Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Northeast Harbor-Acadia National Park-Mount Desert Island-Sleeps 5-Pet Friendly!

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

3 bedroom, 1 bath cottage walking distance to Acadia National Park

Welcome to the enchanting Mount Desert Island (MDI) which is best known for the majestic Acadia National Park and the crashing rocky lined ocean. Many Acadia Nationacon l Park trails are within easy walking distance from the cottage! You can bike or drive to additional trails which dot the entire Mount Desert Island.

Come experience the freshest clams, lobsters and mussels you will ever find!

This original Victorian Bar Harbor style cottage was built in the late 1800's, and is reminiscent of a simpler time long ago...Touches of memorabilia, roomy furniture and a large yard.

Enjoy the quiet back yard with picnic table, dining table and chairs. 2 grills. Walk to Somes Sound, (The only fjord in the continental U.S.) the bustling harbor with magnificent sailboats, lobster boats, and ocean activities. Visit the beautiful Thuya and Asticou Gardens, and walk or drive along Sargent Drive, which has one of the most beautiful views of 'where the ocean meets the mountains' you will ever experience.

L.L. Bean offers a complimentary 'Green' propane bus and they will take you all over Mount Desert Island, Ellsworth and even up to Schoodic Point, which is also part of Acadia National Park, (A not to miss location). The free bus is a great way to get all around the Island and surrounding towns without using your car! (Bus has a bike rack and you can bring Fido)

Kick back from a long day of hiking and relax in this 'casual' cottage.

Thatcher cottage is a very relaxed, comfortable place to kick off your deck shoes and put your feet up while sipping an afternoon iced tea or cocktail on the sunny front porch or inside living area. The cottage is almost all original. 'Casual' is the best way to describe our cottage and is a place to be totally carefree. The kitchen has a 1920's feel with the old cast iron sink, light fixtures, cupboards and workspaces.

(We not offer modern appliances)

If you are looking for a very laid back, relaxed atmosphere, then this is your place.

Enjoy the 5 minute walk to town, harbor and Sound and stroll around and enjoy our most unique shops, galleries and friendly people. Several street fairs occur each summer.

We have a fabulous new library with many summer/fall events, which you are welcome to enjoy and just a 5 minute walk from the cottage. There are many local activities throughout the summer and fall for you to enjoy.

This is a pet friendly home, however your pup must be up to date on vaccinations and be on monthly flea/tick prevention. (A 75.00 per pet fee applies)

Feel free to contact me by phone: 772-979-0581

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Beverly

This Victorian cottage has been in our family since 1887, when it was built. I spent summers here with my grandmother until I was married. I had an Antique Shop in town for 22 years.

Mount Desert Island is a wonderful place to vacation and explore the natural landscape of Acadia National Park.

Why Beverly chose Northeast Harbor

It is a lovely neighborhood location and is just a few minutes walk to the water, the Sound and our active Harbor. Walk along the Sound, into town or the beautiful town harbor which has boats to the Cranberry Isles, Nature Tours and Lighthouse Tours, etc.

What makes this cottage unique

Because this is an old family home it has a warm, lived-in feel and very comfortable. It is convenient to walk (only a couple of minutes) and be on the water with your pup, friends or by yourself gazing at the magnificent Somes Sound 'or' the Harbor, which both have an amazing history.

Walk to the charming village and enjoy the history, shops, famous and not so famous folks who visit our town each summer. It is truly a people watching place to enjoy!

Sit on the cozy front porch with your afternoon cocktail and let the sun warm your face while the nearby cool ocean breezes pass by. Enjoy your meals in the roomy backyard and fire up the BBQ grill.


Northeast Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 full bathroom (tub/shower combo) on second level. Please note: There is a toilet in pantry on first floor off kitchen.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • 3 bedrooms on second level. Master bedroom has 1 queen bed. 2nd bedroom has 1 full size bed. 3rd bedroom has 1 twin bed. (All separate rooms) Sleeps 'maximum' of 5. There is a youth-size bed in the master bedroom suitable for 1 small child. Linens provided for all beds.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
You can easily walk to many Acadia National Park trails, public gardens, harbor and the charming downtown. Glider and plane rides nearby to experience the majestic views from above along with all that Mount Desert Island has to offer!


3.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
Northeast Harbor-Acadia National Park-Mount Desert Island-Sleeps 5-Pet Friendly!
average rating of 3.4 based on 5 reviews

As advertised but musty smell

  • 2 of 5

the home was as advertised and Beverly communicated very well.

the issue we had was the condition of the home, it was clearly moldy as we could smell it as soon as we walked in the house, and some of our group has allergy to mold so it was not an pleasant experience for them. the house was not particularly clean, there was some cob webs and dust about. the pipes from the bathroom leaked in the living room. the kitchen has nowhere to store any food items. there was a mouse in the house as well (thought this could happen anywhere). We also has to listen to construction equipment every morning starting at 7:30 for the new build two houses away. nothing the owner could have done about this but it did effect our enjoyment.

on a positive note, the beds are comfortable and there was ample towels provided.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Noel, We apologize for your discomfort while visiting our cottage in Northeast Harbor. Not to make excuses, but I leave in the early summer when our rental season begins and do rely on our cleaning person(s) to keep everything in good, clean order. The cottage was built in 1885 and will never 'look' like a new home, which is why we are "very" upfront with our description and do not even suggest it is a modern, updated cottage. Unbeknownst to us, we did not realize there was a leak in our water pipe in the basement (which leaked onto the original dirt floor) which created the musty smell. That was certainly unfortunate that it happened on your watch and feel very bad about the poor timing. It has now been remedied. Had I known this was happening, it would have been addressed immediately by our in-town plumber who I have used for over 25+ years. Sadly these older, period cottages can have unexpected problems. We are dog lovers and allow our guests to bring 1-2 dogs as you did. As you know "Golden's" are big shedders and we did not charge you any extra fee for the cleaning that was required after your departure. We try hard to make the cottage a pup friendly place and ask that our guests be respectful when bringing their dogs and clean up after them, both with potty bags and sweeping fur inside. We do thank you for visiting and again apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Glorious Week

  • 4 of 5

Stayed the first week in August and the weather was Maine summer perfect. We were traveling with a 3 1/2 year old so all of our activities were child friendly. We found the house an ideal location to access the beauty of Acadia. We rode bikes into town, swam at the elementary school outdoor pool, participated in the children's activities at the library and just soaked up the small town ambiance. We even participated in the annual children's bike parade. Our group is IN LOVE with this quaint town...of NE Harbor and plan to return again in the future. I brought my 7 month old lab/golden puppy and he found the yard a beautiful place to run and chase tennis balls or lay in the sunshine. The flowers and raspberries were a delight, waiting to be enjoyed fresh every morning. Beverly the owner was so responsive to my communications. Taking care of every detail, even borrowing a crock pot from a friend for our use!!!! This cottage IS Beverly's home and it has been in her family for generations - the antiques are beautiful and plentiful. You must go into the rental wanting to experience a Maine home/cottage of long ago! We found it charming.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rochester, Michigan, USA

One nightstand

  • 5 of 5

This review is of a one night stay prior to my return to Michigan. The property was clean and bright. The fall foliage, especially the large maples in front, was spectacular, with bright red leaves on both trees and carpeting the lawn. The bedroom on the west side was bright and cheery with delightful appointments. The double bed was plush yet firm enough for my old back such that I had no morning backache that had bedeviled my earlier nights at other locations. Bath appointments were pleasant and more than sufficient. I had no issues with any part of the property and considered the time there well spent as a preparation for my journey the next day.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted with this review and only wish he could have stayed out the week as planned and will be very hopeful of a return visit soon. Thanks for writing and appreciating, Sincerely, Beverly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Princeton, New Jersey

Not a good experience.

  • 1 of 5

This house has a very musty/moldy smell due to the dirt basement. The grass was uncut. The floors were dirty, the bedding was musty smelling, and everything was dingy. Worst of all, the house was infested with fleas. When we called the owner, she had someone come in to bomb the house while we were away for the day, but he couldn't go full strength as all the nearby places were booked and we were still staying at the house. So when we came back there were still fleas in the house for the rest of our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In all the years that I have been renting, I have never had complaints which is why I am flabbergasted at this review. It is my custom to call guests a few days into their stay and see if everything is fine and ask if there is anything I can do to make their stay more enjoyable, which is exactly what I did this particular week too. Their answer was "Everything is fine". However, the next day, the renter did call with a complaint to which I promptly sent my caretaker over to remedy the situation. (The son complained of being itchy) I do allow dogs and request that each pet owner agrees that their pup is treated with monthly flea/tick products. Because I had several weeks rented in succession, I did not return to my cottage during that time as our caretakers cleaned from 10:15-2:45, and readied the cottage for each guest. I can only assume that one of the prior renters had a pup that had not been treated. I do expect that a guest will keep their word and not bring a pet with a problem! As far as the musty odor, the renters kept the basement door open (for unknown reasons) and because my home is a period Victorian built in 1887, and like many period homes in Maine, the basement has a dirt floor. I never have this door open and was shocked that the renters did, which explains the musty odor complaint. For folks who live in a suburban or urban setting, coming to the country setting of coastal Maine and renting a period home, the scents can be very different from what they might be used to. Additionally, and without permission, these renters kept my caretakers waiting for over 1 hour on check out day as they were "doing their laundry". This put my caretakers in a terrible position of now not having the full 4.5 hours to clean for my next guests who were arriving at 3PM! These renters knew very well that check out time was 10AM (on their signed lease) and because they selfishly did this, it put the caretakers in a compromised position, but they patiently waited outside until they were done. Because of this, they had to call in a backup person to help make up for the lost time. I have truthfully advertised my home as a casual, kick off your shoes, laid back place to have fun and relax while visiting MDI. My rates are a fraction of what most homes in Northeast Harbor rent for and I am very honest and open saying that my home is a simple, casual place to call home while vacationing on the coast of Maine.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming Cottage Stay!

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for the quintessential Maine vacation... this place has it all!

From beautiful antiques (the owner is a dealer) to quaint gardens surrounding this charming Victorian cottage, you'll swear you've been transported to a more simpler time and place.

The listing was very accurate and the photos did a good job reflecting what this special place is all about. The owner was very helpful answering my questions concerning my stay.

The nearby activities our numerous. Take the ferry to locale islands, hike in Arcadia National Park, watch the lobster boats take off in the mourning, shop for antiques and more. Food lovers will find plenty of good restaurants nearby. My favorite is Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery. Try their fish chowder, it's fantastic :)

Overall, I had a great stay at this property. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You've made my day in appreciating every thing I do to make my guests and visitors to this house and Island feel special. Thanks for letting others know what a good experience it is!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Bar Harbor/Hancock Co. Airport
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Within walking distance to ferry and docks.
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Northeast Harbor Golf Club, open to the public
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Within walking distance
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Seal Harbor & Sand Beach in Acadia National Park
Car: necessary

Beautiful Acadia National Park is 5 minutes from the cottage. You can walk to several trails without even taking your car! Hop on the mail boat or the lovely Sea Princess Nature boat and visit the Cranberry Islands right from the town dock, a 5 minute walk away.

Acadia National Park will be celebrating its 100th Anniversary this year "2016" and we welcome you to enjoy our beautiful National Park and all it has to offer.

Northeast Harbor is a unique, lovely village with lots of history and many of the most beautiful homes and sailboats you will ever see. (Many made right on MDI)

Enjoy the unique shops, galleries and one of a kind places to visit within a few minutes of the cottage.

Also only a 5 minute walk to the magnificent Sargent Drive which hugs Somes Sound, the only fjord in the continental U.S. Enjoy the breathtaking views where the ocean meets the mountains.

Walk to and climb the trails of Acadia, sail and swim at Sand beach. The cottage is located in a charming neighborhood with a mix of local and summer folks. Cozy, private yard with dining table, picnic table and 2 grills.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 9.0%

A 36 day notice is required for a full refund, "less reservation/security deposit". If under 36 days, 'no' refund will be issued unless the same week(s) can be re-booked, "less" reservation deposit. A 60 day notice is required for 2 weeks or more, 'less' reservation deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.