About the property
- House2000 sq. ft.
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 - 7 nights
House, 3 Bedrooms + Family Room, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)
Why settle for cold and impersonal when you can stay here in this warm, inviting beach house where you have the beauties of Lake Michigan to admire? The home is directly on the beach. Enjoy the stunning views of the water from nearly every window. The deck overlooks a gorgeous sweep of beach that is perfect for sunning, walking, swimming or whatever your heart desires. There is no bluff. Only 15 steps down to the beach! Year round home offers summer sun and sand, winter's quiet beauty.
The home has a cozy and wonderful appeal. The kitchen has been renovated with slate, custom tile, stainless appliances and dramatic lighting and breakfast bar. The upstairs bath has been remodeled as a full bath with a large tiled shower overlooking the beach.
The main floor full bath has also been fully renovated with custom tile. The sunroom off the kitchen is now a spacious family room with two twin beds set up as a sectional sofa ideal for lounging, dining table and cable TV, pictured in our personal website.
The beach is gorgeous! Not a stone or pebble to hurt your feet, just swaying beach grass and the shhhhh... shhhhh.... shhhhh.... of the waves as the constant counterpoint to your relaxed conversations.
Enjoy the view of the water while you soak in the hot tub and watch little ones play in the sandbox. Have an outdoor fire on the deck at night or down on the beach: there are outdoor fire places in each location. Deck lounge chairs from Ikea, resin adirondack chairs on the beach.
When you want to walk on the beach just step down from the deck. No dangerous bluff to worry about.The water is a very gradual slope that's great for kids: no drop off, lots of sand bars. You can wade out a very long way before you're in deep water. We provide life jackets in many sizes.
The deck is enclosed to provide a secure area for children so you don't have to worry about a small person going to the beach alone. Combination locks on each gate are easy for grown ups, difficult for children.
There is a canoe and lots of beach chairs to make yourself comfortable by the water. We have all the beach towels you'll ever need: just launder them in the washer and dryer before you leave.
You'll love the master bedroom with a view that quite simply takes your breath away and a wonderful Beautyrest King size bed.
The guest room upstairs has two double beds. The guest room downstairs has a new kingsize bed. All linens and towels are provided; simply launder them before you leave.
We want you to enjoy what our family has enjoyed and we invite you to come to stay at this wonderful slice of paradise. You'll love your time here and leave refreshed and happy.
No Smoking, No Pets.
Keywords: Lake Michigan Beach House
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 19, 2018
About Mary Browning
Please note that this VRBO map function does not accurately reflect the location of our beach house. Our house is directly on the beach with no house or street in front of it. Please see our listing photos for an accurate view of the lake and the beach from our deck. Please contact us for the home's address so you can look up the house on Google Earth, which is more accurate. And now, little bit about us: When we moved back to Michigan from Atlanta in 1998, we got the 'cottage bug' and we couldn't shake it. We looked around at various cottages on various bodies of water and realized we were addicted to big waves, big sunsets, big sandy beaches and big skies. Nothing else gave us the feeling that Lake Michigan did! When we found our cottage, we jumped at it. It needed lots of work and we ended up building on to give us more space, but it was a fabulous cottage on a fabulous beach and we've never looked back. The only thing we regret is how far away we are now (we live in Seattle) - and that we can't use our place ourselves except for the rare exception. But we know it continues to welcome beach goers in our absence and that makes us feel better, somehow.
Mary Browning purchased this House in 2000
Why Mary Browning chose Benona
We bought this cottage as an oasis for our family and it's never failed to live up to that aspiration. It's quiet, peaceful and 'other' where. When we're there, we seem to let go of the 'stuff' that's on our minds at home, and I suppose that's the best thing about the place. Getting away from everything usual, going somewhere apart from the ordinary.
What makes this House unique
This house is comfortable and done up. It's not rustic, not dusty, not basic. It's a real house with real furniture, and that makes it so nice to stay at - even us! We know that you'll agree that it's nicer to stay at a house that's not rickety and spider-webby!
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Nice for a small family vacation or mini-getaway
We had a nice time at the lake house on our mini-vacation over spring break. We really enjoyed the views from the family room. It was unseasonably cold and windy for April, but the sound of the waves and the view reminded us of the ocean. No beach to speak of as the water was very high, but I think that was just because of the time of year and all of the precipitation in Michigan this winter.
Overall, the accommodations were nice for 4 people on this short getaway. We liked the seclusion. The beds upstairs were comfortable. The master bedroom has some sort of memory foam mattress, which was very comfortable. We didn’t use the bedroom on the main level, but the king bed in there is very firm if you prefer that. The kitchen was well-equipped with high-quality cookware and dishes.
We didn’t use the sunroom. It is off the front of the house, with no views to speak of. It is also dual purpose, with the dining table on one side and twin beds on the other. The beds are set up for lounging or sleeping, but we would’ve preferred actual furniture..
The family room furniture was not as pictured in this profile,. Similar seating, but older and not all that comfortable.
I rated the property 3 stars for the furniture, and lack of comfortable accommodations for larger groups. If we had a larger party, there would not be enough space for everyone to relax in the family room, or use the sunroom during the day without encroaching on someone else’s sleeping space. We also did not use the deck since it was so cold, but the furniture out there was old and dilapidated and not all that inviting. It’s my understanding that new chairs arrived during our stay,. They were still in boxes, so maybe this will be better for future guests.
So glad you had a nice time at our beach house, enjoying the views from the living room (which you refer to as the family room) over looking the Lake, and the fabulous sound of the waves.
As indicated on our listing, the accommodations at our home are intended for up to 8 people (not 10 people as you referenced in your email to me, to which I replied with this information).
We are so pleased that you liked the seclusion of the home and that you found the beds upstairs to be so comfortable, especially the new memory foam mattress in the master bedroom.
We’tre delighted that you appreciated the well-equipped kitchen with its high-quality cookware and dishes.
Although you didn’t use the sunroom off the kitchen, many guests appreciate having such a big dining room table (with seating for 8), and such a big lovely sun-filled space for games, puzzles, and an extra TV for the kids, and with lots of windows and and a heated floor for the colder months. The daybeds are set up for lounging or sleeping,, allowing guests with kids to bunk there rather than in their parents’ rooms. While a couch would be nice for TV watching, it would really detract from the flexibility for a kids sleeping space. We adults always watch TV in the living room, and leave the daybeds for the kids with us on our stays, who love hanging out away from the adults :)
The living room furniture (in the room you refer to as the family room) is different from the photos because it is new since those photos were taken, it is not older. We are sorry you didn’t find this furniture comfortable. We’ve never heard that from other guests.
We are discouraged that youI rated our home 3 stars for the furniture (which is newer & configured in the same way as the photos, or is the exact same as in the photos), lack of comfortable accommodations for “larger groups” (which we don’t purport to offer, as our home is limited to 8 guests maximum).
As you mention in your review, brand new deck furniture was delivered the day you arrived, ready for the warm season. As it was snowing during your stay, you said it wasn’t needed. The new deck furniture will ensure our guests’ comfort this summer. It’s a wonderful upgrade; and we make various improvements every year. Such as the new gas grill last summer, the new master bedroom mattress last summer, new linens and towels last summer, etc.
For a group of 8 or less - especially when it’s warm outside - the beach house is heaven.
Thank you for your review.
Well appointed, comfortable , with beautiful views and perfect beach access.
Wonderful home for a Thanksgiving break
An excellent rental on the shores of Lake Michigan with beautiful sunset views.
The beach house at Lake Michigan is wonderful. It is just as advertised. The views are breath taking. There are many seating areas outside for enjoying the lake. The interior of the house has many large windows and is spacious. We enjoyed our stay .
Very quiet and relaxing!
Very quiet and relaxing stay! We had such a great week having the beach just a few steps away. The sunsets from The hot tub over the lake were amazing! The owner leaves a very detailed letter explaining everything about your stay even leaves recommendations on places to visit which was very helpful with the lack of phone connection at the beach house. Only complaint would be the overwhelming amount of fruit flies inside and out. We tried everything to control them and it didnt help. Everything else about our stay was fantastic! Highly recommend and would definitely stay again!
Lovely quiet homr for relaxation.
Enjoyed the quietness and relaxation.
Loved our stay at this property! Perfect location!
Very nice home, has everything we needed. Just a beautiful spot right on Lake Michigan!
Waterpark, Horseback riding, Golf, Concerts at nearby Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Paraflight, Jet Skiing (from the Stony Lake public launch), Downhill Skiing (see, Crystal Mountain Ski Resort for fabulous skiing), Sledding, snowmobiling (Association rules prohibit jet skis and snowmobiles inside association, but plenty of areas close by for these activities)
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
$90 day cancelation policy: If traveler cancels prior to 90 days of check in the full amount of rental fees received will be reimbursed. If traveler cancels within 90 days of check in the amount will be repaid if owner can re-rent those days.