Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Michigan Beach House with Private Hot Tub

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Family Room, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Why settle for cold and impersonal when you can stay here in this warm, inviting beach house where you have the beauties of Lake Michigan to admire? The home is directly on the beach. Enjoy the stunning views of the water from nearly every window. The deck overlooks a gorgeous sweep of beach that is perfect for sunning, walking, swimming or whatever your heart desires. There is no bluff. Only 15 steps down to the beach! Year round home offers summer sun and sand, winter's quiet beauty.

The home has a cozy and wonderful appeal. The kitchen has been renovated with slate, custom tile, stainless appliances and dramatic lighting and breakfast bar. The upstairs bath has been remodeled as a full bath with a large tiled shower overlooking the beach.

The main floor full bath has also been fully renovated with custom tile. The sunroom off the kitchen is now a spacious family room with two twin beds set up as a sectional sofa ideal for lounging, dining table and cable TV, pictured in our personal website.

The beach is gorgeous! Not a stone or pebble to hurt your feet, just swaying beach grass and the shhhhh... shhhhh.... shhhhh.... of the waves as the constant counterpoint to your relaxed conversations.

Enjoy the view of the water while you soak in the hot tub and watch little ones play in the sandbox. Have an outdoor fire on the deck at night or down on the beach: there are outdoor fire places in each location. Deck lounge chairs from Ikea, resin adirondack chairs on the beach.

When you want to walk on the beach just step down from the deck. No dangerous bluff to worry about.The water is a very gradual slope that's great for kids: no drop off, lots of sand bars. You can wade out a very long way before you're in deep water. We provide life jackets in many sizes.

The deck is enclosed to provide a secure area for children so you don't have to worry about a small person going to the beach alone. Combination locks on each gate are easy for grown ups, difficult for children.

There is a canoe and lots of beach chairs to make yourself comfortable by the water. We have all the beach towels you'll ever need: just launder them in the washer and dryer before you leave.

You'll love the master bedroom with a view that quite simply takes your breath away and a wonderful Beautyrest King size bed.

The guest room upstairs has two double beds. The guest room downstairs has a new kingsize bed. All linens and towels are provided; simply launder them before you leave.

We want you to enjoy what our family has enjoyed and we invite you to come to stay at this wonderful slice of paradise. You'll love your time here and leave refreshed and happy.

No Smoking, No Pets.

Keywords: Lake Michigan Beach House

More Details

Owner
Mary Browning
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About Mary Browning

Please note that this VRBO map function does not accurately reflect the location of our beach house. Our house is directly on the beach with no house or street in front of it. Please see our listing photos for an accurate view of the lake and the beach from our deck. Please contact us for the home's address so you can look up the house on Google Earth, which is more accurate.

And now, little bit about us:

When we moved back to Michigan from Atlanta in 1998, we got the 'cottage bug' and we couldn't shake it. We looked around at various cottages on various bodies of water and realized we were addicted to big waves, big sunsets, big sandy beaches and big skies. Nothing else gave us the feeling that Lake Michigan did! When we found our cottage, we jumped at it. It needed lots of work and we ended up building on to give us more space, but it was a fabulous cottage on a fabulous beach and we've never looked back. The only thing we regret is how far away we are now (we live in Seattle) - and that we can't use our place ourselves except for the rare exception. But we know it continues to welcome beach goers in our absence and that makes us feel better, somehow.

Mary Browning purchased this house in 2000

Why Mary Browning chose West Central

We bought this cottage as an oasis for our family and it's never failed to live up to that aspiration. It's quiet, peaceful and 'other' where. When we're there, we seem to let go of the 'stuff' that's on our minds at home, and I suppose that's the best thing about the place. Getting away from everything usual, going somewhere apart from the ordinary.

What makes this house unique

This house is comfortable and done up. It's not rustic, not dusty, not basic. It's a real house with real furniture, and that makes it so nice to stay at - even us! We know that you'll agree that it's nicer to stay at a house that's not rickety and spider-webby!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Beach House!



We love your place. It's beautiful and you can't beat the view!



Hope to visit again!
Oct 2008
  • 1 of 24

Amenities

Shelby House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • All the bathrooms have nicely tiled showers with newer fixtures. All have been renovated since 2005.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Family Room - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
  • King size beds (2); Master bedroom and main floor guest room each have a king size bed; Double Beds (2) in the upstairs guest room, similar to a hotel room. Great for a couple with young children. Also works well for kids to share., Twin or Single Beds (2) Family Room has two twin beds set up as a sectional 'sofa'. It's ideal for lounging, reading, or just watching TV. These are perfect beds for kids. Family Room has a door that can be closed., Baby Cribs (1) Graco pack n play in main floor closet.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor fireplace, Hammock, Ceiling fans in all bedrooms, as well as in the kitchen, the livingroom, the upstairs bath and the sunroom. Baby 'clip-on' high chair.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Lake Michigan Beach House with Private Hot Tub
average rating of 4.5151515 based on 57 reviews
4

Great, spacious property!

