Walnut Creek Road makes this mountain cabin easily accessible for our visitors in all seasons! This cabin is the perfect home base for the outdoor enthusiast. World class hiking, camping and fishing are all within 30 minutes drive from the property. Lake Glenville, with its newly re-designed lake front beach area, is 5 miles from the cabin and so fun to swim in. If you are joining us in the winter, we are an easy 30 minute trip to Sky Valley for skiing too! Small walking trails wind through our five acre property, perfect for a quick stroll with your pooch - and guests can try their hand trout fishing in the creek above and below the falls.

A rustic bunk house on the property is also available for rent to accommodate a larger group. The 2 bdrm/1.5bth bunk house sleeps 6 people in bunk beds and a king size bed. The property has a living room/dining room combination with small equipped kitchen. The bunk house is clean and very simply furnished. It does not have TV or Wi-Fi. The bunk house is only for rent in conjunction with the Waterfall Cabin and is not leased to separate parties. Please inquire for rates and additional photos.

Pets are welcome upon approval with an additional fee at the Waterfall Cabin, but due to the steep decking, lots of stairs and the very large waterfall on the property, young children are usually discouraged.

Keywords: Mountain Cabin, Waterfall, Nantahala, Mountains of North Carolina, Franklin, Smoky Mountains, Highlands, Glenville, Macon County

More Details

Owner
Joa Kelly and Nancy Poser
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About Joa Kelly and Nancy Poser

I bought this cabin in 2003 with my family for our perfect mountain retreat from the long, hot Savannah GA summers! My wife and I often bring our two dogs, Ginger the bassett and Rodeo the lab, with us to the cabin and they love running and playing at the base of the waterfall. This picture is of us on the deck. We think this is one of the most relaxing places in the world -- to leave the doors and windows open at night and hear the rush of the waterfall is one of my greatest joys! We love to go hiking on one of the many world class trails in the area, and come home in the evening to grill out on the deck and relax. We are thrilled to be able to share our special place with family, friends and guests and hope you love the waterfall cabin as much as we do!

Joa Kelly and Nancy Poser purchased this chalet in 2003

Why Joa Kelly and Nancy Poser chose Smoky Mountains

We have never seen another property that has its own waterfall. It is a magical place.

What makes this chalet unique

We love listen to the rushing waterfall, read and relax on the decks!

Amenities

Franklin Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Additional rollaway twin bed available (1).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Stone Fireplace, Central Heat and Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Satellite DIRECT TV, Satellite Radio, 1 King size bed, 1 Full size bed, Outdoor Patio Furnishings

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Unique Waterfall Chalet, Decks Over Huge Waterfall!
average rating of 4.9142857 based on 35 reviews
5

Relaxing & Convenient

  • 5 of 5

Cabin has all you need to stay in for a few days or for close attraction travels. Waterfall is very relaxing! We will def be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our cabin! Please do come back. I'm glad you had a good time rain or shine! Regards, Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palm Coast, Florida
5

Haven't yet seen the property

  • 5 of 5

Unfortunately due to the projected path of Hurricane Irma, we were forced to cancel this trip. However the owners were kind enough to allow us to re-schedule for next month. We appreciate this kind gesture and understanding.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincolnton NC
5

Awesome house

  • 5 of 5

Close enough to town but far enough away to enjoy the quiet life. Beautiful waterfall just off the deck and a nice walking trail to walk the dogs. House was perfect and met all of our needs. We want to go back when the leaves turn. It would be amazing.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Could have been better

  • 3 of 5

A/C dose not work.

Wrong password for WIFI.

Bad reception from satellite dish.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Bill. A little surprised that you posted these things without notifying me first. The password was in the book, next to the modem. A different one than was on the information sheet, because a guest had changed it. The Direct TV. signal is just a phone call, and the air conditioning???? Can't understand why you didn't call??? I looked up your property, Diamond Falls Estates, looks like you have had your share of problems!! Best of luck. Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great over all experience, would love to do it again.

  • 5 of 5

. Everything was in good condition and would love to stay again one day.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Perfect Christmas getaway! We had an awesome time. Very clean, great location. Perfectly suited for family of 4. LOVED heated fan in master bath!!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
on the Verandah
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Sapphire Valley Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Lake Glenville
Car: necessary

Hiking, Gem Mining, The Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Nantahala Outdoor Center Whitewater Rafting, Harrahs Cherokee Casino, Numerous Gem Mines, Upscale Highlands Restaurants, Saturday Night Performances at Picking on the Square in Downtown Franklin, Freshwater Trout and Small Bass Fishing, Cherokee Reservation, Antiquing, Relaxing!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties