Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

See the Sea Beach Condo-Overlooks Crystal Pier, sand and surf; $150-275/night

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom/2 Baths/2 Balconies And Sleeps 6

A beautiful condo right on the beach at the corner of the Boardwalk and Crystal Pier. It has outstanding views of the ocean from two balconies and through the archway of the Pier. The condo is recently refurbished, beautifully decorated and quite comfortable, with a spacious, fully equipped kitchen. TV and Wi-Fi are also provided.

Additionally, the building has a secure, enclosed garage with your own private parking space. It also has a large, secure patio perfect for people watching, sun bathing, or a nap while basking in the gentle ocean breeze. And you are minutes from all San Diego has to offer.

PLEASE NOTE that this is not a party condo. It is perfect for couples, families and small groups seeking a pleasant and fun beach experience.

More Details

Jim Buysse
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About Jim Buysse

Jill and Jim have been married for over 40 years. Jim is a farm kid from Illinois who moved to Colorado after college and met Jill. They married, enjoyed mountain living and then moved to California in the early 1990's.

Jim Buysse purchased this condo in 2014

Why Jim Buysse chose Pacific Beach

We've always loved San Diego and the amenities it provides. We are especially fond of Pacific Beach, and we actually stayed at See the Sea in the 1980s when Jill's parents wintered there from Denver. We thought it the perfect location from which to enjoy a beach experience. You are also just minutes from the Zoo, Sea World and many, many other attractions. It really doesn't get any better than this.

What makes this condo unique

You'll find yourself right in the heart of Pacific Beach, just steps from a walk on the Pier, the surf and the water...surrounded by great shops and restaurants. And you have a marvelous condo with great amenities to serve as your base.


Pacific Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • A bathroom with each bedroom.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Beautiful master bedroom, complete with its own bathroom, walk-in closet, balcony, TV and beautiful views
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
26% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
See the Sea Beach Condo-Overlooks Crystal Pier, sand and surf; $150-275/night
average rating of 4.577778 based on 45 reviews

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

Nice 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment at the base of the pier in Pacific Beach. Lots to do in the area! Beds were comfortable, and wifi was great! We didn't use the kitchen much, but it appeared to have everything you would need!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to host you, as you were great guests. Please keep us in mind if you come again to PB. Jill and Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location & amenities.

  • 4 of 5

This condo is in a fantastic location and provides great amenities. Being so close to the beach was great with 2 kids. Several amenities were provided with the condo - beach chairs, beach toys, towels, and parking - which were very handy. Great food is also within walking distance. Very happy that we choose to stay here as it is also within easy driving distance of everything else that is San Diego. As noted by others, the music across the street was loud but we were so tired from a full day that we slept through it. Also, note that the laundry is coin operated and not within the unit - worked fine once we found quarters.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was great to hear the family had a wonderful time in Pacific Beach and that our condo worked well for you. If we can assist you in the future, just let us know. Thanks for being our guests. Jill and Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs some TLC

  • 2 of 5

While we knew the location of our rental unit was facing a side street that dead ended at the ocean walk; and while we knew there was a loud bar across the street, what we didn't anticipate was the additional street noise that went on at all hours of the day and night. From revelers at the bar that overflowed into the street, to cars and trucks making u turns outside our unit, to the car alarms they set off, to people screaming and vomiting outside our unit, to delivery trucks beeping in the alley across the street in the early morning, it was anything but relaxing! We had the fan on, pillows and blankets over our ears, even toilet paper stopping our ears but to no avail.

The other issue was the state of the unit itself. The bedding was very old and worn, looking like it hasn't been laundered in ages. The sheets! The sheets were very worn, stained with oil and bleached out in certain spots. Honestly, I felt disgusted sleeping in them. They gave 1 extra roll of toilet paper and one set of towels for 10 days. I did borrow paper from the extra bathroom but did go out to purchase more toilet paper as well.

The pots and pans were all rusted and disgusting. I went out and purchased a new tea kettle when I noticed it was all rusted inside because I didn't want to get sick.

The closets were jammed with all kinds of stuff which made it difficult to hang anything and the sink area was rusted. There was no dish rack to place washed dishes into. While I'm not one to complain, I feel the need to express my experience. The unit has potential but a thorough cleaning, updated bedding and pots and pans should be a priority as well as cleaning out the closets so guests could hang their clothes. I feel bad to be so negative but the truth must be told.

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so sorry you ran into problems. We wish you would have mentioned these as they happened. Our track record on being responsive to guests is unparaleled. Additionally, we texted you twice, once a day or so after your arrival and again immediately following your stay, but you said nothing about any of these concerns. If we don't know about them, then how can we address them. As for noise, we also have a white noise machine which you apparently didn't see. Further, our condo complex has recently had issues with the bar, but how can we report the bar to the authorities if we don't know they are exceeding acceptable limits? Additionally, it would appear we had a cleaning service fail. We will look into that, but here too, we could have addressed your concerns had you advised us. Our reviews reflect a number of instance where we've responded quickly to concerns. We see that as our responsibility, and we take that responsibility seriously, as evidenced by our reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfy, cozy but very loud.

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed being so close to the ocean. Rooftop deck was amazing! But the area is very loud, which I anticipated, but much louder than I imagined. Very convenient to walk around to dinner and shops too. Overall a fun trip

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Pacific Beach and at our condo. Yes, Pacific Beach is a lively beach, especially over holiday periods. Thanks so much for being our guests. Jill and Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Jill and Jim are great hosts and easy to work with. Their condo is clean, convenient, well stocked and just as described. Thanks again Jill and Jim!

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. You were a pleasure to have as guests. Please keep us in mind if you return to Pacific Beach...and we wish you a Merry Christmas and happy and prosperous New Year.. Jill and Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aurora, CO

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We booked this beautiful condo for a adult getaway/birthday celebration. I could not have asked for anything more. The location was perfect, lots to do and see. I rented a car which we really did not use much because we could walk to just about anywhere we wanted to go. While we were there, the garage door opener did malfunction. The owner's were responsive and very apologetic. It really was not a big deal as other tenants in the building were kind enough to help us get in. Everything you could think of needing is provided. I was even surprised to find that they even had beach toys for kids. These came in handy as my girlfriend who lives in San Diego had a little one, we were able to pack up the toys and head to the beach for a day in the sun. I highly recommend this condo, I know I will be booking again in the future!!

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you as guests and would welcome the opportunity of hosting you again. We're glad we had everything you needed. Have a happy holiday season. Jill and Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Great Wall Express
Chinese Restaurant
Ramen Yamadaya
Ramen Restaurant
Crab Hut
Seafood Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Senor Taquero
Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
House of Blues San Diego
Time Out Cafe
Coffee Shop
Krisp Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Urban India
Indian Restaurant
Sushi Freak
Sushi Restaurant
Downtown Fish Joint
Seafood Restaurant
A Brooklyn Pizzeria
Pizza Delivery
The Local Eatery & Drinking Hole
American Restaurant
Chef Miguel's
Sandwich Shop
Japanese Restaurant
the bean box
Coffee Shop
Italian Restaurant
Stout Public House
Irish Pub
Italia Mia
Italian Restaurant
Californian Restaurant
Simon Says Coffee
Coffee Shop
401 Brew Street
Coffee Shop
Jamba Juice 199 Sutter
Juice Shop
Grab & Go Subs
Sandwich Shop
The Rooftop by STK
OMG Crepes
Vegetarian Cafe and Deli
7 Cafe
Breakfast Restaurant
Gourmet India Restaurant & Catering
Indian Restaurant
The WestBean Coffee Roasters
Coffee Shop
Old Gallery Coffee House
Coffee Shop
Cafe Lulu
Coffee Store
Pizza Restaurant
Tocaya Organica
The Hopping Pig
the Bean Box
Coffee Shop
Coin-Op Game Room
Famoso Mexican Street Food
Mexican Restaurant
Sultan Baklava Mediterranean Cuisine
Turkish Restaurant
Cigars And Coffee
Coffee & Art
Coffee Shop
Osteria Panevino
Italian Restaurant
McFadden's San Diego
Irish Pub
Westfield Horton Plaza
Mint Downtown Thai
Thai Restaurant
Christine's Coffee Shack
Coffee Shop
1010 Caffe
Steak Escape
Steak House
Dog Haus Biergarten San Diego
Hot Dog Restaurant
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Lindberg Field
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Mission Bay
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Car: not necessary

Mission Bay, USS Midway Museum, Seaport Village, Botanical Gardens


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 11.05%

Summer rates: $275/night; $1,850/week.

Security deposit of $500 due within 7 days of the reservation request. Balance due 45 days prior to date of arrival.

Seasonal monthly rates and snowbird specials are available. Please contact owner for a quote.

We prefer payment by check to control costs and keep rates low but will consider credit cards or payment via Home Away. Contact owner for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.