  • 4 of 5

We're a family of 4 with two daughters. We all enjoyed our stay very much. We loved the upstairs master bedroom overlooking the lake. Our daughters really enjoyed the large rooms and awesome beach. Of course the hotub was popular as well. Would highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The beach house was clean, roomy, had Great Lake views, and was stocked with many necessities. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The property is not even close to what the owner has described..the pictures are NOT accurate!

  • 1 of 5

We were so excited when we saw this listing. When we arrived, the cottage was extremely dirty. I called the owner and while she wasn't extremely pleasant about the problem, she did say she would refund the cleaning fee that she paid the housekeeper. We wasted the first night scrubbing and cleaning so we could put groceries away.

The cottage was infested with "fruit flies" and we could not leave our drinks on the tables or counters without them being filled with bugs.

THE LISTING STATES: "The deck is enclosed to provide a secure area for children so you don't have to worry about a small person going to the beach alone. Combination locks on each gate are easy for grown ups, difficult for children." THE TRUTH...the deck is enclosed with broken "sticks" of wood held together with rusted wire. It was so wobbly and brittle that any child could have pushed it over and fallen. There is NO COMBINATION LOCKS on any of the gates.

THE LISTING STATES: "Enjoy the view of the water while you soak in the hot tub and watch little ones play in the sandbox. Have an outdoor fire on the deck at night or down on the beach: there are outdoor fire places in each location. Deck lounge chairs from Ikea, resin adirondack chairs on the beach." THE TRUTH: there is no sandbox area in the deck area. The outdoor fire area on the deck with rusted and broken and sitting on smashed and broken tile. We did not feel it was safe to have a fire in it as the deck was not protected by the shattered tile beneath it. Both the deck and the "chairs from Ikea" were dry, broken, uneven and unusable. We had to bring the plastic ones up from the beach. The children could not play on the deck in this condition as our youngest is just learning to walk. She would have had many splinters with the condition of the deck.

We couldn't keep the sliding doors open to get fresh air because both sliding screen doors had tears in them. We were afraid that the little one would lean on it and fall through it and then we would be charged for damage so we had to keep them closed.

I rented this property because we were looking for a property that would be perfect for our small children. This property couldn't be further from anything said within the listing. I would have never rented this if we had known it was dangerous for children. I contacted HomeAway VRBO to file a complaint but they never got back to me to help get part of the rental price back. Their "Book With Confidence Guarantee" means nothing.

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We refunded this guest the amount that we pay our housekeeper, who indicated that the house was clean. We have had nothing but praise for the housekeeper's cleaning this past summer, so this review was an extreme anomaly. We are planning to put up new deck fencing this coming summer because the current fencing has become weathered. The combination locks on the gates had been removed; I am putting new ones up. Another guest stacked firewood in our sandbox unfortunately. That will be undone for next year bringing the sand box back. The wood patio furniture was scrubbed in August, so was in great shape for this October stay: the slate under the fireplace on the deck had a broken corner, as slate is brittle easily breaks. It doesn't in any way impede the use of the fireplace. I hadn't heard that the screens had tears in them prior to this guest's stay. They will be repaired. A house has a million working parts. It's not a hotel. I regretted that this guest wasn't pleased with her stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to enjoy quiet relaxing time.

  • 5 of 5

The house was an oasis of tranquility. The views and privateness of the home enhanced our great time. Great location for short travels to the surrounding areas that have so much to offer. Highly recommend to anyone. Property was clean and as described

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyably different than what we have done

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The most relaxing week ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

This house is beautiful and the beach is amazing!! My husband and I spent a week here and It was beyond what we expected. Naps in the hammock, Bbq every night. Best sunset and wonderful hot tub. The water is crystal blue and the stars are breath taking. We hope to return here every year!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Waterpark, Horseback riding, Golf, Concerts at nearby Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Paraflight, Jet Skiing (from the Stony Lake public launch), Downhill Skiing (see, Crystal Mountain Ski Resort for fabulous skiing), Sledding, snowmobiling (Association rules prohibit jet skis and snowmobiles inside association, but plenty of areas close by for these activities)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Shelby House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$543
$3,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

$500 cancelation fee applies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties