Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Michigan Beach House with Private Hot Tub

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Family Room, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Why settle for cold and impersonal when you can stay here in this warm, inviting beach house where you have the beauties of Lake Michigan to admire? The home is directly on the beach. Enjoy the stunning views of the water from nearly every window. The deck overlooks a gorgeous sweep of beach that is perfect for sunning, walking, swimming or whatever your heart desires. There is no bluff. Only 15 steps down to the beach! Year round home offers summer sun and sand, winter's quiet beauty.

The home has a cozy and wonderful appeal. The kitchen has been renovated with slate, custom tile, stainless appliances and dramatic lighting and breakfast bar. The upstairs bath has been remodeled as a full bath with a large tiled shower overlooking the beach.

The main floor full bath has also been fully renovated with custom tile. The sunroom off the kitchen is now a spacious family room with two twin beds set up as a sectional sofa ideal for lounging, dining table and cable TV, pictured in our personal website.

The beach is gorgeous! Not a stone or pebble to hurt your feet, just swaying beach grass and the shhhhh... shhhhh.... shhhhh.... of the waves as the constant counterpoint to your relaxed conversations.

Enjoy the view of the water while you soak in the hot tub and watch little ones play in the sandbox. Have an outdoor fire on the deck at night or down on the beach: there are outdoor fire places in each location. Deck lounge chairs from Ikea, resin adirondack chairs on the beach.

When you want to walk on the beach just step down from the deck. No dangerous bluff to worry about.The water is a very gradual slope that's great for kids: no drop off, lots of sand bars. You can wade out a very long way before you're in deep water. We provide life jackets in many sizes.

The deck is enclosed to provide a secure area for children so you don't have to worry about a small person going to the beach alone. Combination locks on each gate are easy for grown ups, difficult for children.

There is a canoe and lots of beach chairs to make yourself comfortable by the water. We have all the beach towels you'll ever need: just launder them in the washer and dryer before you leave.

You'll love the master bedroom with a view that quite simply takes your breath away and a wonderful Beautyrest King size bed.

The guest room upstairs has two double beds. The guest room downstairs has a new kingsize bed. All linens and towels are provided; simply launder them before you leave.

We want you to enjoy what our family has enjoyed and we invite you to come to stay at this wonderful slice of paradise. You'll love your time here and leave refreshed and happy.

No Smoking, No Pets.

Keywords: Lake Michigan Beach House

More Details

Owner
Mary Browning
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About Mary Browning

Please note that this VRBO map function does not accurately reflect the location of our beach house. Our house is directly on the beach with no house or street in front of it. Please see our listing photos for an accurate view of the lake and the beach from our deck. Please contact us for the home's address so you can look up the house on Google Earth, which is more accurate.

And now, little bit about us:

When we moved back to Michigan from Atlanta in 1998, we got the 'cottage bug' and we couldn't shake it. We looked around at various cottages on various bodies of water and realized we were addicted to big waves, big sunsets, big sandy beaches and big skies. Nothing else gave us the feeling that Lake Michigan did! When we found our cottage, we jumped at it. It needed lots of work and we ended up building on to give us more space, but it was a fabulous cottage on a fabulous beach and we've never looked back. The only thing we regret is how far away we are now (we live in Seattle) - and that we can't use our place ourselves except for the rare exception. But we know it continues to welcome beach goers in our absence and that makes us feel better, somehow.

Mary Browning purchased this house in 2000

Why Mary Browning chose Shelby

We bought this cottage as an oasis for our family and it's never failed to live up to that aspiration. It's quiet, peaceful and 'other' where. When we're there, we seem to let go of the 'stuff' that's on our minds at home, and I suppose that's the best thing about the place. Getting away from everything usual, going somewhere apart from the ordinary.

What makes this house unique

This house is comfortable and done up. It's not rustic, not dusty, not basic. It's a real house with real furniture, and that makes it so nice to stay at - even us! We know that you'll agree that it's nicer to stay at a house that's not rickety and spider-webby!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Beach House!



We love your place. It's beautiful and you can't beat the view!



Hope to visit again!
Oct 2008
  • 1 of 24

Amenities

Shelby House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
  • 3 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • All the bathrooms have nicely tiled showers with newer fixtures. All have been renovated since 2005.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Family Room - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
  • King size beds (2); Master bedroom and main floor guest room each have a king size bed; Double Beds (2) in the upstairs guest room, similar to a hotel room. Great for a couple with young children. Also works well for kids to share., Twin or Single Beds (2) Family Room has two twin beds set up as a sectional 'sofa'. It's ideal for lounging, reading, or just watching TV. These are perfect beds for kids. Family Room has a door that can be closed., Baby Cribs (1) Graco pack n play in main floor closet.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor fireplace, Hammock, Ceiling fans in all bedrooms, as well as in the kitchen, the livingroom, the upstairs bath and the sunroom. Baby 'clip-on' high chair.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Lake Michigan Beach House with Private Hot Tub
average rating of 4.6037736 based on 77 reviews
4

Amazing Beach House

  • 4 of 5

We just got back from a very enjoyable 5 day stay. The house is wonderful and just as the pics show inside. Nice new furniture in living room, with very comfy chairs to relax. I did not want to get out of the brand new bed in master bedroom.The most comfortable bed I have slept on! The view from master was amazing and the best nights sleep I have had in a long time, listening to the waves and the breeze off the water. The view from the deck was amazing. The hot tub could have been cleaner(we would have used it more had it been). It was filled with sand & cloudy. We spent much time outside just enjoying the view. Wonderful place to have your morning coffee, relax in hot tub, have a fire at night and just relax with a glass wine. The knats are awful though! The only complaint we have was that the description was a little misleading about the beach. My husband has a bad back & I suffered a severe knee injury 7 yrs ago. We were searching forever for a place right on the water with minimal stairs or walking to the beach. The description led us to believe it was 15 steps down to the beach. You actually step down to a sandy/grassy area and then have to climb down a very narrow, steep path to the beach. It was okay for us the first 2 days, we made it down fine but it was a little hard on my husbands back getting back up. I could not get all the way back up with my knee until I spotted a rope that was hanging and had to use that to help climb back up. The 3rd day as I was climbing down to beach the sand completely gave out on me and I fell the 5ft or so. I had an extremely hard time getting back up, and was only able to by pulling myself up by an old ladder that was hanging there. I ended up covered in sand from my neck down. The beach pictures posted were misleading as they must have been taken down further at the public beach access. The pictures did not show the wood retaining wall out front which made it difficult to swim there. It was very stormy with high winds & waves for our first 3 days. We even lost power one evening, I would recommend bringing a flashlight as the only one we found was dead & no batteries the correct size anywhere. All and all it is a wonderful place and we would love to go back again. It just was not exactly what we were looking for on this vacation. We were wanting to walk out our door and have beach right there to swim and relax. Unfortunately we ended up having to drive to public access and weather did not cooperate.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful views from all sides!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Mary for the absolute wonderful accommodations!

My family enjoyed your stunning deck every day.

Very well equipped home for all ages.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a girls weekend on this beautiful property. The house is clean, well kept, and very comfortable. The view was amazing. You walk out on the deck to a panoramic view of Lake Michigan. The deck was my favorite part of the entire house. The deck was new, spacious and very comfortable for a weekend of soaking up the sun. The deck also has a jacuzzi tub, which was fun! The house is directly on the beach, which was fun to take morning walks. The beach was a little difficult to get to at our time of stay, due to high tides, however there was a public access beach only two doors down. Beautiful home! Would definitely recommend your stay here, and we hope to return!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! We love the new deck! We have also opened up a path down to the beach this week so guests can easily get to the waves. The water levels are up, so every spring is new terrain. But the dune is still lovely with beach grasses and the number of steps down to the dune from our deck remains the same. Just 14 steps to the sand.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house! Very comfy and loved the view!!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice stay! Fit all of us comfortably! Stocked full of all our needs!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice for a small family vacation or mini-getaway

  • 3 of 5

We had a nice time at the lake house on our mini-vacation over spring break. We really enjoyed the views from the family room. It was unseasonably cold and windy for April, but the sound of the waves and the view reminded us of the ocean. No beach to speak of as the water was very high, but I think that was just because of the time of year and all of the precipitation in Michigan this winter.

Overall, the accommodations were nice for 4 people on this short getaway. We liked the seclusion. The beds upstairs were comfortable. The master bedroom has some sort of memory foam mattress, which was very comfortable. We didn’t use the bedroom on the main level, but the king bed in there is very firm if you prefer that. The kitchen was well-equipped with high-quality cookware and dishes.

We didn’t use the sunroom. It is off the front of the house, with no views to speak of. It is also dual purpose, with the dining table on one side and twin beds on the other. The beds are set up for lounging or sleeping, but we would’ve preferred actual furniture..

The family room furniture was not as pictured in this profile,. Similar seating, but older and not all that comfortable.

I rated the property 3 stars for the furniture, and lack of comfortable accommodations for larger groups. If we had a larger party, there would not be enough space for everyone to relax in the family room, or use the sunroom during the day without encroaching on someone else’s sleeping space. We also did not use the deck since it was so cold, but the furniture out there was old and dilapidated and not all that inviting. It’s my understanding that new chairs arrived during our stay,. They were still in boxes, so maybe this will be better for future guests.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a nice time at our beach house, enjoying the views from the living room (which you refer to as the family room) over looking the Lake, and the fabulous sound of the waves. As indicated on our listing, the accommodations at our home are intended for up to 8 people (not 10 people as you referenced in your email to me, to which I replied with this information). We are so pleased that you liked the seclusion of the home and that you found the beds upstairs to be so comfortable, especially the new memory foam mattress in the master bedroom. We’tre delighted that you appreciated the well-equipped kitchen with its high-quality cookware and dishes. Although you didn’t use the sunroom off the kitchen, many guests appreciate having such a big dining room table (with seating for 8), and such a big lovely sun-filled space for games, puzzles, and an extra TV for the kids, and with lots of windows and and a heated floor for the colder months. The daybeds are set up for lounging or sleeping,, allowing guests with kids to bunk there rather than in their parents’ rooms. While a couch would be nice for TV watching, it would really detract from the flexibility for a kids sleeping space. We adults always watch TV in the living room, and leave the daybeds for the kids with us on our stays, who love hanging out away from the adults :) The living room furniture (in the room you refer to as the family room) is different from the photos because it is new since those photos were taken, it is not older. We are sorry you didn’t find this furniture comfortable. We’ve never heard that from other guests. We are discouraged that youI rated our home 3 stars for the furniture (which is newer & configured in the same way as the photos, or is the exact same as in the photos), lack of comfortable accommodations for “larger groups” (which we don’t purport to offer, as our home is limited to 8 guests maximum). As you mention in your review, brand new deck furniture was delivered the day you arrived, ready for the warm season. As it was snowing during your stay, you said it wasn’t needed. The new deck furniture will ensure our guests’ comfort this summer. It’s a wonderful upgrade; and we make various improvements every year. Such as the new gas grill last summer, the new master bedroom mattress last summer, new linens and towels last summer, etc. For a group of 8 or less - especially when it’s warm outside - the beach house is heaven. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Well appointed, comfortable , with beautiful views and perfect beach access.

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful home for a Thanksgiving break

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Stony Lake Yacht Club

Waterpark, Horseback riding, Golf, Concerts at nearby Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Paraflight, Jet Skiing (from the Stony Lake public launch), Downhill Skiing (see, Crystal Mountain Ski Resort for fabulous skiing), Sledding, snowmobiling (Association rules prohibit jet skis and snowmobiles inside association, but plenty of areas close by for these activities)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit $500

$90 day cancelation policy: If traveler cancels prior to 90 days of check in the full amount of rental fees received will be reimbursed. If traveler cancels within 90 days of check in the amount will be repaid if owner can re-rent those days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.